Lucy Courtenay - Movie Night - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444930740
    • Publication date:11 Jan 2018

Movie Night

By Lucy Courtenay

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

If you love rom-coms you'll love this sassy, funny romance that will make you fall head over heels with the help of twelve classic films and a misbehaving cat named Nigel. Perfect for fans of Zoella, Geek Girl and Holly Bourne.

If you love rom-coms you'll love this sassy, funny romance that will make you fall head over heels with the help of twelve classic films and a misbehaving cat named Nigel. Perfect for fans of Zoella, Geek Girl and Holly Bourne.

One: I am hopelessly in love with Hanna Bergdahl. Two: for the first time since our recent reunion Hanna Bergdahl appears to be single. And three: I am stuck in that inescapable netherworld of demons and acne - the Friend Zone.

Sol and Hanna were best friends at primary school and after reuniting at college, they spend approximately seventy per cent of daylight hours together.

When disaster strikes at a New Year's Eve party and Hannah sees new boyfriend Danny Dukas kissing Lizzie Banks, a New Year's Resolution is formed. Sol and Hanna will watch one film a month for twelve months until the next New Year. After all, films hold answers to life's hardest questions. Maybe they'll figure out why they are both members of the dumpee club.

Only Sol Adams has a new year's resolution of his own: to kiss Hanna Bergdahl before the year is over.

Will Sol ever defeat the Friend Zone?

Biographical Notes

Lucy Courtenay has officially been writing children's fiction since 1999, and unofficially for a lot longer than that. Her desk drawers are full of half-finished stories waiting for the right moment to emerge and dance around her study in a shower of exuberant paperclips. Her latest books indulge her love of teenage romance: The Kiss is published by Hodder, with Movie Night and Girl at Sea coming in 2018.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444930733
  • Publication date: 11 Jan 2018
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

Revolution

Simon Lelic
Authors:
Simon Lelic
Hodder Children's Books

Queen of Ruin

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart
Hodder Children's Books

The Paper & Hearts Society

Lucy Powrie
Authors:
Lucy Powrie

A brand new series from "the Zoella of books" - all about what happens when you give up on trying to fit in in and let your weird out! You're invited to join The Paper & Hearts Society ... get ready to find your people! Tabby Brown is tired of trying to fit in with her classmates. She doesn't want to go to parties at the weekend - in fact, she would much rather snuggle up on the sofa with her favourite book. It's like she hasn't found her people ...That is until she moves to a new town where a book club, The Paper & Hearts Society, is recruiting. Tabby might just be in luck. Enough of her old "friends" who only talk to her when they need something. It's time for Quidditch themed fancy dress parties, games like "shut up and Shakespeare" ... and LOTS of chocolate. Perfect for fans of Holly Smale and Super Awkward.

Franklin Watts

The Somme

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

For many people the word 'Somme' sums up the carnage and futility of the First World War. The failure of Allied forces to achieve their objectives at such a huge cost in human lives has resonated in military circles for the past 100 years. This book tells the story of the battle and its wider repercussions, and analyses its importance to the overall outcome of the First World War. The Somme investigates the build-up to the battle, why leaders thought the action was necessary and what they thought it would achieve. It looks at the forces involved, including the 'Pals' battalions - patriotic friends who fought, and more often than not died, together. Although not a straightforward timeline, the book outlines the actual course of the battle beginning on 1 July 1916 and the impact of the continuing slaughter on both sides. Quotes from those who took part offer a glimpse of what it must have been like to be there, and maps show how little was actually achieved in terms of a breakthrough. Poetry, art and music inspired by the Somme campaign bring the soldiers' harrowing experiences to life. Suitable for readers aged 11 and up.

Hodder Children's Books

The Dark Lady

Akala
Authors:
Akala

Henry is a street boy, a thief and a genius - abandoned at birth by his mother, he is searching for belonging in this thrilling new series set in a magical realist Shakespearean world.Written by award-winning rapper, poet and writer Akala, founder of the renowned Hip-hop Shakespeare Company.Perfect for introducing secondary school readers to Shakespeare and the Renaissance, this exciting new series is inspired by the Dark Lady, the fierce, independent black woman alluded to in Shakespeare's sonnets 127-154.Featuring Shakespeare himself and many of his key characters, bringing to life through fresh eyes the visceral, violent and daring world of the Renaissance.

Franklin Watts

Far From Home: Refugees and migrants fleeing war, persecution and poverty

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker
Franklin Watts

Understanding Transgender

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

A sensitive book that explores the issue of people who feel they do belong to the gender they were born with. It looks at what this means for the person and their family, issues around school policy, bullying and discrimination and explores the journey of transitioning.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

Self-Esteem and Confidence

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Orion Children's Books

Izzy + Tristan

Shannon Dunlap
Authors:
Shannon Dunlap

This isn't a story about anything new. It's about the oldest thing in the world. It's about love.Tristan, a sixteen-year-old chess genius, lives with his Trinidadian aunt in a rapidly changing section of Brooklyn and uses his talent to earn money for his hustling cousin, Marcus. His world is turned upside-down when Izzy, a bright aspiring doctor raised on the Lower East Side, moves to the neighbourhood with her family, the first white family to settle on the block. A passionate romance springs up between the two, but they're soon swept up in a series of escalating misfortunes: violent conflict between Marcus and Izzy's twin brother; a twisted scheme of romantic deception devised by Izzy's best friend, Brianna; and a secret that tests the bond of family loyalty and forces them to face impossible decisions.

Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy
Franklin Watts

Food and Eating

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Food can be confusing! There's a lot of information out there about which foods are 'good' or 'bad' for you - and it seems to change every week! And people can sometimes get very stressed about food and eating, and how it affects their bodies. This book for children aged 9+ explains how food works, so they can make their own decisions armed with all the facts.Is is part of the series Healthy for Life, which gives factual information on a range of health issues so young people can get the information they need to be healthy. The books feature fun infographic style illustrations. Why not seek out another title from the series: Puberty and Growing up; Food and Eating; Smoking, Drugs and Alcohol; Keeping Fit; Sex and Relationsips; Self-esteem and Mental Health.

Franklin Watts

Suffragettes and the Fight for the Vote

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

This book tells the story of the campaign to get women the vote in Britain through 14 significant objects. From photos of key people in the campaign through ephemera such as force-feeding equipment, banners and medallions Sarah Ridley brings the story to life. Beginning by looking at the role of women in the 19th Century and ending with the continuing struggle for equal rights for women in all parts of society, this is an essential read for young people aged 10 plus to understand the history of the women's movement on suffrage.2018 was a landmark year that marked the centenary of the Representation of the People Act. This finally gave the vote to some women for the first time (women over 30, who owned property) and also gave the vote to all men (up until then, only about two-thirds of men had the vote). The Houses of Parliament celebrated this centenary with their 'Vote 100' project. 2018 was also be the 90th anniversary of women gaining full voting equality with men in 1928.

Wayland

What is Race? Who are Racists? Why Does Skin Colour Matter? And Other Big Questions

Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Franklin Watts

Sex and relationships

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

This book is a fantastic introduction to the tricky subject of sex for children aged 9+. In a straightforward way, it explores what sex is and what it's for, examines sexuality and identity, what healthy relationships are like and tackles modern-day issues that confront teenagers such as sexting and online pornography.Is is part of the series Healthy for Life, which gives factual information on a range of health issues so teens can get the information they need to be healthy. The books feature fun infographic style illustrations.

Franklin Watts

Trans Global

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Wayland

Heroes of Light and Sound

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Wayland

The Superhuman Body

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Hodder Children's Books

Colour Me In

Lydia Ruffles
Authors:
Lydia Ruffles

THE CATCHER IN THE RYE meets TURTLES ALL THE WAY DOWN from the acclaimed author of THE TASTE OF BLUE LIGHT. Praise for The Taste of Blue Light: "Beautiful. Visceral. Gripping." Louise O'NeillFIX ME. DRAW ME WHOLE. COLOUR ME IN.Nineteen-year-old actor Arlo likes nothing more than howling across the skyline with best friend Luke from the roof of their apartment.But when something irreparable happens and familiar black weeds start to crawl inside him, Arlo flees to the other side of the world, taking only a sketchbook full of maps.With its steaming soup and neon lights, this new place is both comforting and isolating.There, Arlo meets fellow traveller Mizuki. Something about her feels more like home than he's felt in a while. But what is Mizuki searching for?HOW FAR CAN YOU OUTRUN YOURSELF . . .BEFORE YOU LOSE YOUR WAY BACK?

Franklin Watts

Understanding Sexuality

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Overcoming Fear of Failure

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head