Patrice Lawrence - Indigo Donut - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444927191
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017

Indigo Donut

By Patrice Lawrence

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A love story interwoven with an edge-of-the-seat mystery. Two very different young people discover who loves them, and who they can love back.

The breathtaking second book from the author of Orangeboy, winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize for Older Readers and the YA Book Prize and shortlisted for the Costa Book Award .

Praise for Orangeboy:
"A truly brilliant book." Malorie Blackman

"Incredible book. Thank you Patrice Lawrence for such a fresh and riveting piece of fiction." Ben Bailey Smith (Doc Brown)

Seventeen-year-old Indigo has had a tough start in life, having grown up in the care system after her dad killed her mum. Bailey, also seventeen, lives with his parents in Hackney and spends all his time playing guitar or tending to his luscious ginger afro.

When Indigo and Bailey meet at sixth form, serious sparks fly. But when Bailey becomes the target of a homeless man who seems to know more about Indigo than is normal, Bailey is forced to make a choice he should never have to make.
A life-affirming story about falling in love and everyone's need to belong.

Biographical Notes

Patrice Lawrence was born in Brighton and brought up in an Italian-Trinidadian household in Mid Sussex. She found her way to east London in the '90s and lives there with a partner, a teenager and a cat called Stormageddon. She has been writing for as long as she has been reading. She loves crime fiction, sci-fi and trying to grow things. Her ideal mixtape includes drum 'n' bass, Bruce Springsteen and Studio Ghibli soundtracks. Music can't help creeping into her books.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444927184
  • Publication date: 13 Jul 2017
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
If anything, Lawrence's second book surpasses her first with its deft characterisation. — Imogen Russell Williams, The Guardian
...another brilliant story that will suck you in and leave you looking at the world through different eyes. Lawrence deserves all the awards that were heaped on Orangeboy, and her latest book is every bit as good. — Crime Review
Think Jacqueline Wilson with swearing and lots of contemporary cultural references... a red-hot mystery — The Times
Lawrence's teenage friendly depictions of emotions will keep readers engaged. It won't stay on the shelf for long. — The School Librarian
Fresh and important... Patrice Lawrence is a hot name in publishing. CHILDREN'S BOOK OF THE WEEK — Alex O'Connell, The Times
A tender and complex story of first love, family and belonging... Lawrence is a vibrant, accomplished storyteller... but what really sets her writing apart is her skill in getting to the raw heart of her characters. YA BOOK OF THE WEEK. — Fiona Noble, The Observer
A passionate love story with mystery at its core. CHILDREN'S BOOK OF THE WEEK. — Nicolette Jones, Sunday Times
Oh, I loved this story. The plot hinges on the mystery surrounding Indigo's family and it's gradually revealed with genuine care and compassion by Lawrence... [She] is a storyteller, you know? I believed in her setting, I believed in her characters and I was absorbed by her plot. I don't know what more I could have asked for. — Jill Murphy, The Bookbag
Hodder Children's Books

Heartstruck

Rebecca Sky
Authors:
Rebecca Sky
Orion Children's Books

Untitled Annabel Pitcher 1

Annabel Pitcher
Authors:
Annabel Pitcher

Hodder Children's Books

The Paper & Hearts Society

Lucy Powrie
Authors:
Lucy Powrie
Hodder Children's Books

You Can't Hide

Sarah Mussi
Authors:
Sarah Mussi
Orion Children's Books

A Strange Kind of Brave

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Hodder Children's Books

Chatterbox Bear

Pippa Curnick
Authors:
Pippa Curnick
Orion Children's Books

Thief in the Night

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff
Hodder Children's Books

The Haven

Simon Lelic
Authors:
Simon Lelic
Hodder Children's Books

Amazing

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony
Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Franklin Watts

Magic Marcus

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale
Orchard Books

Phantom

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt

Tech in her veins. Anarchy in her blood.In the City, they have it all - sunlight, a corp job, a corpbloc home miles above the poisoned earth below.Four-hundred storeys down, in the darkness of the undercity slums, lives sixteen-year-old orphan Nova.Nova is a hacker. Aided by the program Phantom, she can sneak up to the City, leech what she needs and sink back down again, invisible as a ghost.But Nova has caught someone's eye, and that's Phantom-creator and legendary anti-corp hacker the Moth. Now the Moth has a job for Nova. A job that will send her miles into the sky. To bring the City crashing down.***An explosive futuristic fantasy from the author of Thirteen Days of Midnight, shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Award.

Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Lost Treasure

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

From the international bestselling creator of Claude, comes a brand new hero - Mr Penguin, adventurer and penguin.Indiana Jones meets Hercule Poirot in this new Alex T. Smith series with plenty of slapstick humour, mystery and adventure. Highly illustrated throughout with a striking black and orange design.It has been weeks since Mr Penguin's last adventure and he's been stuck at his desk, twiddling his flippers ever since. That is until the phone rings!Mr Penguin and Colin (a spider and Mr Penguin's silent right hand man) are called in to find the missing treasure somewhere in the Museum of Extraordinary Objects. The quest finds them solving secret codes, fighting ferocious beasts, eating fish finger sandwiches and travelling deep below the museum to a lost jungle...'Addictive slapstick' - The Guardian'The perfect introduction to mystery stories' - The ScotsmanClaude won the 5-9 young fiction Sainsbury's Children's Book Award, was selected for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize, the Richard and Judy Book Club and is soon to be a TV star on Disney Junior with 52 episodes airing in June 2018. Alex T. Smith was a World Book Day Illustrator. Follow Alex at http://alextsmith.blogspot.co.uk and https://twitter.com/Alex_T_Smith

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones?

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin

From the author of JOE ALL ALONE - now a major CBBC series.A story about finding yourself when everything changes and believing that love never runs out. Perfect for fans of A Boy called Hope and Jacqueline Wilson.Eleven-year-old Birdy Jones is all alone. She doesn't belong at school, at home, or even with her dad anymore. The only place she feels like herself is at her grandpa's pigeon loft, where the familiar warmth and birdsong block out the world. It's also where she meets Dogger - her only friend and the one person who really seems to know where she's coming from.Birdy used to be happy, when it was just her and Dad, but now she has a stepmum, a little sister, and another baby on the way. Worse, her growing family needs to move house, but Birdy doesn't believe there'll ever be enough room for her in Dad's busy life - and she can't leave Grandpa and the pigeons. She won't.Birdy dreams of a different family and future, and with Dogger's help she decides to find one - even if it means running away from everything she's ever known. But sometimes you need to fly away to find your way home again . . .

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Scent of Danger

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff

The second book in The Trapdoor Mysteries, a series about Tally, a code-breaking, animal-loving servant girl and her best friend, a squirrel named Squill, who solve mysteries with the help of a secret library...Orphan Tally is the servant girl at Mollett Manor - and she's also the Secret Keeper of the magical library hidden beneath a trapdoor, underneath the manor's grounds. Along with Squill the squirrel, she uses the enchanted books to solve crimes. So when Lady Mollett's new puppy, Widdles, is kidnapped, Tally and Squill head straight to the library. But will they be able to catch the dognapper or is it already too late?

Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins

One boy stranded at sea. One girl back on land. One ocean between them. The only thing willing him to survive is the thought of her. A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.Sometimes you have to lose yourself, to find each other.Kai has always been best friends with Jen; ever since he and his mum moved to Cornwall when he was small. But now his feelings are deepening. It's ridiculous to imagine Jen would feel the same, especially since she has been hanging out with surf-pro Macca, the guy everyone fancies. Frustrated by his feelings, Kai makes a snap decision that will put his life in great danger. Stranded at sea, time is running out. With only his thoughts to occupy him, he must face some buried truths about his past. And confront his future with the girl back on shore, if he can reach it ... if the ocean doesn't take him first.

Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Orion Children's Books

Ghost Boys

Jewell Parker Rhodes
Authors:
Jewell Parker Rhodes
Orchard Books

A T-Wit for a T-Woo

Charlie Farley, Layn Marlow
Contributors:
Charlie Farley, Layn Marlow
Franklin Watts

Survivors of the Holocaust

Kath Shackleton
Authors:
Kath Shackleton

Based on a series of a BAFTA-nominated animated documentaries, the artwork in Survivors of the Holocaust has been reinvented to bring together six different real-life survivors' account of the Holocaust. Every word rings with truth, whether it describes the bleak fear of arriving at Auschwitz or the sheer terror of Kristallnacht, and is complemented by dazzling, clever artwork. This unique children's graphic novel aims to bring the survivors' stories to a new audience. It is an important, timely reminder of the horrors that can be inflicted on innocent people and a reflection of the Holocaust's legacy today. It has been longlisted for the prestigous School and Library Association Information Books Awards, 2017. The Holocaust is an important part of the history curriculum at Key Stage 3 and this book is pitched perfectly for 9-12 year olds.