Patrice Lawrence - Indigo Donut - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444927191
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017

Indigo Donut

By Patrice Lawrence

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A love story interwoven with an edge-of-the-seat mystery. Two very different young people discover who loves them, and who they can love back.
Biographical Notes

Patrice Lawrence was born in Brighton and brought up in an Italian-Trinidadian household in Mid Sussex. She found her way to east London in the '90s and lives there with a partner, a teenager and a cat called Stormageddon. She has been writing for as long as she has been reading. She loves crime fiction, sci-fi and trying to grow things. Her ideal mixtape includes drum 'n' bass, Bruce Springsteen and Studio Ghibli soundtracks. Music can't help creeping into her books.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444927184
  • Publication date: 13 Jul 2017
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

Shield of Lies

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The gripping sequel to The Crystal Run - a children's novel from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman.Runners are the privileged few. Bestowed the honour of protecting their country, Runners bring wealth and glory to their families. Yet, upon fulfilling their oath, a Runner's life must expire. A lot happened since Kaia, fastest and strongest Runner of her cycle, swore to protect her country. Risking their lives, Kaia and Joe travelled through enemy territory to replace the precious Kerala crystals that power Carcassia's protective shield. Thwarted at every step, the teenagers made troubling and frightening discoveries, threatening the safety of all Carcassians.Are Kaia's trusted and powerful leaders liars? Have dozens of teenage Runners been sent to their death for nothing but the comfort and riches of the privileged few? All their efforts in vain, Kaia and Joe are taken prisoner. They must escape. They must find out the truth, return to Carcassia and most importantly, they must prevent more Runners from sprinting to their death.

Wayland

Vote for Me!

Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon
Franklin Watts

Family Differences

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at different family set-ups including single parents and step-families and examines issues that can arise within families - sibling fall-outs, poverty, abuse, illness and child carers, and getting on with parents.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

Self-Esteem and Confidence

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at self-esteem and how it's possible to change it. It deals with issues such as a healthy body image, peer pressure, celebrity culture and bullying and provides lots of practical advice for young people dealing with low self-esteem.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Orion Children's Books

The Ones That Disappeared

Zana Fraillon
Authors:
Zana Fraillon

Beautiful, magical and moving, this is a SKELLIG for a new generation, from the author of THE BONE SPARROW, shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2017 and the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize 2016. Some stories need to be told... A moving, beautifully-written and poignant novel about child trafficking and the search for freedom.Kept by a ruthless gang, three children manage to escape from slavery. But freedom isn't just waiting on the outside.Separated, scared and looking after a small child, Esra will do whatever she can to reunite with her friend Miran, who was captured by the police - the police who she mustn't trust.Hiding in the shadows of the forest, Esra is found by a local boy, a boy with his own story. Together they will create a man out of mud. A man who will come to life and lead them through a dark labyrinth of tunnels until they finally have the courage the step above ground. Until they finally have the courage to speak their story. Until they finally have the courage to be free.

Hodder Children's Books

Songs About Us

Chris Russell
Authors:
Chris Russell
Orchard Books

I Love My Grandad

Giles Andreae, Emma Dodd
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Emma Dodd
Hodder Children's Books

Orangeboy

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence

WINNER OF THE WATERSTONES CHILDREN'S BOOK PRIZE FOR OLDER READERS, SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA CHILDREN'S BOOK AWARD AND THE YA BOOK PRIZE"A truly brilliant book." Malorie Blackman"Incredible book. Thank you Patrice Lawrence for such a fresh and riveting piece of fiction." Ben Bailey Smith (Doc Brown)"What a book! Such a gripping, gritty storyline, with such wonderful, believable characters. Loved it." Tanya Landman, author of Buffalo SoldierNot cool enough, not clever enough, not street enough for anyone to notice me. I was the kid people looked straight through.NOT ANY MORE. NOT SINCE MR ORANGE.Sixteen-year-old Marlon has made his mum a promise - he'll never follow his big brother, Andre, down the wrong path. So far, it's been easy, but when a date ends in tragedy, Marlon finds himself hunted. They're after the mysterious Mr Orange, and they're going to use Marlon to get to him. Marlon's out of choices - can he become the person he never wanted to be, to protect everyone he loves?

Hodder Children's Books

The Crystal Run

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Franklin Watts

Giraffe Is Left Out - A book about feeling bullied

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Hodder Children's Books

Sleepy Cheetah

Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway
Contributors:
Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway
Franklin Watts

Monkey Needs to Listen - A book about paying attention

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton

A lively picture book that examines the issue of not listening in an amusing but reassuring way through animal characters - perfect for young children who forget to listen. The story offers a gentle way in to reinforce this good behaviour. At the end of the story there are notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with anger.Monkey is so excited about a go-kart race that he doesn't listen to any of the instructions. He doesn't stop to check his kart and he nearly ruins the race for all the animals. Can Monkey learn to listen and pay attention or will the race be abandoned for good?It is part of a series Behaviour Matters, which is perfect for sharing with children as a gentle means of discussing their emotions, boosting self-esteem and reinforcing good behaviour. Each book has a fun story featuring fantastic characters which is backed up by suggestions for activities and ideas to talk through together. They support the Personal, Social and Emotional Development Area of Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage.'Excellent for sharing and encouraging discussion... we can all learn from the approach taken in this series.' Parents in Touch

Hodder Children's Books

Amelia Jane Again!

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Enid Blyton's Amelia Jane is big, bad and the world's naughtiest toy!Look out! First Amelia upsets the toys terribly with her mischief and then she gets poor Teddy to carry her home without him having a clue. Will the toys get their own back?First published in 1946, this edition contains the original text and illustrations by Deborah Allwright, cover by Alex T. Smith (2011).

Hodder Children's Books

Amelia Jane Gets into Trouble

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Enid Blyton's Amelia Jane is big, bad and the world's naughtiest toy!Look out! Not only have the toys got to beware of the terror of the toy cupboard - Amelia Jane - they now have to put up with Sidney, the selfish teddy bear. The toys are desperate to teach Amelia Jane a lesson once and for all!First published in 1954, this edition contains the original text and illustrations by Deborah Allwright, cover by Alex T. Smith (2011).

Hodder Children's Books

City of Shadows

Celia Rees
Authors:
Celia Rees
Hodder Children's Books

A Song for Ella Grey

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

Winner of the Guardian children's book prize 2015I'm the one who's left behind. I'm the one to tell the tale. I knew them both... knew how they lived and how they died. Claire is Ella Grey's best friend. She's there when the whirlwind arrives on the scene: catapulted into a North East landscape of gutted shipyards; of high arched bridges and ancient collapsed mines. She witnesses a love so dramatic it is as if her best friend has been captured and taken from her. But the loss of her friend to the arms of Orpheus is nothing compared to the loss she feels when Ella is taken from the world. This is her story - as she bears witness to a love so complete; so sure, that not even death can prove final.

Hodder Children's Books

Lone Wolf

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Hodder Children's Books

Dark Sun and other stories

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Hodder Children's Books

Forever Rose

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay

It's the Casson Family finale, and Permanent Rose takes centre stage. It's tough being the youngest - Rose is lonely. Her family are always busy doing their own things so Rose comes home to a dark, quiet, empty house every day. Saffy is off with Sarah, Indigo has his paper round and guitar lessons, Eve's in quarantine in the shed, Bill's not much use in London, and who knows where Caddy is since she disappeared with Michael's postcards! The only one around is David and Rose would rather be alone than be with him! At least Rose still has her friends at school: the brilliant Kiran and the nice but boring Molly. But school is no longer a peaceful place where Rose can daydream. Mean Mr Spencer is always shouting about SATs. And now he's cancelled Christmas! But one thing Mr Spencer cant cancel is the Christmas School Trip which means Rose can help Molly with her ONE BIG IDEA ... but what could that be? Will it be a very merry Christmas for Class 6 and the Casson family?

Hodder Children's Books

Caddy's World

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay

Go back in time ... Caddy is 12; grappling with school, best friends, first boyfriends, younger siblings and the unexpected arrival of one baby Permanent Rose who has appeared in the world a little sooner than expected. While baby Rose lies in critical condition in hospital, life goes on in the unpredictable, colourful Casson household.