Catherine Fisher - The Speed of Darkness - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444926330
    • Publication date:11 Feb 2016
Books in this series

The Speed of Darkness

Book 4

By Catherine Fisher

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

The final book of the Obsidian Mirror sequence - a dazzling new quartet blending myth, science and time travel - from the bestselling author of the New York Times bestseller, Incarceron.

Science fiction, myth, time travel and Shakespearean wit and playfulness combine in a stunning sequence of huge imaginative power - the Shakespeare Quartet ...

The Speed of Darkness concludes the series which began with The Obsidian Mirror, then moved on through The Box of Red Brocade and The Door in the Moon.

In this final volume, a great storm brews out at sea and batters the Devon coast, flooding vast swathes of land. At Wintercombe Abbey the preceding weeks have been spent in a ferment of experimentation, as Jake Wilde's father, David and Maskelyne work furiously on Operation Leah. They have been practising changing tiny events in the past, in preparation for the rescue of Venn's wife Leah from death, the culmination of their work with the Obsidian Mirror. But in the aftermath of the storm, the Abbey is a drowned house. Where is the Mirror? What has happened to the two halves of the Janus coin? Whose is the mysterious boat wrecked up on the nearby beach? And what plans of mischief and mayhem lay in store for Halloween - the day chosen for Leah's return?

Biographical Notes

Catherine Fisher is an award-winning fantasy writer and author of the New York Times bestseller Incarceron. The Oracle was shortlisted for the Whitbread Award 2003, The Conjuror's Game for the Smarties Award, and The Snow-Walker's Son for the WH Smith Mind Boggling Award. She has also been shortlisted and has won the Tir-Na-n`Og Award. Author of many books for children and two volumes of award-winning poetry, she is particularly well-known in Wales and spent two years as the first Welsh Young People's Laureate.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444926323
  • Publication date: 11 Feb 2016
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Certain to elevate Fisher's status in the world of British fantasy. — The Daily Telegraph
A wonderful follow-up to The Obsidian Mirror. — Bookbag
A captivating web of fantasy... fantastic. — Daily Record
Franklin Watts

King Midas

Damian Harvey, Sonya Abby Soekarno
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Sonya Abby Soekarno

In this retelling of the Greek myth, King Midas learns what true value means when his greed robs him of everything that he holds most dear.This first colour chapter book is a perfectly levelled, accessible text for Key stage 2 readers aged 9-10. Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and activities to provoke deeper response and encourage writing. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Hidden Talent

Cath Jones, Anne Defreville
Contributors:
Cath Jones, Anne Defreville
Franklin Watts

The Blitz Baby

Damian Harvey, Nicolas Hitori De
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Nicolas Hitori De
Franklin Watts

Hasan's Idea

Jill Atkins, José Rubert
Contributors:
Jill Atkins, José Rubert
Hodder Children's Books

SLAY

Brittney Morris
Authors:
Brittney Morris

The Hate U Give meets Ready Player One. A fierce teen game developer battles a real-life troll intent on ruining the Black Panther-inspired video game she created and the safe community it represents for black gamers.By day, seventeen-year-old Kiera Johnson is an honors student, a math tutor, and one of the only black kids at Jefferson Academy. By night, she joins hundreds of thousands of black gamers who duel worldwide as Nubian personas in the secret multiplayer online role-playing card game, SLAY.No one knows Kiera is the game developer, not her friends, her family, not even her boyfriend, Malcolm.But when a teen in Kansas City is murdered over a dispute in the SLAY world, news of the game reaches mainstream media, SLAY is labeled a racist, exclusionist, violent hub for thugs and criminals.Driven to save the only world in which she can truly be herself, Kiera must preserve her secret identity. But can she protect her game without losing herself in the process?

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

No.1 Bestselling Series from the Blue Peter Award winning author of How To Train Your Dragon. Enter a land of wizards, warriors, mythical creatures and powerful magic in an exciting new fantasy adventure."Do not be afraid, dear trees," implores Crusher the Giant as he strides through the forest ... while up above, the Witches sharpen their talons in readiness. The third electrifying book in The Wizards of Once series fizzes with magic and introduces us to a host of glorious new characters - bears and piskies and magical pins and needles to name but a few. Xar and Wish are heroes with a huge task ahead. Confronting the Nuckalavee is not for the faint hearted but with Magic and Iron together, surely they will prevail. Stunningly written, magnificent in scope, hilarious and thrilling, Knock Three Times immerses you in a world you won't ever wish to leave.

Franklin Watts

Sandy Cove Rescue

Sue Graves, Noémie Gionet Landry
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Noémie Gionet Landry

Jess and Spencer have been learning all about their local environment. When they go on a beach clean one Saturday, they are horrified to find a seal cub entangled in plastic. Their quick thinking ensures that the seal is soon in the best place to recover.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Hodder Children's Books

Iguana Boy Unmasks The Invisible Hero

James Bishop, Rikin Parekh
Contributors:
James Bishop, Rikin Parekh
Franklin Watts

Magic Marcus

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale
Hodder Children's Books

BOOT - small robot, BIG adventure

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty

For fans of WALL-E and Toy Story, comes a heart-warming, humorous adventure about a young robot trying to find its way home. Beautifully illustrated throughout, Boot is a special book you will want to treasure and share.When toy robot, Boot, wakes up at a scrapyard, it has no idea how it got there and why it isn't with its owner, Beth. It only has two and a half glitchy memories, but it knows it was loved, which means something important to humans. Boot soon realises its emotions make it different to other robots, who just function and don't think. Boot is scared but tries to be brave, which is hard when its screen keeps showing a wobbly, worried face. Luckily Boot meets Noke and Red - other 'advanced' robots who have learned to survive in secret.With its new friends by its side, Boot is determined to find Beth and the gang set off on a dangerous adventure. Everything Boot thought it knew about the world is changing and things aren't as simple as it remembers . . .Boot is a story that will take you by surprise and make you think about the world around you.

Franklin Watts

Coyote the Fire Thief

Mick Gowar, James Rey Sanchez
Contributors:
Mick Gowar, James Rey Sanchez
Franklin Watts

Rainbow Street

Lynne Rickards
Authors:
Lynne Rickards

Samir lives in Jordan with his family. His family bakery is in Rainbow street and it is here that Samir spends most of his time after school. But his true love is for birds. He is fascinated by them, their different shapes and sizes, colours and movements and one day, he gets to see the bird of his dreams ...Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Dragon Dance

Sue Graves, Fátima Anaya
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Fátima Anaya

Ju-Long and Ting are spending New Year at their grandparents' house and will be watching the dragon dance at the village celebrations. Ju-Long adores dragons and longs to be part of the dance, just like his grandfather was... and this year, his dreams come true!Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

A New Home in Space

Damian Harvey, José Rubert
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, José Rubert
Franklin Watts

Keep Off the Grass

Katie Dale, Liam Darcy
Contributors:
Katie Dale, Liam Darcy
Franklin Watts

Mary and the Great Fire of London

Sue Graves, Alex Paterson
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Alex Paterson
Franklin Watts

Save the library!

Katie Dale
Authors:
Katie Dale
Franklin Watts

Thin Ice

Sue Graves, Roger Simó
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Roger Simó

When friends Lenny and Ted take their bikes off to the woods on a cold, snowy day, Mum warns them to keep away from the icy pond. The trouble is, Lenny just can't resist it and ends up nearly paying a very high price...Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Wayland

I'm a JavaScript Games Maker: Advanced Coding

Max Wainewright
Authors:
Max Wainewright

Once you learn to code using JavaScript, the world of gaming opens up. If you already know a bit about JavaScript, it's time to pick up the pace! In this book, learn how to build mind-bending games, that you'll want to play for hours and will amaze your friends. Along the way, learn about core coding and gaming concepts like variables, random numbers, key presses and arrays.The Generation Code series is a hands-on guide to computer coding, designed to train you in the coding languages used by real-world computer programmers. You'll discover how to code exciting programs, web pages, apps and games, and learn how the tools and functions you're using can be applied to other situations.Other books in the Generation Code series:I'm an Advanced Scratch CoderI'm a Python ProgrammerI'm an HTML Web Page BuilderI'm an App DeveloperI'm a JavaScript Games Maker: The Basics

Franklin Watts

Wonders of the World

Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Authors:
Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds

Ever thought about the Wonders of the World? What they are and where to find them? These are the questions that will be explored in this exciting book. The Great Wall of China, the Giant's Causeway and the Galapagos Islands are just some of the incredible places you will learn about in this book. There are eight titles in the series Visual Explorers. High-impact books with incredible information about the world around us. Perfect for KS2 and children aged 7+ with an interest in natural phenomenon and natural history.