Julian Sedgwick - Return to the City of Ghosts - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444924503
    • Publication date:11 Jan 2018
Books in this series

Return to the City of Ghosts

Book 3

By Julian Sedgwick

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Ruby's adventure reaches a thrilling conclusion in this powerful story for fans of Philip Pullman, Susan Hill and Robin Stevens.

'The thing about ghosts is sometimes we create our own. And sometimes they find us, no matter what we do.'

The thrilling conclusion to the Ghosts of Shanghai by the award-winning author of the Mysterium trilogy, for fans of Philip Pullman, Susan Hill and Robin Stevens.

Ruby is on a mission to rescue the boy she loves: Charlie has been swept away in the powerful waters of the River Yangtze. But the world she loves is now broken by danger and fear, and Ruby is lost and surrounded by ghosts.

Can Ruby trust herself, and those around her, to find Charlie and return to Shanghai? Or has she ventured too deep into the realm of spirits?

On an amazing journey down the Yangtze, crossing from one world to the other, Ruby must follow the 'red thread of destiny' to find Charlie and home, before she loses herself . . .

Biographical Notes

Julian Sedgwick was born in Kent in 1966. A lifelong interest in the arts and culture of China and Japan has influenced much of his work - he read Oriental Studies and Philosophy at Cambridge, and between 2001 and 2007, travelled widely in Japan. He has always written but before focusing his energies on children's fiction, he worked as a bookseller and therapist. He lives with his wife Isabel and their sons Joseph and William in Ely, Cambs. Visit his website at www.juliansedgwick.co.uk.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444924510
  • Publication date: 11 Jan 2018
  • Page count: 360
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Game Over!

Frank Lampard
Authors:
Frank Lampard
Orchard Books

Fight for the Hidden City

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Scorpion Strike

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. Welcome to Hero Academy! Join Jack and your other new classmates at this secret school, where the lessons are more exciting than Maths and PE. When a portal from the evil underground realm of Noxx is discovered beneath the school, Team Hero needs your powers. The next invasion is upon us ...There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: Fight for the Hidden City, Book 2: Scorpion Strike, Book 3: Falcon of Fury, Book 4: Rise of the Shadow SnakesAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Franklin Watts

Frankenstein

Mary Shelley
Authors:
Mary Shelley

Frankenstein is the terrifying story of a scientist who uses his powers to bring a dead body back to life and thus creates a monster. Little can the scientist imagine the consequences of his actions, as he and his creation quickly become drawn into a deadly game of cat and mouse, which only one of them can win...Adapted by Mick Gowar from the original novel by Mary Shelley.A series of adaptations of well-known stories, designed to introduce young readers to the classics. Divided into short chapters and illustrated with modern black and white artwork, each title will offer the reader an accessible and exciting read.

Franklin Watts

The Children of Willesden Lane

Mona Golabek, Lee Cohen
Authors:
Mona Golabek, Lee Cohen

Fourteen-year-old Lisa Jura was a musical prodigy who hoped to become a concert pianist. But when Hitler's armies advanced on pre-war Vienna, Lisa's parents were forced to make a difficult decision. Able to secure passage for only one of their three daughters through the Kindertransport, they chose to send gifted Lisa to London for safety. As she yearned to be reunited with her family while she lived in a home for refugee children on Willesden Lane, Lisa's music became a beacon of hope. A memoir of courage, survival, and the power of music to uplift the human spirit, this compelling tribute to one special young woman and the lives she touched will both educate and inspire young readers. Based on a true story of a 14 year old girl Lisa Jura, who had to flee her home in Vienna and rebuild her life in London, the story brings home the reality of the Holocaust to readers aged 12 and up.

Franklin Watts

Tanks

David West
Authors:
David West
Franklin Watts

Spacecraft

David West
Authors:
David West

Learn all about spacecraft, from the first space capsules to space planes and space shuttles.Have you ever wondered where the crew all sit inside a tank, or what a jet engine looks like behind the turbine blades? Well these six books will help you find out just that! Find out something amazing about each vehicle and then turn the page to see it sliced in two where its innermost secrets will be revealed. Simple text and large labels and captions will make the bite-sized pieces of information appeal to a wide range of reading abilities, and the artwork is both friendly and accessible. What's Inside - perfect for inquisitive, machine-mad readers who love the details of how vehicles work. Suitable for readers aged 8+.

Hodder Children's Books

Shadow of the Yangtze

Julian Sedgwick
Authors:
Julian Sedgwick
Hodder Children's Books

Ghosts of Shanghai

Julian Sedgwick
Authors:
Julian Sedgwick
Hodder Children's Books

The Wheel of Life and Death

Julian Sedgwick
Authors:
Julian Sedgwick

Hodder Children's Books

The Palace of Memory

Julian Sedgwick
Authors:
Julian Sedgwick
Hodder Children's Books

The Black Dragon

Julian Sedgwick
Authors:
Julian Sedgwick

East meets West; past meets present; criminal minds meet skilled artists - welcome to the Mysterium, a circus with dark and thrilling secrets at its heart.Twelve-year-old Danny Woo is half-Chinese, half-British. His parents are performers in the Mysterium. Following their death in a mysterious fire, Danny is sent to live with his aunt Laura, an investigative journalist.When Danny's school is closed after an explosion, he joins Laura on a trip to Hong Kong. She is researching the Triad gangs; he is trying to understand more about his cultural background.But Laura disappears, and Danny is plunged into a dangerous quest to find her - which opens the door on the past he could never have imagined, and which leads him to question everything he has ever known about his past.

Orion Children's Books

The Great Rescue

Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler, Leo Hartas
Contributors:
Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler, Leo Hartas

When the Sea Wolf stops at a quiet island to make repairs, they are surprised to find the native people in need of help! They've been attacked and are now being held prisoner. The chief's son managed to escape and now he needs the Sea Wolf crew - and all Sam's Silver's cunning - to help him take his village back.

Orion Children's Books

Birthday Wishes

Sara Grant, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Sara Grant, Erica-Jane Waters

It's Trix's best friend Holly's tenth birthday and Trix can't wait for Holly to discover her own magical powers. Instead, Holly actually discovers that Trix is a witch! Now that Trix has let this slip, will it end her dream of becoming a real 'fairy' godmother?

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Box of Tricks

Ellie Boswell
Authors:
Ellie Boswell
Orion Children's Books

The Witching Hour

Sara Grant, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Sara Grant, Erica-Jane Waters

Trix wasn't expecting to develop magical powers when she turned ten, but it was definitely her best, if most surprising, birthday present! Now she's taking witching lessons and has an invisible kitten of her very own - but how can she keep it all a secret from her best friend, Holly?

Hodder Children's Books

Frost

Kathryn James
Authors:
Kathryn James
Hodder Children's Books

The Vampire of Highgate

Asa Bailey
Authors:
Asa Bailey

Gripping, atmospheric and sexy, this is British horror at its best. Kathy Bilic is adopted. Until now, she's had only a vague memory of her real family. But terrifying dreams and visions of her sister Amber are waking her in the night. When Amber starts giving her messages, Kathy gets a sickening sense that her sister is in danger - from a deadly, inhuman source. Kathy hits London to find her sister - but when she arrives at her aunt's house in Highgate, she is actively dissuaded from pursuing the mystery. Undeterred, Kathy's trail leads her through a bloody murder in the British Museum to a charged meeting with the mysterious, hypnoptic Antwain and a final confronation with her sinister father. Before long, Kathy uncovers the full horror of her heritage and her sister's fate at the hands of the Vampire of Highgate.

Franklin Watts

20,000 Leagues Under the Sea

Jules Verne
Authors:
Jules Verne

Professor Arronax and his men are kidnapped and held aboard the submarine Nautilus, piloted by the mysterious Captain Nemo. Deep under the sea they glimpse the lost city of Atlantis, dodge icebergs and do battle with a mighty giant squid. But will the Professor and his men ever manage to escape Captain Nemo and the Nautilus?Adapted by Lynne Benton from the original novel by Jules Verne.A series of adaptations of well-known stories, designed to introduce young readers to the classics. Divided into short chapters and illustrated with modern black and white artwork, each title will offer the reader an accessible and exciting read.

Orion Children's Books

The Queen's Bracelet

Georgie Adams, Gwen Millward
Contributors:
Georgie Adams, Gwen Millward