Julian Sedgwick - Return to the City of Ghosts - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444924503
    • Publication date:11 Jan 2018
Books in this series

Return to the City of Ghosts

Book 3

By Julian Sedgwick

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Ruby's adventure reaches a thrilling conclusion in this powerful story for fans of Philip Pullman, Susan Hill and Robin Stevens.

'The thing about ghosts is sometimes we create our own. And sometimes they find us, no matter what we do.'

The thrilling conclusion to the Ghosts of Shanghai by the award-winning author of the Mysterium trilogy, for fans of Philip Pullman, Susan Hill and Robin Stevens.

Ruby is on a mission to rescue the boy she loves: Charlie has been swept away in the powerful waters of the River Yangtze. But the world she loves is now broken by danger and fear, and Ruby is lost and surrounded by ghosts.

Can Ruby trust herself, and those around her, to find Charlie and return to Shanghai? Or has she ventured too deep into the realm of spirits?

On an amazing journey down the Yangtze, crossing from one world to the other, Ruby must follow the 'red thread of destiny' to find Charlie and home, before she loses herself . . .

Biographical Notes

Julian Sedgwick was born in Kent in 1966. A lifelong interest in the arts and culture of China and Japan has influenced much of his work - he read Oriental Studies and Philosophy at Cambridge, and between 2001 and 2007, travelled widely in Japan. He has always written but before focusing his energies on children's fiction, he worked as a bookseller and therapist. He lives with his wife Isabel and their sons Joseph and William in Ely, Cambs. Visit his website at www.juliansedgwick.co.uk.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444924510
  • Publication date: 11 Jan 2018
  • Page count: 360
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

Shadow of the Yangtze

Julian Sedgwick
Authors:
Julian Sedgwick
Hodder Children's Books

Ghosts of Shanghai

Julian Sedgwick
Authors:
Julian Sedgwick
Hodder Children's Books

The Wheel of Life and Death

Julian Sedgwick
Authors:
Julian Sedgwick
Hodder Children's Books

The Palace of Memory

Julian Sedgwick
Authors:
Julian Sedgwick

Danny Woo has escaped from the jaws of death once - but his trials are not yet over. He's meant to be recovering, but when he discovers the Mysterium - the circus into which he was born, and which cost his parents their lives - is being reformed in Barcelona, he determines to join them. But all is not well - who is the bad seed inside the once-loyal company? And who is the woman in green who can kill, and who seems to be trailing Danny with each move he makes? Everything, he knows, is linked to the death of his parents: he must continue his quest to find his parents' killers. Once again, the story culminates in Danny's participation in a well-known and dangerous stunt.

Hodder Children's Books

The Black Dragon

Julian Sedgwick
Authors:
Julian Sedgwick
Orchard Books

Amelia the Singing Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Weather Fairies Treasury

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

This fantastic story collection features abridged versions of the seven Weather Fairies titles: Crystal the Snow Fairy, Abigail the Breeze Fairy, Pearl the Cloud Fairy, Goldie the Sunshine Fairy, Evie the Mist Fairy, Storm the Lightning Fairy and Hayley the Rain Fairy. Each story is accompanied by wonderful full-colour illustrations. This really is the perfect gift for all fairy fans!

Orchard Books

Maisie the Moonbeam Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

The moon is shining at Camp Stargaze, and Kirsty and Rachel are enjoying some night-time games. But when a strange light appears nearby, Kirsty and Rachel wonder if the goblins are up to no good with Maisie's precious moon dust...

Orchard Books

Matilda the Hair Stylist Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Kirsty and Rachel are excited to be entering a charity fashion show where children get to show off their own designs. Unfortunately, Jack Frost thinks everyone in the world should dress like him, and steals the Fashion Fairies' seven magical items to put his naughty plan into action!Kirsty and Rachel need to find Matilda the Hair Stylist Fairy's magic brush, before bad hair days start happening every day.

Orchard Books

Brooke the Photographer Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Lola the Fashion Show Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Juliet the Valentine Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Juliet the Valentine Fairy is in a terrible state! She helps make every Valentines Day special for friends and sweethearts everywhere. But Jack Frost and his naughty goblins have stolen her three special Valentine objects, so nobody is enjoying this most special and wonderful of days!Can Kirsty and Rachel help Juliet, or will the missing Valentine items affect their friendship, too...?

Orchard Books

Lexi the Firefly Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Mean Jack Frost has kidnapped all the fireflies, leaving Fairyland in darkness! Kirsty and Rachel must help Lexi the Firefly Fairy find her magical bag of fire dust. But first the fireflies need rescuing...

Orchard Books

Morgan the Midnight Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Kirsty and Rachel are preparing for a midnight feast at Camp Stargaze, but everything's going wrong! Morgan the Midnight Fairy has lost her bag of magical night dust.The girls must find it before the midnight feast turns into a midnight flop!

Orchard Books

Stephanie the Starfish Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Rachel and Kirsty are visiting Kirsty's grandmother by the sea for their spring break. One morning they spot a very sparkly shell on the beach and it whisks them away to Fairyland! It's the occasion of the yearly Ocean Gala, where Shannon the Ocean Fairy plays her Magical Golden Conch Shell to ensure that the seas and oceans remain peaceful and ordered for the year ahead. But Jack Frost is there to ruin things for everyone! His pesky goblins break the Magical Golden Conch Shell into seven pieces as they try to steal it and the pieces are whisked away into the oceans of the human world. Queen Titania uses her magic to send seven magical sea creatures to guard the pieces of the shell, but the Ocean Fairies, and Rachel and Kirsty must get the pieces back before chaos takes over the oceans! Can they outwit Jack Frost and his goblins and make the oceans a safe and happy place for everyone once again...? In this fourth book in the series, Kirsty, Rachel and Stephanie the Starfish Fairy must find Shimmer the starfish. This involves a midnight adventure by the rockpools and a goblin chase through the moonlight!

Orchard Books

Yasmin the Night Owl Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Yasmin the Night Owl Fairy has lost her magical sleep dust - which means nobody knows when to be asleep or when to be awake! Can Kirsty and Rachel catch the thieves before they become too sleepy...?

Orchard Books

Sabrina the Sweet Dreams Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

It's Kirsty and Rachel's last night at Camp Stargaze, but horrible dreams are keeping them awake! The girls know they must find Sabrina the Sweet Dreams Fairy's bag of dream dust. It's time to pay a visit to mean Jack Frost's Ice Castle...

Orchard Books

Zara the Starlight Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Strange things are happening to the stars at Camp Stargaze, and without Zara the Starlight Fairy's bag of star dust, the night sky will be ruined forever. But can Kirsty and Rachel help her to find it before the goblins do? The race is on!

Orchard Books

Tess the Sea Turtle Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Whitney the Whale Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper