Jennifer Donnelly - Deep Blue - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444921199
    • Publication date:01 May 2014
Books in this series

Deep Blue

Book 1

By Jennifer Donnelly

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Destined to be a global phenomenon, an exciting new mermaid series - Percy Jackson for girls.

When Serafina, a mermaid of the Mediterranean Sea, awakens on the morning of her betrothal, her biggest worry should be about reuniting with handsome Prince Mahdi, her childhood crush. Instead she finds herself haunted by strange dreams foretelling the return of an ancient evil, and dealing with the deaths of her parents as assassins storm the betrothal ceremony, plunging the city into chaos.

Led only by her shadowy dreams and pursued by the invading army, Serafina and her best friend Neela embark on a quest to avenge her parents' death and prevent a war between the mer nations. In the process they discover a plot that threatens their - and our - world's very existence.

Biographical Notes

Jennifer Donnelly is a bestselling writer for adults and children. Her first young adult novel, A Gathering Light, won the Carnegie Medal in 2003, as well as receiving several awards in the US including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. Her adult work includes The Tea Rose, The Winter Rose and The Wild Rose.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444921205
  • Publication date: 01 Jan 2015
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Review — Girlfriend
There's a sisterhood of friendship and loyalty in this book — Dolly
Filled with the wonders of mermaids, witches and atery monsters. Donnelly has masterfully created an aquatic wonderland; filled with intrigue...This book has wide appeal — School Librarian
A book about strong bonds, sisterhood and mermaids — Kiss
A completely captivating world beneath the waves which is set to become an exciting new Disney project. — The Guardian
Hodder Children's Books

Shield of Lies

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Franklin Watts

Family Differences

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at different family set-ups including single parents and step-families and examines issues that can arise within families - sibling fall-outs, poverty, abuse, illness and child carers, and getting on with parents.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

Self-Esteem and Confidence

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Worlds Collide

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer

The epic conclusion to Chris Colfer's No.1 New York Times bestselling series The Land of Stories! In the highly anticipated finale, Conner and Alex must brave the impossible. All of the Land of Stories fairy tale characters - heroes and villains - are no longer confined within their world!With mayhem brewing in the Big Apple, Conner and Alex will have to win their biggest battle yet. Can the twins restore order between the human and fairy-tale world? Breathtaking action mixed with laugh-out-loud moments and lots of heart will make this a gripping conclusion for fans old and new.

Orion Children's Books

The Ones That Disappeared

Zana Fraillon
Authors:
Zana Fraillon

Beautiful, magical and moving, this is a SKELLIG for a new generation, from the author of THE BONE SPARROW, shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal 2017 and the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize 2016. Some stories need to be told... A moving, beautifully-written and poignant novel about child trafficking and the search for freedom.Kept by a ruthless gang, three children manage to escape from slavery. But freedom isn't just waiting on the outside.Separated, scared and looking after a small child, Esra will do whatever she can to reunite with her friend Miran, who was captured by the police - the police who she mustn't trust.Hiding in the shadows of the forest, Esra is found by a local boy, a boy with his own story. Together they will create a man out of mud. A man who will come to life and lead them through a dark labyrinth of tunnels until they finally have the courage the step above ground. Until they finally have the courage to speak their story. Until they finally have the courage to be free.

Hodder Children's Books

Sea Spell

Jennifer Donnelly
Authors:
Jennifer Donnelly

Six mermaids battle to save their hidden world in Disney's epic series finale for fans of Percy Jackson and The Girl of Ink & Stars.The mermaids prepare for war. The powerful Volneros is invading all the mer realms and in a foolish attempt to stop him, founding father Orfeo plans to unleash an ancient and dangerous monster from its icy prison. While Astrid faces her powerful ancestors to steal the black pearl talisman from Orfeo's stronghold, Ava must travel to the treacherous swamps of the Mississippi where the evil Okwa Naholo spirits kill with a single glance.In an epic battle, the Black Fin resistance, lead by Serafina, must defeat both Voleneros and Orfeo and prevent the destruction of their world.

Orion Children's Books

Running on the Roof of the World

Jess Butterworth
Authors:
Jess Butterworth
Hodder Children's Books

Brer Rabbit Story Collection

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

It's wits against brawn in the classic tales of Brer Rabbit, re-told by one of the world's best-loved children's authors, Enid Blyton.Brer Rabbit is as clever as can be. He loves to play jokes and tricks on his animal friends, but every now and then they get him back! Join Brer Rabbit, Brer Fox and Brer Bear in over 80 short stories re-told by Enid Blyton for children in her own style. This collection contains stories from the books Enid Blyton's Brer Rabbit Book (1948), Brer Rabbit Again (1963) and Brer Rabbit's a Rascal! (1965) and black and white illustrations.

Hodder Children's Books

Ready Steady Mo!

Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Contributors:
Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi

From Olympic gold medal winner Mo Farah and bestselling author of Oi Frog, Kes Gray, comes a fun and action-packed picture book that will get kids reading - and running too!So, what are you waiting for? Warm up, do the MOBOT, and then ...Run on the pavementRun on the grassRun in the playgroundPerhaps not in class!This must-read picture book debut includes bright vibrant illustrations and rhyming text. And look out for more children's books by Mo Farah in 2017!

Hodder Children's Books

The Crystal Run

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The gripping children's debut from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author is a page-turning fantasy quest novel for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman.'I am proud to die for Carcassia,' said Kaia. 'All Runners have a special place in our world, in our history.'Kaia Kukura has been awarded the great honour of protecting her country, and is determined to bring wealth and glory to her family. She must travel through enemy territory to replace the precious Kerala crystals that power Carcassia's protective shield. But no Runner is permitted to return after their mission. When Kaia hasfulfilled her Runner's oath, she knows her life must end.But sometimes it takes an outsider, someone from a different world, to question the truth.Fourteen-year-old Joe can barely outrun the school bullies who torment him daily. Cornered yet again, he tries to escape - and finds himself falling through a portal into another world. There, he meets fierce and strong Kaia. Together they discover that not everyone in Carcassia can be trusted - and that there are terriblelies at the heart of Kaia's beloved home.Can their combined strength and skill help Kaia save her country and herself? And will Joe ever find a way back to his own world?

Hodder Children's Books

Claudine at St Clare's

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Dark Tide

Jennifer Donnelly
Authors:
Jennifer Donnelly
Hodder Children's Books

A Song for Ella Grey

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Hodder Children's Books

A Tale of Two Beasts

Fiona Roberton
Authors:
Fiona Roberton

There are two sides to every story. A little girl finds a strange beast in the woods and takes it home as a pet. She feeds it, shows it off to her friends and gives it a hat. But that night it escapes. Then the beast tells the story of being kidnapped by the girl, who forcefed it squirrel food, scared it with a group of beasts and wrapped it in wool. Can the two beasts resolve their differences?An eye-opening story that makes you look at things from a different perspective.'Roberton's premise is as sublime as it is simple, with a subtle message. [...] Totally delightful.' - Kirkus Reviews

Hodder Children's Books

Rogue Wave

Jennifer Donnelly
Authors:
Jennifer Donnelly

Six mermaids battle to save their hidden world.Serafina, Neela and four others have successfully escaped Captain Traho and his men after their hideout with the river witches was stormed. They must stop an ancient evil from escaping its icy prison by finding six talismans hidden by Serafina's ancestor hundreds of years before. With all the Mer nations looking for them and no clue where to start, will the mermaids find the talismans before the monster is released?The second book in the Waterfire Saga.

Hodder Children's Books

Boyface and the Uncertain Ponies

James Campbell, Mark Weighton
Contributors:
James Campbell, Mark Weighton

Uncertain Ponies are making the inhabitants of Stoddenage-On-Sea very unhappy. Ponies have turned (back) into zebras, and suspicion is falling on the Antelope family's stripemongering shop as the source of the problem. Could something have gone wrong with the Quantum Chromatic Disruption Machine, and can Boyface Antelope and his friend Clootie Whanger fix it before all of Stoddenage-On-Sea's ponies are affected?

Hodder Children's Books

Lone Wolf

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Hodder Children's Books

Boyface and the Quantum Chromatic Disruption Machine

James Campbell, Mark Weighton
Contributors:
James Campbell, Mark Weighton

Boyface Antelope has been waiting his whole life to turn ten and be allowed to enter his parents' stripemongering shop so he can take stripes off animals and put them on something different. Like tartan onto badgers, or removing the stripes of zebras to make ponies. On the morning of his tenth birthday he finds his parents ill, and they ask him not just to go in the shop but to look after it on his own! Will he be able to keep the stripemongery running smoothly?

Hodder Children's Books

Dark Sun and other stories

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

Who would believe that a kid at a sleepover could be a spy? CHERUB: Dark Sun is a short novel aimed at new readers to CHERUB, originally written for World Book Day and now made available in print again by popular demand! To go with it are three stories never before seen in print: The Switch, CHERUB at Christmas and Kerry's First Mission. For official purposes, these children do not exist.

Hodder Children's Books

Caddy's World

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay