Jennifer Donnelly - Deep Blue - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444921199
    • Publication date:01 May 2014
Books in this series

Deep Blue

Book 1

By Jennifer Donnelly

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Destined to be a global phenomenon, an exciting new mermaid series - Percy Jackson for girls.

When Serafina, a mermaid of the Mediterranean Sea, awakens on the morning of her betrothal, her biggest worry should be about reuniting with handsome Prince Mahdi, her childhood crush. Instead she finds herself haunted by strange dreams foretelling the return of an ancient evil, and dealing with the deaths of her parents as assassins storm the betrothal ceremony, plunging the city into chaos.

Led only by her shadowy dreams and pursued by the invading army, Serafina and her best friend Neela embark on a quest to avenge her parents' death and prevent a war between the mer nations. In the process they discover a plot that threatens their - and our - world's very existence.

Biographical Notes

Jennifer Donnelly is a bestselling writer for adults and children. Her first young adult novel, A Gathering Light, won the Carnegie Medal in 2003, as well as receiving several awards in the US including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. Her adult work includes The Tea Rose, The Winter Rose and The Wild Rose.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444921205
  • Publication date: 01 Jan 2015
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Review — Girlfriend
There's a sisterhood of friendship and loyalty in this book — Dolly
Filled with the wonders of mermaids, witches and atery monsters. Donnelly has masterfully created an aquatic wonderland; filled with intrigue...This book has wide appeal — School Librarian
A book about strong bonds, sisterhood and mermaids — Kiss
A completely captivating world beneath the waves which is set to become an exciting new Disney project. — The Guardian
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

Sea Spell

Jennifer Donnelly
Authors:
Jennifer Donnelly

Six mermaids battle to save their hidden world in Disney's epic series finale for fans of Percy Jackson and The Girl of Ink & Stars.The mermaids prepare for war. The powerful Volneros is invading all the mer realms and in a foolish attempt to stop him, founding father Orfeo plans to unleash an ancient and dangerous monster from its icy prison. While Astrid faces her powerful ancestors to steal the black pearl talisman from Orfeo's stronghold, Ava must travel to the treacherous swamps of the Mississippi where the evil Okwa Naholo spirits kill with a single glance.In an epic battle, the Black Fin resistance, lead by Serafina, must defeat both Voleneros and Orfeo and prevent the destruction of their world.

Orion Children's Books

The Archers of Isca

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

The second thrilling adventure in a new historical series from million-copy-selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.Britannia AD 94. On the run from the Emperor Domitian, fifteen-year-old Fronto has joined the Roman army in order to find the security and structure he craves. But when his younger sister Ursula is captured by a terrifying Druid called Snakebeard, he must make an impossible decision. Can he leave the army, when desertion is punishable by death?His desire: To become a good soldierHis quest: To rescue his sister His destiny: To find his place in Roman BritainFrom the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2. Historical locations featured in this book are a British Iron Age Village, Bath Spa and the fortress at Caerleon.

Hodder Children's Books

St Clare's Collection 2

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Dark Tide

Jennifer Donnelly
Authors:
Jennifer Donnelly

Six mermaids battle to save their hidden world.Leaders of a resistance to the barbaric new regime, Serafina and Neela, are working hard to destabilise Vallerio, the new ruler of Cerulea. Becca, Ava and Ling are still hunting for their ancestors' talismans; the keys to keeping an ancient evil locked in its icy prison. Astrid finally returns home to Ondalina to find that all is not as she left it, and a sinister human with empty, black eyes offers her power she never dreamed of ...The third book in the Waterfire Saga.

Orion Children's Books

I, Coriander

Sally Gardner
Authors:
Sally Gardner
Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler
Hodder Children's Books

Rogue Wave

Jennifer Donnelly
Authors:
Jennifer Donnelly

Six mermaids battle to save their hidden world.Serafina, Neela and four others have successfully escaped Captain Traho and his men after their hideout with the river witches was stormed. They must stop an ancient evil from escaping its icy prison by finding six talismans hidden by Serafina's ancestor hundreds of years before. With all the Mer nations looking for them and no clue where to start, will the mermaids find the talismans before the monster is released?The second book in the Waterfire Saga.

Orion Children's Books

The White Giraffe and Dolphin Song

Lauren St John, David Dean
Contributors:
Lauren St John, David Dean

11 year old Martine's African adventures begin in THE WHITE GIRAFFE and DOLPHIN SONG, as she meets a magical white giraffe, rescues beached dolphins, and learns of an ancient prophecy that says the child who rides the white giraffe will have power over all the animals.Martine is eleven when she goes to live on a game reserve in South Africa. One night she looks out of her window and sees a giraffe - silver, tinged with cinnamon in the moonlight. In that instant, she knows that she is prepared to risk everything for it, and her thrilling adventures as the child who can ride the white giraffe begin.Join Martine in these heart-warming stories, as she discovers her special gift of healing, and rescues beached dolphins in the islands of Mozambique.These are books full of charm and atmosphere and stunning African landscapes, which will enchant animal lovers everywhere.

Orion Children's Books

The Beggar of Volubilis

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

Flavia and her friends are on a quest for the Emperor Titus - to steal a valuable gemstone known as 'Nero's Eye'. The Delphic Oracle prophesied that whoever owns the gem will rule Rome - so Titus is determined to claim it for himself. Their travels take them across the Roman province of Mauretania, from Sabratha (in modern Libya) to Volubilis (Morocco). As they travel on a caravan across the desert they encounter slave-traders, pantomime actors and a wild animal stampede. The detectives must consider another quest: what has happened to Uncle Gaius? Meanwhile, Flavia faces some tough decisions about her future.

Orion Children's Books

Floodland

Marcus Sedgwick, Marcus Sedgwick
Authors:
Marcus Sedgwick, Marcus Sedgwick

David Tennant

David Tennant is a respected classical actor who has performed numerous starring roles for the Royal Shakespeare Company.He was nominated for a 2003 Laurence Olivier Theatre Award for Best Actor.He also has numerous TV credits, including Mr Gibson in 'He Knew he was Right', DI Carlisle in 2004's 'Blackpool', and his film roles include Barty Crouch Jnr in 'Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire' (2005). From the end of 2005, he will be appearing as Dr Who in the series of that name.His audiobook readings for Hodder include How To Train Your Dragon, How to be a Pirate.

David West

David West is a graphic designer, illustrator and author of children's information books. He has produced over 500 titles on subjects ranging from dinosaurs and mythology to technology and science. Some of his best known titles include Brain Surgery for Beginners, Fifty Three and a Half Things that Changed the World and Dinosaurs in My Street. David went to art school in Kingston-upon-Thames and Harrow, where he specialised in information graphics. He lives in south west London with his wife, two sons, a cat and a goldfish who's over 14 years old.When he's not illustrating, writing and designing he can be found fishing for salmon in Scottish rivers or painting portraits for fun.

Emma Marriott

Emma Marriott, is an experienced writer and editor of non-fiction for young people, specialising in history, popular culture and current affairs.

Jeanne Willis

Jeanne Willis is an award-winning, internationally bestselling author, whose titles include I Hate School, I Want to Be a Cowgirl and Don't Let Go. Jeanne lives in London.

Jewell Parker Rhodes

Jewell Parker Rhodes grew up in Pennsylvania. She is an author of adult and children's books, a Coretta Scott King Honour award-winner, and a professor of creative writing at Arizona State University. She currently lives in San Jose.

John C. Miles

John. C Miles began his fascinating journey of discovery in Toronto, Canada where he trained as a classical musician. Moving to the UK, he spent many years as a parasite on the broad back of London whilst working as a children's non-fiction editor. Like Anthony à Wood, he is a snapper up of unconsidered historical trifles and has spent many years studying the past and wondering how and why. He now lives near Bath, growing parsnips, taking photographs with his collection of vintage film cameras and dressing as an 18th-century pirate.

Jon Richards

Jon Richards is an award-winning author of non-fiction books for children. He specialises in visual literacy, infographics and data visualisation.

Jonathan Meres

Jonathan Meres is a former merchant seaman, ice-cream van driver and Perrier Award-nominated stand-up comedian. As a writer he's written for TV and radio, but is best known for being the author of over 30 books for children and in particular his best-selling, award-winning series, The World Of Norm, which has so far been translated into 16 languages worldwide. Jonathan's hugely entertaining live performances ensure that he's in constant demand at school and book festivals throughout the UK and beyond. Find out more at www.jonathanmeres.com

Joy Lin

Joy Lin was a high school science teacher in Austin, Texas until recently. She has a BA in Biology, a BS in Chemistry and another BS in Biochemistry from UT Austin. In 2013, TED and Kohl's Cares teamed up to look for 18 most inspiring lessons to animate, and her Hollywood vs. Science lessons were selected. She wrote a series of 6 videos: If Superpowers Were Real. She is now in the process of becoming an entertainer. She is a stand-up comedian who's been featured in 4 comedy festivals and competitions, most recently in NYC. And she is also acting in a TV show that will premiere in the US in 2017.