Jennifer Donnelly - Deep Blue - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444921199
    • Publication date:01 May 2014
Books in this series

Deep Blue

Book 1

By Jennifer Donnelly

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Destined to be a global phenomenon, an exciting new mermaid series - Percy Jackson for girls.

When Serafina, a mermaid of the Mediterranean Sea, awakens on the morning of her betrothal, her biggest worry should be about reuniting with handsome Prince Mahdi, her childhood crush. Instead she finds herself haunted by strange dreams foretelling the return of an ancient evil, and dealing with the deaths of her parents as assassins storm the betrothal ceremony, plunging the city into chaos.

Led only by her shadowy dreams and pursued by the invading army, Serafina and her best friend Neela embark on a quest to avenge her parents' death and prevent a war between the mer nations. In the process they discover a plot that threatens their - and our - world's very existence.

Biographical Notes

Jennifer Donnelly is a bestselling writer for adults and children. Her first young adult novel, A Gathering Light, won the Carnegie Medal in 2003, as well as receiving several awards in the US including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. Her adult work includes The Tea Rose, The Winter Rose and The Wild Rose.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444921205
  • Publication date: 01 Jan 2015
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Review — Girlfriend
There's a sisterhood of friendship and loyalty in this book — Dolly
Filled with the wonders of mermaids, witches and atery monsters. Donnelly has masterfully created an aquatic wonderland; filled with intrigue...This book has wide appeal — School Librarian
A book about strong bonds, sisterhood and mermaids — Kiss
A completely captivating world beneath the waves which is set to become an exciting new Disney project. — The Guardian
Hodder Children's Books

Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart

Bold, brutal and beautiful, this is a must-read with the glitter and romance of The Selection and the thrilling action and intrigue of Red Queen.In a world where women have no rights, sisters Serina and Nomi face two very different fates: one in the palace, the other on an island prison where women must fight to survive. Serina has spent her whole life preparing to become a Grace - selected to stand by the heir to the throne as a shining example of the perfect woman. But her headstrong and rebellious younger sister has a dangerous secret, and one wrong move could cost both sisters everything. Can Serina fight? And will Nomi win?

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones?

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin

From the author of JOE ALL ALONE - now a major CBBC series.A story about finding yourself when everything changes and believing that love never runs out. Perfect for fans of A Boy called Hope and Jacqueline Wilson.Eleven-year-old Birdy Jones is all alone. She doesn't belong at school, at home, or even with her dad anymore. The only place she feels like herself is at her grandpa's pigeon loft, where the familiar warmth and birdsong block out the world. It's also where she meets Dogger - her only friend and the one person who really seems to know where she's coming from.Birdy used to be happy, when it was just her and Dad, but now she has a stepmum, a little sister, and another baby on the way. Worse, her growing family needs to move house, but Birdy doesn't believe there'll ever be enough room for her in Dad's busy life - and she can't leave Grandpa and the pigeons. She won't.Birdy dreams of a different family and future, and with Dogger's help she decides to find one - even if it means running away from everything she's ever known. But sometimes you need to fly away to find your way home again . . .

Orion Children's Books

The Boy At the Back of the Class

Onjali Q. Rauf
Authors:
Onjali Q. Rauf

Told with heart and humour, The Boy at the Back of the Class is a child's perspective on the refugee crisis, highlighting the importance of friendship and kindness in a world that doesn't always make sense.There used to be an empty chair at the back of my class, but now a new boy called Ahmet is sitting in it.He's nine years old (just like me), but he's very strange. He never talks and never smiles and doesn't like sweets - not even lemon sherbets, which are my favourite!But then I learned the truth: Ahmet really isn't very strange at all. He's a refugee who's run away from a War. A real one. With bombs and fires and bullies that hurt people. And the more I find out about him, the more I want to help.That's where my best friends Josie, Michael and Tom come in. Because you see, together we've come up with a plan. . .

Orchard Books

Sianne the Butterfly Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Sianne the Butterfly Fairy has a very special job. She provides butterflies with the special magic they need to carry messages between the fairy and human worlds. But when Jack Frost steals her enchanted objects, the connection between the two worlds is at risk. Can Kirsty and Rachel help defeat the wicked Ice Lord before it's too late?

Orchard Books

A Fairy Ballet

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Billie the Baby Goat Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Debbie the Duckling Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Elodie the Lamb Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Penelope the Foal Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Kirsty and Rachel love animals, especially cute baby ones! But when strange things start happening at the Wetherbury Petting Zoo, it's clear some magical mischief is afoot. Can the girls help their new friends The Baby Farm Animal Fairies put things right?

Orchard Books

The Pet Keeper Fairies

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Susie the Sister Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Susie helps make sure the magical bond between all sisters is strong and true. But when her three special objects go missing, big and little sisters everywhere start falling out! Could this be the work of nasty Jack Frost? Rachel, Kirsty and Susie must work together to defeat him.There's a diary planner, a padlock and a mobile phone in this book. Read on to see if Rachel, Kirsty and Elsa can find them!

Orchard Books

My Sparkling Fairies Collection

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Mimi the Laughter Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Fizz the Fireworks Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Clare the Caring Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Everyone knows Kirsty and Rachel are best friends. But when Jack Frost steals the Friendship Fairies' magical objects, the special bond of BFFs everywhere is at risk! Can they fight the Ice Lord and his goblin minions to restore the magic of friendship in both the Fairyland and worlds?

Orchard Books

Mary the Sharing Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Hodder Children's Books

Sea Spell

Jennifer Donnelly
Authors:
Jennifer Donnelly
Orion Children's Books

Ruin and Rising

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo
Orion Children's Books

Shadow and Bone

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo
Orion Children's Books

Siege and Storm

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

Enter the Grishaverse with Book Two of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by the number one New York Times-bestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas. Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Alina Starkov's power has grown, but not without a price. She is the Sun Summoner - hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Shadow Fold. But she and Mal can't outrun their enemies for long.The Darkling is more determined than ever to claim Alina's magic and use it to take the Ravkan throne. With nowhere else to turn, Alina enlists the help of an infamous privateer and sets out to lead the Grisha army.But as the truth of Alina's destiny unfolds, she slips deeper into the Darkling's deadly game of forbidden magic, and further away from her humanity. To save her country, Alina will have to choose between her power and the love she thought would always be her shelter. No victory can come without sacrifice - and only she can face the oncoming storm.Praise for the Grishaverse:"Utterly, extremely bewitching." The Guardian"There's a level of emotional and historical sophistication within Bardugo's original epic fantasy that sets it apart." Vanity Fair"Unlike anything I've ever read." Veronica Roth, bestselling author of Divergent"This is a great choice for teenage fans of George R.R. Martin and J.R.R. Tolkien." RT Book ReviewsRead all the books in the Grishaverse!The Shadow and Bone Trilogy (previously published as The Grisha Trilogy)Shadow and BoneSiege and StormRuin and RisingThe Six of Crows DuologySix of CrowsCrooked KingdomThe Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic