Chris Higgins - The Day I Met Suzie - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Day I Met Suzie

By Chris Higgins

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A gritty drama from Chris Higgins about tangled relationships and the danger of manipulation.

'My boyfriend could get into trouble if he gets caught. He could go to jail.' I moan softly. 'So could I.'
'Anything you tell me is completely confidential.' I sigh deeply. What have I got to lose? 'I wouldn't know where to begin.'
'At the beginning?' she says. 'In your own words.'
So that's what I do. I start at the beginning like she says.
The day I met Suzie.

Indigo (Indie) rings the Samaritans. She is frightened and desperate with no one to turn to. Over the course of one long night, Indie tells her story to the person on the end of the phone. She realises that her friend Suzie has taken over her home, her friends, her work, her boyfriend - and her life. After every few chapters we are brought back to the present moment, and see how piecing the story together helps Indie progress towards resolution.

Biographical Notes

Before writing her first novel, Chris Higgins taught English and Drama for many years in secondary schools. Chris has worked at the Minack, the open-air theatre on the cliffs near Lands End. She now writes full time. Chris loves to travel and has lived and worked in Australia as well as hitchhiking to Istanbul and across the Serengeti Plain. She was born and brought up in South Wales, but now lives in the far west of Cornwall with her husband. Chris's novels deal with issues that every teenager can identify with and Chris won a number of awards including YoungMinds, the Lancashire book award, the KYBA and has been twice nominated for Queen of Teen.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444913293
  • Publication date: 07 Mar 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
A gripping read from start to finish — Birmingham Post

PRAISE FOR CHRIS HIGGINS:
'This is another great novel by Chris Higgins ... The story moves at a fast pace and is full of drama that always keeps you turning the pages.'

— Chicklish
A real teenage page-turner ... Fans of Chris Higgins (shortlisted for the Queen of Teen award) will love this latest drama — Sunday Express
'This story captured my interest from the beginning and I was thrilled that it got better and better as I read. The author packs a great deal into this average-length teen book and every page had me wanting a little bit more. The characters in the story are superb: well fleshed out, with authentic voices for their age (and nationality).' — The Book Bag
'Chris Higgins gives her loyal audience another tremendously enjoyable read in Love Ya Babe. She has a light touch and an easy style that absorbs you right from the very start.' — The Bookbag
'This a funny, interesting, heart-warming story.' — Chicklish
'... exciting and engaging and its a hard one to put down when youve started.' — The Bookbag
A thundering good read — The Cornishman
A touching tale of romance, friendship & family — Publishing News
A poignant novel... A moving, honest & most of all positive story about friendship, family & trust. Will make you laugh and cry. — Shop! Scotland
A touching debut — First News
'Another authentic drama for young teens.' — The Bookseller
cannot fail to grip... a nail-biting page-turner. — Cornishman
Full of menace and suspense, this is a compulsive read with bags of teen appeal. — Peters Gazette
Will keep you gripped from start to finish. — Western Morning Series
A novel affording considerable insight into the maelstrom of adolescent infatuation and its accompanying traumas. — School Librarian
Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins

One boy stranded at sea. One girl back on land. One ocean between them. The only thing willing him to survive is the thought of her. A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon. Sometimes you have to lose yourself, to find each other.Kai has always been best friends with Jen; ever since he and his mum moved to Cornwall when he was small. But now his feelings are deepening. It's ridiculous to imagine Jen would feel the same, especially since she has been hanging out with surf-pro Macca, the guy everyone fancies. Frustrated by his feelings, Kai makes a snap decision that will put his life in great danger. Stranded at sea, time is running out. With only his thoughts to occupy him, he must face some buried truths about his past. And confront his future with the girl back on shore, if he can reach it ... if the ocean doesn't take him first.

Franklin Watts

Family Differences

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at different family set-ups including single parents and step-families and examines issues that can arise within families - sibling fall-outs, poverty, abuse, illness and child carers, and getting on with parents.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

Self-Esteem and Confidence

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at self-esteem and how it's possible to change it. It deals with issues such as a healthy body image, peer pressure, celebrity culture and bullying and provides lots of practical advice for young people dealing with low self-esteem.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Orion Children's Books

The Ones That Disappeared

Zana Fraillon
Authors:
Zana Fraillon
Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Down Under

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Hodder Children's Books

The Crystal Run

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Gets Funnier

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish

Nine-year-old Mattie is excited. Uncle Vez's brother and his wife have come to visit! With their Australian guests, life in the Butterfield household is even more chaotic than usual. Mattie just has one worry on her Worry List ... Has Grandma met her match in Aunty Sheila?

Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Saves the Day

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Hodder Children's Books

Lone Wolf

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Moves House

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family's Got Talent

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish

Mum's 30th birthday is coming up and after such a hectic year for the Butterfields, Mattie wants to make it extra-special.Aided by best friend Lucinda, Mattie decides a talent show to showcase the Butterfields' unique skills will be the best birthday surprise for Mum. With a host of unruly Butterfields and Lucinda's parents coming to watch, however, have Mattie and Lucinda bitten off more than they can chew?

Hodder Children's Books

A Room Full of Chocolate

Jane Elson
Authors:
Jane Elson

***Winner of Peters Book of the Year 2015 and the Leeds Book Award.***Grace's fun-loving Mum has found a lump. Her north London world of sleepovers, tap dancing and playing the clarinet fall apart when she is sent to live with her grumpy old granddad on his farm in Yorkshire while her mother goes into hospital to get better. Grace misses her mother so much it hurts, and doesn't quite understand what is happening to her. And things go from bad to worse when she starts school and becomes the bullies' latest target.But Grace is no longer alone when she meets Rainbow Girl Megan and her pig, Claude - when she's with them she feels as if she can confront anything. At Easter time when Grace misses her mum the most, she knows she must find a way to get to London. With Megan's help, she hatches a plan to run away that involves Claude, chocolate Easter eggs and a risky ID swap. But it's all worth it if it means that she finally gets to see her mum ... A gorgeous story of courage and friendship that will tug at your heart strings.'A touching, beautifully imagined debut about a young girl coping with her mother's cancer and her grandfather's stubbornness. It's atmosphere reminds me of the central relationship in Goodnight Mr Tom.' Amanda Craig'At times, desperately moving, and others riotously fun, this is a special book that is destined to charm readers old and young.' We Love This Book'This is a lovely tale of friendship, tenacity and family secrets.' The Bookseller

Hodder Children's Books

Dark Sun and other stories

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Hodder Children's Books

It's a 50/50 Thing

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins
Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Gets Bigger

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish

It's the new school term and, as the baby inside Mum's tummy gets bigger and bigger, the family begins to plan for Christmas. There are lists to be made and presents to be wrapped. But could an unexpected Christmas gift be just around the corner?

Hodder Children's Books

Indigo's Star

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay
Hodder Children's Books

Permanent Rose

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay

It's a long hot summer - to Permanent Rose it seems never ending. Rose misses Tom, Indigo's friend who went back to America, and new friend David is no replacement. Caddy's fiancee, Michael, tries to cheer her up by delivering a rose every day, but that just provides temporary relief. What with Daddy leaving her mother Eve for younger model Samantha, Caddy getting cold feet, and adoptive sister Saffron deciding to find her real father, no one seems to have time to come to Rose's rescue. But Rose is determined, and in her heart of hearts is sure she will find Tom again - but what else will she find on the way?

Hodder Children's Books

Caddy Ever After

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay
Hodder Children's Books

Forever Rose

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay
Hodder Children's Books

Caddy's World

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay

Go back in time ... Caddy is 12; grappling with school, best friends, first boyfriends, younger siblings and the unexpected arrival of one baby Permanent Rose who has appeared in the world a little sooner than expected. While baby Rose lies in critical condition in hospital, life goes on in the unpredictable, colourful Casson household.