Peter Bently - The Cat and the Mouse and the Runaway Train - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444924169
    • Publication date:06 Nov 2014

The Cat and the Mouse and the Runaway Train

By Peter Bently
Illustrated by Steve Cox

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

For train lovers everywhere, comes a fabulously energetic adventure written by the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize 2011.

From the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize comes a pacy rhyming adventure, perfect for any child who loves trains.

When a naughty little mouse steals cheese from the station master, a battle between cat and mouse follows! But they put their differences aside when a big, red steam train comes tearing down the track straight towards them! Exquisitely illustrated, this cat and mouse chase is a truly memorable ride that will be good for many repeated trips.

'This is a book that children will really enjoy... It's a book that will give children's sense of adventure a boost up the bottom.' - Rhino Reads

Biographical Notes

Peter Bently (Author)
Peter studied languages at Oxford and has two young children. He is the author of the bestselling Lark in the Ark (shortlisted for Red House Book Award) and the hilarious The Great Bottom Swap (rated 5 stars on Mumsnet). He recently won the American Library Association Notable Book of the year with King Jack and the Dragon and in 2011 he won the Roald Dahl Funny Prize with Cats Ahoy!

Steve Cox (Illustrator)
Steve Cox is an award-winning illustrator. He studied Graphic Design at Cornwall College of Art, graduating with a distinction, before moving to a successful career in toy packaging and children's TV character merchandising. Properties he worked on include Roland Rat and Count Duckula. He later returned to full-time illustration and has been involved in many different projects from simple board books to complex and detailed pop-ups. His first picture book, 'Pigs Might Fly', written by Jonathan Emmett, won the 'Books For Younger Children' category of the Red House Children's Book Award. He lives in Bath.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444910216
  • Publication date: 07 Aug 2014
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
A rollicking, rolling adventure of suspicion and friendship. Full of colour and vitality. A book to be shared again and again. — The Scotsman
An adventure of a story, full of action and excitement — Rhino reads
A jolly rhyming adeventure of a cheese-stealing mouse pursued by the station master and a big red steam engine — Western Morning News
Praise for Cats Ahoy by Peter Bently: It was the sort of book that you can read over and over and never get bored. — The Guardian
Hodder Children's Books

Mrs Blackhat

Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen

An exciting new story from the bestselling team behind Kipper, I Will Love You Anyway and Fred.Over the gateat number 8,round the back,through the flapand onto the lapof Mrs Blackhat!Meet Mrs Blackhat, a witch who just loves the colour black. From her broom to her hat, all is black... apart from her cat. What can she do to fix this problem? Find out in this hilarious, rhyming story!Praise for I Will Love You Anyway:'Charming, sad and funny. The day it arrived, my three-year old insisted we read it thirteen consecutive times' - Huffington Post

Hodder Children's Books

The Queen's Lift-Off

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony

From the award-winning creator of The Queen's Hat, The Queen's Handbag and The Queen's Present comes a fourth hilarious tale taking the reader on a whirlwind royal tour of space!The Queen has been round the UK, and the world - twice! - and now she's off to space!Perfectly ties in with the 50th anniversary of the first moon landing in 2019.A witty and stylish celebration of the Queen, created by Steve Antony, winner of the Oscar's First Book Prize, nominated for the Kate Greenaway Medal and shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize. Praise for The Queen's Hat: 'This is a wonderful romp of a read that's a great introduction to London, royalty and all that makes Britain great.' - Sun'This picture book is hard to beat for its sweet simplicity and charming monochromatic drawings.' - The Times

Hodder Children's Books

The Adventures of Egg Box Dragon

Richard Adams, Alex T. Smith
Contributors:
Richard Adams, Alex T. Smith
Hodder Children's Books

How to Scare a Ghost

Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish

From the author-illustrator team behind the bestselling How to Babysit a Grandad comes a funny and vibrant picture book perfect for reading out loud at Halloween!This humorous new book in the beloved HOW TO . . . series takes readers through a spooky Halloween. Written in tongue-in-cheek instructional style, two trick-or-treaters give tips for scaring a ghost!Praise for How to Babysit a Grandad: 'Youngsters will thoroughly enjoy the tongue-in-cheek role reversal.' - School Library Journal Illustrated by the winner of the Red House Children's Book Award and a New York Times bestselling artist.

Hodder Children's Books

A Home on the River

Peter Bently, Charles Fuge
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Charles Fuge
Orchard Books

The Littlest Things Give the Loveliest Hugs

Mark Sperring, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Mark Sperring, Maddie Frost

This glorious rhyming celebration of love and hugs introduces baby animals from the jungle to the Antarctic, the forest to the ocean - along with their adoring parents! Ducklings, seal pups, penguins, chicks and cubs . . . every mummy and daddy knows that the littlest things give the loveliest hugs!With the feel of an instant classic, this lyrical book is perfect for cuddle time - and the ideal gift for a new baby, Christening or birthday celebration. Mark Sperring is the bestselling author of Father Christmas on the Naughty Step and How Many Sleeps Till Christmas.

Orchard Books

A T-Wit for a T-Woo

Charlie Farley, Layn Marlow
Contributors:
Charlie Farley, Layn Marlow

He'd fly every night through the wood that he loved,And quietly gaze at the stars up above.But something was missing that made him feel blue.When he sang in the moonlight ... he'd just say 'T-WOO!'Little owl Twoo feels like something is missing. While all the other owls in the wood have a beautiful t-wit-t-woo call, Twoo only has half of his song. So the brave little owl sets off on a quest to find his true owl song - and a true friend to sing with him. On his journey, he discovers that when you believe in yourself, anything is possible.This feel-good picture book is perfect for fans of Giraffes Can't Dance and The Lion Inside.

Hodder Children's Books

Wishing for a Dragon

Becky Cameron
Authors:
Becky Cameron

This gorgeous picture book from a debut author-illustrator celebrates the imagination and all adventurous children.The sun has almost set, but Olive, Barney and Ella are wide awake and ready for adventure! Ella wants to go to the jungle, Barney hankers to be a pirate, but Ella has a secret wish . . . to see a dragon! So off they clamber into a hot-air balloon and are whisked away to magical lands. They see pirate teddybears and unicorns and tigers, but will they ever see a dragon? www.beckycameron.co.uk

Hodder Children's Books

Oi Goat!

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field
Hodder Children's Books

A Recipe for Playtime

Peter Bently, Sarah Massini
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Sarah Massini
Hodder Children's Books

A Home Full of Friends

Peter Bently, Charles Fuge
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Charles Fuge
Hodder Children's Books

Happy Easter, Tooth Fairy!

Peter Bently, Garry Parsons
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Garry Parsons
Hodder Children's Books

The Tooth Fairy's Royal Visit

Peter Bently, Garry Parsons
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Garry Parsons

The Tooth Fairy meets the Royal Family in this hilarious rhyming sequel to The Tooth Fairy's Christmas from Roald Dahl Funny Prize winner Peter Bently and Garry Parsons, bestselling illustrator of The Dinosaur That Pooped Christmas.The prince has lost his first tooth! He's asleep in his bedroom in the palace ... but the palace is enormous! Will the Tooth Fairy ever find him? And meanwhile can she help find another set of important royal teeth that have gone missing?!Praise for The Tooth Fairy's Christmas:'Garry Parsons does the both characters proud with his swirling, atmospheric illustrations.' - Independent'Lots of fun for young children' - Angels and Urchins

Hodder Children's Books

Everybunny Dance

Ellie Sandall
Authors:
Ellie Sandall
Orchard Books

The Koala Who Could

Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Contributors:
Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Hodder Children's Books

A Recipe for Bedtime

Peter Bently, Sarah Massini
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Sarah Massini

From the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, comes a classic baby bedtime book with a perfect lullaby ending.Baby, baby soft and sweet, almost good enough to eat! It's night-night time so come with me, and hear my bedtime recipe. An utterly charming tale. No bedtime collection should be without it."With its tender, gently soporific rhyming text and pictures so beautifully in tune, I can imagine this becoming a bedtime favourite with many a toddler." - Red Reading Hub

Hodder Children's Books

Tooth Fairy's Christmas

Peter Bently, Garry Parsons
Authors:
Peter Bently, Garry Parsons

The Tooth Fairy meets Santa! A glorious rhyming story with that feel-good Christmas factor.Tim Tucker has just lost a tooth but the Tooth Fairy is blown off-course in the snow. Luckily, a sleigh comes her way and Santa rescues her. Together, and with the help of a little magic, they deliver their gifts to Tim. Full of magic and wonder - a perfect Christmas gift from the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize and the illustrator of the bestselling The Dinosaur that Pooped Christmas.

Orchard Books

Princess Sleepyhead and the Night-Night Bear

Peter Bently, Laura Ellen Anderson
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Laura Ellen Anderson

The moon's in the sky and the kingdom's asleep.The cows are all slumbering. So are the sheep.The ducks are tucked up in the roots of the willow.The rabbit is drowsily nibbling his pillow . . .Night has fallen on the castle, and all the people and animals in the kingdom are snuggled up and snoozing. All except Princess Sleepyhead - she's tried running, jumping, counting and chasing, but it's no use - she just can't get to sleep!Luckily the Night-Night Bear is on hand to help. He knows that what every little princess needs at bedtime is a story, and - most importantly - a goodnight kiss.This sweet rhyming story by the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize is perfect for sharing at bedtime.

Wayland

The Storm

Peter Bently, Elisabetta Ferrero
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Elisabetta Ferrero
Wayland

Rascal's Diet

Peter Bently, Elisabetta Ferrero
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Elisabetta Ferrero