Peter Bently - The Cat and the Mouse and the Runaway Train - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444924169
    • Publication date:06 Nov 2014

The Cat and the Mouse and the Runaway Train

By Peter Bently
Illustrated by Steve Cox

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

For train lovers everywhere, comes a fabulously energetic adventure written by the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize 2011.

From the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize comes a pacy rhyming adventure, perfect for any child who loves trains.

When a naughty little mouse steals cheese from the station master, a battle between cat and mouse follows! But they put their differences aside when a big, red steam train comes tearing down the track straight towards them! Exquisitely illustrated, this cat and mouse chase is a truly memorable ride that will be good for many repeated trips.

'This is a book that children will really enjoy... It's a book that will give children's sense of adventure a boost up the bottom.' - Rhino Reads

Biographical Notes

Peter Bently (Author)
Peter studied languages at Oxford and has two young children. He is the author of the bestselling Lark in the Ark (shortlisted for Red House Book Award) and the hilarious The Great Bottom Swap (rated 5 stars on Mumsnet). He recently won the American Library Association Notable Book of the year with King Jack and the Dragon and in 2011 he won the Roald Dahl Funny Prize with Cats Ahoy!

Steve Cox (Illustrator)
Steve Cox is an award-winning illustrator. He studied Graphic Design at Cornwall College of Art, graduating with a distinction, before moving to a successful career in toy packaging and children's TV character merchandising. Properties he worked on include Roland Rat and Count Duckula. He later returned to full-time illustration and has been involved in many different projects from simple board books to complex and detailed pop-ups. His first picture book, 'Pigs Might Fly', written by Jonathan Emmett, won the 'Books For Younger Children' category of the Red House Children's Book Award. He lives in Bath.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444910216
  • Publication date: 07 Aug 2014
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
A rollicking, rolling adventure of suspicion and friendship. Full of colour and vitality. A book to be shared again and again. — The Scotsman
An adventure of a story, full of action and excitement — Rhino reads
Praise for Cats Ahoy by Peter Bently: It was the sort of book that you can read over and over and never get bored. — The Guardian
A jolly rhyming adeventure of a cheese-stealing mouse pursued by the station master and a big red steam engine — Western Morning News
Wayland

Plants

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon

This lovely picturebook story tells the story of two children who find out about how plants grow.Ideal for home or classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to explore scientific topicsIllustrated by the ever-popular and award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon.This book is part of a series of stories about feelings and emotions for children aged between 4 and 8. Other titles are: What are forces? What is light and sound? What is electricity? What are materials?

Wayland

Sound

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon

This lovely picturebook story tells the story of two children who find out about sound.Ideal for home or classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to explore scientific topicsIllustrated by the ever-popular and award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon.This book is part of a series of stories about feelings and emotions for children aged between 4 and 8. Other titles are: What are plants? What is light and sound? What is electricity? What are materials?

Hodder Children's Books

The Big Race

David Barrow
Authors:
David Barrow

Aardvark is only small and the Big Race is long and hard. But Aardvark is going to join in and give it everything she's got!A heart-warming, stylish and delightfully funny celebration of taking part rather than winning from Sebastian Walker Award winner David Barrow.Visit David at davebarrowillustration.co.uk and follow him at @DaveBarrow3.

Hodder Children's Books

Emily Brown and Father Christmas

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

Emily Brown and her side-kick rabbit, Stanley, are back! And who's that outside the window ... it's Father Christmas!With an important message about cherishing traditions that children will understand, this is storytelling at its best, from an exciting creative team in children's books.'Will both delight fans, and give them something to reflect on. Layton's illustrations are a joy, matching the text perfectly.' - BooksellerWritten by Cressida Cowell, the bestselling author of the How to Train Your Dragon series. http://www.cressidacowell.co.uk/Illustrated by award winning Neal Layton, creator of Stanley's Stick and illustrator of Danny McGee Drinks The Sea, shortlisted for the 2017 Laugh Out Loud Picture Book Award.http://www.neallayton.co.uk/

Hodder Children's Books

Claude All at Sea

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Hodder Children's Books

Claude Adventures

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Hodder Children's Books

Is it Really Nearly Christmas?

Joyce Dunbar, Victoria Turnbull
Contributors:
Joyce Dunbar, Victoria Turnbull
Hodder Children's Books

When I Was a Child

Andy Stanton, David Litchfield
Contributors:
Andy Stanton, David Litchfield

This beautifully illustrated book is a celebration of the the special bond between a grandparent and child as they share the magic, joy and love in the world, both past and present. There is magic in everything.The world is a spinning star, No matter how old you are.This heartwarming, tender story is a magical gift for a grandparent or child.

Wayland

Light and Dark

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon

This lovely picturebook story tells the story of two children who find out what light is.Ideal for home or classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to explore scientific topicsIllustrated by the ever-popular and award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon.This book is part of a series of stories about feelings and emotions for children aged between 4 and 8. Other titles are: What are plants? What are forces? What is electricity? What are materials?

Wayland

Materials

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon

This lovely picturebook story tells the story of two children who find out what materials are.Ideal for home or classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to explore scientific topicsIllustrated by the ever-popular and award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon.This book is part of a series of stories about feelings and emotions for children aged between 4 and 8. Other titles are: What are plants? What is light and sound? What is electricity? What are materials?

Hodder Children's Books

A Home on the River

Peter Bently, Charles Fuge
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Charles Fuge

Roald Dahl Funny Prize Winner, Peter Bently, teams up with the creator of Little Wombat, Charles Fuge, for this heartwarming story.Bramble and his friends have no water! The brave badger must head upstream to find the problem. Can Bramble bring the water back to his friends?Other titles in the series:A Home Full of Friends

Hodder Children's Books

Oi Duck-billed Platypus

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field
Hodder Children's Books

How to Get Your Teacher Ready for School

Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish
Hodder Children's Books

Swapsies

Fiona Roberton
Authors:
Fiona Roberton

Fang learns the importance of sharing in this clever and endearing story from the bestselling creator of The Tale of Two Beasts. Fang's favourite toy is Sock - he loves it more than anything. But when his friends bring along shiny trains and bouncy balls, Fang soon swaps his favourite toy for something more exciting. Will Sock and Fang be re-united?Praise for A Tale of Two Beasts: 'Roberton's premise is as sublime as it is simple, with a subtle message. Totally delightful.' - Kirkus Reviews

Hodder Children's Books

Oi Goat!

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field
Hodder Children's Books

A Recipe for Playtime

Peter Bently, Sarah Massini
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Sarah Massini
Hodder Children's Books

Little Whale

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Told through the eyes of a whale and her calf, this mesmerisingly beautiful book is a story of migration, family, the strength of parental love and the wonders of nature.Little Whale has never seen the cold, rich waters of the north. She and her mother travel from the warm southern ocean, passing coral reefs, kelp forests and shoals of shimmering fish - with her mother guiding her and protecting her all the way home. With its lyrical storytelling and evocative charcoal drawings shot through with blue, Jo Weaver's story has the feel of an instant classic, celebrating the tender relationship between parent and child and the majesty of their underwater world. Perfect for fans of BBC's Blue Planet.Jo's previous book, Little One, was longlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal 2016. Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards 2014.

Hodder Children's Books

Happy Easter, Tooth Fairy!

Peter Bently, Garry Parsons
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Garry Parsons

Everyone's favourite fairy meets everyone's favourite bunny in this rhyming Easter egg hunt! From Roald Dahl Funny Prize winner Peter Bently and Garry Parsons, the bestselling illustrator of The Dinosaur That Pooped series.The Tooth Fairy helps the Easter Bunny hide eggs inside wellington boots, under logs and inside a wheelbarrow. All is set for the Easter egg hunt until one of the children loses her wobbly tooth! Will the Tooth Fairy come to the rescue?Following the much-loved The Tooth Fairy's Christmas and The Tooth Fairy's Royal Visit.Praise for The Tooth Fairy's Christmas: - 'Garry Parsons does the both characters proud with his swirling, atmospheric illustrations.' - The Independent- 'It's Christmas Eve and both Santa and the Tooth Fairy are heading for Little Tim Tucker's house. But finding it and delivering presents and a gold coi are a tricky business.' - Nursery World- 'Lots of fun for young children.' - Angels & Urchins

Hodder Children's Books

Simon Sock

Sue Hendra, Paul Linnet, Nick East
Contributors:
Sue Hendra, Paul Linnet, Nick East
Pat-a-Cake

Moo Peek-a-Boo

Pat-a-Cake, Mojca Dolinar
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Mojca Dolinar

Stimulate a baby's developing vision and coordination with these bright and bold, high-contrast novelty board books.Babies are able to react and respond to simple patterns and contrasting colours just a few weeks after being born. As their eyes develop, high-contrast shapes, patterns and first friendly characters give newborns something simple to focus on, respond to and interact with. Moo Peek-a-Boo aids the development of early coordination by encouraging babies to reach for the giant fold-out flaps to find out who is hiding underneath - peek-a-boo! It also aids the development of their understanding of object permanence, which is when they realise that just because they can no longer see something does not mean it has disappeared. Babies will react with delight as the pictures of favourite farmyard friends are revealed, while the simple text prompts parent interaction.The perfect first book to share with your baby! Also available: Splish Splash, On the Move, Funny Faces