Maudie Smith - Owen and the Onion - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444014242
    • Publication date:07 May 2015
Books in this series

Owen and the Onion

By Maudie Smith
Illustrated by Becka Moor

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Owen, his onions and a very angry ogre - this is the first red Early Reader story from OPAL MOONBABY author, Maudie Smith, and THE ROYAL BABYSITTERS illustrator, Becka Moor.

Owen grows onions. He's so very good at it that the people of his village call him Owen the Onion. One day he grows an onion so unusual that it's all he can think about. He ignores his friends in the village - until one day a very angry ogre comes to visit. Can Owen save the day?

A warm, funny story for beginner readers from an exciting new author and illustrator team.

Biographical Notes

Maudie Smith started work as an actress, before moving to Bath with her TV screenwriter husband. She gave up touring theatre when she had children. In the last couple of years she's written a libretto for a newly commissioned opera and run a very successful school drama club, while raising two daughters, cats, chickens, guinea pigs etc. She has an MA in Writing for Young People from the prestigious Bath Spa University. Her website is www.maudiesmith.co.uk and you can follow her on Twitter @MaudieSmith

Becka Moor graduated in October 2012 with a 2:1 in Illustration for Children's Publishing and has been scribbling her way into a career as a children's illustrator ever since! She has worked on projects including THE ROYAL BABYSITTERS for Bloomsbury, and she can be found at http://www.beckamoor.com/ and @beckamoor on Twitter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444014235
  • Publication date: 07 May 2015
  • Page count: 80
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Orion Children's Books

Bird Girl

Maudie Smith
Authors:
Maudie Smith

A magical story about following your dreams - perfect for fans of Holly Webb.Pink-haired Finch Field has always felt different. She dreams of flying - not in a plane, but swimming through the sky like a bird. Her classmates laugh, and call her Dream Bird. But when Finch goes to stay with her beloved Granny Field for the summer, she finds herself face-to-face with a monster intent on stealing people's dreams. Finch must find a way to believe her own dreams can come true if she is to save the dreams of everyone in Sunview on Sea.A story full of magic, fantasy and friendship, perfect for younger readers of Jacqueline Wilson and Holly Webb.

Orion Children's Books

All the King's Tights

Maudie Smith, Ali Pye
Contributors:
Maudie Smith, Ali Pye

A charming new red Early Reader story from OPAL MOONBABY author Maudie Smith, and talented illustrator Ali Pye, about friendship, kindness and tights!Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books, perfect for building confidence in new readers and reluctant readers. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Kit has an important new job; Keeper of the King's Tights. More than anything he wants to do his best, but with so many of the King's subjects in need of Kit's help, he finds himself in need of a little help himself. . .A warm, funny story for beginner readers from an exciting new author and illustrator team.

Orion Children's Books

The Cake the Wolf and the Witch

Maudie Smith
Authors:
Maudie Smith

Max doesn't believe in happy endings. He doesn't even like stories. So when he finds himself whisked away in a giant cake to The Land of Ever After, Max is NOT impressed. But the people of Ever After are in trouble, and they need Max's help. Will Max agree to go on a dangerous quest to save their world? And if he doesn't, how will he and his brand new brother and sister ever get home?A mixed-up and fresh take on the fairy tale, with a sprinkle of Jacqueline Wilson and Liz Kessler, and perfect for fans of Enid Blyton's The Magic Faraway Tree.'Endlessly inventive' - Piers Torday, award-winning author of The Last Wild.

Orion Children's Books

Opal Moonbaby and the Out of this World Adventure

Maudie Smith
Authors:
Maudie Smith
Orion Children's Books

Opal Moonbaby and the Summer Secret

Maudie Smith
Authors:
Maudie Smith

Originally published as Opal Moonbaby Forever, this is the third book in a funny, warm-hearted series about friendship - and aliens! If you love Jacqueline Wilson, Cathy Cassidy or Liz Kessler, you'll love reading about Opal Moonbaby.Martha's best friend is an alien. Opal Moonbaby can move things with her eyes, make popcorn fountains, and travel all over the world in her very own spaceship. Martha can't imagine life without her.But Opal's time on Earth is almost at an end. They have one final summer together. So why is Opal acting so strangely all of a sudden? Can Martha discover the secret she's hiding - and what will it mean for their friendship?If you love Jacqueline Wilson, Cathy Cassidy or Liz Kessler, you'll love reading about Opal Moonbaby.

Orion Children's Books

Opal Moonbaby: Opal Moonbaby and the Best Friend Project

Maudie Smith
Authors:
Maudie Smith
Orion Children's Books

Milly and the Mermaids

Maudie Smith, Antonia Woodward
Contributors:
Maudie Smith, Antonia Woodward
Orion Children's Books

Opal Moonbaby: Opal Moonbaby

Maudie Smith
Authors:
Maudie Smith
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Hilariously Horrid Joke Book

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orion Children's Books

Moody Margaret Strikes Back

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry Early Reader: Horrid Henry Gets Rich Quick

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry Wakes The Dead

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Holiday

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Horrid Henry is up to high jinks, causing chaos on his family holiday.

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Birthday Party

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry and the Abominable Snowman

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Building a snowman brings out Henry's competitive streak; he sets up his Monstrous Makeovers business to rival Moody Margaret's Miraculous Makeovers; things go badly wrong when a famous author comes to school; and he thinks 'You'll all be sorry when I'm dead' and spends a rainy day writing his will.

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Christmas Cracker

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Underpants

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Four complete hilarious stories with really horrid music and sound effects.Horrid Henry's Perfect DayHorrid Henry's Dance ClassHorrid Henry and Moody MargaretHorrid Henry's HolidayRead by Miranda Richardson(P)2004 Orion Publishing Group.Ltd

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Nits

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Four complete stories:Horrid Henry's NitsHorrid Henry and the FangmanglerHorrid Henry's School TripHorrid Henry and the Dinner GuestsRead by Miranda Richardson(P)2004 Orion Publishing Group.Ltd

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry Tricks the Tooth Fairy

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross