Sally Gardner - The Boy Who Could Fly - Hachette Children's Group

The Boy Who Could Fly

By Sally Gardner

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Thomas's ability to fly brings heartbreak and happiness

One day the Fat Fairy turns up at Thomas Top's house to grant him a birthday wish. Thomas can't think what to ask for, so he wishes he could fly. That's how Thomas goes from being just an ordinary boy whom no one notices to being the most popular boy in the school. But it makes him sad that grown-ups can't see the wonderful things he can do. His flying gets him suspended from school, and that makes life at home much worse, because his dad gets so cross and it makes his mum miserable. But then the Fat Fairy turns up again, and with help from her and Thomas's new friend Mr Vinnie, a retired painter and decorator who has been flying since he was Thomas's age, everything changes.

This is an enchanting story in which an unconfident child discovers a special gift that brings him joy and heartache. The magic of the words, the humour and poignancy of the story and the wonderful characters, are all enhanced by the author's own delightful drawings.

Biographical Notes

Sally Gardner is an award-winning novelist from London. Her books have been translated into 22 languages and have sold more than one million copies in the UK. Her historical novel for older readers, I, Coriander, won the Smarties Children's Book Prize in 2005. Two thrillers both set at the time of the French Revolution, The Red Necklace and The Silver Blade, which was shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize in 2009, followed. Actor Dominic West (The Wire) has bought the film rights to both titles. Her YA novel, The Double Shadow, was published in 2011 to critical acclaim. Sally Gardner's stories for middle readers include Lucy Willow and the popular Magical Children series of six titles: The Strongest Girl in the World, The Invisible Boy, The Boy with Magic Numbers, The Smallest Girl in the World, The Boy with the Lightning Feet, and The Boy who could Fly, which are also available as audio books. She has also written and illustrated picture books including The Fairy Catalogue, The Glass Heart, The Book of Princesses and Playtime Rhymes. Sally Gardner continues to be an avid spokesperson for dyslexia, working to change the way it is perceived by society. She is dyslexic and argues that it is not a disability, but a gift.

Her website is www.sallygardner.net and you can follow her on Twitter @TheSallyGardner

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444011630
  • Publication date: 20 Jun 2013
  • Page count: 96
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
"Serious fun". — Jan Mark, Carousel, Summer 2002
Orchard Books

Adventure Duck vs the Armadillo Army

Steve Cole
Authors:
Steve Cole

There's no ducking out - it's time for this ordinary, wise-quacking duck to become . . . A Hero!Ay, chihuahua! Adventure Duck and his zebra sidekick, Ziggy, have a spicy new mission. Their nemesis, Power Pug, has a dastardly new scheme to take over the world with a range of mind-control chocolate treats. With the help of a llama with projectile spit, Adventure Duck and Ziggy set out to foil the pug's nefarious plans to dig up the rainforest to build an enormous chocolate factory. But an army of armadillos stands in their way... Can the superhero amigos find a chink in the armadillos' armour and save the rainforest from destruction?

Orchard Books

Glitterhoof's Secret Garden

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Sparklesplash and the Mermaid Adventure

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

Agent Weasel and the Fiendish Fox Gang

Nick East
Authors:
Nick East

Meet Agent Weasel: woodland super-spy. Can he foil the dastardly Fiendish Fox Gang once and for all? Perfect for reading alone or sharing together, for fans of The Bolds and Toto the Ninja Cat.Strange things are happening in the United Woodlands. Rabbit warrens have been peppered with itching powder. Squirrels' nuts are missing. Even Badger's bottom has been shaved! All the clues point to the Fiendish Fox Gang. It's time to call Agent Weasel, woodland super-spy. But before they can even finish their stakeout picnic, Weasel and his trusty dormouse friend Doorkins are captured by the villainous Vixen von Fluff. Can our heroes escape? Can peace be made in the United Woodlands? Will they get afternoon tea and biscuits? Does Agent Weasel have a clue what's going on? All these very important questions will be answered in this rib-ticklingly funny adventure, with glorious illustrations throughout.

Orchard Books

New Blood (1)

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Hodder Children's Books

Summer Adventure Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Set off on an outdoor adventure with this collection of 30 classic tales by the world's best-loved storyteller. The perfect holiday read for children aged 7 and up!From stolen dogs and disappearing necklaces to journeys to faraway lands, these fun-filled stories are packed full of mystery and adventure. Ideal for newly confident readers, these entertaining tales are the ideallength for reading aloud at bedtime or in the classroom. Enid Blyton remains one of Britain's favourite children's authors and her bumper short story collections are perfect for introducing her to the latest generation of readers.Read all of Enid Blyton's bestselling short story collections: Animal StoriesSpringtime StoriesSummertime StoriesSummer Holiday StoriesStories of Magic and MischiefStories of Wizards and WitchesChristmas TalesChristmas TreatsWinter Stories***Enid Blyton ® and Enid Blyton's signature are Registered Trademarks of Hodder and Stoughton Limited. No trademark or copyrighted material may be reproduced without the express written permission of the trademark and copyright owner.

Wren & Rook

Incredible Journeys: Discovery, Adventure, Danger, Endurance

Levison Wood, Sam Brewster
Contributors:
Levison Wood, Sam Brewster
Orchard Books

Help! I Smell a Monster

Justin Davies
Authors:
Justin Davies

This book STINKS . . . of monsters!When Alice is sent to stay with her Uncle Magnus, she soon realises that his job agency isn't quite ... normal. It helps monsters find work that makes the most of their unique talons - er, talents. Alice is shocked to discover that monsters are EVERYWHERE. There's even a Cyclops working in the castle as a pastry chef! But when he suddenly disappears, Alice smells something fishy. Can she and her uncle sniff out the missing monster before it's too late?Perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons.

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous 3

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell

WARNING: DO NOT GIVE THIS BOOK TO YOUR OWN GRANDMA. SHE MIGHT GET IDEAS...Danger is her middle name!*Grandma flies Ollie and Piper in her hot-air balloon for a cursed adventure in Cairo! The third book in the fantastically hilarious Grandma Dangerous series. Praise for Book 1: "Thrills! Biscuits! This book has it all" Andy Riley, author of King Flashypants*Actually, it's Maude

Orchard Books

Dawnblaze Saves Summer

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

A secret world full of magic, unicorns and friendship! The brand-new series from the bestselling Daisy Meadows, author of RAINBOW MAGIC and MAGIC ANIMAL FRIENDS, and the most-borrowed children's author in UK libraries.Join best friends Lucy and Aisha as they discover a secret world full of unicorns, magic and friendship! Journey with them to the beautiful kingdom of Unicorn Valley, where the beautiful Queen Aurora rules kindly over the unicorns and all other magical creatures. But when the Dark Unicorn Selena tries to steal the throne, good magic everywhere is under threat. Can the girls and their new unicorn friends find a way to save the kingdom?

Orchard Books

Scaredy-Dog

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

With exciting animal rescues and real-life care tips, this is the perfect series for young animal lovers! Amelia and Sam are looking after chocolate labrador puppy named Coco for a week. They take the playful little pup to dog training classes, but their classmate Tiffany doesn't want to join in - even though her own puppy, Sparkle, is scared of everything from loud noises to other dogs. When Tiffany hosts a birthday party with loud fireworks, Sparkle gets frightened and bites Coco. Can Sam and Amelia help the poor little scaredy-dog overcome his fears? And will the two puppies ever become friends?Two stories in one for even more animal adventures!

Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler
Orchard Books

Aisha the Astronaut Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Orla the Inventor Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Orla the Inventor Fairy's magical item, inventors everywhere stop having ideas!Can the girls help Orla defeat him and bring inspiration back to fairy and human worlds?

Orchard Books

Dani the Detective Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Elsie the Engineer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Elsie the Engineer Fairy's magical item, engineers everywhere lose their very special skills! Can the girls help Elsie defeat him and save the magic of engineering from being destroyed?

Hodder Children's Books

Animal Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Orchard Books

Runaway Hamster

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Querzol the Swamp Monster

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

The No.1 Bestselling SeriesEnter a land of wizards, warriors, mythical creatures and powerful magic in an exciting fantasy adventure from the author of How To Train Your Dragon. Witches are creating havoc in the Wildwoods and danger lurks behind every tree trunk. Wish is in possession of a powerful, Magic Spelling Book. Xar has a dangerous Witchstain on his hand. Wish and Xar are separated by the highest wall imaginable. But time is running out ... It was unlikely that these heroes should meet in the first place. Is it possible they are destined to meet TWICE? 'The detail of Cowell's world is a delight ...This one will run and run' The ObserverDiscover the magic of Cressida Cowell.