Steve Backshall - Tiger Wars - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444014488
    • Publication date:17 Jul 2014
Books in this series

Tiger Wars

Book 1

By Steve Backshall

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Action, adventure, predators and peril - the first novel by BAFTA AWARD-winning DEADLY TV presenter and star of BBC's Strictly Come Dancing, Steve Backshall.

Action, adventure, predators and peril - the bestselling first novel by BAFTA AWARD-winning DEADLY 60 TV presenter Steve Backshall.

Deadly Adversaries. An Impossible Mission. Tiger Wars.

Saker is on the run from the only life he knows. From India to the Himalayas and China he'll be pursued by hunting dogs, mercenaries, spies, thieves and assassins in his quest to set free the most majestic, lethal and valuable of all the predators - the tiger. With him, on every dangerous step of the adventure, is Sinter, a girl who has her own reasons for running away.

Gripping adventure fiction perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz and Charlie Higson. This is the first adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, adventure, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations. As Saker and Sinter rescue tigers or mountain gorillas, thwart shark finners and rainforest exploiters they come face to face with the world's most fascinating, majestic and lethal creatures.

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the BBC kids' series DEADLY 60 and LIVE AND DEADLY as well as star of BBC's Strictly Come Dancing 2014.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is well-known as a TV presenter, wildlife enthusiast and explorer. He travels the world to learn about the most inspiring animals, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is www.stevebackshall.com, and you can follow him on Facebook at www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and on Twitter @SteveJBackshall.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444006490
  • Publication date: 24 May 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Filled with action, adventure, predators and peril, this is a must-read — The Sun
A gripping action thriller — Flipside
Takes the reader on a vertiginous adventure — Families South east
This is proper edge-of-the-seat stuff — Times Educational Supplement
Fast-paced with a serious message — Angels & Urchins
This action-packed, eco adventure by wildlife specialist Steve Backshall contains an important message about the survival of tigers ... Once I started this book, I couldn't put it down and my heart was thumping as the drama unfolded before me. It heightened my awareness of the dangers faced by many species who are fighting for survival, but this book is so much more than that — The List (Glasgow and Edinburgh)
Orchard Books

Dawnblaze Saves Summer

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

Super Snail

Elys Dolan
Authors:
Elys Dolan

Meet Kevin: ordinary slug by day, fearless, shell-wearing Super Snail by night. The hilarious superhero you didn't know you were waiting for - from the acclaimed creator of Weasels and Steven Seagull, Elys Dolan.Kevin must prove his worth to the legendary League of Heroes - all with the power of slime! When disaster strikes and the Snail Signal shines, it's time for him to step up ...Will he figure out how to get his pants on outside his clothes, even though he doesn't have a bum? Will he discover his true, slimy superpower and defeat the evil villain, Laser Pigeon?Will he even get there in time?!

Hodder Children's Books

The Summoner's Handbook

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu

Enter the world of the Summoner with this beautifully designed special edition handbook, including a complete illustrated Demonology and an exclusive new story. A must-have for all Summoner fans!"The ability to summon is passed down through the blood..."Summoner: One who is gifted with the ability to summon demonic creatures that are emotionally connected to their human counterparts.As brought to life in the bestselling Summoner series, the magic of summoning is also an art, with a story of its own. The Summoner's Handbook reveals the epic journal of James Baker, who inspired the series hero, Fletcher, to discover his own summoning abilities.Along with a complete illustrated demonology, a guide to the basics of summoning and glorious artwork from the world of the Hominum Empire, you'll learn everything a Summoner should know, and more.Beautifully rendered in two tone colours and full of detailed sketches, this hardback is the perfect treat for new and old fans of the New York Times bestselling SUMMONER series.

Hodder Children's Books

Me and My Dad

Robin Shaw
Authors:
Robin Shaw
Hodder Children's Books

Crash Landing

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Hodder Children's Books

War of the Realms

Kate O'Hearn
Authors:
Kate O'Hearn

In the world of Asgard, living among Odin, Thor and Loki are the Valkyries of legend. They are Norse goddesses who reap the fallen souls from human battlefields and have the power to cause death with just one touch. At the end of The Runaway, Freya and the Valkyries are about to leave the human world when they learn that the Frost Giants, Fire Giants and Dark Searchers have united to declare war on the Realms. Bitfrost, the legendary rainbow bridge linking the human world to Asgard, has been closed. With their only entry back to Asgard barred, how can the Valkyries get back to fight to protect their homeland? Loki claims he knows another, secret route but can they trust him? And even if they found a way - is there anything they can do to stop the war?As the War of the Realms spills over into Earth, Freya and the Valkyries must find a way to save not just the Norse world but the human world as well. With everything at stake, can Freya become the Hero she was destined to be?'Kate O'Hearn serves up a winning mix of modern adventure and classic fantasy.' Rick Riordan, author of Percy Jackson

Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Pole to Pole Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

This is Steve Backshall's incredible first-hand account of his 14-month voyage from the Arctic to the Antarctic via Alaska, California, Hawaii, Mexico and Brazil and many more amazing locations besides. Go with him every step of the way as he describes his encounters with white whales, ice bears, sharks, eagles, wolves, sea lions, eagles, crocodiles, snakes and spiders. It's the Deadly adventure of a lifetime.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Annual 2015

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Jaws and Claws

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Sticker Book

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Create your very own Deadly adventure with Deadly TV presenter Steve Backshall's first ever interactive 24-page full colour sticker book, perfect for Deadly fans everywhere.Find the fastest predators, the creatures with the most incredible super senses, the deadliest and those who survive extreme conditions. Contains more than 200 stickers.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Detectives

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Finding wildlife is rarely easy - unless you're Steve Backshall! In DEADLY DETECTIVES Steve tells young trackers everything they need to know about the origins of tracking, what you need to become a tracker and how to do it, whether the wild world is your own back garden, ancient woodlands, the riverside or coast. He illustrates his tips with examples of his own detective work on land and in the water from tropical rainforests to the African Savanna, from the Arctic tundra to the desert. Join him as footsteps, feeding habits and even a pile of pooh reveal snow leopards, crocodiles, gators, snakes and polar bears, while closer to home you can track foxes, squirrels, badgers and birds, using exactly the same techniques.

Hodder Children's Books

The Runaway

Kate O'Hearn
Authors:
Kate O'Hearn
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Bizarre Beasts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Top Ten Activity Book

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Hodder Children's Books

Koalas in a Crisis

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder Children's Books

Bunnies in the Bathroom

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

Animal Ark is the veterinary surgery run by Mandy Hope's parents. If there are animals to be protected or looked after, Mandy is always there to help.Mandy's new friend John is crazy about rabbits! He's got his heart set on Button and Barney, two baby rabbits in the local pet shop. But when he goes to buy them, they've already been sold! Mandy and James decide to track down the new owner and try to get the bunnies back ...BUNNIES IN THE BATHROOM is one of the best-loved ANIMAL ARK stories. Have you read them all?

Hodder Children's Books

Dark Sun and other stories

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Hodder Children's Books

Tower of the Winds

H L Dennis
Authors:
H L Dennis

The Knights of Neustria's quest is clearer to Team Veritas now - but so is their understanding of the terrible enemy they are up against. People are going missing. No one at Station X is safe anymore. But there are still important truths to uncover.Which secret organization is protecting the work of the Knights of Neustria and do they know who is buried in the unmarked Shepherd's Tomb at Shugborough Hall? Will the story of the mysterious treasure ship 'The Covadogna' help the team of secret breakers discover more about the world described in the ancient coded Voynich Manuscript? And will every member of the team survive the race against time when the sinister Black Chamber chooses to leave them all a terrifying message?Enter the world of the Secret Breakers at http://hldennis.com/Teachers' resources and full reading guide available here: http://hldennis.com/docs/HDreadingguide.pdf'This gripping thriller ... will have you on the edge of your seats.' TBK Magazine