Steve Backshall - Tiger Wars - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats Books in this series

Tiger Wars

Book 1

By Steve Backshall

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Action, adventure, predators and peril - the first novel by BAFTA AWARD-winning DEADLY TV presenter and star of BBC's Strictly Come Dancing, Steve Backshall.

Action, adventure, predators and peril - the bestselling first novel by BAFTA AWARD-winning DEADLY 60 TV presenter Steve Backshall.

Deadly Adversaries. An Impossible Mission. Tiger Wars.

Saker is on the run from the only life he knows. From India to the Himalayas and China he'll be pursued by hunting dogs, mercenaries, spies, thieves and assassins in his quest to set free the most majestic, lethal and valuable of all the predators - the tiger. With him, on every dangerous step of the adventure, is Sinter, a girl who has her own reasons for running away.

Gripping adventure fiction perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz and Charlie Higson. This is the first adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, adventure, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations. As Saker and Sinter rescue tigers or mountain gorillas, thwart shark finners and rainforest exploiters they come face to face with the world's most fascinating, majestic and lethal creatures.

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the BBC kids' series DEADLY 60 and LIVE AND DEADLY as well as star of BBC's Strictly Come Dancing 2014.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is well-known as a TV presenter, wildlife enthusiast and explorer. He travels the world to learn about the most inspiring animals, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is www.stevebackshall.com, and you can follow him on Facebook at www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and on Twitter @SteveJBackshall.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444006490
  • Publication date: 24 May 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Filled with action, adventure, predators and peril, this is a must-read — The Sun
A gripping action thriller — Flipside
Takes the reader on a vertiginous adventure — Families South east
This is proper edge-of-the-seat stuff — Times Educational Supplement
Fast-paced with a serious message — Angels & Urchins
This action-packed, eco adventure by wildlife specialist Steve Backshall contains an important message about the survival of tigers ... Once I started this book, I couldn't put it down and my heart was thumping as the drama unfolded before me. It heightened my awareness of the dangers faced by many species who are fighting for survival, but this book is so much more than that — The List (Glasgow and Edinburgh)
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Favourite Deadly Facts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Wild Wordsearches

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Put your DEADLY knowledge to the test with Steve Backshall's next fun and interactive activity book, featuring a host of DEADLY-themed wordsearches. Hours of fun guaranteed!

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Pole to Pole Puzzles

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Pole to Pole Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Annual 2015

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

As a Deadly fan you know that we travel to all corners of the world to film and this time we're on our deadliest mission yet! We visit the driest deserts, the steamiest rainforests, the highest mountains and the snowiest forests in search of the most awesome wildlife. As ever, you're coming with us, every step of the way.Join us on a journey round the world and we'll tell you more about these incredible places and the animals that spend their lives there. We've got loads of photos and fascinating facts to share with you, as well as plenty of puzzles, pictures and fun stuff to enjoy!

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Jaws and Claws

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Did you know that the teeth of a hippopotamus can measure as much as 40 or 50 centimetres? Or that a vampire bat will sometimes regurgitate blood to another member of its colony?Learn all about the jaws and claws of the world's most extraordinary creatures in the sixth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall.Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

The third book in THE FALCON CHRONICLES series from DEADLY 60 and LIVE AND DEADLY presenter Steve Backshall. Follow Saker and Sinter's quest to save the world's endangered animals in the frozen Arctic wilderness. Saker and Sinter escape by the skin of their teeth when their plan to sabotage a billionaire businessman plundering 'black gold' (natural oil and gas) and hunting wolves in the remote Siberia goes disastrously wrong. But they escape one kind of peril only to find themselves in an even more terrifying situation. Separated by blizzards and avalanches, they are lost in a breathtakingly beautiful but deadly frozen Arctic wilderness. Suffering from frostbite and hunger, listening to the wolves howl and the packs draw closer, it seems that this time they cannot possibly live to tell their tale.Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the BBC kids' series DEADLY 60 and LIVE AND DEADLY as well as star of BBC's Strictly Come Dancing 2014.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Sticker Book

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Reptiles and Amphibians

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Packed with fascinating facts and drawing on Steve's own amazing experiences, this is the third Deadly factbook for Steve Backshall fans everywhere. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Bizarre Beasts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Did you know that there is such a thing as a bone-eating snot-flower worm? Or that the secretary bird kills its prey by stamping on it!Discover the world's most extraordinary creatures in the fifth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall.Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Top Ten Activity Book

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Put your DEADLY knowledge to the test with Steve Backshall's next fun and interactive activity book.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Detectives

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Ghosts of the Forest

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Fish, Squid and Jellyfish

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Doodle Book 3

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Become part of Steve Backshall's world by drawing your own Deadly doodles. This 24-page doodle book featuring creative and interactive content from DEADLY ART is an absolute must-have for all Deadly fans. This is the third Deadly Doodle book in the collectable series and includes a polar bear, hippopotamus, tokay gecko, goliath bird-eating spider, Nile crocodile, hornet, lionfish, lion, barracuda and monitor lizard.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook Mammals

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Packed with fascinating facts and drawing on Steve's own amazing experiences, this is the Deadly guide to mammals for Steve Backshall fans everywhere. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Insects and Spiders

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall