Saviour Pirotta - The Unicorn Prince - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408336434
    • Publication date:07 Feb 2019

The Unicorn Prince

By Saviour Pirotta
Illustrated by Jane Ray

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The fortunes of a young woman are magically transformed when she shows kindness to a unicorn in this enchanting contemporary fairy tale, based on a Scottish fable and gloriously illustrated by Hans Christian Andersen Award nominee Jane Ray.

If you love The Frog Prince and The Elves and the Shoemaker, you'll love this tale of love, magic ... and unicorns!

Annis and her grandmother live in a cold, draughty castle on top of a hill, which they share with their chickens and their cow. They may be poor, but Annis's heart is full of kindness. Offering a home to an injured unicorn and a family of fairies one day, her kindness is magically rewarded. But will her good fortune bring her happiness and love?

This entrancing contemporary fairy tale is brought gloriously to life by Hans Christian Andersen Award nominee Jane Ray.

"Jane Ray's jewel-bright illustrations shine like the flourishes of an illuminated manuscript in Saviour Pirotta's The Unicorn Prince, featuring a crumbling castle, a dauntless heroine, industrious fairies and an enchanted prince. Gorgeous gowns, wild dreams, transformations and galloping moonlit freedom are also thrown into the mix." Observer

Biographical Notes

Saviour Pirotta has written over 100 books for children, including novels, picture books, early readers, and retellings of traditional stories and fairy tales. His titles for Orchard include The Orchard Book of First Greek Myths, The Orchard Book of Grimm's Fairy Tales and Orchard Ballet Stories for Young Children. He lives in Scarborough, North Yorkshire.

Jane Ray's exquisite artwork has won her acclaim in the UK and across the globe. She is a nominee for the prestigious Hans Christian Andersen Award, as well as winning the Smarties Prize, and being shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal. Her books for Orchard include stunning versions of The Nutcracker and The Twelve Days of Christmas, along with The Apple-Pip Princess and the bestselling Can You Catch a Mermaid?. Jane lives with her family in London.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408350591
  • Publication date: 06 Sep 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
Jane Ray's jewel-bright illustrations shine like the flourishes of an illuminated manuscript in Saviour Pirotta's The Unicorn Prince (Orchard), featuring a crumbling castle, a dauntless heroine, industrious fairies and an enchanted prince. Gorgeous gowns, wild dreams, transformations and galloping moonlit freedom are also thrown into the mix — The Guardian
Hodder Children's Books

Hello Moon

Francesca Simon
Authors:
Francesca Simon

A magical bedtime story about a little boy who makes friends with the moon, from the author of Horrid Henry and the illustrator behind Aliens Love Underpants. When a little boy decides to talk to the moon at bedtime, his questions are seemingly endless. He wants to know all about the moon and how far it can see - from the sky-topped mountains, to the very bottom of the sea, where the mermaids swim. Does the moon have a bouncy bed? Does it like eating chocolate ice-cream? And does the moon feel lonely sometimes?Perfect for sharing at bedtime, this dreamy, thoughtful story touches on themes of friendship and kindness.Previously published as Do You Speak English Moon?

Hodder Children's Books

Agent Weasel and the Fiendish Fox Gang

Nick East
Authors:
Nick East

Meet Agent Weasel: woodland super-spy. Can he foil the dastardly Fiendish Fox Gang once and for all? And will he still be home in time for tea and biscuits? Perfect for reading alone or sharing together, for fans of The Bolds and Toto the Ninja Cat.Strange things are happening in the United Woodlands. Rabbit warrens have been peppered with itching powder. Squirrels' nuts are missing. Even Badger's bottom has been shaved! All the clues point to the Fiendish Fox Gang. It's time to call Agent Weasel, woodland super-spy. But before they can even finish their stakeout picnic, Weasel and his trusty dormouse friend Doorkins are captured by the villainous Vixen von Fluff. Can our heroes escape? Can peace be made in the United Woodlands? Will they get afternoon tea and biscuits? Does Agent Weasel have a clue what's going on? All these very important questions will be answered in this rib-ticklingly funny adventure, with glorious illustrations throughout.

Hodder Children's Books

Christopher Pumpkin

Sue Hendra, Paul Linnet, Nick East
Contributors:
Sue Hendra, Paul Linnet, Nick East
Orchard Books

My Pet Star

Corrinne Averiss, Rosalind Beardshaw
Contributors:
Corrinne Averiss, Rosalind Beardshaw
Pat-a-Cake

Show and Tell

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake
Pat-a-Cake

Bestest Friends

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake

It's time to go to the School of Roars! Join the monsters for a roarsome day at school.It's art class at the School of Roars, and the monsters have a fun project to do. But Wufflebump feels left out when his best friend Meepa is partners with Yummble. Miss Grizzlesniff teaches the class about being kind to one another and everyone joining in together. Featuring themes of sharing, friendship and problem-solving, this School of Roars story is perfect for little monsters everywhere!Also available: School of Roars: Show and Tell, School of Roars: Icky Sticky Stickers

Hodder Children's Books

Super Snail

Elys Dolan
Authors:
Elys Dolan
Orchard Books

Happy to Be Me

Emma Dodd
Authors:
Emma Dodd
Hodder Children's Books

Knock Knock Alien

Caryl Hart, Nick East
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Nick East
Orchard Books

Giraffes Can't Dance: 20th Anniversary Limited Edition

Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees

A beautiful 20th Anniversary Gift Edition of this much-loved classic picture book about being yourself and finding your own tune.Gerald the giraffe longs to go to the great Jungle Dance, but how can he join in when he doesn't know how to tango or two-step? Everyone knows that giraffes can't dance ... or can they? Giraffes Can't Dance has been a family favourite for 20 years. A funny, touching and triumphant story, it has sold over 4 million copies worldwide. Now in a beautiful limited-edition hardback, complete with a foiled slipcase, this is the perfect present for every family.A highly collectable edition for fans old and new."All toddlers should grow up reading this" - Daily Mail"A modern classic" - Baby and Me"A joyful read about an outsider who finds acceptance on his own terms ... there's also a simple moral about tolerance and daring to be different" - Junior"A fantastically funny and wonderfully colourful romp" - Daily Telegraph

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

Oi Duck-billed Platypus! Audiobook

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field
Orchard Books

Prince George Goes to School

Caryl Hart, Laura Ellen Anderson
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Laura Ellen Anderson

Prince George is starting school in this brilliantly funny, reassuring picture book from award-winning author Caryl Hart and bestselling illustrator Laura Ellen Anderson.It's Prince George's first day at school! There will be new faces, new friends, lots of new things to learn ... as well as new challenges, like taking turns. Will the young royal enjoy his latest epic adventure?!This hilarious, fun-packed royal story is the perfect book to reassure your own little prince or princess that starting school doesn't have to be scary.Praise for Prince George and the Royal Potty:'Funny, rhyming potty-training romp with a royal twist' - Bookseller

Hodder Children's Books

Knock Knock Pirate

Caryl Hart, Nick East
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Nick East

A rhyming pirate counting book with a difference - the follow up to the hilarious Knock Knock Dinosaur - from award-winning author Caryl Hart, creator of How to Grow a Dinosaur, and bestselling illustrator Nick East.A visit from a pirate might sound like fun . . . but when the Captain's whole crew turn up too - causing mayhem and chaos - it's time for this little girl to panic. What is Dad going to say when he gets home?!Caryl Hart has won the Stockport Children's Book Award, the Oldham Brilliant Books Award, the Rotherham Children's Book Award, and has been shortlisted for the Red House Children's Book Award.Follow Caryl at carylhart.com and @carylhart1 Find Nick at nickeastillustration.com

Hodder Children's Books

Simon Sock

Sue Hendra, Paul Linnet, Nick East
Contributors:
Sue Hendra, Paul Linnet, Nick East

A wonderful new character from the bestselling creators of Barry the Fish with Fingers and the illustrator of Goodnight Digger.Simon is an odd, stripey sock. He lives in the drawers with all the other socks. Every day two socks get picked to go on an adventure. The sparklies go to parties. The woolies go the park. The smarts go to school. Everyone has a pair... except Simon. Will he ever find his perfect match? A hilarious story celebrating friendship and difference from an exciting new picture book partnership.Sue Hendra and Paul Linnet's hilarious books have sold over 1 million copies!

Wayland

Stories From China

Saviour Pirotta, Tim Clarey
Contributors:
Saviour Pirotta, Tim Clarey
Hodder Children's Books

Me and My Dad

Robin Shaw
Authors:
Robin Shaw
Wayland

Multicultural Stories: Stories From The Amazon

Saviour Pirotta, Rebecca Gryspeerdt
Contributors:
Saviour Pirotta, Rebecca Gryspeerdt
Hodder Children's Books

We Love You, Hugless Douglas!

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling
Hodder Children's Books

My Hand to Hold

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Alison Friend
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Alison Friend