Curtis Jobling - Max Helsing and the Beast of Bone Creek - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408341988
    • Publication date:12 Jan 2017
Books in this series

Max Helsing and the Beast of Bone Creek

Book 2

By Curtis Jobling

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Percy Jackson meets Dracula in this action-packed monster-hunting middle grade series!

Percy Jackson meets Dracula in this action-packed monster hunting series! With the perfect combination of humour and heroism, Max Helsing will keep readers aged nine and up on the edge of their seats.

Max Helsing's camping trip to Bone Creek was never going to be a quiet holiday, but even he is caught by surprise at how quickly things get out of control.

Trouble starts brewing when a slew of mysterious murders have Bigfoot hunters lining up, guns at the ready. What's more, Max's nemesis, Abel Archer, is in town and itching to be the one to take the beast down.

But the appearance of dire wolves and vampires complicate matters - who is really responsible for the murders? With the help of his friends, it's up to Max to find the culprit before the wrong suspect ends up as a trophy on a monster hunter's wall!

Biographical Notes

Curtis Jobling is the author of the acclaimed Wereworld series, published by Puffin. He's also known for being the designer of the BAFTA-winning BBC show Bob the Builder and for his Hodder-published picture book, Frankenstein's Cat.

Curtis is based in Cheshire and visits up to 90 schools a year promoting his books - as well as being a regular on the festival circuit, speaking at Hay, Bath and Edinburgh.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408341971
  • Publication date: 12 Jan 2017
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
An enthralling, exciting page turner for younger horror fans. — Bev Humphrey, Reviewer at SLA
Wildly exciting and original, like a cross between The X-Files, Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Percy Jackson, this is going to rock your world if you're into monsters, myths and mysteries! — Read it Daddy
Franklin Watts

Animals

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Franklin Watts

Easter

Jasmine Brooke
Authors:
Jasmine Brooke
Wayland

Food: From Field to Plate

Michael Bright
Authors:
Michael Bright
Wayland

Oil: From Oil Rig to Petrol Pump

Michael Bright
Authors:
Michael Bright
Quercus Children's Books

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

Every family has secrets - but not every family has a secret pact with a demon.Prosper is the only unexceptional Redding in his remarkable family. So, when he discovers that an 800-year-old demon called Alastar is responsible for their luck - and that this demon is currently living inside him - he's more than a little surprised.Alastar isn't keen to be banished back to the demon realm and will do anything to try and trick his unwilling host into a contract - from nasty insults to wild promises. And even more unnerving, his power over Prosper seems to be growing with each passing night. Prosper has only days to break the curse - a feat that seems impossible. But with the help of a feisty witch-in-training, maybe he can do it? A darkly comic tale with thrilling twists and turns that will keep every reader guessing. Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket, Jonathan Stroud and Skulduggery Pleasant.

Franklin Watts

Ancient Egypt

Anita Croy
Authors:
Anita Croy
Franklin Watts

Indus Valley Civilisation

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke

Today, the Indus Valley Civilisation is known mainly through the ruins of its cities and the artefacts its people made. Ancient objects enable us to step back into the world of the people who made them. This book combines facts about the inhabitants of the Indus Valley with photographs of the artefacts they left behind to present a full picture of life at the time.

Franklin Watts

Classification and Evolution

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley

Straight Forward with Science offers a straightforward, but fun, approach to key science learning. Each book explores basic scientific principles and shows them in action, while simple activities and experiments bring the science to life. Classification and Evolution describes how we group, or classify, all living things on Earth, from microscopic bacteria to huge blue whales. Fossils, adaptation and the theory of natural selection are all also explored.

Franklin Watts

Materials and Properties

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley
Franklin Watts

Ancient Greece

Anita Ganeri
Authors:
Anita Ganeri
Franklin Watts

Double Dragons

Enid Richemont
Authors:
Enid Richemont
Franklin Watts

Magic Marcus

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale

Marcus comes across a magic wand at a jumble sale, but he doesn't believe it has any magic in it. Soon after he starts making wishes and they each to come true, until he breaks his mum's favourite vase. Perhaps Marcus has discovered that real magic doesn't lie in the wand, after all.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Mayas and Incas

Anita Croy
Authors:
Anita Croy

The Mayas and Incas were skilled builders, artists and inventors, and one of the best ways to discover how they lived is by studying the artefacts they made. Just as ancient objects enable us to step back into the world of the people who made them, the stories people told can reveal what they thought about their world. This book combines facts about the Mayas and Incas with photographs of the artefacts they left behind and the stories they shared with each other to present a full picture of life at the time.

Franklin Watts

Ancient Rome

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke

The ancient Romans were skilled builders, artists and inventors, and one of the best ways to discover how they lived is by studying the artefacts they made. Just as ancient objects enable us to step back into the world of the people who made them, the stories people told can reveal what they thought about their world. This book combines facts about the ancient Romans with photographs of the artefacts they left behind and the stories they shared with each other to present a full picture of life at the time.

Franklin Watts

Shang Dynasty

Tim Cooke
Authors:
Tim Cooke

The Shang were skilled builders, artists and craftsmen, and one of the best ways to discover how they lived is by studying the artefacts they made. Just as ancient objects enable us to step back into the world of the people who made them, the stories people told can reveal what they thought about their world. This book combines facts about the ancient Chinese with photographs of the artefacts they left behind and the stories they shared with each other to present a full picture of life at the time.

Hodder Children's Books

How to Ride a Dragon's Storm

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Franklin Watts

Chinese New Year

Robyn Hardyman
Authors:
Robyn Hardyman
Wayland

Mayans

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Hodder Children's Books

Memorial

Gary Crew, Shaun Tan
Contributors:
Gary Crew, Shaun Tan

In 2014 the world will mark the 100th anniversary of the outbreak of the First World War. Internationally acclaimed author, Gary Crew, and multi-award-winning illustrator Shaun Tan have created a powerful picture book to help us all remember.When the soldiers return in 1918, a memorial tree is planted... 'Lest we forget'. But generations later, what do those who pause in the shadows of the tree's immense branches remember? A message we should never forget.Memorial serves as a reminder of the lessons to be gained from the past and examine the significance of conservation, respect and remembrance.

Franklin Watts

Our Seaside School

Deborah Chancellor
Authors:
Deborah Chancellor

A group of friends from Carlton Hill Primary School in Brighton, East Sussex are going on a walk. The children have planned their walk carefully and have a list of questions they want to answer about their local area. We then follow them as they explore thier local area and answer their questions. This book is part of 'A walk from' series which explores different geographical environments using maps and photos. It helps young children understand geographical similarities and differences through studying the human and physical geography of a small area of the United Kingdom. The books feature key physical and human geographical vocabulary and skills such as compass directions, map reading and recognising landmarks and features.