Jamie Thomson - Headmaster of Doom - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408341438
    • Publication date:09 Feb 2017
Books in this series

Headmaster of Doom

Book 4

By Jamie Thomson

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Darkly hilarious adventure, featuring the Dark Lord trapped in a schoolboy's body, from the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning series.

Dirk Lloyd, the Dark Lord trapped in the boy of a weedy schoolboy, returns in a darkly hilarious adventure set in the most ghoulish school you'll encounter this side of the Darklands ...

Fourth in the brilliant series that began with the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning DARK LORD: THE TEENAGE YEARS, also chosen as one of the Sunday Times's 100 Modern Children Classics.

Perfect for fans of Philip Reeve and David Walliams.

Biographical Notes

Jamie Thomson is a British writer, editor and game developer. He is the author of numerous 'choose-your-own-adventure' gamebooks, and he also co-wrote three books for the Fighting Fantasy series.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408341421
  • Publication date: 09 Feb 2017
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
Wry asides and gleeful absurdities come thick and fast as the adventure unfolds - it's a hilarious and irreverent treat from start to finish. — Teach Primary
Hodder Children's Books

The Invincible Tony Spears - Lost in Space

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton

What would you do if a red button in your kitchen cupboard could transport you to a spaceship? Press it, of course! Created by the award-winning author and illustrator Neal Layton.When things get too much, Tony climbs aboard his spaceship called The Invincible to chill amongst intergalactic life. But this time, Tony hears some strange noises over his communicator - is it an alien trying to communicate with him, or his new baby sister? Whatever it is, the something is controlling the movements of the spaceship and Tony is sent hurtling towards a parallel universe inhabited by strange creatures called the Blue Bloos. If he has any way of getting home, he will have to work with his friends, old and new ...

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

From the bestselling author of How to Train Your Dragon comes an exciting high-adventure series - set in an ancient, magical time, full of Wizards, Warriors, Giants and Sprites. This is the story of a young boy Wizard and a young girl Warrior who have been taught since birth to hate each other like poison; and the thrilling tale of what happens when their two worlds collide.Perfect for boys and girls who love fantasy adventure...Once there was Magic, and the Magic lived in the dark forests. Until the Warriors came...Xar is a Wizard boy who has no Magic, and will do anything to get it. Wish is a Warrior girl, but she owns a banned Magical Object, and she will do anything to conceal it. In this whirlwind adventure, Xar and Wish must forget their differences if they're going to make it to the dungeons at Warrior Fort. Where something that has been sleeping for hundreds of years is stirring...

Orchard Books

Paloma the Dodgems Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

The Story of Tantrum O'Furrily

Cressida Cowell, Mark Nicholas
Contributors:
Cressida Cowell, Mark Nicholas
Orchard Books

Maria the Mother's Day Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Kirsty, Rachel and Maria for some fun with mums - three magical stories in one!Maria the Mother's Day Fairy looks after mums everywhere and makes sure they get on well with their sons and daughters. But when Jack Frost steals her magical objects, the magic of motherhood goes all wonky! Can Kirsty and Rachel help restore order in time for the special surprise they have planned for their mums?

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Search and Find: Guardians of Alola

Gotta catch 'em all in the official Pokémon Search and Find!Journey to Alola with Ash and friends as they search for new and exciting Pokémon! From the Guardians of Alola to tiny Pikipek, a whole host of new Pokémon are hidden in the richly illustrated scenes, just waiting to be caught. Plus, learn about some of the new Alolan Pokémon and complete fun activities.

Franklin Watts

Italy

Anita Ganeri
Authors:
Anita Ganeri
Wayland

Chocolate

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf
Franklin Watts

Stone Age

Anita Ganeri
Authors:
Anita Ganeri

Writing History is a series of fantastic guides to history with a difference! Each title explores different types of writing in six key historical periods: the Iron Age, Anglo-Saxons, Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece, the Stone Age and the Bronze Age. The books use a variety of ways of presenting information such as diaries, letters, stories and even poems. Examples of original sources are also given. Children are encouraged to have a go themselves with their own writing projects using the information they have read. The series is ideal for readers aged 9+ studying history topics at Key Stage 2.

Franklin Watts

Bronze Age

Anita Ganeri
Authors:
Anita Ganeri
Hodder Children's Books

Attack of the Snack

Julian Gough, Jim Field
Contributors:
Julian Gough, Jim Field
Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan
Wayland

Sailing the Caribbean Islands

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Travelling Wild: Sailing the Caribbean Islands follows a traveller on a fictitious journey by boat around the Caribbean Sea. It uses the information you would consider when planning a trip, such as the weather, climate, dangers and key sights, to present geographical information in a highly accessible and enjoyable way.Discover why the Caribbean is best avoided from June to November (hurricanes!), the different types of shark to watch out for, some deep-sea wonders, the role of mangrove forests, the Caribbean climate, and much, much more. There is a survival aspect to the book, too, with boxes containing tips on how to fend off a shark attack, survive a hurricane and dive safely, among other things. Packed to the brim with colourful, exciting photographs, maps and fascinating facts, the book allows you to explore and discover the incredible Caribbean Islands without leaving your seat!

Wayland

Ancient Wonders

Clive Gifford
Authors:
Clive Gifford
Wayland

India

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks

India: the Land and People takes you on a whistlestop tour around this most amazing country. Explore its rainforests, rivers (including the great Ganges), mountains and beaches, and meet some incredible wildlife along the way. Marvel at the vibrant street life, the amazing food and the diverse, multiethnic culture, and delve into the country's rich history.Discover what it's like to grow up in India - school, family life, socializing and religion - and find out how life is for the richest and the poorest members of society from its rural areas to its megacities. Learn about India's booming economy as a high-tech hotspot that's going global. Amazing photographs transport you to the very heart of this busy, colourful, visually-exciting country. Crammed full of facts, stats and incredible information - and much cheaper than a plane ticket - this is the perfect introduction to India!

Wayland

Mexico

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker

Mexico: the Land and People takes you on a whistlestop tour around this most incredible country. Explore its rainforests, deserts, mountains and beaches, and meet some incredible wildlife along the way. Marvel at the vibrant street life, the amazing food and the diverse, multiethnic culture, and delve into the country's rich history.Discover what it's like to grow up in Mexico - school, family life, socializing and religion - and find out how life is for the richest and the poorest members of society. With the USA across the border, what's it like to live with with a superpower as a neighbour? Learn about Mexico's booming economy, and the industries that fuel it. Celebrate Mexican culture with mariachi music, sugar skulls and fiery-hot chilis. Amazing photographs transport you to the very heart of this busy, colourful, visually-exciting country. Crammed full of facts, stats and incredible information - and much cheaper than a plane ticket - this is the perfect introduction to Mexico!

Orion Children's Books

The Trials of Morrigan Crow

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend

Enter the Wundrous world of Morrigan Crow and Nevermoor - the most fantastical children's release of the year.Morrigan Crow is cursed. Having been born on Eventide, the unluckiest day for any child to be born, she's blamed for all local misfortunes, from hailstorms to heart attacks - and, worst of all, the curse means that Morrigan is doomed to die at midnight on her eleventh birthday. But as Morrigan awaits her fate, a strange and remarkable man named Jupiter North appears. Chased by black-smoke hounds and shadowy hunters on horseback, he whisks her away into the safety of a secret, magical city called Nevermoor. It's then that Morrigan discovers Jupiter has chosen her to contend for a place in the city's most prestigious organisation: the Wundrous Society. In order to join, she must compete in four difficult and dangerous trials against hundreds of other children, each boasting an extraordinary talent that sets them apart - an extraordinary talent that Morrigan insists she does not have. To stay in the safety of Nevermoor for good, Morrigan will need to find a way to pass the tests - or she'll have to leave the city and confront her deadly fate once and for all. Perfect for fans of the Harry Potter series and His Dark Materials, this series takes readers into an extraordinary world, setting hope and imagination alive.

Franklin Watts

Bronze Age

Moira Butterfield
Authors:
Moira Butterfield

What's the first Bronze Age object you can think of? The Moel Hebog shield or the beautiful gold Mold Cape? Did you know that thousands more bronze, gold, pottery, bone and wooden objects have been found from this prehistoric time in human history? All of these objects can tell us a lot about ancient people. We know about the animals they kept from burials of animal bones. We know about the tools they used from axes, swords and arrowheads that have been found, and we know about their everyday life and culture from the remains of the homes they lived in, objects dug out of graves, the boats they built and the sacred objects they threw into lakes and rivers. All over Britain, Bronze Age artefacts have been Found!. Uncover the stories of thirteen incredible finds, what they can tell us about life back then and how they might relate to your life today.Found! is a series of six books that span British archaeological finds from the Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages, Roman Britain, the Viking Age and the Anglo Saxons. Ideal for readers aged 9+ studying history topics at Key Stage 2.

Wayland

Trekking the Sahara

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Franklin Watts

India

Anita Ganeri
Authors:
Anita Ganeri

Journey Through offers young readers the chance to take a trip through exciting world countries using different modes of transport, from train and car to bicycle and private jet. Along the way the traveller visits highlighted places both well known and less known, and learns lots of exciting facts about history, language, culture and much more.Journey Through India offers a look at the geography, landscape, culture and people of India. From the bustling cities of New Delhi and Mumbai through to the tranquil sights of Darjeeling and the Taj Mahal. You'll experience a summer monsoon, visit deserts, beautiful beaches. You'll also see the vast Ganges River, extraordinary temples and tropical forests and find out what it is like to live in this colourful and vibrant part of Asia.