Jamie Thomson - Headmaster of Doom - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408341438
    • Publication date:09 Feb 2017
Books in this series

Headmaster of Doom

Book 4

By Jamie Thomson

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Darkly hilarious adventure, featuring the Dark Lord trapped in a schoolboy's body, from the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning series.

Dirk Lloyd, the Dark Lord trapped in the boy of a weedy schoolboy, returns in a darkly hilarious adventure set in the most ghoulish school you'll encounter this side of the Darklands ...

Fourth in the brilliant series that began with the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning DARK LORD: THE TEENAGE YEARS, also chosen as one of the Sunday Times's 100 Modern Children Classics.

Perfect for fans of Philip Reeve and David Walliams.

Biographical Notes

Jamie Thomson is a British writer, editor and game developer. He is the author of numerous 'choose-your-own-adventure' gamebooks, and he also co-wrote three books for the Fighting Fantasy series.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408341421
  • Publication date: 09 Feb 2017
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
Wry asides and gleeful absurdities come thick and fast as the adventure unfolds - it's a hilarious and irreverent treat from start to finish. — Teach Primary
Wayland

Mexico

Rosemary Hankin
Authors:
Rosemary Hankin
Wayland

The Indus Valley

Claudia Martin
Authors:
Claudia Martin

Around 4,000 years ago, the Indus Valley was home to a great civilisation. Find out about the mysterious rulers of the Indus Valley, their splendid cities and their flushing toilets.How were the cities of the Indus Valley built? What were homes like? What food did people eat? What gods were worshipped? This book helps children at Key Stage 2 discover the answers to these and other fascinating questions. It also recommends sites on the Internet and sources in their local library where they can find out more about the Indus Valley. Packed with fascinating information, the Explore! series inspires children's curiosity to find out more about the past. A great tool for readers age 8+ or teachers looking for books to support the new curriculum.

Wayland

Ancient Egyptians

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

History in Infographics helps children to visualise facts and statistics using a clever and appealing mix of graphics and numbers. The colourful, high-impact design will appeal to a wide range of children, from visual learners to struggling readers, capturing and then holding their attention. Infographics are a really exciting, different way to learn about core historical topics, and are ideal for fact-hungry children, revision work, and to improve the quality of presentations. History in Infographics: Ancient Egyptians allows children to explore Ancient Egypt like never before, finding out how people lived, what they ate, what they wore, how they were ruled, how they wrote in hieroglyphics and how they built pyramids. Children can discover Egyptian warfare, and how the ancient Egyptians came to control such a huge area of northern Africa and the Middle East, learn about Egyptian society, and find out about how they mummified their dead. Ideal for children of 9+, and fact and history lovers of all ages, Ancient Egypt has never seemed more exciting!

Wayland

Football

Football is the most popular sport in the world, and this infographic guide is the perfect way to take children's love of the sport beyond the pitch. Whether they want to know who the referee is who has given the most red cards, the name of the most successful international goal scorer, or more about the father of modern football, then it's all here! Opening with the history of the game and the major European leagues, including Serie A, Bundesliga and the FA Cup, then moving on to the larger competitions, from the Africa Cup of Nations, Copa América and Champions League, to the ultimate decider - the World Cup, this book has it all! Then take a closer look at the stadiums, players, money, fans, technology and emerging game in Asia to round off your knowledge of all aspects of the sport. Using vivid colours, graphic visuals and bold designs, this guide brings football to life on the page with a modern and engaging approach to information.

Wayland

Mayans

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

History in Infographics helps children to visualise facts and statistics using a clever and appealing mix of graphics and numbers. The colourful, high-impact design will appeal to a wide range of children, from visual learners to struggling readers, capturing and then holding their attention. Infographics are a really exciting, different way to learn about core historical topics, and are ideal for fact-hungry children, revision work, and to improve the quality of presentations. History in Infographics: The Mayans allows children to explore the Mayan civilisation like never before, finding out how people lived, what they ate, what they wore, how they were ruled, the games they played and how the civilisation died out. Children can discover that the Maya were the first people to make hot chocolate, and how they did it, that they went to war to capture prisoners they then sacrificed to their gods, and all about other South American civilisations, including the Aztecs and the Incas. Ideal for children of 9+, and fact and history lovers of all ages, the Mayans have never seemed more exciting!

Wayland

A Top Secret History of Codes and Code Breaking

Roy Apps
Authors:
Roy Apps

Explore the history of codes from The Haircut Code, used by the Persians to convey messages in war, to Ancient Hebrew ciphers, pictorial codes of the Egyptians Mayans to letter codes in ancient Rome and substitution ciphers used in Tudor England when the execution of Mary, Queen of Scots was being planned. Find out about modern-day codes, such as tennis players Laura Robson and Heather Watson's 'back slang' when playing doubles and computer codes in the 21st century including the safety of passwords.The title will feature strange-but-true facts that are real-life extraordinary stories of codes and their code breakers and 'Code Cracker' practical activities show how you can build or solve your own codes!

Wayland

Mayans

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

The Maya were an advanced civilisation that built magnificent cities in the rainforests of Central America. Find out about Mayan numbers, bloodletting rituals, and why the Maya disappeared.Inside you can read about: calendars and astronomy how to make a mosaic mask writing and crafts the life of a ballplayer city-states and the elite

Wayland

The Evolution of You and Me

Michael Bright
Authors:
Michael Bright
Wayland

Journey Along the Nile

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Wayland

Climbing the Himalayan Mountains

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Travelling Wild: Climbing the Himalayan Mountains follows a traveller on a fictitious journey on foot through the Himalayan Mountains. It uses the information you would consider when planning a trip, such as the weather, climate, dangers and key sights, to present geographical information in a highly accessible and enjoyable way.Discover why the Himalayas are best avoided in the summer months (monsoons!), the traditions of the Tibetan Buddhists, the incredible wildlife that lives in the mountains, how the Himalayas formed, the mountain climate, and much, much more. There is a survival aspect to the book, too, with boxes containing tips on how to survive an avalanche, avoid hypothermia and frostbite and build a snow cave, among other things. Packed to the brim with colourful, exciting photographs, maps and fascinating facts, the book allows you to explore and discover the incredible Himalayan Mountains without leaving your seat!

Wayland

Manmade Wonders

Wayland

Unusual Wonders

Wayland

People and Planet Earth

Michael Bright
Authors:
Michael Bright
Wayland

Russia

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker

Russia: the Land and People takes you on a whistlestop tour around this fascianting country. Explore its varied landscapes, from massive lakes to frozen tundra, and meet some incredible wildlife along the way. Marvel at the brightly painted domes of St Basil's Cathedral and ornate palaces of St Petersburg, and delve into the country's rich cultural heritage.Discover what it's like to grow up in Russia - school, family life, socializing and religion - and find out how Russians have a strong sense of who they are, taking pride in their links with the land. Learn about Russia's booming economy, and the industries that fuel it, and get ready to celebrate the year's festivals, Russian-style. Amazing photographs transport you to the very heart of this busy, changing, visually-exciting country. Crammed full of facts, stats and incredible information - and much cheaper than a plane ticket - this is the perfect introduction to Russia!

Wayland

Japan

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks

Japan: the Land and People takes you on a whistlestop tour around this most incredible country. Explore its islands, mountains and volcanoes, and meet some incredible wildlife along the way. Marvel at the sleek, shiny skyscrapers, the high-tech transport systems and the world-famous food, and delve into the country's rich history.Discover what it's like to grow up in Japan - school, family life, socializing and religion - and find out how life is in a society that has a futuristic outlook while honouring its historic traditions. Learn about Japan's booming economy, fuelled by innovative designs and cutting-edge technology. Amazing photographs transport you to the very heart of this unique, fascinating, visually-exciting country. Crammed full of facts, stats and incredible information - and much cheaper than a plane ticket - this is the perfect introduction to Japan!

Wayland

The Big Bang and Beyond

Michael Bright
Authors:
Michael Bright
Wayland

Chocolate

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf
Wayland

the American Civil War?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

This book considers the deadliest war in US history, which killed 750,000 soldiers and many civilians before this young nation was a century old. Its legacy still resonates across the USA today. Did it achieve any of its goals? Did it have unexpected consequences? Did any good at all come out of it?

Wayland

China

Rosemary Hankin
Authors:
Rosemary Hankin

Explore the landscape, climate and crops of different regions of China and find out how these influence the food people eat and the meals they prepare. Then learn how to make well-known Chinese dishes such as corn soup, egg fried rice and spring rolls to share with your family and friends.

Wayland

Say No to Bullying

Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon

Bullying today comes in many forms, from being picked on to verbal, physical, emotional, homophobic, racist and cyberbullying. This book examines all the types of bullying, looks at the reasons people bully and the variety of ways that you can combat bullying. With endorsement from Kidscape, the children's charity against abuse and bullying.