Jamie Thomson - Headmaster of Doom - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408341438
    • Publication date:09 Feb 2017
Books in this series

Headmaster of Doom

Book 4

By Jamie Thomson

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Darkly hilarious adventure, featuring the Dark Lord trapped in a schoolboy's body, from the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning series.

Dirk Lloyd, the Dark Lord trapped in the boy of a weedy schoolboy, returns in a darkly hilarious adventure set in the most ghoulish school you'll encounter this side of the Darklands ...

Fourth in the brilliant series that began with the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning DARK LORD: THE TEENAGE YEARS, also chosen as one of the Sunday Times's 100 Modern Children Classics.

Perfect for fans of Philip Reeve and David Walliams.

Biographical Notes

Jamie Thomson is a British writer, editor and game developer. He is the author of numerous 'choose-your-own-adventure' gamebooks, and he also co-wrote three books for the Fighting Fantasy series.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408341421
  • Publication date: 09 Feb 2017
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
Wry asides and gleeful absurdities come thick and fast as the adventure unfolds - it's a hilarious and irreverent treat from start to finish. — Teach Primary
Hodder Children's Books

Mr Panda’s Colours

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony

Is that ball red? Or could it be green? Learn your colours with Mr Panda.Steve Antony's Please Mr Panda has taken the children's book world by storm, selling over 300,000 copies since it was first published.''An ideal book for kids to learn about the importance of good manners.' Sun 'There's a new pre-school politeness tsar in town.' The Times

Hodder Children's Books

Mr Panda’s Feelings

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony

Are you happy? Are you sad? Just how are you feeling? Learn to describe your emotions with Mr Panda!Steve Antony's Please Mr Panda has taken the children's book world by storm, selling over 300,000 copies since it was first published.''An ideal book for kids to learn about the importance of good manners.' Sun 'There's a new pre-school politeness tsar in town.' The Times

Orchard Books

The Powerpuff Girls Early Reader 2: Buttercup's Princess Problem

Learn to read with The Powerpuff Girls!Packed with all the quirky fun of the TV show, this full-colour Early Reader is perfect for young Powerpuff Girl fans just starting their own reading adventure.When Buttercup saves a princess, she doesn't expect her to be so cross! Princess Bluebelle wants to be rescued by a handsome prince! Can the Powerpuff Girls convince Princess Bluebelle that she can be a hero, too? With illustrations on each page and simple language endorsed by a literacy consultant, learning to read has never been more fun!

Hodder Children's Books

Going to the Volcano

Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez
Contributors:
Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez
Orchard Books

Splash the Cash

Orchard Books

Bridesmaid Surprise – Two magical adventures in one!

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Dark Lord: The Teenage Years

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Winner of the 2012 Roald Dahl Funny Prize!Thirteen-year-old schoolboy, Dirk Lloyd, has a dark secret - in fact he is a dark secret. Dirk - according to his own account - is the earthly incarnation of a Dark Lord, supreme ruler of the Darklands and leader of great armies of orcs and warriors, intent on destruction and bloody devastation. Following a colossal final battle between the forces of good and evil, the Dark Lord was defeated and hurled by his arch-foe's spells into the Pit of Uttermost Despair. At the bottom of the Pit lies...a supermarket car park in the municipal town of Whiteshields, somewhere in modern day England. And when he is found, and tries to explain that he is the Dark Lord, people think he means Dirk Lloyd. The fact that he's trapped in the puny body of a schoolboy doesn't help. And so begins Dirk's battle to recover his dignity, his power, and his lands... Along the way he faces the inconvenience of being fostered by a do-gooding family, the Purejoies; the torture of endless hours of drudgery at the Whiteshields Brainwashing Centre (aka school); a vengeful Headmaster; two interfering Psychotic Persecutors (psychotherapists); and constant laughter and disrespect when he attempts to marshall his lackeys and lickspittles (friends) to do what he wants them to.Dirk makes friends with the son of his foster family, Christopher, and the local Goth Girl, Sooz, and together they attempt to cast a spell that will transport Dirk back to his homeland. Inevitably, not everything goes to plan... But that's for book 2Roald Dahl Prize winner, 2012.

Hodder Children's Books

St Clare's Collection 2

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Orion Children's Books

The Archers of Isca

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

The second thrilling adventure in a new historical series from million-copy-selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.Britannia AD 94. On the run from the Emperor Domitian, fifteen-year-old Fronto has joined the Roman army in order to find the security and structure he craves. But when his younger sister Ursula is captured by a terrifying Druid called Snakebeard, he must make an impossible decision. Can he leave the army, when desertion is punishable by death?His desire: To become a good soldierHis quest: To rescue his sister His destiny: To find his place in Roman BritainFrom the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2. Historical locations featured in this book are a British Iron Age Village, Bath Spa and the fortress at Caerleon.

Hodder Children's Books

Through the Cat-Flap

Ian Whybrow, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Ian Whybrow, Tony Ross

Thomas can't work out what goes on in the tiny minds of his toddler twin sisters. They sing all the time but never get the words right. They think cats enjoy being dressed up as fairies. But who else can Thomas turn to when they all get locked out of the house? Besides, it's a brilliant idea to pop them through the cat-flap and tell them to look for the keys. Isn't it ...?

Orchard Books

A Galaxy Too Far

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Harry was just an ordinary teenage boy from Croydon when he was abducted by aliens and accidentally became the captain of their starship. His quest to get back home to Earth continues - but now he's acquired an alien 'son' and a new spacecraft, and he's being pursued by an eight-foot robot bounty hunter...Could this be a galaxy too far for Harry?Another hilarious story from the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning author of the DARK LORD series.

Orchard Books

Fliktor the Deadly Conqueror

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

The city of Aquora has been infested with a plague of tiny robots that are controlling people's minds. Can Max and Lia find out who's responsible and stop them, or will the people be doomed forever?The first thrilling adventure in Sea Quest Series 6: Master of Aquora. Look out for Tengal the Savage Shark, Kull the Cave Crawler and Gulak the Gulper Eel!

Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler

Emily is delighted when her family returns to Brightport, but their attempts to follow Neptune's orders to bring humans and merfolk together seem doomed.Thrown out of mermaid school and scorned by her old enemy, Mandy Rushton, Emily goes in search of the lost sirens who were banished by Neptune to a top secret undersea cavern. Only when she uncovers the sirens' true story can she put the pieces of her own life back together.A magical adventure, featuring the power of friendship and told with Liz's characteristic warmth and lightness of touch.

Orchard Books

The Wrong Side of the Galaxy

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson
Orchard Books

Eternal Detention

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson
Orchard Books

A Fiend in Need

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Dirk Lloyd, the Dark Lord trapped in the body of a weedy schoolboy, returns in another darkly hilarious adventure... Brilliantly funny and subversive, this is the Funny Prize-winning Jamie Thomson at his best.Sooz, a 13 yr old girl from Surrey has become the Dark Mistress of Dirk's other worldly kingdom, the Darklands. Thanks to the Ring of Power given to her by Dirk, his minions recognise her as their ruler. Sooz immediately sets about redecorating Dirk's Dark Tower to the taste of a young girl. But Sooz has to face her toughest challenge when an army of fanatical paladins and orcs gather to march against her. Despite their centuries of hostility to each other, they prefer to form an alliance rather than accept Sooz's new regime.And what of Dirk? He continues on slaving away at school, plotting ways to rescue Sooz. Eventually he is able to advise her on life in the Darklands and Sooz is able to hold back the fanatical paladins.

Orion Children's Books

The White Giraffe and Dolphin Song

Lauren St John, David Dean
Contributors:
Lauren St John, David Dean
Orion Children's Books

The Beggar of Volubilis

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

Flavia and her friends are on a quest for the Emperor Titus - to steal a valuable gemstone known as 'Nero's Eye'. The Delphic Oracle prophesied that whoever owns the gem will rule Rome - so Titus is determined to claim it for himself. Their travels take them across the Roman province of Mauretania, from Sabratha (in modern Libya) to Volubilis (Morocco). As they travel on a caravan across the desert they encounter slave-traders, pantomime actors and a wild animal stampede. The detectives must consider another quest: what has happened to Uncle Gaius? Meanwhile, Flavia faces some tough decisions about her future.

Orion Children's Books

Floodland

Marcus Sedgwick, Marcus Sedgwick
Authors:
Marcus Sedgwick, Marcus Sedgwick

David Orme

David Orme has written over 300 books, including children's fiction and non-fiction, graphic novels, poetry, and books for teachers. Many of his recent titles have been aimed at reluctant and struggling readers, with a low level text but with content suitable for older children. This had led to some surprising, if not unlikely titles, such as How to Be a Pop Star. Children only need one glance at David to suspect that he knows nothing at all about the subject - and they are right! His fiction has been translated into a number of languages.David's most recent book for teachers, Unlocking the Poet in Every Child, is his distillation of a lifetime working with children, first as a teacher then as a writing workshop leader in schools. His latest novel, The Bodysnatcher's Apprentice, is for adults and older teens.