Jerry Spinelli - Stargirl - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408315446
    • Publication date:05 May 2011

Stargirl

By Jerry Spinelli

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Before ELEANOR AND PARK, there was STARGIRL. The seminal life-affirming YA novel celebrating first love and self-acceptance - now in a beautiful new edition for the next generation of readers.

She's as magical as the desert sky. As mysterious as her own name. Nobody knows who she is or where she's from. But everyone loves her for being different. And she captures Leo's heart with just one smile.

STARGIRL is a classic of our time that celebrates being true to ourselves and the thrill of first love. A life-changing read that touches souls of all ages.

Biographical Notes

Jerry Spinelli has won the Newbery Medal for children's literature. He lives in Norristown, Pennsylvania.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408341025
  • Publication date: 07 Apr 2016
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
An unforgettable, magical fairytale. — Newcastle Evening Chronicle
Hodder Children's Books

Colour Me In

Lydia Ruffles
Authors:
Lydia Ruffles

THE CATCHER IN THE RYE meets LOST IN TRANSLATION in a feverish story about trying to outrun yourself. Insomniac actor Arlo is restless. Having quit a lucrative role on a soap; he fills his days by following people for character inspiration, mocking his flatmate Luke, and wondering how quickly his fandom "Arlo's Army" will forget him. But when a project ends in tragedy, Arlo is reminded of a past loss and risks his future by fleeing 5,000 miles to outrun his pain.Deliberately lost in Japan with its city's neon skyscrapers, Arlo is just another foreigner who can't communicate. He begins following people, leading him to befriend a mysterious environmentalist called Mizuki who reveals her obsession with finding an image that nobody has photographed before. Together they seek out abandoned places in a joint quest - he wanting to be as lost as possible and she in search of a perfect, never-captured image...

Orchard Books

Dino Duckling

Alison Murray
Authors:
Alison Murray
Hodder Children's Books

Satellite

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake
Wayland

Feeling Shy

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon

This lovely picturebook story tells the story of a small child helping others who feel shy, before finding themselves in a situation that makes them feel shy too.Illustrating scenarios of why children become frightened will help readers to identify their feelings and work out the best way to deal with this emotion.Ideal for home or classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with this feeling.This book is part of a series of stories about feelings and emotions for children aged between 4 and 8. Other titles are: Feeling Angry, Feeling Frightened, Feeling Jealous, Feeling Sad and Feeling WorriedIllustrated by the ever-popular and award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon.

Wayland

Feeling Frightened

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham

This lovely picturebook story tells the story of a small child helping others who are frightened, before finding out that they're frightened too.Illustrating scenarios of why children become frightened will help readers to identify their feelings and work out the best way to deal with this emotion.Ideal for home or classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with this feeling.Illustrated by the ever-popular and award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon.This book is part of a series of stories about feelings and emotions for children aged between 4 and 8. Other titles are: Feeling Angry, Feeling Jealous, Feeling Sad, Feeling Shy and Feeling Worried

Hodder Children's Books

Songs About Us

Chris Russell
Authors:
Chris Russell
Wayland

Feeling Jealous

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon

This lovely story follows the day of one small boy who tries to help friends and family who are feeling jealous, but then ends up feeling jealous himself and having to follow his own advice.Illustrating scenarios of why people get angry will help readers to identify their feelings and work out the best way to deal with this emotion.Ideal for home or classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with feelings.This book is part of a series of stories about feelings and emotions for children aged between 4 and 8. Other titles are: Feeling Angry, Feeling Frightened, Feeling Sad, Feeling Shy and Feeling WorriedIllustrated by the ever-popular and award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon.

Wayland

Feeling Angry

Katie Douglass
Authors:
Katie Douglass
Orion Children's Books

Wolf by Wolf: Blood for Blood

Ryan Graudin
Authors:
Ryan Graudin

The thrilling conclusion to Ryan Graudin's Carnegie Medal 2017 nominated alternative history and fantasy epic, WOLF BY WOLF. In 1950s Germany, the war may be over, but the fight has just begun . . .There would be blood. Blood for blood. Blood to pay. An entire world of it. With their mission to overthrow the Nazis in danger, Yael and the resistance are ready to fight. Forced to run, life in the shadows for Yael, Luka and Felix isn't easy, especially when their enemy seems to know their every move. And when each step uncovers dark secrets and even darker truths, each must find a way to navigate right and wrong, past and future, life and death, if they are to survive at all.A captivating story of survival, love and freedom in a gripping, fantastical alternate universe from WOLF BY WOLF and THE WALLED CITY author, Ryan Graudin.

Franklin Watts

Spartans

Rupert Matthews
Authors:
Rupert Matthews

The battle begins. The Spartans stand perfectly still. They have been training for this moment since the age of five. The Spartan king lifts his spear and the Spartans charge. Learn all about what makes a great Spartan in Fearless Warriors: Spartans. Discover the customs and traditions, the training and the stars of the most intrepid warriors of Ancient Greece.The series examines some of history's most fearless fighters. It looks at their training, weapons and fighting methods, as well as examining some of their most famous battles and fiercest warriors. Each title has sections focusing on aspects of their training, their battles or biographies of individual warriors. A useful timeline and a quiz to test your knowledge are at the back of each book. Ideal for readers aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

Samurai

Rupert Matthews
Authors:
Rupert Matthews
Franklin Watts

Gladiators

Rupert Matthews
Authors:
Rupert Matthews
Franklin Watts

Ninjas

Rupert Matthews
Authors:
Rupert Matthews

The ninja stood still in the shadows. Very still. Footsteps approached, and he held his breath. First two guards, then the warlord. He quickly threw two shuriken, which brushed the guards' necks as if a fly had flown by. Learn all about what makes a great ninja in Fearless Warriors: Ninja. Discover the customs and traditions, the training and the stars of the most secret profession of Japan.The series examines some of history's most fearless fighters. It looks at their training, weapons and fighting methods, as well as examining some of their most famous battles and fiercest warriors. Each title has sections focusing on aspects of their training, their battles or biographies of individual warriors. A useful timeline and a quiz to test your knowledge are at the back of each book. Ideal for readers aged 9 and up.

Orchard Books

The Lion Inside

Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Contributors:
Rachel Bright, Jim Field

From the creator of the known and loved Bright Side lifestyle brand, Rachel Bright, and the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, Jim Field, comes a feelgood rhyming story about one little mouse trying to make himself heard and discovering along the way that even the smallest of us has the heart of a lion.Perfect for fans of Giraffes Can't Dance this stylish book from two contemporary stars really is something to shout about - it will make you laugh, cry and read it every bedtime.'A heartfelt message, delightfully conveyed.' Parents in Touch'Captivating.' Books for Keeps'A delight to read over and over again.' WRD'Field is on top form ... readers will feel carried along by his visual and comedic generosity.' Publishers Weekly

Hodder Children's Books

Genesis

Helen Dennis, Bonnie Kate Wolf
Contributors:
Helen Dennis, Bonnie Kate Wolf

What if a teenage boy washed up on the banks of the River Thames, soaked to the skin and unable to explain who he is?What if the only clue to the boy's identity is a sketch he made of a strange symbol?Who would help him? Who would hunt him? Who is River Boy?When a mystery teenage boy emerges from the River Thames drenched, distressed and unable to remember anything about himself, he becomes the focus of worldwide media speculation. Unable to communicate, the River Boy is given paper and a pencil and begins to scribble. Soon a symbol emerges, but the boy has no idea why he has drawn it even thought it's the only clue to the mystery of his identity... As the boy begins to build a new life under a new name, the hunt for his real identity begins.A hunt which will lead him on a dangerous QUEST that he has only one year to complete ...Introducing the first in a thrilling new series packed with adventure: this book has an illustrated narrative running through it, helping readers to solve the mystery alongside the characters in the story.

Hodder Children's Books

The Runaway

Kate O'Hearn
Authors:
Kate O'Hearn

In the world of Asgard, living among Odin, Thor and Loki are the Valkyries of legend. Norse goddesses, reapers of souls from human battlefields - they have the power to cause death with just one touch. Fourteen-year-old Freya is a Valkyrie - but she has not followed in the footsteps of the legends before her. She has been to the World of Man to befriend humans - and not to reap their souls. Now she must return to the World of Man on a new quest to track down the runaway Valkyrie of legend. There she will discover a dark secret that leads her to the Land of the Frost Giants where she must take on new enemies. But this time she has friends to rely on, and lots more to gain. Enter a new Valkyrie legend ...'Kate O'Hearn serves up a winning mix of modern adventure and classic fantasy.' Rick Riordan, author of Percy Jackson

Orchard Books

Jake and Lily

Jerry Spinelli
Authors:
Jerry Spinelli
Orchard Books

Horowitz Horror

Anthony Horowitz
Authors:
Anthony Horowitz

Welcome to a strange and twisted world where the spooky, the shocking, and the positively petrifying are lurking just out of sight. A bus ride home ... turns into your worst nightmare. A quaint country cottage ... has a grisly secret.A man returns from holiday ... with bubbling skin and bloodshot eyes.Horowitz Horror. It's all around you. Alive. Waiting. Enter if you dare.

Orion Children's Books

The Man from Pomegranate Street

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Hodder Children's Books

The Famous Five Collection 1

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton