Jerry Spinelli - Stargirl - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408315446
    • Publication date:05 May 2011

Stargirl

By Jerry Spinelli

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Before ELEANOR AND PARK, there was STARGIRL. The seminal life-affirming YA novel celebrating first love and self-acceptance - now in a beautiful new edition for the next generation of readers.

She's as magical as the desert sky. As mysterious as her own name. Nobody knows who she is or where she's from. But everyone loves her for being different. And she captures Leo's heart with just one smile.

STARGIRL is a classic of our time that celebrates being true to ourselves and the thrill of first love. A life-changing read that touches souls of all ages.

Biographical Notes

Jerry Spinelli has won the Newbery Medal for children's literature. He lives in Norristown, Pennsylvania.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408341025
  • Publication date: 07 Apr 2016
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
An unforgettable, magical fairytale. — Newcastle Evening Chronicle
Hodder Children's Books

Will You Catch Me?

Jane Elson
Authors:
Jane Elson
Orchard Books

Deception

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

An amazing new futuristic trilogy from Teri Terry, Orchard's queen of the YA psychological thriller. Fans and new readers alike will be gripped!(P) 2017 Hachette Children's Group

Franklin Watts

The Children of Willesden Lane

Franklin Watts
Authors:
Franklin Watts

Fourteen-year-old Lisa Jura was a musical prodigy who hoped to become a concert pianist. But when Hitler's armies advanced on pre-war Vienna, Lisa's parents were forced to make a difficult decision. Able to secure passage for only one of their three daughters through the Kindertransport, they chose to send gifted Lisa to London for safety. As she yearned to be reunited with her family while she lived in a home for refugee children on Willesden Lane, Lisa's music became a beacon of hope. A memoir of courage, survival, and the power of music to uplift the human spirit, this compelling tribute to one special young woman and the lives she touched will both educate and inspire young readers. Based on a true story of a 14 year old girl Lisa Jura, who had to flee her home in Vienna and rebuild her life in London, the story brings home the reality of the Holocaust to readers aged 12 and up.

Hodder Children's Books

The Rainmaker Danced

John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Contributors:
John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Hodder Children's Books

Moxie

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

'MOXIE is sweet funny and fierce. Read this and then join the fight!' AMY POEHLERVivian Carter is fed up. Fed up with her high school teachers who think the football team can do no wrong. Fed up with sexist dress codes, hallway harassment and gross comments from guys during class. But most of all, Viv Carter is fed up with always following the rules.Viv's mum was a tough-as-nails, punk rock Riot Grrrl in the '90s, and now Viv takes a page from her mother's past and creates Moxie, a feminist zine that she distributes anonymously to her classmates. She's just blowing off steam, but other girls respond and spread the Moxie message. As Viv forges friendships with other young women across the divides of cliques and popularity rankings, she realises that what she has started is nothing short of a girl revolution.TIME TO FIGHT LIKE A GIRLA page-turning read with a feminist message, for anyone who has ever had to deal with #everydaysexism'... this is my new favorite book. I'm proud to be a Moxie girl!' Jennifer Niven, author of All the Bright Places and Holding Up the Universe

Hodder Children's Books

The Pest in the Nest

Julian Gough, Jim Field
Contributors:
Julian Gough, Jim Field
Wren & Rook

It's All In Your Head

Rae Earl, Jo Harrison
Contributors:
Rae Earl, Jo Harrison
Quercus Children's Books

The Impossible

Mark Illis
Authors:
Mark Illis
Hodder Children's Books

Songs About Us

Chris Russell
Authors:
Chris Russell
Orion Children's Books

Chase

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Hodder Children's Books

Sea Spell

Jennifer Donnelly
Authors:
Jennifer Donnelly

Six mermaids battle to save their hidden world in Disney's epic series finale for fans of Percy Jackson and The Girl of Ink & Stars.The mermaids prepare for war. The powerful Volneros is invading all the mer realms and in a foolish attempt to stop him, founding father Orfeo plans to unleash an ancient and dangerous monster from its icy prison. While Astrid faces her powerful ancestors to steal the black pearl talisman from Orfeo's stronghold, Ava must travel to the treacherous swamps of the Mississippi where the evil Okwa Naholo spirits kill with a single glance.In an epic battle, the Black Fin resistance, lead by Serafina, must defeat both Voleneros and Orfeo and prevent the destruction of their world.

Hodder Children's Books

Summer Holiday Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Quercus Children's Books

Through the Dark

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

From New York Times bestselling author Alexandra Bracken comes a collection of three hauntingly beautiful novellas set in the world of the Darkest Minds series.In the most harrowing of times, it takes a ferocious strength to not only survive, but stand up for those who cannot fight their own battles. The characters in these stories - some new, some familiar - face impossible missions, and the hardest of all may be protecting the last flicker of hope in a seemingly endless night. This is a must-have for fans of the Darkest Minds.IN TIME A desperate young man is forced to make a terrible choice between his own survival and the future of a little girl. The girl won't speak, but she changes his life in ways he could never imagine.SPARKS RISE A spark of light brightens the brutal world when a girl named Sam encounters her childhood best friend at the government-run 'rehabilitation' camp, Thurmond. Lucas and Sam form a risky escape plan, but sometimes even love isn't powerful enough to overcome unspeakable cruelty. BEYOND THE NIGHT The camps are closed and the tyrant president has been deposed. But for many Psi kids living rough, there is no home to return to, no place in a country devastated by the past and anxious about the future. Every day is a struggle for Sam - at least at Thurmond she knew the rules. Her new found freedom is filled with uncertainty and fear. But there's more at stake than Sam's own survival. She once made a promise to someone she loves, and the time has come to fulfill it.'Haunting ... Bracken creates a gripping and terrifying dystopian world' - Kirkus ReviewsAlexandra Bracken is the New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, Wayfarer and The Darkest Mindsseries. Visit her online at www.alexandrabracken.com and on Twitter @alexbracken.

Wayland

The Boys' Guide to Growing Up

Phil Wilkinson, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Phil Wilkinson, Sarah Horne

A friendly and reassuring guide for boys as they approach puberty, explaining the changes that will happen to their bodies as they grow up and how these changes might make them feel. Covering everything from physical changes like body hair and testicle growth to emotional ones like mood swings and self-esteem, puberty and parenting expert Phil Wilkinson addresses any worries that boys might have relating to what is 'normal'. He reassures readers and boosts their confidence, encouraging them to feel positive about the changes they will experience as they go through puberty. The book also includes lifestyle advice on topics like healthy eating and exercise.Topics covered:What is puberty?Your puberty timelineHow do hormones work?The height and weight raceA deeper voiceSpotty skinHair, hair, everywhereThe art of shavingSweat, smells and personal hygieneChanges down belowMore changes down belowNew feelingsSex explainedMaking babiesKeeping your confidence upMood swingsManaging your feelingsHealthy eatingThe power of exercisePrivacy and your bodyPuberty for girlsGirls have worries, too

Wayland

The Girls' Guide to Growing Up

Anita Naik, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Anita Naik, Sarah Horne

A friendly and reassuring guide for girls as they approach puberty, explaining the changes that will happen to their bodies as they grow up and how these changes might make them feel. Covering everything from periods and breast development to body hair and personal hygiene, puberty and parenting expert Anita Naik addresses any worries that girls may have relating to what is 'normal'. She reassures readers and boosts their confidence, encouraging them to feel positive about the changes they will experience as they go through puberty. The book also includes lifestyle advice on topics like healthy eating and exercise.Topics covered:What is puberty?Your puberty timelineBreasts and brasSame age, different stageSkin changesSweat, smells and personal hygieneHair in new placesDown thereWhat are periods?The practical side of periodsCoping with periodsSex explainedMaking babiesNew feelingsManaging your moodsHealthy eatingThe power of exerciseSelf-esteem and body imagePrivacy and your bodyPuberty for boysBoys have worries, too

Orchard Books

The Lion Inside

Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Contributors:
Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Orchard Books

A Pocket Full of Murder

R J Anderson
Authors:
R J Anderson

A magical murder mystery set in a fantastical city fuelled by spell power. Isaveth Breck is brave, loyal, and zealous in the pursuit of justice, especially after her father is wrongfully arrested. Quiz, the eccentric eye patch-wearing street boy who befriends her, swears he can't resist a good mystery. Together they set out to solve the magical murder of one of Tarreton's most influential citizens and save Isaveth's beloved papa from execution. But as the list of suspects grows, finding the culprit becomes more of a challenge than the two young detectives anticipated. As her father's sentencing looms closer, Isaveth depends more and more on Quiz to help her solve the mystery. But when she discovers that the boy she trusted as an equal is far more privileged than he seems, it casts his motives into doubt and puts their whole partnership in jeopardy. And then Isaveth realises that Urias Breck was deliberately framed, and that the real murderer is protected by the powerful Lord Mayor of Tarreton himself. Can she ever prove her papa's innocence in time...?

Orchard Books

Up Close

Chloe Bennet
Authors:
Chloe Bennet

In BOYWATCHING, Chloe and her friends turned their obsession with the mysterious yet strangely alluring St Thomas's boys into a scientific pursuit (with hilarious consequences). In the second book, the thrilling prospect of a joint school play takes up much of everyone's waking (and dreaming) hours. But aside from that, can Chloe hang onto the heaven that is Mark? Will Gemma's reunion with the unpredictable Jezza last? Is Amy destined for greatness in the Olympics, and will Sally ever discover the truth about her absent father? There are tricky times ahead for the Boywatchers and their families...By turns touching and hilarious, this is another fabulous story of friendship, fun and boys that fans of GEEK GIRL will adore.

Orchard Books

Shattered

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Orchard Books

Jake and Lily

Jerry Spinelli
Authors:
Jerry Spinelli

For almost as long as they can remember, Jake and Lily have shared a "special sense". But their bond seems to be weakening as, at age 11, Jake starts spending more time with new friends than with Lily; upset and rejected, Lily has no one to confide in except her grandfather. Lily tries to find out who she is without her brother, but it's hard work. Her feeling of abandonment is as sharply felt as Jake's need to test his independence. Spinelli celebrates each child's individualism and growing self-awareness.