Jerry Spinelli - Stargirl - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408315446
    • Publication date:05 May 2011

Stargirl

By Jerry Spinelli

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Before ELEANOR AND PARK, there was STARGIRL. The seminal life-affirming YA novel celebrating first love and self-acceptance - now in a beautiful new edition for the next generation of readers.

She's as magical as the desert sky. As mysterious as her own name. Nobody knows who she is or where she's from. But everyone loves her for being different. And she captures Leo's heart with just one smile.

STARGIRL is a classic of our time that celebrates being true to ourselves and the thrill of first love. A life-changing read that touches souls of all ages.

Biographical Notes

Jerry Spinelli has won the Newbery Medal for children's literature. He lives in Norristown, Pennsylvania.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408341025
  • Publication date: 07 Apr 2016
  • Page count: 272
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
An unforgettable, magical fairytale. — Newcastle Evening Chronicle
Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Hodder Children's Books

Whoever You Are

Diana Hendry
Authors:
Diana Hendry

From the Costa award-winning author of Harvey Angell, comes the sequel to Out of the Clouds.Pa is off again to work on his world-changing scientific discovery, leaving the rest of the Coggins family behind at their hidden clifftop home, Dizzy Perch. Oliver is in charge, with strict instructions about no visitors, in order to protect Pa's top-secret location. But Ma doesn't listen, and invites her favourite author to say.When a woman arrives at Dizzy Perch claiming to be the author, the whole family are enchanted by their guest. All apart from Oliver, that is. A good job too, because the woman is really the sister of Pa's Sworn Enemy Mac, whose mission it is to bring Pa down and steal his research. How is Oliver going to be able to keep his promise to Pa and protect his family, when they simply refuse to listen to him...?A classic mystery adventure perfect for fans of Enid Blyton.

Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Down Under

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish

The Butterfields are on the other side of the world visiting Uncle Bruce and Aunty Sheila. Australian life is unlike anything they have ever known before! Kangaroos, emus, frying eggs on the patio ... Will they ever want to go home? Join the Butterfields on their Australian adventure!

Hodder Children's Books

The City of Beasts

Charlie Fletcher, Nick Tankard
Contributors:
Charlie Fletcher, Nick Tankard

New allies and new hope leave siblings Will and Jo ready to face the dark force that lurks in the British Museum. It has frozen London, leaving the life force of the city's inhabitants to drain away. But with nearly all the animal statues of London and a nest of dragons against them, will they be able to save their mum - and the world - before time runs out?With beautiful illustrations by Nick Tankard.

Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Gets Funnier

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish

Nine-year-old Mattie is excited. Uncle Vez's brother and his wife have come to visit! With their Australian guests, life in the Butterfield household is even more chaotic than usual. Mattie just has one worry on her Worry List ... Has Grandma met her match in Aunty Sheila?

Hodder Children's Books

The London Pride

Charlie Fletcher, Nick Tankard
Contributors:
Charlie Fletcher, Nick Tankard
Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Saves the Day

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Hodder Children's Books

Dragon Shield

Charlie Fletcher, Nick Tankard
Contributors:
Charlie Fletcher, Nick Tankard

The start of a thrilling, action-packed trilogy from Charlie Fletcher, set in a world where statues come to life and dragons and heroes battle.Something dark has woken in the British Museum, and it has stopped time, literally freezing the city in its tracks. The people are there, but unmoving, unseeing - like statues. The statues, on the other hand, can move, and are astonished at what they see.In the Great Ormond Street Hospital, Will and Jo are suddenly plunged into this world of statues - and find themselves pursued by murderous dragons. With help from a couple of friendly statues, Will and Jo must escape the evil that stalks them in the streets of London.With beautiful illustrations by Nick Tankard.

Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Moves House

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish

It's a tight squeeze as usual in the Butterfield house, and with baby Will's stuff taking up all the room it's getting even worse. Lucinda's house has ten times more room for her family than the squished Butterfields have! Mattie's Worry List gets bigger when Mum seems to be unhappy, and wants to move house. But moving house would mean moving schools - Mattie's worst Worry List come true!

Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family's Got Talent

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Hodder Children's Books

Kit's Wilderness

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

Kit has just moved to Stoneygate with his family, to live with his ageing grandfather who is gradually succumbing to Alzheimer's Disease. Stoneygate is an insular place, scarred by its mining history - by the danger and death it has brought them. Where the coal mine used to be there is now a wilderness. Here Kit meets Askew, a surly and threatening figure who masterminds the game called Death, a frightening ritual of hypnotism; and Kit makes friends with Allie, the clever school troublemaker. As Kit struggles to adjust to his new life and the gradual failing of his beloved grandfather, these two friendships pull him towards a terrifying resolution. Haunted by ghosts of the past, Kit must confront death and - ultimately - life.A stunning novel from the author of the modern children's classic Skellig - winner of the Carnegie Medal and the Whitbread Children's Book Award. David Almond is also winner of the 2010 Hans Christian Andersen award.

Hodder Children's Books

Sky on Fire

Emmy Laybourne
Authors:
Emmy Laybourne

Trapped inside a superstore, fourteen kids have worked together to create a refuge while a series of escalating disasters, including a monster hailstorm and a terrifying chemical weapons spill, mean they cannot leave. Then strangers appeared, destroying their fragile peace, but also bringing a glimmer of hope. Knowing that the polluted air outside will turn them into bloodthirsty rage monsters, some of the kids decide to stay in the safety of the store. But their sanctuary has already been disturbed once ... The others, determined to find their parents, head out into the darkness and devastation in their recently repaired school bus. If they can get to Denver International Airport, they might be evacuated to safety. But the outside world is even worse than they expected . . . 'Riveting' New York Times'A post apocalyptic wild ride' Huffington Post

Orchard Books

Jake and Lily

Jerry Spinelli
Authors:
Jerry Spinelli
Hodder Children's Books

The Fire Eaters

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

There he was, below the bridge, half-naked, eyes blazing. He had a pair of burning torches. He ran them back and forth across his skin. He sipped from a bottle, breathed across a torch, and fire and fumes leapt from his lips. The air was filled with the scent of paraffin. He breathed again, a great high spreading flag of fire. He glared. He roared like an animal.That summer, life had seemed perfect for Bobby Burns. But now it's autumn and the winds of change are blowing hard. Bobby's dad is mysteriously ill. His new school is a cold and cruel place. And worse: nuclear war may be about to start. But Bobby has a wonder-working friend called Ailsa Spink. And he's found the fire-eater, a devil called McNulty. What can they do together on Bobby's beach? Is it possible to work miracles? Will they be able to transform the world?A stunning novel from the author of the modern children's classic Skellig - winner of the Carnegie Medal and the Whitbread Children's Book Award. David Almond is also winner of the 2010 Hans Christian Andersen award.

Hodder Children's Books

Counting Stars

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Hodder Children's Books

Gargoyles Gone AWOL

Clementine Beauvais, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Clementine Beauvais, Sarah Horne
Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Gets Bigger

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish

It's the new school term and, as the baby inside Mum's tummy gets bigger and bigger, the family begins to plan for Christmas. There are lists to be made and presents to be wrapped. But could an unexpected Christmas gift be just around the corner?

Hodder Children's Books

Sleuth on Skates

Clementine Beauvais, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Clementine Beauvais, Sarah Horne
Hodder Children's Books

Monument 14

Emmy Laybourne
Authors:
Emmy Laybourne

Fourteen kids stranded inside a superstore. Inside they have everything they could ever need. There's junk food and clothes, computer games and books, drugs and alcohol ... and without adult supervision they can do whatever they want.Sounds like fun? But outside the world is being ripped apart by violent storms and chemicals leaking into the atmosphere that, depending on blood type, leave victims paranoid, violent or dead. The kids must remain inside, forced to create their own community, unsure if they'll ever be able to leave. Can they stop the world they've created inside from self-destructing too?'Riveting' New York Times'A post apocalyptic wild ride' Huffington Post

Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family On Holiday

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish