Rachel Bright - The Squirrels Who Squabbled - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408340479
    • Publication date:08 Feb 2018

The Squirrels Who Squabbled

By Rachel Bright
Illustrated by Jim Field

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Two greedy squirrels learn to share in the third hilarious rhyming adventure from the bestselling creators of THE LION INSIDE.

Two greedy squirrels learn to share in the third hilarious rhyming adventure from the bestselling creators of THE LION INSIDE.

Greedy squirrels Cyril and Bruce both have their sights on a very special prize: THE VERY LAST NUT OF THE SEASON! As the nut bounces crazily though the forest, the squirrels race after it, between the trees, over boulders, down the river and - ARGH! - right to the edge of a waterfall! Working together might be the only way to save themselves now ...

A laugh-out-loud tale about friendship and sharing from the bestselling creators of THE LION INSIDE and THE KOALA WHO COULD. Perfect for competitive friends and sibling rivals!

Praise for THE LION INSIDE:

'A heartfelt message, delightfully conveyed' Parents in Touch

'A delight to read over and over again' WRD

'Captivating' Books for Keeps

'Will easily win over readers' The Book List

'Field is on top form, offering so many imaginative framings and irreverent characterizations that readers will feel carried along by his visual and comedic generosity.' Publishers Weekly

'Brilliant ... had me in hoots of laughter' The Bookbag

Biographical Notes

Rachel Bright is a writer, illustrator, printmaker and eternal optimist. She is the creator of the award-winning stationery and homewares range, The Bright Side, which has sold over 2 million cards worldwide. Rachel has written and illustrated a string of successful books for children, including the bestselling The Lion Inside, Amazing Daddy, Love You Hoo, All I Want For Christmas and Love Monster. She lives in Dorset with her partner and young daughter.

Jim Field loved drawing from a very early age and had a burning ambition to make cartoons. He studied animation at Hull School of Art and Design, graduating in 2002. He is the illustrator of the multi-award-winning Oi Frog and The Lion Inside, as well as fiction series Rabbit and Bear and The Parent Agency by David Baddiel. He has been longlisted twice for the Kate Greenaway Medal, for The Lion Inside and Oi Frog, and nominated for the same award for Cats Ahoy!, which also won the Booktrust Roald Dahl Funny Prize in 2011. Jim lives with his family in Paris.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408340486
  • Publication date: 07 Sep 2017
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
A rhyming romp of a read complete with gorgeous illustrations that pre-schoolers will adore. Rachel Bright improves with each book. This is reminiscent of Julia Donaldson. — Natasha Harding, The Sun
Told in catching rhyming text that reads aloud superbly, and illustrated in great detail by Jim Field, showing off the beauties of the forest, this is a charming story.about sharing and friendship. — Parents in Touch
Bright colours (with a perfect, autumnal palette here) and characters full of life bring a joyful feel to every page. So much care and attention has gone into this book, and it really pays off. It's delightful to read again and again... — The Bookbag
The series of books by Rachel Bright and Jim Field are fantastic for their morals and messages, and this one doesn't disappoint. [...] Highly recommended. — Reading Zone - Teacher Review
Orchard Books

The Way Home For Wolf

Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Contributors:
Rachel Bright, Jim Field

Orchard Books

All I Want For Christmas

Rachel Bright
Authors:
Rachel Bright

Two penguins discover that love is the perfect gift at Christmas in this sparkling festive picture book!The countdown to Christmas has begun and there is so much for Little Penguin to be excited about: decorating the tree, cooking festive treats, sending a letter to Santa, wrapping presents, and much more. But what does Big Penguin want for Christmas? The answer will warm the hearts of every penguin, big or small!From the bestselling author of The Lion Inside and The Koala Who Could.Rachel Bright's card and gift range The Bright Side has sold over 7.5 million cards and over three million gifts worldwide. lookonthebrightside.co.uk

Orchard Books

The Lion Inside

Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Contributors:
Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Orchard Books

The Koala Who Could

Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Contributors:
Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Orchard Books

Love You Hoo

Rachel Bright
Authors:
Rachel Bright

A snuggly, cuddly, joyful celebration of love from Rachel Bright, creator of the multi-million-selling The Bright Side greetings card and gift range.Cuddle up now, little one, let's snuggle wing-to-wing.Are you feeling safe and warm? Ok then, let's begin . . . Join Little Owl and Big Owl as they cuddle up at bedtime, thinking of the special times they've had together and all the exciting adventures the future holds.From Rachel Bright, creator of the bestselling Love Monster and the million-selling lifestyle brand The Bright Side, this joyous, call-it-from-the-treetops celebration of love is perfect for sharing again and again."Told in rhyme, you can't help but singing this book rather than reading. I adored it as much as my daughter did." Natasha Harding, Sun

Orchard Books

Amazing Daddy

Rachel Bright
Authors:
Rachel Bright

Join Daddy Panda and Little Panda as they spend a day together, sharing many special moments along the way. This laugh-out-loud bear hug of a picture book celebrates the special relationship between father and child in a story full of warmth, humour and love. The perfect gift to share with the amazing daddy in your life.From Rachel Bright, the creator of the bestselling Love Monster and the million-selling lifestyle brand The Bright Side, this book is the perfect gift for brilliantly amazing daddies everywhere.My daddy is amazing for a thousand different reasons.He's a year-round superhero, a daddy for all seasons!

Orchard Books

Side by Side

Rachel Bright, Debi Gliori
Contributors:
Rachel Bright, Debi Gliori

Two bestselling talents bring you a future classic for fans of The Gruffalo and Giraffes Can't Dance. This rhyming witty story about friendship is a perfect for sharing and reading aloud.Deep in the heart of Wintermouse Wood,Down in the grass where the autumn trees stood,Lived all kinds of creatures - some big and some small,Some spiky, some furry, some short and some tall.Little Mouseling lives with her family in Wintermouse Wood. She loves being together, but she is SO small that she's sometimes left out when her brothers and sisters go out to play. Will this tiny mouse find the perfect friend to stay by her side?

Orchard Books

The Curse of the Poltergoose

Michael Lawrence
Authors:
Michael Lawrence

Something's after Jiggy McCue! Something big and angry and invisible. Something which hisses and flaps and stabs his bum and generally tries to make his life a misery. Where did it come from? And, more importantly, will Jiggy and Co ever be able to make the poltergoose go away?

Orchard Books

Kid Swap

Michael Lawrence, Ellis Nadler
Contributors:
Michael Lawrence, Ellis Nadler

When Jiggy's parents sign him up for a reality TV show called Kid Swap, he's horrified. There's no way his daily disasters should be broadcast to millions of total strangers. A bizarre and disgusting skin problem is not exactly helping matters earlier... Smile, Jiggy, you're on camera!

Orchard Books

The Meanest Genie

Michael Lawrence
Authors:
Michael Lawrence

There is a tradition in Jiggy's hometown - the night before a boy starts school he goes to the Piddle Pool near the old quarry and pees in the pool for good luck. But when Jiggy went...he couldn't go, and he's been unlucky ever since. Now Jiggy wants to change his luck. One night, while he is mid-piddle, a genie rises out of the water. Will the genie bring Jiggy good luck, or is Jiggy's life about to get even worse?

Orchard Books

The Iron, The Switch and The Broom Cupboard

Michael Lawrence
Authors:
Michael Lawrence

Jiggy only jumped into the school broom cupboard for two minutes to avoid a teacher. So when he emerges from his hasty hiding spot into a parallel universe, he's not impressed! And there's not a lion or a witch in sight...In this new world, Jiggy finds he has swapped places with a boy called Juggy who is about to go on a school trip - a trip to compete in the UK Extreme Ironing Championships...

Orchard Books

What Planet Are You From Clarice Bean?

Lauren Child
Authors:
Lauren Child
Orchard Books

My Uncle Is A Hunkle Says Clarice Bean

Lauren Child
Authors:
Lauren Child

A hilariously quirky picture book about family life, from Children's Laureate Lauren Child - starring the fabulously feisty Clarice Bean!Clarice Bean's mum and dad are going away on Important Business, so Uncle Ted comes to stay. Everything goes really well at first. But before long there's a guinea pig on the loose, Grandad's gone missing and Clarice's little brother is stuck in the railings like a giant squeaking tomato!Luckily Uncle Ted's around. He'll come to the rescue . . . won't he?'A ticklish title and a ticklish book.' - Guardian

Orchard Books

Nudie Dudie

Michael Lawrence
Authors:
Michael Lawrence

Jiggy McCue's clothes keep disappearing. In public! Soon teachers, friends, neighbours and even the odd seagull have all seen Jiggy without a stitch on. Embarrassing, or what? Worse, Jiggy hasn't a clue how to stop it happening...

Orchard Books

Neville The Devil

Michael Lawrence
Authors:
Michael Lawrence

When Jiggy, Pete and Angie end up on a dodgy holiday, Jiggy has a feeling they're in for a bad time. He's not wrong! An old enemy is back, and this time he's more devilish than ever...

Orchard Books

The Snottle

Michael Lawrence
Authors:
Michael Lawrence
Orchard Books

Ryan's Brain

Michael Lawrence
Authors:
Michael Lawrence
Orchard Books

Tusk the Mighty Mammoth

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Hodder Children's Books

Oscar and Arabella

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton

Oscar was a wooly mammoth. And so was Arabella. Did anyone ever tell you wooly mammoth weren't very clever? Don't believe them if they did! Oscar and Arabella were two wooly mammoths who had to think very fast to outwit the scary thing lurking in the cave...

Orion Children's Books

The Three Little Witches Storybook

Georgie Adams, Emily Bolam
Contributors:
Georgie Adams, Emily Bolam