Lucy Coats - Chosen - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Chosen

Book 2

By Lucy Coats

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Forbidden love and warring families combine to make the sequel to CLEO a thrilling read!

Continuing the story of Cleopatra before she became the legendary figure we think we know, this fast-paced adventure story is perfect for teen girls. Will Cleo - marked and chosen at birth by the goddess Isis - prevail against the evil forces who would gain power?

Meticulously researched, Lucy Coats's CLEO books vividly evoke the drama and intrigue of Ancient Egypt.

Biographical Notes

Lucy Coats was an editor at Orchard Books before she turned her hand to writing. She is the author of many successful books including Atticus the Storyteller's 100 Greek Myths, shortlisted for the Blue Peter Book Award. Lucy lives in Northamptonshire with her family.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408334171
  • Publication date: 10 Mar 2016
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
The author explains that she has been able to use her imagination to fill in the gaps in Cleo's life, and she has done that to wonderful effect, giving us a story that illuminates the person Cleo became — Parents In Touch
Full of humour and warmth, this book will suit teenage girls who love ancient history - and introduce those who don't to a fascinating period — Literary Review
This is a really cool story from a thousand years ago and you can relate to the characters even though it is set so far in the past — Charlotte Doig, Holy Rood high, Teen Titles
What this book does, apart from entertain and thrill, is teach you about Egypt and to some extent Rome. No amount of reading history books at school can make up for what's in Lucy's two novels about Cleo. It might not all be true or authentic (after all, how could anyone know for certain?), but it sets the scene so well, and learning through fiction for fun means you want to know, and you want to remember it. For yourself, and not for an exam. — Bookwitch, The Bookwitch
This is a great sequel to Cleo and adds a fitting end to this part of her life, though we all know it's far from the end of her epic story. I'd love to see Coats' take on the next stage of Cleo's life too. — Maia, Maia and a little Moore
...although neither Cleo nor Chosen are 'true' accounts of events, they still bring the times and people vividly to life. From the shifting sands of the desert to the luxury of a Roman villa, the discomfort of camel-riding or a cunning cure for sea sickness, the sights and sounds of the times fill every page. — Mary Mayfield, Our Book Reviews
Quercus Children's Books

Clean

Juno Dawson
Authors:
Juno Dawson

By award-winning Queen of Teen author Juno Dawson, perfect for fans of Gossip Girl Interrupted and The Breakfast Club.Meet the inmates of The Clarity Centre: Kendall the trans anorexic model-wannabe, vicodin addict Saif, OCD hoarder Guy, over-eater Ruby, washed-up reality TV survivor Brady, and last but definitely not least, spoiled heiress Lexi Volkov.Lexi hit rock bottom. After almost overdosing in a penthouse suite her brother stages an intervention and takes her to The Clarity Centre, an island facility for troubled young people.After a gruelling and painful detox, Lexi enters group therapy and meets her fellow inmates. Through her therapy sessions and The Clarity Centre's Ten Steps Programme, Lexi gradually opens up about her fractured childhood, destructive relationships and the dark secret she has been running from. But it's her new friendships that most make Lexi re-evaluate the path she's on. Stripped of her status, Lexi is free to laugh, dance, share and feel. For the first time ever, Lexi has true friends and finds herself powerfully drawn to Brady. But with the demons both Lexi and Brady need to overcome, is a relationship even possible?

Hodder Children's Books

The Story of Tantrum O'Furrily

Cressida Cowell, Mark Nicholas
Contributors:
Cressida Cowell, Mark Nicholas

'One wild and windy night a stray cat called Tantrum O'Furrily and her three hungry kittens were dancing across the roof tops' Written by Cressida Cowell, creator of the bestselling How to train Your Dragon series and with beautiful illustrations by Mark Nicholas, winner of the Carmelite Prize.Tantrum O'Furrily's kittens are hungry and doubt that a story can ease a stray cat's rumbling stomach. They soon learn that stories are powerful, and that if you're courageous you might find a saucer of milk at the end of that story.

Hodder Children's Books

Satellite

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake
Orchard Books

Shelley the Sherbet Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

The Girl with the Lost Smile

Miranda Hart
Authors:
Miranda Hart
Hodder Children's Books

The Adventures of Egg Box Dragon

Richard Adams, Alex T. Smith
Contributors:
Richard Adams, Alex T. Smith
Pat-a-Cake

1001 Super Stickers

Pat-a-Cake, PJ Masks
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake, PJ Masks

By day, they are Connor, Greg and Amaya, but by night they are Catboy, Gekko and Owlette, the PJ Masks. This mega sticker book has over 1000 stickers of the heroes, their vehicles and the villains and vital information about all of them, jam-packed into pages of super exciting puzzles, games and activities for hours and hours of PJ Masks fun. Can you help the PJ masks to defeat the baddies? It's time to be a hero!PJ Masks (c) Frog Box / Entertainment One UK Limited / Walt Disney EMEA Productions Limited 2014

Pat-a-Cake

Annual 2018

Pat-a-Cake, PJ Masks
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake, PJ Masks
Orion Children's Books

Shadows of the Lost Sun

Carrie Ryan, John Parke Davis
Authors:
Carrie Ryan, John Parke Davis
Orchard Books

Magror, Ogre of the Swamps

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Hodder Children's Books

Binny Bewitched

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay
Orchard Books

Sianne the Butterfly Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Sianne the Butterfly Fairy has a very special job. She provides butterflies with the special magic they need to carry messages between the fairy and human worlds. But when Jack Frost steals her enchanted objects, the connection between the two worlds is at risk. Can Kirsty and Rachel help defeat the wicked Ice Lord before it's too late?

Orchard Books

Equestria Girls: Legend of Everfree

Perdita Finn
Authors:
Perdita Finn

In the human world, far from Equestria, there are some very familiar girls. Meet Pinkie Pie, Rainbow Dash and all their freinds as you've never seen them before! The Equestria Girls are off on their summer holidays to Camp Everfree, but the camp is in danger of closing down! Can Fluttershy and her friends pony up and throw a fundraising show in time to save their summer? And what is the mysterious legend of Everfree?

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Flames of the Phoenix

A J Hunter, James de la Rue
Contributors:
A J Hunter, James de la Rue
Hodder Children's Books

The Enchanted Puppy

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Orchard Books

Falkor the Coiled Terror

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Tiana the Toy Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Hydror the Ocean Hunter

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

A terrifying new Robobeast is about to be unleashed!All is not as it seems in Aquora. With traitors in their midst, can Max and Lia prevent the colossal leopard seal Hydror from being turned into a deadly weapon?

Orchard Books

Holly Santapaws Saves Christmas

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Fizz the Fireworks Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Kirsty and Rachel are delighted to be going to the Sundown Village fireworks festival. But when Jack Frost steals Fizz the Fireworks Fairy's magical objects, it looks like the show will fizzle out before it's begun! Can Kirsty and Rachel help get them back and return the sparkle to Sundown?