Lucy Coats - Chosen - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Chosen

Book 2

By Lucy Coats

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Forbidden love and warring families combine to make the sequel to CLEO a thrilling read!

Continuing the story of Cleopatra before she became the legendary figure we think we know, this fast-paced adventure story is perfect for teen girls. Will Cleo - marked and chosen at birth by the goddess Isis - prevail against the evil forces who would gain power?

Meticulously researched, Lucy Coats's CLEO books vividly evoke the drama and intrigue of Ancient Egypt.

Biographical Notes

Lucy Coats was an editor at Orchard Books before she turned her hand to writing. She is the author of many successful books including Atticus the Storyteller's 100 Greek Myths, shortlisted for the Blue Peter Book Award. Lucy lives in Northamptonshire with her family.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408334171
  • Publication date: 10 Mar 2016
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
The author explains that she has been able to use her imagination to fill in the gaps in Cleo's life, and she has done that to wonderful effect, giving us a story that illuminates the person Cleo became — Parents In Touch
Full of humour and warmth, this book will suit teenage girls who love ancient history - and introduce those who don't to a fascinating period — Literary Review
This is a really cool story from a thousand years ago and you can relate to the characters even though it is set so far in the past — Charlotte Doig, Holy Rood high, Teen Titles
What this book does, apart from entertain and thrill, is teach you about Egypt and to some extent Rome. No amount of reading history books at school can make up for what's in Lucy's two novels about Cleo. It might not all be true or authentic (after all, how could anyone know for certain?), but it sets the scene so well, and learning through fiction for fun means you want to know, and you want to remember it. For yourself, and not for an exam. — Bookwitch, The Bookwitch
This is a great sequel to Cleo and adds a fitting end to this part of her life, though we all know it's far from the end of her epic story. I'd love to see Coats' take on the next stage of Cleo's life too. — Maia, Maia and a little Moore
...although neither Cleo nor Chosen are 'true' accounts of events, they still bring the times and people vividly to life. From the shifting sands of the desert to the luxury of a Roman villa, the discomfort of camel-riding or a cunning cure for sea sickness, the sights and sounds of the times fill every page. — Mary Mayfield, Our Book Reviews
Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Truth of Different Skies

Kate Ling
Authors:
Kate Ling

What makes you abandon your world? How do you say goodbye when it's forever? A heart-breaking story about survival, love and hope. For fans of Meg Rosoff and Beth Revis.'I've always feared this place would keep me rooted forever . . . but now, without gravity, I'm flying, floating, falling' Bea feels trapped. Having never left her small town and with no money or anyone to rely on, she faces the inevitable future of a dead-end job - forced to survive, rather than live. When a message arrives from space, a mission is planned to travel to its source. Bea knows she has to be chosen to go, no matter what it takes, even though it means leaving Earth forever. Her life has to matter. Except she didn't plan on falling in love before she left . . .

Hodder Children's Books

Fire!

Jenny Oldfield
Authors:
Jenny Oldfield

A family marooned on an island finds loveable dolphins to help them survive: classic adventure from million-copy-selling Jenny Oldfield. Shipwrecked near a tiny island in a vast ocean, the Fisher family are guided to safety by a small pod of dolphins. Fleur, Alfie, Mia and their parents must learn to build shelter, find fresh water and hunt for food. Each of the children forms a special bond with one of the family of dolphins. Fleur adores the fun-loving, tail-walking Jazz. Mia names her dark-grey dolphin friend Stormy. And Alfie is saved from the shipwreck by Pearl, who always looks out for him. Danger is on the island: from sharks near shore, to a mystery presence on the island itself. Day-to-day survival is everything ... and the dolphins are there to help! Jenny Oldfield strikes gold in this beautifully illustrated, exciting adventure story, the fourth in the Dolphin Island series.The full series: Shipwreck, Lost at Sea, Survival, Fire!, Missing, Storm Clouds.

Pat-a-Cake

Big Birthday Cake Rescue

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake

It's time to be a hero! By day, they are Connor, Greg and Amaya, but by night they are Catboy, Gekko and Owlette, PJ Masks! It's Greg's birthday and he's super excited for his lizard-themed party, but when his cake goes missing, the PJ Masks must find the pesky villain and get it back. Night Ninja has the cake and the PJ Masks must work together to beat the baddie!Also available: PJ Masks: Big Stickers for Tiny Hands

Pat-a-Cake

Battle of the HQs

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake
Pat-a-Cake

Pedal Power

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Rubies and Runaways

Janine Beacham
Authors:
Janine Beacham

The Clockwork Sparrow meets Downton AbbeyIt's a bitterly cold winter in Yorke and Rose Raventhorpe and her butler Heddsworth are stuck with Rose's unpleasant cousin Herbert, and his equally horrible butler, Bixby. When an orphan boy named Orpheus interrupts the Cathedral's Mistletoe Service, saying that his sister has been kidnapped, Rose vows to help. Solving the mystery will be a lot better than accompanying ghastly Herbert! But the investigation is more complicated than Rose has anticipated and will lead her and her butler friends through fancy tea-rooms, horrible factories, secret underground passages and more... Fireplace pokers are much more dangerous than you might imagine . . .

Quercus Children's Books

Miss Match

Crystal Cestari
Authors:
Crystal Cestari
Hodder Children's Books

The True Colour of Forever

Carrie Firestone
Authors:
Carrie Firestone
Orion Children's Books

Crooked Kingdom

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Black Cats and Butlers

Janine Beacham
Authors:
Janine Beacham

The Clockwork Sparrow meets Downton AbbeyWhen Rose Raventhorpe's beloved butler is found (gasp!) murdered in the hallway of her own house, she's determined to uncover the culprit. Especially since he's the third butler to die in a week! Rose's investigation leads her on a journey into a hidden world of grave robbers and duelling butlers, flamboyant magicians and the city's ancient feline guardians. Knives aren't just for cutting cucumber sandwiches, you know . . .

Orchard Books

Fern the Green Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

When Rachel and Kirsty meet on the ferry to Rainspell Island one summer holiday, they have no idea that such magical adventures with the fairies await them! Join Rachel and Kirsty as they search a secret garden and a magical maze to try to find Fern the Green Fairy.

Hodder Children's Books

Orangeboy

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence

WINNER OF THE WATERSTONES CHILDREN'S BOOK PRIZE FOR OLDER READERS, SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA CHILDREN'S BOOK AWARD AND THE YA BOOK PRIZE"A truly brilliant book." Malorie Blackman"Incredible book. Thank you Patrice Lawrence for such a fresh and riveting piece of fiction." Ben Bailey Smith (Doc Brown)"What a book! Such a gripping, gritty storyline, with such wonderful, believable characters. Loved it." Tanya Landman, author of Buffalo SoldierNot cool enough, not clever enough, not street enough for anyone to notice me. I was the kid people looked straight through.NOT ANY MORE. NOT SINCE MR ORANGE.Sixteen-year-old Marlon has made his mum a promise - he'll never follow his big brother, Andre, down the wrong path. So far, it's been easy, but when a date ends in tragedy, Marlon finds himself hunted. They're after the mysterious Mr Orange, and they're going to use Marlon to get to him. Marlon's out of choices - can he become the person he never wanted to be, to protect everyone he loves?

Orchard Books

Madara the Midnight Warrior

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

The Wearle

Chris d'Lacey
Authors:
Chris d'Lacey

The Wearle came to Erth to find out what happened to their previous colony, who never returned. Gabrial, a young blue dragon, is desperate to prove his worth. But the dragons aren't alone in the mountains. Out beyond the scorch line, Ren, a young hom boy, is fascinated by the 'skalers'. Little does he know that his fate and theirs are linked in ways he could never have imagined.A stunning new fantasy series from the New York Times bestselling author, Chris d'Lacey.

Orchard Books

Cinderella at the Vampire Ball

Laurence Anholt
Authors:
Laurence Anholt

Cinderella's not scared of ANYTHING - not even the ghastliest, ghostliest, creepiest, spookiest party of all time...

Orion Children's Books

The Little Green Drum

Taghreed Najjar, Lucy Coats
Authors:
Taghreed Najjar, Lucy Coats

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Samia's dad is very important. Every Ramadan he wakes the whole village up in time for breakfast. But this year, things are different and Samia must show everyone how strong and brave she can be.Originally published in Arabic, but now retold for a English-speaking audience, this is a charming and empowering story about Ramadan, fasting and the ability of girls to do any job they put their mind to.

Orchard Books

Cleo

Lucy Coats
Authors:
Lucy Coats
Franklin Watts

Your Teacher

Roy Apps, Nick Sharratt
Contributors:
Roy Apps, Nick Sharratt
Orion Children's Books

The Tail of Emily Windsnap

Liz Kessler, Sarah Gibb
Contributors:
Liz Kessler, Sarah Gibb