Jamie Thomson - The Wrong Side of the Galaxy - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408330296
    • Publication date:02 Oct 2014
Books in this series

The Wrong Side of the Galaxy

Book 1

By Jamie Thomson

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Harry wished he was a million miles away, but this is getting ridiculous...

Abducted by aliens, Harry wakes up on his birthday marooned on a spaceship. His only companions: two freaky princess clones, a weird alien-fish-kangaroo hybrid with delusions of grandeur and a ship's computer with a serious attitude problem. It's the worst birthday ever.

How is he ever going to get back to Earth now?

A brilliantly silly new story from the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize

Biographical Notes

Jamie Thomson is a British writer, editor and game developer, and the author of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning Dark Lord: The Teenage Years. He is the author of numerous 'choose-your-own-adventure' gamebooks, and he also co-wrote three books for the Fighting Fantasy series.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408330265
  • Publication date: 02 Oct 2014
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
A very entertaining, inventive and amusingly quirky space adventure. — Peters eGazette
Thomson knows how to keep his readers entertained... Harry is a great character. — Coventry Telegraph
Pacy, funny... Thomson is a master. — The Big Issue
A genial adventure with jokes about odd-looking aliens — Books For Keeps
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Orchard Books

Dark Lord: The Teenage Years

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson
Orchard Books

Headmaster of Doom

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Dirk Lloyd, the Dark Lord trapped in the boy of a weedy schoolboy, returns in a darkly hilarious adventure set in the most ghoulish school you'll encounter this side of the Darklands ...Fourth in the brilliant series that began with the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning DARK LORD: THE TEENAGE YEARS, also chosen as one of the Sunday Times's 100 Modern Children Classics.Perfect for fans of Philip Reeve and David Walliams.

Orion Children's Books

The Archers of Isca

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

The second thrilling adventure in a new historical series from million-copy-selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.Britannia AD 94. On the run from the Emperor Domitian, fifteen-year-old Fronto has joined the Roman army in order to find the security and structure he craves. But when his younger sister Ursula is captured by a terrifying Druid called Snakebeard, he must make an impossible decision. Can he leave the army, when desertion is punishable by death?His desire: To become a good soldierHis quest: To rescue his sister His destiny: To find his place in Roman BritainFrom the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2. Historical locations featured in this book are a British Iron Age Village, Bath Spa and the fortress at Caerleon.

Hodder Children's Books

St Clare's Collection 2

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Orchard Books

A Galaxy Too Far

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Harry was just an ordinary teenage boy from Croydon when he was abducted by aliens and accidentally became the captain of their starship. His quest to get back home to Earth continues - but now he's acquired an alien 'son' and a new spacecraft, and he's being pursued by an eight-foot robot bounty hunter...Could this be a galaxy too far for Harry?Another hilarious story from the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning author of the DARK LORD series.

Orion Children's Books

I, Coriander

Sally Gardner
Authors:
Sally Gardner
Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler

Emily is delighted when her family returns to Brightport, but their attempts to follow Neptune's orders to bring humans and merfolk together seem doomed.Thrown out of mermaid school and scorned by her old enemy, Mandy Rushton, Emily goes in search of the lost sirens who were banished by Neptune to a top secret undersea cavern. Only when she uncovers the sirens' true story can she put the pieces of her own life back together.A magical adventure, featuring the power of friendship and told with Liz's characteristic warmth and lightness of touch.

Orchard Books

Eternal Detention

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Dirk Lloyd, the Dark Lord trapped in the body of a weedy schoolboy, returns in another darkly hilarious adventure... Brilliantly funny and subversive, this is the Funny Prize-winning Jamie Thomson at his best.Fear me, o miserable worm!I, the Great Dirk, take up my pen once more to record the utter misery that is SCHOOL. My sworn enemy, Hasdruban the White, has infiltrated Whiteshields School and seeks vengeance on me. Naturally, I will triumph. But it is the Dirkest Hour indeed...BUY THIS BOOK OR SUFFER ONE OF THE FOLLOWING: -Being struck with a Blast of Ravening Flame-Banishment to the Slave Pits of Never Ending Toil-Torment by the Hewer of LimbsTHE CHOICE IS YOURS. MWA HA HA!

Orchard Books

A Fiend in Need

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson
Orion Children's Books

The White Giraffe and Dolphin Song

Lauren St John, David Dean
Contributors:
Lauren St John, David Dean
Orion Children's Books

The Beggar of Volubilis

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

Flavia and her friends are on a quest for the Emperor Titus - to steal a valuable gemstone known as 'Nero's Eye'. The Delphic Oracle prophesied that whoever owns the gem will rule Rome - so Titus is determined to claim it for himself. Their travels take them across the Roman province of Mauretania, from Sabratha (in modern Libya) to Volubilis (Morocco). As they travel on a caravan across the desert they encounter slave-traders, pantomime actors and a wild animal stampede. The detectives must consider another quest: what has happened to Uncle Gaius? Meanwhile, Flavia faces some tough decisions about her future.

Orion Children's Books

Floodland

Marcus Sedgwick, Marcus Sedgwick
Authors:
Marcus Sedgwick, Marcus Sedgwick

David Orme

David Orme has written over 300 books, including children's fiction and non-fiction, graphic novels, poetry, and books for teachers. Many of his recent titles have been aimed at reluctant and struggling readers, with a low level text but with content suitable for older children. This had led to some surprising, if not unlikely titles, such as How to Be a Pop Star. Children only need one glance at David to suspect that he knows nothing at all about the subject - and they are right! His fiction has been translated into a number of languages.David's most recent book for teachers, Unlocking the Poet in Every Child, is his distillation of a lifetime working with children, first as a teacher then as a writing workshop leader in schools. His latest novel, The Bodysnatcher's Apprentice, is for adults and older teens.

Deborah Chancellor

Deborah Chancellor is a writer of fiction and non-fiction books for children. She has written nearly 100 books and worked with many leading publishers. Deborah is a prolific writer of children's non-fiction on a wide range of subjects. She is a versatile author who has written biographies for teenagers, adapted Bible stories for pre-school children, and written teenage fiction for older children with reading difficulties. Her books have been translated into many languages and sold all over the world. An Associate Fellow of the Royal Literary Fund, Deborah appears at Literary Festivals and runs writing workshops for young people.

Hettie Bingham

Hettie loves to write about interesting people. She also writes stories and songs for children of all ages. She has raised three strapping lads and lives in Teddington, England with her husband and youngest son. She enjoys eating cheesecake and likes to dance while she cooks - usually to something jazzy.

Honor Head

After a few false starts with a model agency and an accountant's, Honor Head's career as a children's writer and editor began when she joined a small publisher producing comics featuring children's television characters. The light bulb clicked on - Honor discovered she loved editing and writing for children - and has been burning brightly ever since. She has now published over 100 books for children on subjects as diverse as kitten care, famous outlaws, ghastly ghosts and totally awesome trucks as well as creating pop-ups, pull-outs and sticker books, and has edited many, many more. Honor now lives beside the seaside in Devon where she has fun helping out at the local museums organising family and school activities - a great way to meet her readers! On sunny days she heads for her favourite seaside café to eat cheese toasties and watch the dogs playing on the beach

Izzi Howell

Izzi Howell is the author and editor of over fifty children's books. She lives in East Sussex and enjoys learning languages, cooking and travelling around Europe.

Jackie Walter

Jackie Walter has written and edited many books for children. She never gets tired of listening to and telling a good story. Jackie lives in Cornwall with her husband and young daughters.

Jamie Thomson

Jamie Thomson is the minion and slave of the Dark Lord, Dirk Lloyd. He's an author and games developer who has written numerous choose-your-own-adventure style gamebooks and worked on many computer games from the Tower of Despair (1984) to Warrior Kings: Battles (2003) Jamie Thomson lives in the dungeons below his Master's Iron Tower in East Sussex, where he spends every day writing for his overlord.His book, Dark Lord: The Teenage Years, was the 2012 Roald Dahl Funny Prize winner.