Jamie Thomson - The Wrong Side of the Galaxy - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408330296
    • Publication date:02 Oct 2014
Books in this series

The Wrong Side of the Galaxy

Book 1

By Jamie Thomson

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Harry wished he was a million miles away, but this is getting ridiculous...

Abducted by aliens, Harry wakes up on his birthday marooned on a spaceship. His only companions: two freaky princess clones, a weird alien-fish-kangaroo hybrid with delusions of grandeur and a ship's computer with a serious attitude problem. It's the worst birthday ever.

How is he ever going to get back to Earth now?

A brilliantly silly new story from the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize

Biographical Notes

Jamie Thomson is a British writer, editor and game developer, and the author of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning Dark Lord: The Teenage Years. He is the author of numerous 'choose-your-own-adventure' gamebooks, and he also co-wrote three books for the Fighting Fantasy series.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408330265
  • Publication date: 02 Oct 2014
  • Page count: 352
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
A very entertaining, inventive and amusingly quirky space adventure. — Peters eGazette
Thomson knows how to keep his readers entertained... Harry is a great character. — Coventry Telegraph
Pacy, funny... Thomson is a master. — The Big Issue
A genial adventure with jokes about odd-looking aliens — Books For Keeps
A very entertaining, inventive and amusingly quirky space adventure.
Thomson knows how to keep his readers entertained... Harry is a great character.
Pacy, funny... Thomson is a master.
A genial adventure with jokes about odd-looking aliens
Hodder Children's Books

Anyone For Strawberries?

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Wayland

Experiments for Exploring Outer Space

Mark Thompson
Authors:
Mark Thompson

Find out how rockets can get you safely into space with these fun experiments. Discover how rockets work, how they lift off, how they can be made to fly in a straight line, their shape and what it would feel like to be inside a spacecraft floating around in weightlessness.Easy to follow, step-by-step instructions show you how to investigate everything you ever wanted to know about space.Uses readily available, cheap materials.This series covers key areas of the curriculum such as forces, rocks and soils, healthy diets, exercise, recycling and waste management, magnets, solar power, gravity, distance, maps and constellations.

Wayland

Experiments for Looking Into Space

Mark Thompson
Authors:
Mark Thompson
Wayland

Experiments for Surviving in Space

Mark Thompson
Authors:
Mark Thompson

Find out what its like to live in space with these fun experiments. There are lots of things to think about if we want to be able to survive in space. What will you eat? How will you cook? How will you grow food? Many of these things become a lot harder in space not just because of the lack of air but also because you will probably be weightless and floating around inside the spaceship. There are dangers in space too like rocks flying around that could hit the unexacting astronaut and radiation from the Sun. Have fun carrying out these twelve activities to help you explore what it might be like to live in space.Easy to follow, step-by-step instructions show you how to investigate everything you ever wanted to know about space.Uses readily available, cheap materials.This series covers key areas of the curriculum such as forces, rocks and soils, healthy diets, exercise, recycling and waste management, magnets, solar power, gravity, distance, maps and constellations.

Orchard Books

Doggy Drama

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

A brilliant animal series from multi-million selling author Lucy Daniels.With exciting animal rescues and real-life care tips, this is the perfect series for young animal lovers! Amelia is starring as Dorothy in her school production of The Wizard of Oz and her friend Sam's puppy, Mac, is playing Toto. Amelia is busy with rehearsals, but still finds time to help her drama teacher's pet, Oscar. Will doggie paddling help heal Oscar's bad leg? And when Mac gets stage fright, will the tiny terrier be well enough to step in as Toto?

Orchard Books

Runaway Hamster

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

A brilliant animal series from multi-million selling author Lucy Daniels.With exciting animal rescues and real-life care tips, this is the perfect series for young animal lovers! Amelia and Sam are helping out at Animal Ark when twin sisters come in with their pet hamster. The only thing the girls can agree on is that there's something wrong with their pet. Could the hamster's greedy brother be the problem?When the hamster escapes at the village Food Fair, Amelia and Sam enlist everyone to look for him. From big bigs to tiny hamsters, everyone needs their own space - even the twins!

Orchard Books

Querzol the Swamp Monster

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!The kingdom of Avantia is shocked by the return of the king's brother, Prince Angelo, believed killed in battle many years ago. But when he banishes Tom and Elenna from Avantia they travel to the Wildlands in search of the truth about Prince Angelo. First of all they must tackle Querzol, a man-eating mangrove tree! There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out!

Orchard Books

Krotax the Tusked Destroyer

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Sasha the Slime Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Pat-a-Cake

Super Moon Adventure

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake

Luna Girl has taken things to a whole new level with her brand-new fortress - on the moon! The PJ Masks must take the PJ Rocket to the moon to find out what's going on and stop Luna Girl. Gekko has to be especially brave and help save the day even though he is scared to be so far away from home. The PJ Masks work together again to defeat Luna Girl and save the world - Into the night to save the day, PJ Masks are on their way!Based on the series 2 episode 'Moonstruck'.Also available: PJ Masks: Birthday Cake Rescue, PJ Masks: Power of Three, PJ Masks: Into the Night glow-in-the-dark sticker bookPJ Masks (c) Frog Box / Entertainment One UK Limited / Walt Disney EMEA Productions Limited 2014

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

From the bestselling author of How to Train Your Dragon comes an exciting high-adventure series - set in an ancient, magical time, full of Wizards, Warriors, Giants and Sprites. This was once the story of a young boy Wizard and a young girl Warrior who had been taught since birth to hate each other like poison. But now, the boy Wizard and girl Warrior have been brought together in the Badwoods and they have witnessed the shocking consequences of the Stone That Takes Away Magic. They will need to cast aside their differences once more - for an Evil Spell has broken free. It's up to Xar and Wish to find the ingredients. But it means entering the Druids Castle unannounced ... Perfect for boys and girls who love fantasy adventure...

Hodder Children's Books

Storm Clouds

Jenny Oldfield
Authors:
Jenny Oldfield
Hodder Children's Books

The Grerks at No. 55

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons

Nelly isn't scared of monsters. In fact, she babysits for them. From the bestselling author of the OI FROG! and DAISY books comes this hilarious, action-packed series for fans of THE BOLDS and BARRY LOSER.'If monsters are real, how come I've never seen one?''Because they never go out.''Why don't monsters ever go out?''Because they can never get a babysitter.'Ever played catch with a six-legged Gog, or made pancakes with an oozy orange Squurm? Every time Nelly rings on a new monster family's doorbell she's up for a new challenge. Come on her monster-sitting adventures in this laugh-out-loud funny first book in the NELLY THE MONSTER SITTER series. Kes Gray is one of the Independent's top ten children's authors, and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award.This story now comes with brand-new illustrations; it was previously published in a collection entitled: Grerks, Squurms & Water Greeps.

Orchard Books

Seven Trees of Stone

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt
Orchard Books

Headmaster of Doom

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson
Franklin Watts

Be a Rugby Expert

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Orchard Books

Eight Rivers of Shadow

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt

A thrilling supernatural adventure: dark, funny, with twists at every turn. The sequel to Thirteen Days of Midnight, shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Prize 2016.Luke Manchett used to be one of the most popular boys at school.That was before his necromancer father died and left him a host of vengeful ghosts that wanted him dead.Now everyone thinks he's a freak.To make matters worse, the mysterious new girl at school is actually the daughter of his father's deadliest enemy...And she's out for revenge.

Franklin Watts

Neil Armstrong and the Moon Landings

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Neil Armstrong & the Moon Landings brings the heady days of the space race to life, describing the exciting events that led to the great astronaut Neil Armstrong becoming the first man to set foot on the Moon.This simple, friendly children's first history series, aimed at readers aged 5 and up, takes a close look at some key events and personalities through history and reveals how and why they are still important to us today. A perfect support to learning about history at Key Stage 1, each book uses a rich variety of historical sources, from diaries to paintings, to bring events to life, while simple historical vocabulary is introduced and explained. Each book also features a simple timeline and explores how we find about the past. All text has been carefully checked by a historian.

Orchard Books

A Galaxy Too Far

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson
Orchard Books

Thirteen Days of Midnight

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt

A thrilling supernatural adventure: dark, funny, with twists at every turn. Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Prize 2016.When Luke Manchett's estranged father dies suddenly, he leaves his son a dark inheritance. Luke has been left in charge of his father's ghost collection: eight restless spirits. They want revenge for their long enslavement, and in the absence of the father, they're more than happy to take his son. It isn't fair, but you try and reason with the vengeful dead. Halloween, the night when the ghosts reach the height of their power, is fast approaching. With the help of school witchlet Elza Moss, and his cowardly dog Ham, Luke has just thirteen days to uncover the closely guarded secrets of black magic, and send the unquiet spirits to their eternal rest. The alternative doesn't bear thinking about.