Paul Mason - Your Breathtaking Lungs and Rocking Respiratory System - Hachette Children's Group

Your Breathtaking Lungs and Rocking Respiratory System

By Paul Mason

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Discover the different systems of the human body, exploring anatomy from top to toe with attention-grabbing facts and exciting design.

Packed with amazing facts and eye-grabbing images, Your Breathtaking Lungs and Rocking Respiratory System takes a different approach to teaching the reader about the lungs and how and why we breathe.

Every spread opens with an amazing science fact about the human body - for example - An average person breathes around 8,000-9,000 litres of air in a day! - then goes on to explain how scientifically this is possible. By exploring these attention-grabbing sections, readers will build up their understanding of how the body's lungs and respiratory system work.

Detailed diagrams and amazing images illustrate the lively, factual text. Your Breathtaking Lungs and Rocking Respiratory System looks at the structure of the lungs and the process of breathing. What happens when we breathe in? What actually is a sneeze? Why is breathing in harder than breathing out? Why does talking depend on breathing? Answers to all these questions and many more can be found in this fascinating title.

The Your Brilliant Body series includes:
'See for Yourself' features - practical activities that help readers understand key ideas
Amazing fact panels to intrigue the reader
Advice on keeping in good shape, and warnings about common health problems.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750297400
  • Publication date: 08 Dec 2016
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Well-designed to ensure children's interest is immediately captured — Parents In Touch
This book is very colourful and has great pictures and decorated fun facts! The facts are basic yet intriguing and interesting. Did you know the lung is a popular meal? — Jake Hanafin (12), Evening Echo (Cork)
The book is excellent to teach children the basics of, and the importance of, their lungs. It also has further reading suggestions an comprehensive index at the end of the book so it is excellent for class projects. Colourful and with short paragraphs to help the young reader maintain engagement I would highly recommend this book for the school library. — The School Librarian
Wayland

Energy and Fuel

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Did you know that only 9.5% of the energy we use comes from renewable sources? Find out how dependent we are on fossil fuels. Learn about our energy and fuel through facts focused on percentages. Fossil fuel, renewable energy, carbon in the atmosphere are some of the topics covered in this exciting new way of exploring energy and fuel.Find out what makes the world complete by understanding the different components that make everything whole.The series combines the visual style of infographics and their striking way of presenting facts and figures, alongside in-depth explanations and diagrams.

Wayland

People and Places

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Did you know that 66% of the world population lives in cities and just 34% lives in the countryside? Find out about the biggest cities on the planet. Learn about people and places through facts focused on percentages. Cities, habitats, coastal areas are some of the topics covered in this exciting new way of exploring people and places.Find out what makes the world complete by understanding the different components that make everything whole.The series combines the visual style of infographics and their striking way of presenting facts and figures, alongside in-depth explanations and diagrams.

Wayland

How to Design the World's Best Space Station

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Wayland

How to Design the World's Best Skatepark

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Imagine someone gave you a sackful of money and told you to build a skatepark. You'd definitely want it to be the best skatepark in the world. But how do you go about designing THAT? Armed with your own imagination and some smart research, find out how you can transform a fantasy design into an actual dream product. You'll apply real-world design considerations to your ideas, refining your design to make it workable and achievable as it takes shape.

Wayland

How to Design the World's Best Roller Coaster

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Wayland

Human Body

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Franklin Watts

34.7 Quadrillion Minutes Since the Last Dinosaurs Died

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Franklin Watts

2.67 Trillion Internet Searches Each Year Using Technology

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Wren & Rook

The Good Guys

Rob Kemp, Paul Blow
Contributors:
Rob Kemp, Paul Blow

What if we celebrated men for their kindness as well their strength? For their generosity as well as their career success? For their loyal friendship as well as their charisma? The Good Guys introduces us to fifty men who have showed that changing the world doesn't require a sword or a corporate jet. Readers will find stories of extraordinary men including David Attenborough, Nelson Mandela, Oskar Schindler and Usain Bolt, as well as unsung heroes such as James Harrison, who has spent fifty years donating his rare blood to save millions of babies. There's even a section celebrating ten boys who didn't let their young age stop them from helping others, such as Matthew Kaplan, who responded to his brother's bullies by setting up an anti-bullying programme for schools. The Good Guys celebrates the feats of heroes and everyday men, and will inspire readers to transform the world through compassion, friendship and understanding.

Wayland

On Planet Earth

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Wayland

In the Animal Kingdom

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Wayland

How to Design the World's Best Robot

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Wayland

In the Rainforest

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Wayland

In Engineering and Industry

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Scent of Danger

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff

The second book in The Trapdoor Mysteries, a series about Tally, a code-breaking, animal-loving servant girl and her best friend, a squirrel named Squill, who solve mysteries with the help of a secret library...Orphan Tally is the servant girl at Mollett Manor - and she's also the Secret Keeper of the magical library hidden beneath a trapdoor, underneath the manor's grounds. Along with Squill the squirrel, she uses the enchanted books to solve crimes. So when Lady Mollett's new puppy, Widdles, is kidnapped, Tally and Squill head straight to the library. But will they be able to catch the dognapper or is it already too late?

Orion Children's Books

Embassy of the Dead

Will Mabbitt
Authors:
Will Mabbitt

The first book in a spookily funny new series, where the living meets the dead and survival is a race against time. Perfect for fans of Skulduggery Pleasant and Who Let the Gods Out.Welcome to the Embassy of the Dead. Leave your life at the door. (Thanks.)When Jake opens a strange box containing a severed finger, he accidentally summons a grim reaper to drag him to the Eternal Void (yep, it's as fatal as it sounds) and now he's running for his life! But luckily Jake isn't alone - he can see and speak to ghosts.Jake and his deadly gang (well dead, at least) - Stiffkey the undertaker, hockey stick-wielding, Cora, and Zorro the ghost fox - have one mission: find the Embassy of the Dead and seek protection. But the Embassy has troubles of its own and may not be the safe haven Jake is hoping for . . .

Wayland

Gigantic Dinosaurs

Katie Woolley
Authors:
Katie Woolley
Wayland

The Poo That Animals Do

Paul Mason, Tony De Saulles
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Tony De Saulles
Franklin Watts

German Supercars

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Wayland

Food and Fair Trade

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

All sorts of food, from bananas to cocoa beans and coffee, can be grown in fairer and more sustainable ways than has traditionally been the case. In Putting the Planet First: Sustainable Food and Fair Trade, discover how people around the world are working all the time to find new ways to grow and trade food fairly and sustainably. Learn too, what you can do to help the environment, and about small changes you can make that will have a real impact. It's a fascinating introduction to the positive changes people are making to try and live more sustainably, and will inspire children to think creatively about how they can put the planet first!