Philip Steele - the Vietnam War? - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780750295901
    • Publication date:12 Nov 2015
Books in this series

the Vietnam War?

By Philip Steele

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Exploring the advances in science and technology, the changes in society and the artistic developments that came out of turbulent periods in history.

This book considers the Vietnam (or Second Indochina) War, 1955-1975, which may have killed as many as 3 million troops and civilians. It divided America, it aroused huge opposition around the world and it divided generations. Why was it fought and what were the outcomes? Did it have any unexpected consequences? Did any good at all come out of it?

Biographical Notes

Philip Steele is a leading writer of children's non-fiction books. He was born in Surrey, graduated from University College Durham and worked in London publishing houses. He then freelanced as a project manager, publishing consultant and author. He has written a wide range of books for Wayland, Watts, Dorling Kindersley, Kingfisher/Macmillan, Walker Books and many other publishers worldwide. History, biography, lands and peoples, the natural world, current affairs and social issues all feature prominently in his backlist. Philip has backpacked around Africa, Europe, Asia, North America and Australia. For many years he has been settled very happily amidst the mountains, beaches and green fields of North Wales. His wife (as a teacher) and his teenage daughter (as a secondary school pupil) are ideally suited to cast a critical eye over his work!

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750297271
  • Publication date: 14 Dec 2017
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Wayland

Adventure Projects

Andrew Robinson
Authors:
Andrew Robinson
Hodder Children's Books

The Sharp Edge of a Snowflake

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir

What if finding out the meaning of life meant destroying peace on Earth - would you still seek out the answers? Perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas, The Hunger Games and Divergent After rescuing thousands of teenagers from a gruelling regime in space, Amy Sullivan must try to make sense of home, as it is now. But after an invasion of such colossal proportions, it seems Earth won't be going back to normal any time soon. And when Amy is made Ambassador for Solidarity at the newly created Earth Council, she must defend Earth against new attacks from Visitors. Working day and night to protect planet Earth, Amy still dreams of Caeser, the boy with the dimples, from another planet - she is convinced he can help her. But Caeser is still in space, where conflict is the only thing on agenda. Are two teenagers from different galaxies able to make those in power choose peace ... over the very meaning of life itself?

Orchard Books

The Night Thief

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Wayland

Italy

Rosemary Hankin
Authors:
Rosemary Hankin

Explore the history, landscape and produce of different regions of Italy and find out how these influence the food people eat and the meals they prepare. Then learn how to make well-known Italian dishes, such as minestrone soup, Margherita pizza and tiramisu, to share with your family and friends. Ideal for readers aged eight and above, this fascinating book supports the geography national curriculum.

Wayland

India

Rosemary Hankin
Authors:
Rosemary Hankin
Franklin Watts

Enter The Penguin

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Franklin Watts

Killer Custard

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Franklin Watts

Werewolf

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow

Take on the role of the Monster Hunter in this fully interactive, flick-through-the pages, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are the Monster Hunter, protecting the world from creatures in the shadows. Werewolves are runningwild in Russia. You're sent into the snow to stop them in their tracks...Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve SkidmoreAge appropriate for 8+. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Hodder Children's Books

How To Train Your Dragon

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

WELCOME TO THE BOOK THAT STARTED IT ALL ... now a beautiful hardback with exclusive colour illustrations and all 48 collector cards. This gift book is a must-have for all How to Train Your Dragon fans. Read the first How to Train Your Dragon book, now a major DreamWorks film. Hiccup Horrendous Haddock the Third is a smallish Viking with a longish name. The HAIRY HOOLIGAN TRIBE think he's totally useless, but Hiccup is about to face his destiny ... and one tiny dragon. Can he prove his worth and become a HERO, or will he be banished for ever? READ ALL 12 BOOKS IN THE SERIES!You don't have to read the books in order, but if you want to, this is the right order:1. How to Train Your Dragon2. How to Be a Pirate3. How to Speak Dragonese4. How to Cheat a Dragon's Curse 5. How to Twist a Dragon's Tale6. A Hero's Guide to Deadly Dragons7. How to Ride a Dragon's Storm8. How to Break a Dragon's Heart9. How to Steal a Dragon's Sword10. How to Seize a Dragon's Jewel11. How to Betray a Dragon's Hero12. How to Fight a Dragon's FuryHow to Train Your Dragon is now a major DreamWorks franchise starring Gerard Butler, Cate Blanchett and Jonah Hill and the TV series, Riders of Berk, can be seen on CBeebies and Cartoon Network.

Franklin Watts

Robin Hamster

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Take on the role of a cartoon hero in this fully interactive, wacky, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.The Sheriff of Snottingham is up to his old tricks - he's holding a 'find the best archer in the country' competition. It's sooooooo obviously a trap to capture Robin Hamster, outlaw of the forest. YOU are Robin! Can you escape from the Sheriff's men and save the day? Only YOU can decide... Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve Skidmore, and illustrated by the amazing Lee Robinson.Age appropriate for 6 to 8 year olds. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Invasion of the Botty Snatchers

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Ultimate Guide

Wayland

Empires

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

Epic: Empires focuses on 12 of the biggest and most incredible empires in the history of the world, from the first Babylonian Empire, founded in 1792 BCE, to the British Empire, which ended formally in 1997. On the way, it takes in ancient Egypt, ancient Persia, the early Indian empires, Imperial China, ancient Rome, the Mongols, the Ottoman empire, the Aztecs, the Inca, the Spanish empire and the British empire. The book details the dates, location and extent of each empire, along with its most famous rulers. A timeline on every spread gives the key dates from each empire, and what happened when. Additional background information to each empire is also provided, including how each one came into being, who its enemies were, the gods its people worshipped, and how it met its downfall. Epic: Empires also looks at the technology, advances and inventions that came out of each empire, from the paper, fireworks and compasses of imperial China to the sewers, roads and aqueducts of ancient Rome. Infographic elements on each spread present information in a simple and highly visual way. Clear, concise text and a bright, appealing design make the book the perfect resource for project work on geography or history, or simply a great leisure read, for children aged 9 and above.For more epic events, try reading the other titles in the Epic series: Animal Migrations, Battles and Explorers.

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry Ghosts and Ghouls

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

What has mummies and monsters, bogey babysitters and demon dinner ladies? It can only be a Horrid Henry Halloween story collection! In fact, it's Henry's spookiest collection yet, filled with his most hilariously horrid and frighteningly funny adventures.Featuring:Horrid Henry and the Mummy's Curse Horrid Henry and the Demon Dinner Lady Horrid Henry and the Bogey Babysitter Horrid Henry Casts a Spell Horrid Henry and the Fangmangler Horrid Henry and the Monster Movie

Franklin Watts

Alien

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow

Take on the role of the Monster Hunter in this fully interactive, flick-through-the pages, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are the Monster Hunter, protector of the living, and nightmare of the paranormal. Aliens have landed and your specialist services are urgently required...Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve SkidmoreAge appropriate for 8+. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Zombie

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Wren & Rook

The World of the Whale

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward

Graceful and serene, intelligent and social, the whale is a wonder of the deep blue sea. And yet, whales rely on air to breathe - they are mammals, just like us.With breathtaking text, Smriti Prasadam-Halls explores the migrations, songs and family life of these mysterious creatures, revealing astonishing facts you've never heard before. Wildlife illustrator Jonathan Woodward brings the marine world to life with stunning papercut collage artwork. This is the perfect non-fiction picture book to read at bedtime.Also available in this series:The Ways of the Wolf

Hodder Children's Books

Missing

Jenny Oldfield
Authors:
Jenny Oldfield
Hodder Children's Books

Storm Clouds

Jenny Oldfield
Authors:
Jenny Oldfield
Orchard Books

Kitten Rescue

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels