Philip Steele - the American Civil War? - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780750295888
    • Publication date:10 Dec 2015
Books in this series

the American Civil War?

By Philip Steele

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Exploring the advances in science and technology, the changes in society and the artistic developments that came out of turbulent periods in history

This book considers the deadliest war in US history, which killed 750,000 soldiers and many civilians before this young nation was a century old. Its legacy still resonates across the USA today. Did it achieve any of its goals? Did it have unexpected consequences? Did any good at all come out of it?

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750297240
  • Publication date: 25 Jan 2018
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Wayland

Pirates

Annalees Lim
Authors:
Annalees Lim
Franklin Watts

In the Air

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles

How did the forces that fought in the air affect the outcome of the Second World War? This book explores the units who battled it out to win supremacy in the skies during the Second World War, from the Luftwaffe and RAF, to the Japanese Kamikaze squadrons. Along the way, readers will discover the key battles, tactics and weapons that helped the Allies to victory. The Fighting Forces of the Second World War is a must-read for all young military buffs, who enjoy poring over the tactics, uniforms, weapons, special equipment and much more of the heroic fighting forces who waged the Second World War. Key battles and notable events, told chronologically, provide a useful solid historical structure and offer key learning, while the single-topic approach allows easy comparison between the different sides. A great series for readers aged 11 and up.

Orchard Books

Bobbi the Bouncy Castle Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Bobbi the Bouncy Castle Fairy is the bubbliest of all the Funfair Fairies! But when Jack Frost steals her magical object, even she is a bit deflated. Can Kirsty and Rachel help bring back the bounce before the funfair goes flat?

Orchard Books

Fatima the Face-Painting Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Fatima the Face-Painting Fairy loves decorating people with beautiful patterns and makeup. But when Jack Frost steals her magical item, the funfair faces disaster! Kirsty and Rachel must help her get it back.

Orchard Books

Rae the Rollercoaster Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

Whoever You Are

Diana Hendry
Authors:
Diana Hendry

From the Costa award-winning author of Harvey Angell, the sequel to Out of the Clouds.Pa is off again to work on his world-changing scientific discovery, leaving the rest of the Coggins family behind at their hidden clifftop home, Dizzy Perch. Oliver is in charge, with strict instructions about no visitors, in order to protect Pa's top-secret location. But Ma doesn't listen, and invites her favourite author to say.When a woman arrives at Dizzy Perch, claiming to be the author, the whole family are enchanted by their guest. All apart from Oliver, that is. A good job too, because the woman is really the sister of Pa's Sworn Enemy Jim, whose mission it is to bring Pa down and steal his research. How is Oliver going to be able to keep his promise to Pa and protect his family, when they simply refuse to listen to him...?A classic mystery adventure perfect for all fans of Enid Blyton.a classic mystery adventure perfect for all fans of Enid Blyton.

Wayland

Goundbreaking Pioneers of Science and Technology

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli

Curious, provocative, engaging, brave, and funny - women who change the world are diverse, intriguing and brilliant. Filled with wonderful illustrations, and engaging activities that will nurture your own varied skills, the Brilliant Women series compiles the stories of inspiring women from every field. Retelling their triumphs and adversities, this beautiful series of four books reveals and celebrates the women who have shaped the world we live in now. Perfect reading for the next generation of brilliant girls and boys.In Groundbreaking Science and Technology Pioneers you'll say hello to Hypatia, an ancient Greek mathematician and astronomer. You'll learn about Lise Meitner, the heroic Jewish physicist who escaped the Nazis. You'll join Jane Goodall who lived in the jungle studying apes. These women are just a few of the many who followed their passion for science and technology, and weren't put off by people telling them they couldn't or shouldn't. And along the way they discovered radiation, wrote the first computer programme, expanded our knowledge of the universe and flew into space.

Orion Children's Books

Dear Katie

Katie Thistleton
Authors:
Katie Thistleton

Real answers to real problems! Advice on life's tough stuff from children's TV and radio presenter Katie Thistleton.Growing up is hard. This book makes it a little bit easier. Exploring the sometimes challenging issues everyone faces as part of growing up, Katie will answer questions from real kids and teens with real issues. From falling outs with friends to disagreements with family, trouble at school to concerns about mental or physical health, Katie will cover every topic with thoughtful and emotionally sensitive advice that will resonate with readers. With additional guidance from TV and radio doctor Radha Modgil, as well as psychotherapist Sally Angel, this book is full of advice and guidance to help kids through the difficult years of growing up.

Hodder Children's Books

Return to the City of Ghosts

Julian Sedgwick
Authors:
Julian Sedgwick

Ruby's stunning adventure reaches a thrilling conclusion in this powerful story for fans of Philip Pullman, Susan Hill and Robin Stevens.11-year-old Ruby is on a mission to rescue her best friend Fei, who has been kidnapped by dark forces at the heart of Shanghai: but the world she lives in is driven with danger and fear, and since the death of her brother, Ruby has had a new problem - she can see ghosts. On an amazing journey down the Yangtze, and in and out of the Otherworld, Ruby must find her friend, before she loses herself...

Wren & Rook

Women in Sport

Rachel Ignotofsky
Authors:
Rachel Ignotofsky

From the creator of the bestselling Women in Science comes the inspiring Women in Sport. This richly illustrated book highlights the achievements and stories of fifty notable sportswomen from the 1800s to today, including trailblazers, Olympians and record-breakers in more than forty sports. It also contains infographics on topics such as muscle anatomy, pay and media statistics for female athletes, and influential women's teams.The athletes featured include well-known figures like tennis player Serena Williams and broadcaster Clare Balding, as well as lesser-known pioneers like Gertrude Ederle, the first woman to swim the English Channel, and Keiko Fukuda, the highest-ranked female judoka in history. Women in Sport celebrates the success of the tough, bold and fearless women who paved the way for today's athletes.

Wayland

the Vietnam War?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

This book considers the Vietnam (or Second Indochina) War, 1955-1975, which may have killed as many as 3 million troops and civilians. It divided America, it aroused huge opposition around the world and it divided generations. Why was it fought and what were the outcomes? Did it have any unexpected consequences? Did any good at all come out of it?

Wayland

WWI?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Wayland

Natural Habitats

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Wayland

Food

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

Food is fundamental to life on Earth. The struggle to find or grow food, and often failing, is the story of human history. Today we have more varities of food and production methods than ever before, but there has perhaps never been less connection with the land that produces food, and with farming. And despite all the incredible progress that has been made, today nearly 11 per cent of the world's population is undernourished. This book, in the Question It! series for readers upwards of age ten, will explore these important topics in a balanced and objective way, encouraging readers to take a questioning approach to the issues surrounding the global food supply.

Franklin Watts

A Muslim Life

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker
Wayland

First World War

Jon Richards, Jonathan Vipond
Contributors:
Jon Richards, Jonathan Vipond
Hodder Children's Books

Crash Landing

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

Don't miss the last episode of international bestseller Robert Muchamore's ROCK WAR series! Jay, Summer and Dylan are fresh out of the biggest reality show there is. But they're about to discover what fame and fortune are really about. Jay's brother Theo is young, rich and famous: but is it making him happy?Summer's got to weather her one-star reviews and take her career back into her own hands.And Dylan might soon be seeing the world of show-business from the four walls of a prison cell. They've got everything to play for. From the author of CHERUB and Henderson's Boys: find out more at rockwar.com

Wayland

Climate Change

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Wayland

Population

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

The world's population is growing, and with this growth comes an increased pressure on the resources, such as food, water, land for housing and energy sources, we need to live. The way in which humans are treating the planet they live on is having a significant effect on the global climate. This matters because the future of life on Earth, no less, depends on our understanding of the problem and the actions we take. This book, in the Question It! series for readers upwards of age ten, will explore these important topics in a balanced and objective way, encouraging readers to take a questioning approach to the issues surrounding the global population.

Hodder Children's Books

The Taste of Blue Light

Lydia Ruffles
Authors:
Lydia Ruffles