Clare Hibbert - Mayan Civilization - Hachette Children's Group

Mayan Civilization

By Clare Hibbert

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Become a history detective and find out more about Mayan civilisation. This book is a great tool for readers age 8+ or teachers looking for books to support the new curriculum for 2014.
Biographical Notes

Clare specializes in non-fiction books for children of pre- and primary school age. Her favourite subjects are animals, history, art and culture. She has been shortlisted for the prestigious Aventis Junior Science Prize, and won a dozen Practical Pre-School Gold Awards. When she's not writing, Clare likes spending time with her family, taking long walks, going to the theatre and watching contemporary dance - her favourite dancer is Akram Khan.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750294164
  • Publication date: 23 Apr 2015
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland

Twelve colourful spreads take readers through the many fascinating facets of Mayan life, from ritual bloodletting to stargazing. Added impetus is given by the cartoon figure Sherlock Bones, a canine detective whose paw prints appear throughout the book, prompting kids to solve various mysteries ("Why did parents press their babies' heads between boards?") There are also some suggestions for Mayan-themed projects, including writing Mayan rulers' names in hieroglyphics.

This slim, lightweight book is perfect for sliding into a child's backpack for plane or train journeys. And if you are going elsewhere, there are lots more in this History Detective Investigates series, with other new titles out soon, including the Indus Valley and Early Islamic Civilisation.

— Rhonda Carrier, The National Geographic Traveller magazine
Franklin Watts

Insects, Bugs and Other Invertebrates

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Animals

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Find out all about the amazing animals that roamed the planet millions of years ago. From fearsome dinosaurs and marine reptiles to flightless terror birds and giant mammals, discover the wondrous world of prehistoric animals. This stunningly illustrated series looks at life in the prehistoric era, focusing not just on dinosaurs, but looking at the world as a whole. The prehistoric era is absolutely fascinating for children and adults alike, and is useful for schools studying history chronologically. Amazingly detailed and accurate illustrations bring the prehistoric era to life. Engaging reading for children aged 7+.

Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan

Every hundred years, in the magical town of Knowmealldown, fairies known as the Good Folk join the villagers for a Great Festival. It's a raucous, beautiful, enchanted celebration.Well, it's supposed to be.Except every time Brian helps to organise the Great Festival it's a disappointment. Worse, this time the Folk Princess has been stolen. Can Brian thwart the Princess's evil captor in time to avoid the wrath of the Folk King and Queen, and finally deliver a Festival to remember?A magical adventure filled with myth, mischief and misunderstandings, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones and those who love modern fairy tales with a comic twist.

Wren & Rook

Women in Sport

Rachel Ignotofsky
Authors:
Rachel Ignotofsky
Franklin Watts

Seaside Holidays Then and Now

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Seaside Towns

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

In Seaside Towns you can compare tiny harbours and bustling resorts, and learn about the kinds of buildings and businesses they have today. Discover what goes on at a port and read about lighthouses, piers and fish and chip shops.The Beside the Seaside series looks at specific aspects of daily life by the sea, whether examining plant and animal habitats, exploring the various jobs people do, looking at types of buildings and structures, or comparing a holiday by the sea in the past and present day. An essential set of books for learning about all aspects of the seaside, and a perfect teaching tool for Key Stage 1.

Franklin Watts

In Your Body

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Did you know there were tiny living things on your body that you can't see? Some are bacteria, others are mould, others are tiny little insects! But what do they do and what do they look like? Find out about the good ones and the bad ones! Full-page photographs of these alien-like creatures in high magnification reveals their horror (or even their beauty). This book supports natural history studies and the KS2 and KS3 science curriculum where appropriate.It is part of a series, Micro Monsters which takes a close up look at the tiny creatures that are around us all the time and which we cannot see with the naked eye. Some are harmless, some are just pests, and some are deadly. From bedbugs to zooplankton and from bacteria to water fleas, all microscopic life is here. The revelation of the places these creatures inhabit will have readers squirming in their seats as they find out how these mini monsters can help and hinder humans.

Franklin Watts

In Your Food

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Did you know there were tiny living things in your food that you can't see? Some are plants, others are mould, others are tiny little insects! But what do they do and what do they look like? Find out about the good ones and the bad ones! Full-page photographs of these alien-like creatures in high magnification reveals their horror (or even their beauty). This book supports natural history studies and the KS2 and KS3 science curriculum where appropriate.It is part of a series, Micro Monsters which takes a close up look at the tiny creatures that are around us all the time and which we cannot see with the naked eye. Some are harmless, some are just pests, and some are deadly. From bedbugs to zooplankton and from bacteria to water fleas, all microscopic life is here. The revelation of the places these creatures inhabit will have readers squirming in their seats as they find out how these mini monsters can help and hinder humans.

Hodder Children's Books

Boot Camp

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Franklin Watts

Dinosaurs

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Space

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Franklin Watts

Dog

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

If you've ever wondered what it is like to be a dog, then this is the book for you. It's full of fascinating insights into the different ways that these loyal and intelligent animals experience the world.

Franklin Watts

Cat

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

If you've ever wondered what it is like to be a cat, then this is the book for you. It's full of fascinating insights into the different ways that these loyal and intelligent animals experience the world.

Franklin Watts

Rainforests

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Volcanoes

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Big Cats

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Endangered Animals

Franklin Watts, Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Franklin Watts, Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Pond Wildlife

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

A pond is home to lots of different wildlife and is a small, self-contained world known as a microhabitat. Ponds are great places to explore and this book will give you lots of hints and tips for wildlife spotting. You'll also find out about how minibeasts live, the lifecycle of the frog, and about lots of birds, reptiles and mammals that live in and around ponds. Plus there are lots of fun puzzles to help you develop your wildlife spotting skills.It is part of The Great Nature Hunt a series of books for children aged 7+ which are a great resource for the Science curriculum. They help children make systematic and careful observations, gather data and record their findings. Each book is full of puzzles and challenges through which children can learn, while having fun.

Wayland

Stone Age to Iron Age

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Trees

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

If you love trees, want to identify common trees or just want to get outdoors and understand nature, this book is for you. It is packed with photos of trees and their flowers and seeds and shows you how you can be a great tree spotter. It explores the different parts of the tree and looks out their life cycles including pollination, seed formation and seed dispersal. Plus there are fun puzzles and challenges throughout the book, which will help you develop your observation and spotting skills, ready for the great outdoors.It is part of The Great Nature Hunt a series of books for children aged 7+ which are a great resource for the Science curriculum. They help children make systematic and careful observations, gather data and record their findings. Each book is full of puzzles and challenges through which children can learn, while having fun.