Clare Hibbert - Mayan Civilization - Hachette Children's Group

Mayan Civilization

By Clare Hibbert

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Become a history detective and find out more about Mayan civilisation. This book is a great tool for readers age 8+ or teachers looking for books to support the new curriculum for 2014.
Biographical Notes

Clare specializes in non-fiction books for children of pre- and primary school age. Her favourite subjects are animals, history, art and culture. She has been shortlisted for the prestigious Aventis Junior Science Prize, and won a dozen Practical Pre-School Gold Awards. When she's not writing, Clare likes spending time with her family, taking long walks, going to the theatre and watching contemporary dance - her favourite dancer is Akram Khan.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750294164
  • Publication date: 23 Apr 2015
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland

Twelve colourful spreads take readers through the many fascinating facets of Mayan life, from ritual bloodletting to stargazing. Added impetus is given by the cartoon figure Sherlock Bones, a canine detective whose paw prints appear throughout the book, prompting kids to solve various mysteries ("Why did parents press their babies' heads between boards?") There are also some suggestions for Mayan-themed projects, including writing Mayan rulers' names in hieroglyphics.

This slim, lightweight book is perfect for sliding into a child's backpack for plane or train journeys. And if you are going elsewhere, there are lots more in this History Detective Investigates series, with other new titles out soon, including the Indus Valley and Early Islamic Civilisation.

— Rhonda Carrier, The National Geographic Traveller magazine
Orchard Books

Adventure Duck vs the Armadillo Army

Steve Cole
Authors:
Steve Cole
Franklin Watts

Plants

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Dinosaurs

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Hodder Children's Books

Queen of Ruin

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart

The breathtaking sequel to Grace and Fury. A fierce tale of sisterhood, courtly intrigue, and heart pounding action, perfect for fans of Red Queen and The Selection.Nomi and Malachi find themselves powerless and headed towards their all-but-certain deaths. Now that Asa sits on the throne, he will stop at nothing to make sure Malachi never sets foot in the palace again. Nomi's sister, Serina, is far away on the prison island of Mount Ruin - but it is in the grip of revolution and Serina leads. The women there have their sights set on revenge beyond the confines of their island prison. They will stop at nothing to gain freedom for the entire kingdom. But first they'll have to get rid of Asa, and only Nomi knows how.Separated once again, this time by choice, Nomi and Serina must forge their own paths as they aim to tear down the world they know, to build something better in its place.

Franklin Watts

Insects, Bugs and Other Invertebrates

Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Contributors:
Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas

Find out all about the incredible invertebrates that lived on the planet millions of years ago. From giant millipedes to super-sized scorpions, discover the wondrous world of some of the smallest (and some surprisingly large) inhabitants of our prehistoric world. This stunningly illustrated series looks at life in the prehistoric era, focusing not just on dinosaurs, but looking at the world as a whole. The prehistoric era is absolutely fascinating for children and adults alike, and is useful for schools studying history chronologically. Amazingly detailed and accurate illustrations bring the prehistoric era to life. Engaging reading for children aged 7+.Prehistoric Life is a series of four books:Mammals, Birds and other VertebratesInsects, Bugs and other InvertebratesPlantsDinosaurs

Franklin Watts

Mammals, Birds and other Vertebrates

Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Contributors:
Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Orchard Books

Runaway Hamster

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy

High-drama history, describing moment-by-moment the fall of the Berlin WallThirty years ago, on 9 November 1989, the Berlin Wall came down. This historic event is described in detail, focusing not only on the day itself, but also what led to the wall being there in the first place. It looks at the history of the Wall, explaining why it was built, as well as looking at the implications of what happened in the wider context of 20th century history. Real life accounts are included in moment-in-time boxes, acting as a freeze frame of people's thoughts, emotions and experiences as those from West Germany were at last free to travel to the East and vice versa.Complete with photographs, maps and a timeline, this is a fascinating insight into 20th century history.An ideal book to support the study of modern history in schools

Franklin Watts

Biodiversity

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

A powerful look at the biggest environmental issues facing our generationOur planet's rich and wonderful biodiversity is under threat everywhere. How can it be brought back from the brink?Our Earth is facing huge environmental challenges, from plastic pollution choking our oceans to critical loss of biodiversity. Ecographics aims to raise young readers' awareness of these challenges with the latest headline-grabbing facts and stats, pertinent case studies and powerful photos. Important reading for children aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

The Legend of The Flying Dutchman

Elizabeth Dale, Gus Art
Contributors:
Elizabeth Dale, Gus Art
Franklin Watts

Space

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Seaside Holidays Then and Now

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Seaside Holidays Then and Now compares what it would have been like to go on holiday to the seaside in the past with modern seaside holidays today. Readers are encouraged to explore what has changed and what has stayed the same, including the places we stay, beach activities and the clothes we wear.The Beside the Seaside series looks at specific aspects of daily life by the sea, whether examining plant and animal habitats, exploring the various jobs people do, looking at types of buildings and structures, or comparing a holiday by the sea in the past and present day. An essential set of books for learning about all aspects of the seaside, and a perfect teaching tool for Key Stage 1.

Franklin Watts

Seaside Towns

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

In Your Body

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

In Your Food

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Dinosaurs

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Rainforests

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Wander through wild rainforests and discover facts about who and what lives there, then become a word wizard and dazzle everyone with your newfound knowledge.Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge and the varied design includes easy to digest bullet points of information. Top writing tips and 'wow' words will inspire writing project ideas and improve literacy skills. The Writing school section at the back of the book helps transform the factual information in a variety of ways from comic strips to blogs. The books will be a perfect literacy aid for 8-11 year olds.

Franklin Watts

Volcanoes

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Dig deep into the explosive world of volcanoes and then become a word wizard and dazzle everyone with your newfound knowledge.Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge. Top writing tips and 'wow' words inspire easy to achieve writing projects, a fantastic way to improve literacy skills. A great book for 7-9 year olds or those working at Key Stage 2.

Franklin Watts

Endangered Animals

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Get to grips with facts about endangered animals and then become a word wizard and dazzle everyone with your newfound knowledge.Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer, perfect for the 7-11 age group. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge. Top writing tips and 'wow' words inspire easy to achieve writing projects, a fantastic way to improve literacy skills.

Franklin Watts

Big Cats

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Get your teeth into facts about big cats and then become a word wizard and dazzle everyone with your newfound knowledge.Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge. Top writing tips and 'wow' words inspire easy to achieve writing projects, a fantastic way to improve literacy skills. Perfect for 7-9 year olds or those at Key Stage 2.