Clare Hibbert - Mayan Civilization - Hachette Children's Group

Mayan Civilization

By Clare Hibbert

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Become a history detective and find out more about Mayan civilisation. This book is a great tool for readers age 8+ or teachers looking for books to support the new curriculum for 2014.
Biographical Notes

Clare specializes in non-fiction books for children of pre- and primary school age. Her favourite subjects are animals, history, art and culture. She has been shortlisted for the prestigious Aventis Junior Science Prize, and won a dozen Practical Pre-School Gold Awards. When she's not writing, Clare likes spending time with her family, taking long walks, going to the theatre and watching contemporary dance - her favourite dancer is Akram Khan.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750294164
  • Publication date: 23 Apr 2015
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland

Twelve colourful spreads take readers through the many fascinating facets of Mayan life, from ritual bloodletting to stargazing. Added impetus is given by the cartoon figure Sherlock Bones, a canine detective whose paw prints appear throughout the book, prompting kids to solve various mysteries ("Why did parents press their babies' heads between boards?") There are also some suggestions for Mayan-themed projects, including writing Mayan rulers' names in hieroglyphics.

This slim, lightweight book is perfect for sliding into a child's backpack for plane or train journeys. And if you are going elsewhere, there are lots more in this History Detective Investigates series, with other new titles out soon, including the Indus Valley and Early Islamic Civilisation.

— Rhonda Carrier, The National Geographic Traveller magazine
Franklin Watts

Insects, Bugs and Other Invertebrates

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Find out all about the incredible invertebrates that lived on the planet millions of years ago. From giant millipedes to super-sized scorpions, discover the wondrous world of prehistoric life. This stunningly illustrated series looks at life in the prehistoric era, focusing not just on dinosaurs, but looking at the world as a whole. The prehistoric era is absolutely fascinating for children and adults alike, and is useful for schools studying history chronologically. Amazingly detailed and accurate illustrations bring the prehistoric era to life. Engaging reading for children aged 7+.

Franklin Watts

Animals

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Franklin Watts

Plants

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

This stunningly illustrated series looks at life in the prehistoric era, focusing not just on dinosaurs, but looking at the world as a whole. The prehistoric era is absolutely fascinating for children and adults alike, and is useful for schools studying history chronologically. Amazingly detailed and accurate illustrations bring the prehistoric era to life. Engaging reading for children aged 7+.

Franklin Watts

Dinosaurs

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

In Your Food

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Did you know there were tiny living things in your food that you can't see? Some are plants, others are mould, others are tiny little insects! But what do they do and what do they look like? Find out about the good ones and the bad ones! Full-page photographs of these alien-like creatures in high magnification reveals their horror (or even their beauty). This book supports natural history studies and the KS2 and KS3 science curriculum where appropriate.It is part of a series, Micro Monsters which takes a close up look at the tiny creatures that are around us all the time and which we cannot see with the naked eye. Some are harmless, some are just pests, and some are deadly. From bedbugs to zooplankton and from bacteria to water fleas, all microscopic life is here. The revelation of the places these creatures inhabit will have readers squirming in their seats as they find out how these mini monsters can help and hinder humans.

Franklin Watts

In Your Body

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Hodder Children's Books

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Incredible Cheese Heist

Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Contributors:
Dermot O’Leary, Nick East

Toto is no ordinary cat, and she can't wait for you to join her on her second ninja adventure! A funny animal escapade written by one of the UK's best-loved broadcasters. For fans of The Aristocats, The Secret Life of Pets, 101 Dalmatians and Atticus Claw Breaks the Law. Purrfect for reading aloud or for children to curl up with and read alone, the story features brilliant black and white illustrations throughout. With gentle themes of friendship, inclusivity and winning in the face of adversity, this is a hilarious must-read for all animal-loving kids! Toto, the amazing ninja cat, is back and cooler than ever!Something CAT-ASTROPHIC has happened: ALL the cheese in the world has been stolen. Join Toto, her brother Silver and their best-friend Catface on a secret mission to save the day. Toto is going to need all her ninja skills to defeat the fur-midable cheese thief ...Dermot says: 'The idea for Toto first came to me when my wife and I rescued two stray cats from an olive grove in Italy. One of them, Toto, has been blind from birth, but we quickly realised she had ninja-like reactions. Like a lot of cat owners (or cat servants), we like to imagine our pets having secret lives when we're out or asleep. So before I knew it I was writing about Toto and her brother Silver's nocturnal adventures around London. I really hope that children who pick it up enjoy reading the adventures of our little Italian underdog (cat).'

Franklin Watts

Big Cats

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Get your teeth into facts about big cats and then become a word wizard and dazzle everyone with your newfound knowledge.Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge. Top writing tips and 'wow' words inspire easy to achieve writing projects, a fantastic way to improve literacy skills. Perfect for 7-9 year olds or those at Key Stage 2.

Orchard Books

Menox the Sabre-Toothed Terror

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Larnak the Swarming Menace

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!The wicked pirate Ria has taken control of another terrifying Beast. Tom and Elenna must tackle Larnak the giant locust and stop Ria from getting to the magical Elixir Wells!There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Menox the Sabre-toothed Terror; Larnak the Swarming Menace; Jurog, Hammer of the Jungle and Nersepha the Cursed Siren

Orchard Books

Jurog, Hammer of the Jungle

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Nersepha the Cursed Siren

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!The young pirate Ria has enchanted a series of ancient Beasts. Tom and Elenna must stop her before she seizes power over Makai for ever - but how can they fight Nersepha, a monstrous mermaid? There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Menox the Sabre-toothed Terror; Larnak the Swarming Menace; Jurog, Hammer of the Jungle and Nersepha the Cursed Siren

Franklin Watts

Dinosaurs

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Hodder Children's Books

The Golden Sands

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The seventh in a magical, exciting series by Olympic gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony!What if you had a magic bracelet that meant you could see golden magic everywhere?Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! And when Evie and her friends find themselves on the most exciting beach holiday of their lives, they'll need all their magical know-how for their most dangerous challenge yet ... Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.

Franklin Watts

Gymnastics

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Looking to take up a new sport? Or just thinking about ways to keep fit and healthy? This book is a great introduction to all the important gymnastics skills you'll need. Full of skills tips and photos showing key techniques, you'll discover everything - from training to competing - while also finding out something about gymnastics stars of the past and present.Perfect for readers aged 9 and up.The series Sports Skills covers rules, equipment, famous competitors and major competitions through specially commissioned, step-by-step photography that clearly shows skills and techniques needed for a sport.

Franklin Watts

Seaside Holidays Then and Now

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Seaside Holidays Then and Now compares what it would have been like to go on holiday to the seaside in the past with modern seaside holidays today. Readers are encouraged to explore what has changed and what has stayed the same, including the places we stay, beach activities and the clothes we wear.The Beside the Seaside series looks at specific aspects of daily life by the sea, whether examining plant and animal habitats, exploring the various jobs people do, looking at types of buildings and structures, or comparing a holiday by the sea in the past and present day. An essential set of books for learning about all aspects of the seaside, and a perfect teaching tool for Key Stage 1.

Franklin Watts

Seaside Towns

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

In Seaside Towns you can compare tiny harbours and bustling resorts, and learn about the kinds of buildings and businesses they have today. Discover what goes on at a port and read about lighthouses, piers and fish and chip shops.The Beside the Seaside series looks at specific aspects of daily life by the sea, whether examining plant and animal habitats, exploring the various jobs people do, looking at types of buildings and structures, or comparing a holiday by the sea in the past and present day. An essential set of books for learning about all aspects of the seaside, and a perfect teaching tool for Key Stage 1.

Franklin Watts

Space

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

From stargazing to supernovas, rocket power to the Red Planet, learn all about what makes up our universe, and beyond!Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge. Top writing tips and 'wow' words inspire easy to achieve writing projects, a fantastic way to improve literacy skills. A great book for 7-9 year olds or those working at Key Stage 2.

Franklin Watts

Rainforests

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Volcanoes

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Dig deep into the explosive world of volcanoes and then become a word wizard and dazzle everyone with your newfound knowledge.Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge. Top writing tips and 'wow' words inspire easy to achieve writing projects, a fantastic way to improve literacy skills. A great book for 7-9 year olds or those working at Key Stage 2.