Paul Mason - Your Growling Guts and Dynamic Digestive System - Hachette Children's Group

Your Growling Guts and Dynamic Digestive System

By Paul Mason

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Each title in the Your Brilliant Body series looks at a different system of the human body, exploring anatomy from top to toe with attention-grabbing facts and key information. Your Brilliant Body combines an exciting design with lively factual text to reveal the wonders of the human body.

Packed with amazing facts and eye-grabbing images, Your Growling Guts and Dynamic Digestive System takes a different approach to teaching the reader about the digestive system.

Every spread opens with an amazing science fact about the human body - for example - Your tongue print is just as unique as your fingerprint! - then goes on to explain how scientifically this is possible. By exploring these attention-grabbing sections, readers will build up their understanding of the different digestive organs and the process of digestion.

Detailed diagrams and amazing images illustrate the lively, factual text. Your Growling Guts and Dynamic Digestive System looks at the organs of the digestive system and how they work together to get the most out of our meals! What does the liver do? What happens to all the food we eat? Why does the small intestine need to be so long? Answers to all these questions and many more can be found in this fascinating title.

The Your Brilliant Body series includes:
'See for Yourself' features - practical activities that help readers understand key ideas
Amazing fact panels to intrigue the reader
Advice on keeping in good shape, and warnings about common health problems.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750292450
  • Publication date: 24 Nov 2016
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Wayland

Energy and Fuel

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Did you know that only 9.5% of the energy we use comes from renewable sources? Find out how dependent we are on fossil fuels. Learn about our energy and fuel through facts focused on percentages. Fossil fuel, renewable energy, carbon in the atmosphere are some of the topics covered in this exciting new way of exploring energy and fuel.Find out what makes the world complete by understanding the different components that make everything whole.The series combines the visual style of infographics and their striking way of presenting facts and figures, alongside in-depth explanations and diagrams.

Wayland

People and Places

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Wayland

How to Design the World's Best Space Station

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Imagine someone gave you a sackful of money and told you to build a space station. You'd definitely want it to be the best space station in the world. But how do you go about designing THAT? Armed with your own imagination and some smart research, find out how you can transform a fantasy design into an actual dream product. You'll apply real-world design considerations to your ideas, refining your design to make it workable and achievable as it takes shape.

Wayland

How to Design the World's Best Skatepark

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Wayland

How to Design the World's Best Roller Coaster

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Imagine someone gave you a sackful of money and told you to build a roller coaster. You'd definitely want it to be the best roller coaster in the world. But how do you go about designing THAT? Armed with your own imagination and some smart research, find out how you can transform a fantasy design into an actual dream product. You'll apply real-world design considerations to your ideas, refining your design to make it workable and achievable as it takes shape.

Wayland

Human Body

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Did you know blood is made of 55% plasma and 45% blood cells? Together they make 100% blood. Or that 65% of the body is water? Learn about the human body through facts focused on percentages. Lungs, the brain, muscles, senses are some of the topics covered in this exciting new way of exploring how our body works.Find out what makes the world complete by understanding the different components that make everything whole.The series combines the visual style of infographics and their striking way of presenting facts and figures, alongside in-depth explanations and diagrams.

Franklin Watts

34.7 Quadrillion Minutes Since the Last Dinosaurs Died

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Franklin Watts

2.67 Trillion Internet Searches Each Year Using Technology

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Wren & Rook

The Good Guys

Rob Kemp, Paul Blow
Contributors:
Rob Kemp, Paul Blow

What if we celebrated men for their kindness as well their strength? For their generosity as well as their career success? For their loyal friendship as well as their charisma? The Good Guys introduces us to fifty men who have showed that changing the world doesn't require a sword or a corporate jet. Readers will find stories of extraordinary men including David Attenborough, Nelson Mandela, Oskar Schindler and Usain Bolt, as well as unsung heroes such as James Harrison, who has spent fifty years donating his rare blood to save millions of babies. There's even a section celebrating ten boys who didn't let their young age stop them from helping others, such as Matthew Kaplan, who responded to his brother's bullies by setting up an anti-bullying programme for schools. The Good Guys celebrates the feats of heroes and everyday men, and will inspire readers to transform the world through compassion, friendship and understanding.

Wayland

On Planet Earth

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Wayland

In the Animal Kingdom

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Wayland

How to Design the World's Best Robot

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Wayland

In the Rainforest

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle

Wayland

In Engineering and Industry

Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Mark Ruffle
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Scent of Danger

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff

The second book in The Trapdoor Mysteries, a series about Tally, a code-breaking, animal-loving servant girl and her best friend, a squirrel named Squill, who solve mysteries with the help of a secret library...Orphan Tally is the servant girl at Mollett Manor - and she's also the Secret Keeper of the magical library hidden beneath a trapdoor, underneath the manor's grounds. Along with Squill the squirrel, she uses the enchanted books to solve crimes. So when Lady Mollett's new puppy, Widdles, is kidnapped, Tally and Squill head straight to the library. But will they be able to catch the dognapper or is it already too late?

Orion Children's Books

Embassy of the Dead

Will Mabbitt
Authors:
Will Mabbitt

The first book in a spookily funny new series, where the living meets the dead and survival is a race against time. Perfect for fans of Skulduggery Pleasant and Who Let the Gods Out.Welcome to the Embassy of the Dead. Leave your life at the door. (Thanks.)When Jake opens a strange box containing a severed finger, he accidentally summons a grim reaper to drag him to the Eternal Void (yep, it's as fatal as it sounds) and now he's running for his life! But luckily Jake isn't alone - he can see and speak to ghosts.Jake and his deadly gang (well dead, at least) - Stiffkey the undertaker, hockey stick-wielding, Cora, and Zorro the ghost fox - have one mission: find the Embassy of the Dead and seek protection. But the Embassy has troubles of its own and may not be the safe haven Jake is hoping for . . .

Wayland

Gigantic Dinosaurs

Katie Woolley
Authors:
Katie Woolley
Wayland

The Poo That Animals Do

Paul Mason, Tony De Saulles
Contributors:
Paul Mason, Tony De Saulles

A fascinating insight into the world of animal poo - with "strange but poo" facts, from the smelliest, biggest, smallest, and most expensive poo to poo camouflage and keeping warm, discover all there is to know about animal poo and its uses. Photos combine with the tongue-in-cheek humour of Tony De Saulles' fabulous illustrations and Paul's Mason's raucous text to enliven even the most reluctant reader. A great book for satisfying the curiosity of 7 to 9 years olds while learning science at the same time!

Franklin Watts

German Supercars

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Wayland

Food and Fair Trade

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason