Kelly Davis - I'm Good At Geography, What Job Can I Get? - Hachette Children's Group

I'm Good At Geography, What Job Can I Get?

By Kelly Davis

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Children can find out what jobs suit them from the angle of the subjects that interest them and what they excel at.

Do you know what job you want to do? Thinking about what you enjoy most at school can help you work out which career path to follow, as the skills required for geography are transferable to many different careers. This book gives details of 12 jobs, including the personal characteristics and qualifications you will need, a job description and a comment from a professional. For example, if you are good at geography you are probably interested in the world around you, and concerned about environmental and social issues. These qualities will help you if you want to be a: tourism officer, park ranger, environmental consultant, geologist meteorologist, international aid worker, transport planner, travel writer, cartographer, geographical information systems officer, town planner or geography teacher.

Get an idea of a range of geography-related occupations, and find out how to follow the career you want. The earlier you check out your options, the better prepared you will be to put your geographical skills to good use as you earn a living in future.

Biographical Notes

Kelly Davis is a freelance writer and editor who has worked in educational publishing for more than ten years.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750281836
  • Publication date: 13 Feb 2014
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Hodder Children's Books

Queen of Ruin

Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart

The breathtaking sequel to Grace and Fury. A fierce tale of sisterhood, courtly intrigue, and heart pounding action, perfect for fans of Red Queen and The Selection.Nomi and Malachi find themselves powerless and headed towards their all-but-certain deaths. Now that Asa sits on the throne, he will stop at nothing to make sure Malachi never sets foot in the palace again. Nomi's sister, Serina, is far away on the prison island of Mount Ruin - but it is in the grip of revolution and Serina leads. The women there have their sights set on revenge beyond the confines of their island prison. They will stop at nothing to gain freedom for the entire kingdom. But first they'll have to get rid of Asa, and only Nomi knows how.Separated once again, this time by choice, Nomi and Serina must forge their own paths as they aim to tear down the world they know, to build something better in its place.

Hodder Children's Books

Arrowheart 2

Rebecca Sky
Authors:
Rebecca Sky
Franklin Watts

Body Brilliant

Nicola Morgan
Authors:
Nicola Morgan

Written by teenage expert, Nicola Morgan, 'Body Brilliant' will help teenagers to develop or retain a positive body image. We're all bombarded with information and images - through the media and our peers - about being too big, too small, being cool, being popular or having the 'right' kind of clothes. This book addresses the body issues that nearly everyone worries about at some point in their lives and gives practical and mindful solutions to work through worries, using real-life examples, quotes and anecdotes from young adults interviewed especially for this book.'Body Brilliant' explores psychological pressures that make us see our bodies in certain ways, positively or negatively, as well as considering how adolescent body changes, gender identity and gender expectations, sexuality and sexual orientation affect self-image, and looks at issues such as body dysmorphia and eating disorders.'Body Brilliant' also encourages you to think about how you view differences in others and understand that variety is a brilliant thing. And that being yourself is much better than being just like everyone else. Learn to celebrate the differences that make every body brilliant!

Hodder Children's Books

Rose, Interrupted

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence
Hodder Children's Books

The Boxer

Nikesh Shukla
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla

Told over the course of the ten rounds of his first fight, this is the story of amateur boxer Sunny. A seventeen year old feeling isolated and disconnected in the city he's just moved to, Sunny joins a boxing club to learn to protect himself after a racist attack. He finds the community he's been desperately seeking at the club, and a mentor in trainer Shobu, who helps him find his place in the world. But racial tensions are rising in the city, and when a Far Right march through Bristol turns violent, Sunny is faced with losing his new best friend Keir to radicalisation.A gripping, life-affirming YA novel about friendship, radicalisation and finding where you belong.

Wren & Rook

Can Everyone Please Calm Down?

Mae Martin
Authors:
Mae Martin

Hello, I'm Mae Martin, a Canadian comedian with an encyclopaedic knowledge of Harry Potter trivia. Aside from this, though, if there's one area that I'm 100% anecdotally and personally qualified to tackle, it's sexuality. If there is a 'sexuality spectrum', then I've probably existed at every point on it at some stage in my life. This book is my attempt to demystify sexuality by narrating my own, often humiliating adventures in sex, dating, gender identity, etc. and to get everyone to Just. Calm. Down. We'll talk about the pros and cons of labels, and why history contains no stories of gay people living long, happy, successful lives. Also included: sexual fluidity, gay genes, Lady Gaga and bisexual monkeys. My dream is that we get to a point where we don't even need to discuss sexuality at all. Where it's a total non-issue, and everyone's falling in love with everyone all over the place. Seeing as we're not there yet, however, I think it is incredibly important to talk about it. Openly, and without embarrassment. I hope this book is a step in that direction. ENJOY.

Franklin Watts

Vet

James Nixon
Authors:
James Nixon

What's it like to be a vet? Perhaps one day you might like to become a vet too? In this book you will meet our vet, Nafisa - and some of her colleagues - and see what she does at work every day. Find out about the types of animals she looks after - from cats to cows! - the equipment she uses to do her job and what it is like to work with animals.The Here to Help series of books are for very young readers aged 5 and upwards. The books follow real professionals around their place of work to give a flavour of what it means to work in a particular job.

Franklin Watts

Refuse Collector

Rachel Blount
Authors:
Rachel Blount

Ever wondered about the people who keep our streets clean and take away our rubbish? What is it like to work as a refuse collector? In this book you will meet our refuse collector - Tex - and travel with him on his rubbish truck to see what he does at work every day. Find out about the different equipment and vehicles refuse collectors use, how they stay safe at work and what happens to our rubbish once it has been collected.The Here to Help series of books are for very young readers aged 5 and upwards. The books follow real professionals around their place of work to give a flavour of what it means to work in a particular job.

Wayland

Technology

Colin Hynson
Authors:
Colin Hynson
Hodder Children's Books

Nowhere on Earth

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake
Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell

WARNING: DO NOT GIVE THIS BOOK TO YOUR OWN GRANDMA. SHE MIGHT GET IDEAS...Grandma demands justice!**And also all the teacakesA priceless artefact has been stolen in Russia - and Grandma Dangerous wants to find it. Nothing will stand in her way - not even some poisoned caviar, a prison break or a spot of contemporary dance. Can Ollie and Grandma return the treasure and get back home, before being caught by the politsiya? Or - worse - before Mum finds out?Praise for Book 1: "Thrills! Biscuits! This book has it all" Andy Riley, author of King Flashypants

Wayland

Science

Colin Hynson
Authors:
Colin Hynson

Discover the amazing array of jobs within the field of science that you never knew existed. From the exoplanet hunters who use powerful telescopes to look for planets orbiting stars, to the forensic scientists who help detectives by using forensic chemistry to link suspects to crime scenes.Read about the academic and vocational routes you can take to reach these jobs and how to get ahead in these exciting professions whilst you are at school and college.

Franklin Watts

Doctors

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Orion Children's Books

Six of Crows: Collector's Edition

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo
Wayland

What is Race? Who are Racists? Why Does Skin Colour Matter? And Other Big Questions

Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan

An important and timely book on race and racism, encouraging children to think for themselves about the issues involved.Talk about race is often discouraged, but this book aims to bring everyone into the conversation. It explores the history of race and society, giving context to how racist attitudes come into being. It looks at belonging and identity, the damaging effects of stereotyping and the benefits of positive representation. The authors talk sensitively about how to identify and challenge racism, and how to protect against and stop racist behaviour.Aimed at young people aged 10 and upwards.Part of the groundbreaking and important 'And Other Big Questions' series, which offers balanced and considered views on the big issues we face in the world we live in today.Other titles in the series include:What is Humanism? How do you live without a god?What is Feminism? Why do we need it?Who are Refugees and Migrants? What makes people leave their homes?What is Consent? Why is it important?What is Right and Wrong? Who Decides? Where Do Values Come From?

Hodder Children's Books

The Survival Game

Nicky Singer
Authors:
Nicky Singer
Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Wayland

Great Games

Clive Gifford
Authors:
Clive Gifford
Orchard Books

Contagion

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Don't miss this startling first book in a breathtaking new trilogy from Teri Terry, queen of the teen psychological thriller and author of the bestselling Slated trilogy!URGENT!An epidemic is sweeping the country.You are among the infected. There is no cure, and you cannot be permitted to infect others. You are now under quarantine. The very few of the infected who survive are dangerous and will be taken into the custody of the army.Young runaway Callie survived the disease, but not the so-called treatment. Her brother Kai is still looking for her. And his new friend Shay may hold the key to uncovering what truly happened. From the author of the international sensation Slated comes the first book in a powerful new story of survival and transformation; love and power.