Kelly Davis - Geography What Job Can I Get? - Hachette Children's Group

Geography What Job Can I Get?

By Kelly Davis

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Children can find out what jobs suit them from the angle of the subjects that interest them and what they excel at.

Do you know what job you want to do? Thinking about what you enjoy most at school can help you work out which career path to follow, as the skills required for geography are transferable to many different careers. This book gives details of 12 jobs, including the personal characteristics and qualifications you will need, a job description and a comment from a professional. For example, if you are good at geography you are probably interested in the world around you, and concerned about environmental and social issues. These qualities will help you if you want to be a: tourism officer, park ranger, environmental consultant, geologist meteorologist, international aid worker, transport planner, travel writer, cartographer, geographical information systems officer, town planner or geography teacher.

Get an idea of a range of geography-related occupations, and find out how to follow the career you want. The earlier you check out your options, the better prepared you will be to put your geographical skills to good use as you earn a living in future.

Biographical Notes

Kelly Davis is a freelance writer and editor who has worked in educational publishing for more than ten years.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750281836
  • Publication date: 13 Feb 2014
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Hodder Children's Books

The Dark Lady

Akala
Authors:
Akala

Henry Shakespeare is a street boy searching for his parents - his dark skin and curious name are his only clues.A thrilling new series set in a magical realist Shakespearean world, written by award-winning rapper, poet and writer Akala, founder of the renowned Hip-hop Shakespeare Company.When a rich family catch Henry stealing a book, it emerges that the young street boy, raised as an orphan, can read. Astounded, the family take him in as their servant. They soon become fond of Henry and allow him to develop a passion for literature and plays, attending those of his favourites such as Marlowe, Kyd and most of all Shakespeare. But then Henry inherits a vast sum from a mysterious source. Overwhelmed by the desire to find his parents, Henry leaves his adopted family and embarks on an amazing adventure.Perfect for introducing secondary school readers to Shakespeare and the Renaissance, The Dark Lady contains poems, rhymes and songs.Inspired by the Dark Lady (the fierce, independent black woman alluded to in Shakespeare's sonnets 127-154) and featuring Shakespeare himself and many of his key characters, this exciting new series brings to life through fresh eyes the visceral, violent and daring world of the Renaissance.

Hodder Children's Books

The Other Side of Lost

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake

Sixteen-year-old Emily and her little brother Aidan are onboard a plane bound for Anchorage. When the plane crashes, both kids and the pilot barely escape with their lives and are left to fight for survival in the Alaskan wilderness. But there is worse to come - Emily and Aidan are being chased, and their shady, unknown pursuers are closing in. As the kids go on the run, Emily finds herself in greater danger than she could have imagined. Because nothing in her life is what it seems - not even the things she holds dearest of all...

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Hodder Children's Books

The Survival Game

Nicky Singer
Authors:
Nicky Singer

In a world full of checkpoints and controls, can love and hope defy the borders? A searing, timely story, as arresting as it is beautiful. Mhairi Anne Bain owns only two things: a gun with no bullets and her identity papers. The world is a shell of what it once was. Now, you must prove yourself worthy of existence at every turn, at every border checkpoint. And if you are going to survive, your instincts will become your most valuable weapon. Mhairi has learnt the importance of living her own story, of speaking to no one. But then she meets a young boy with no voice at all, and finds herself risking everything to take him to safety. And so Mhairi and the silent boy travel the road north. But there are rumours that things in Scotland have changed since she has been away. What Mhairi finds there is shocking and heart-breaking, but might finally re-connect her to her sense of self and to the possibility of love.An extraordinary story about survival and what it costs, about the power of small kindnesses to change everything.

Hodder Children's Books

Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart
Quercus Children's Books

The Darkest Minds

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

The first book in the heart-stopping The Darkest Minds trilogy, by New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, for fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games.Now a major motion picture from the producers of Stranger Things and Arrival. This is the film tie-in edition, with EIGHT PAGES of full-colour photos. Ruby is sixteen. She is dangerous. And she is alive. For now.A mysterious disease has killed most of America's children. Ruby might have survived, but she and the others have emerged with something far worse than a virus: frightening abilities they cannot control. Pressured by the government, Ruby's parents sent her to Thurmond, a brutal state 'rehabilitation camp', where she has learned to fear and suppress her new power. But what if mastering it is a whole generation's only chance for survival?'A riveting emotional read that kept me on the edge.' - Melissa Marr, author of Wicked LovelyAlexandra Bracken is the New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, Wayfarer and The Darkest Minds series. Visit her online at www.alexandrabracken.com and on Twitter @alexbracken.The Hunger Games's Amandla Stenberg and Game of Thrones's Gwendoline Christie star in the riveting film adaptation - out now!

Franklin Watts

At Sea

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles
Wayland

Fantastic Forces and Motion

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Franklin Watts

The Home Front

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Summer of Us

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse
Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins
Hodder Children's Books

I Am Fugitive

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir
Orchard Books

A Thousand Perfect Notes

C. G. Drews
Authors:
C. G. Drews
Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Hodder Children's Books

The Outcast

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu

The highly anticipated prequel to the New York Times bestselling Summoner trilogy.Arcturus is just an orphaned stable boy when he accidentally summons a demon. As Hominum's first common summoner, he becomes the key to a secret that the powerful nobility would do anything to keep hidden.He is immediately whisked away to Vocans Academy where the lost arts of summoning, spell craft and demonology are taught to the noble children of the Empire. In no time, Arcturus finds himself surrounded by enemies as noble teachers and students question his right to be there.But before he can even attempt to make friends, his life is turned upside down once again, for the Empire is in turmoil. Rebellion is simmering among the masses, and it will not be long before it boils over. Arcturus must choose a side . . . or watch the Empire crumbleSet before the events of SUMMONER: The Novice this is the perfect introduction to the New York Times bestselling SUMMONER series.P) Hodder Children's Books 2018

Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed

SUNDAY TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER"A very funny and inspiring read! Brilliantly practical with a wide variety of examples that make it relevant for both boys and girls (and adults)!" - Amazon Customer"A truly inspiring book for the younger generation!" - Amazon Customer"Brilliant book - perfect for that child/person who needs a little bit of confidence" - Amazon Customer"Everyone should read this ... Very motivational and inspiring." - Amazon Customer"Genuinely funny and engaging. There are messages in this book for both adults and children. It's a must read." - Amazon CustomerThis positive and empowering guide, by bestselling mindset author Matthew Syed, will help boys and girls build resilience, fulfil their potential and become successful, happy, awesome adults.I'm no good at sport ... I can't do maths ... I really struggle with exams ... Sound familiar?If you believe you can't do something, the chances are you won't try. But what if you really could get better at maths, or sport or exams? In fact, what if you could excel at anything you put your mind to?You Are Awesome can help you do just that, inspiring and empowering young readers to find the confidence to realise their potential. The first children's book from Times journalist, two-time Olympian and best-selling mindset author Matthew Syed, it uses examples of successful people from Mozart to Serena Williams to demonstrate that success really is earned rather than given, and that talent can be acquired. With hard work and determination, practice and self-belief, and, most importantly, a Growth Mindset, there's no reason why anyone can't achieve anything. Practical, insightful and positive, this is the book to help children build resilience, embrace their mistakes and grow into successful, happy adults.

Orion Children's Books

The Astonishing Colour of After

Emily X. R. Pan
Authors:
Emily X. R. Pan
Orion Children's Books

Six of Crows: Crooked Kingdom

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo
Franklin Watts

Your Number's Up

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson
Franklin Watts

Get in Shape

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson