Michele Elliott - Bullies, Cyberbullies and Frenemies - Hachette Children's Group

Bullies, Cyberbullies and Frenemies

By Michele Elliott

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Learn how to beat the bullies with this essential guide to bullying, cyberbullying and friendship for teenagers.

Friendships and peer relationships are one of the most difficult things about being a teen. Many face bullying of some kind or another, whether in person or on the Internet or social media. Written by Kidscape founder Michele Elliott, Teen Life Confidential: Bullies, Cyberbullies and Frenemies is a friendly, kind and practical guide to navigating these tricky relationships, and beating the bullies. Are there practical things you can do to stop being bullied - at home, at school and online? What are frenemies and how can you deal with them? How can you learn to make friends and respect yourself? If you're a bully, how can you change your behaviour? This brilliant book will tell you what bullying is, where it happens and what you can do about it, as well as how to assert yourself and develop your self-esteem. Advice is supported by quotes from teenagers, who share their own experiences, and will help to make readers feel they're not alone.

Biographical Notes

Michele Elliott is the founder of the charity Kidscape and has been awarded an OBE for services to children. She is a child psychologist and teacher with 40 years' experience and has worked with charities including Childline and the NSPCC.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750279383
  • Publication date: 27 Feb 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Wayland
Hodder Children's Books

The Dark Lady

Akala
Authors:
Akala

Henry Shakespeare is a street boy searching for his parents - his dark skin and curious name are his only clues.A thrilling new series set in a magical realist Shakespearean world, written by award-winning rapper, poet and writer Akala, founder of the renowned Hip-hop Shakespeare Company.When a rich family catch Henry stealing a book, it emerges that the young street boy, raised as an orphan, can read. Astounded, the family take him in as their servant. They soon become fond of Henry and allow him to develop a passion for literature and plays, attending those of his favourites such as Marlowe, Kyd and most of all Shakespeare. But then Henry inherits a vast sum from a mysterious source. Overwhelmed by the desire to find his parents, Henry leaves his adopted family and embarks on an amazing adventure.Perfect for introducing secondary school readers to Shakespeare and the Renaissance, The Dark Lady contains poems, rhymes and songs.Inspired by the Dark Lady (the fierce, independent black woman alluded to in Shakespeare's sonnets 127-154) and featuring Shakespeare himself and many of his key characters, this exciting new series brings to life through fresh eyes the visceral, violent and daring world of the Renaissance.

Hodder Children's Books

The Other Side of Lost

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake
Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Orchard Books

Happy to Be Me

Emma Dodd
Authors:
Emma Dodd

A fun-filled, rhyming book celebrating bodies of all kinds, from Emma Dodd, the bestselling author-illustrator of Forever and Sometimes.Thank you, hands, you touch and hold.Ears, you hear the things I'm told.Thank you, eyes, you let me see. Oh, I'm so happy to be me!From arms that let us hug, to feet that are perfect for tickling ... our bodies are amazing. And the most important thing of all? Our hearts that let us love!Emma Dodd's simple, heartfelt story offers children and their parents a way of talking easily, and with gratitude, about their bodies and the wonderful things they can do. This is the perfect way to build body confidence and self-esteem in even the youngest children!Look out for these other amazing books from Emma Dodd (written by Giles Andreae):I Love YouI Love My MummyI Love My DaddyI Love My GrandmaI Love My GrandadI Love My PuppyI Love My BirthdayI Love My DinosaurI Love My Teacher

Wren & Rook

The You Are Awesome Journal

Matthew Syed, Lindsey Sagar, Toby Triumph
Contributors:
Matthew Syed, Lindsey Sagar, Toby Triumph

THE COMPANION TO THE NUMBER 1 PHENOMENON YOU ARE AWESOMEBoys and girls everywhere have been discovering that they can be awesome thanks to bestselling mindset author Matthew Syed. Now he's created the perfect companion to You Are Awesome, an interactive journal full of challenges and activities to help kids come up with their own plan of action to be the best they can be. From looking at ways to step out of your comfort zone and build confidence to working towards an ambitious long-term goal, The You Are Awesome Journal is for every kid who dreams big - and wants to make those dreams come true.Praise for YOU ARE AWESOME: "Great book for young children about determination, resilience, self-confidence" - Philip Neville"An awesome book about becoming awesome. How inspiring it is to know that there's a path to awesomeness and that anyone - absolutely anyone - can go down that path. This book shows you how." - Professor Carol Dweck"I read YOU ARE AWESOME in one go, and then read it again! It answered so many questions I had about how to get better at some of the things I struggle with. It has stories of how others have been successful and makes you feel that you can do it too. After reading YOU ARE AWESOME I've changed how I approach difficult things. I've told all my friends to read it!" - Freddie, age 10"I loved this book. YOU ARE AWESOME really builds your confidence and shows you how the right mindset can help you achieve your dreams. It shows that you have to be brave, prepare for failure and have self-belief. I will definitely be using some of the principles in this book to tackle some everyday challenges and other bigger ones too. A definite must read for anyone who wants to achieve more with their lives and build their confidence. - Ella, age 13

Quercus Children's Books

The Darkest Minds

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Hodder Children's Books

Girl at Sea

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay

Prepare to fall in love this summer and join Precious and Harry on their road trip to the end of the world and back ... Your summer crush starts here! For fans of Zoella, Geek Girl and Holly Bourne.Precious is spending an awkward August in an Algarve villa while her parents fight dirty over an expensive divorce. When she misses her plane home, Precious finds herself on the run along the coast of Portugal. Along the way she meets Harry, travelling Europe before he starts uni. But Precious and her problems are the last thing Harry needs as he struggles to shake off the ghost of his drowned father and get back to something resembling a life. As it turns out, Precious is EXACTLY what Harry needs. Until the complicated but dreamy Nathan shows up, and matters take a darker turn ... Join Precious, Harry and Nathan on a summer road trip with a twist!

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Summer of Us

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse
Hodder Children's Books

I Am Fugitive

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir

What if finding out the meaning of life meant destroying peace on Earth - would you still seek out the answers? Perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas, The Hunger Games and Divergent After rescuing thousands of teenagers from a gruelling regime in space, Amy Sullivan must try to make sense of home, as it is now. But after an invasion of such colossal proportions, it seems Earth won't be going back to normal any time soon. And when Amy is made Ambassador for Solidarity at the newly created Earth Council, she must defend Earth against new attacks from Visitors. Working day and night to protect planet Earth, Amy still dreams of Caeser, the boy with the dimples, from another planet - she is convinced he can help her. But Caeser is still in space, where conflict is the only thing on agenda. Are two teenagers from different galaxies able to make those in power choose peace ... over the very meaning of life itself?

Orchard Books

A Thousand Perfect Notes

C. G. Drews
Authors:
C. G. Drews

An emotionally charged story about the power of dreams, and how passion can turn to obsession.Beck hates his life. He hates his violent mother. He hates his home. Most of all, he hates the piano that his mother forces him to play hour after hour, day after day. He will never play as she did before illness ended her career and left her bitter and broken. But Beck is too scared to stand up to his mother, and tell her his true passion, which is composing his own music - because the least suggestion of rebellion on his part ends in violence.When Beck meets August, a girl full of life, energy and laughter, love begins to awaken within him and he glimpses a way to escape his painful existence. But dare he reach for it?Thrilling and powerfully written, this is an explosive debut for YA readers which tackles the dark topic of domestic abuse in an ultimately hopeful tale.

Franklin Watts

Breath by Breath: A Mindfulness Guide to Feeling Calm

Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
Contributors:
Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli

Franklin Watts

My Rights and Rules

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard
Franklin Watts

My Health and Wellness

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard
Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Hodder Children's Books

The Outcast

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu
Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Orion Children's Books

The Astonishing Colour of After

Emily X. R. Pan
Authors:
Emily X. R. Pan
Franklin Watts

Get Outdoors: A Mindfulness Guide to Noticing Nature

Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
Contributors:
Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
Orchard Books

Everless

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland
Orchard Books

Giraffes Can't Dance Board Book

Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees

Number One bestseller Giraffes Can't Dance from author Giles Andreae has been delighting children for over 15 years. Gerald the tall giraffe would love to join in with the other animals at the Jungle Dance, but everyone knows that giraffes can't dance . . . or can they? A funny, touching and triumphant story about a giraffe who finds his own tune and confidence too, with joyful illustrations from Guy Parker Rees. This sturdy board book edition of the bestselling picture book will delight and entertain every toddler. ... wonderfully funny. - IndependentA fantastically funny and wonderfully colourful romp of a picture book. All toddlers should grow up reading this or hearing their parents read it aloud to them. - Daily Telegraph