Michele Elliott - Bullies, Cyberbullies and Frenemies - Hachette Children's Group

Bullies, Cyberbullies and Frenemies

By Michele Elliott

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Learn how to beat the bullies with this essential guide to bullying, cyberbullying and friendship for teenagers.

Friendships and peer relationships are one of the most difficult things about being a teen. Many face bullying of some kind or another, whether in person or on the Internet or social media. Written by Kidscape founder Michele Elliott, Teen Life Confidential: Bullies, Cyberbullies and Frenemies is a friendly, kind and practical guide to navigating these tricky relationships, and beating the bullies. Are there practical things you can do to stop being bullied - at home, at school and online? What are frenemies and how can you deal with them? How can you learn to make friends and respect yourself? If you're a bully, how can you change your behaviour? This brilliant book will tell you what bullying is, where it happens and what you can do about it, as well as how to assert yourself and develop your self-esteem. Advice is supported by quotes from teenagers, who share their own experiences, and will help to make readers feel they're not alone.

Biographical Notes

Michele Elliott is the founder of the charity Kidscape and has been awarded an OBE for services to children. She is a child psychologist and teacher with 40 years' experience and has worked with charities including Childline and the NSPCC.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750279383
  • Publication date: 27 Feb 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Wayland
Hodder Children's Books

Devoted

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Quercus Children's Books

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Franklin Watts

Bullying

Louise Spilsbury
Authors:
Louise Spilsbury
Franklin Watts

Trans Global

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Wayland

Heroes of Light and Sound

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown

What if you could be invisible or have super vision and hearing? You'd be a superhero BUT are these superpowers feasible in the real world? Superpower Science: Heroes of Light and Sound tells you all about the reality of these superpowers when looked at through a scientific lens.The series Superpower Science focuses on the superpowers commonly associated with superheroes and reveals just how scientifically realistic they could be to us mere humans. Each title focuses on four to seven superpowers and explains which science principles would come into action if the superpower existed and what effect these science principles would have on the body. Momentum builds through each superhero story as we question everything and clearly explain the science behind their powers as they would exist in real-life.The comic book format and vintage-looking colourful illustrations paired with quirky and humorous explanations turn what would be considered by many as dry physics principles into high interest exciting books. By pointing out the physical limitations of superpowers, the series aims to fix them, not crush children's dreams but inspire them to be interested in science. Perfect for reader aged 9 and up.

Wayland

The Superhuman Body

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Franklin Watts

Worries

Paul Christelis, Ximena Jeria
Contributors:
Paul Christelis, Ximena Jeria
Quercus Children's Books

The Darkest Legacy

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Hodder Children's Books

Girl at Sea

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay
Franklin Watts

My New Friend

Tom Easton
Authors:
Tom Easton
Franklin Watts

Breath by Breath: A Mindfulness Guide to Feeling Calm

Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
Contributors:
Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli

Franklin Watts

My New Sibling

Tom Easton, Charlie Alder
Contributors:
Tom Easton, Charlie Alder

This first experiences series uncovers the worries and fears associated with big life changes that young children might experience and provides reassurance by explaining how they might feel and shows ways that children can learn to cope with these feelings. The sensitively written story provides guidance not only for children, but also for adults who want to help their child through these unsettling times in their lives. Children can read the books on their own or can discuss the books with an adult. Notes for teachers and parents at the back of the books provide related advice and information to help them guide and support children.

Orion Children's Books

The Sleepover

Lauren Pearson, Richard Watson
Contributors:
Lauren Pearson, Richard Watson

A red Early Reader full of humour, fun and a surprising friendship from Lauren Pearson, illustrated by Richard Watson. Perfect for children who are feeling a little nervous or anxious.Clark is desperate to have his very first sleepover. His sister Camilla has them ALL the time! But he's a little bit nervous about it, too ... until the night he meets his unlikely new friend, Johnny. Would you have a sleepover with a spider? Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.

Quercus Children's Books

We Are Young

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke

'Hard-hitting, heartbreaking and hopeful, We Are Young is a must read.' SARAH CROSSANAn unforgettable story from the queen of emotional suspense, for fans of Jodi Picoult, Megan Abbott and Courtney Summers.It starts with a wedding. And a car crash. On the same night Evan's mother marries local radio DJ 'Breakfast Tim', Evan's brand-new step-brother Lewis is found unconscious and terribly injured, the only survivor of a horrific car crash.A media storm erupts, with the finger of blame pointed firmly at loner stoner Lewis. Everyone else seems to think the crash was drugs-related, but Evan isn't buying it. With the help of her journalist dad, Harry, she decides to find out what really happened that night.As Evan delves deeper into the lives of the three teenagers who died in the crash, she uncovers some disturbing truths and a secret that threatens to tear her family - and the community - apart.

Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed

This positive and empowering guide, by bestselling mindset author Matthew Syed, will help boys and girls build resilience, fulfil their potential and become successful, happy, awesome adults.I'm no good at sport ... I can't do maths ... I really struggle with exams ... Sound familiar?If you believe you can't do something, the chances are you won't try. But what if you really could get better at maths, or sport or exams? In fact, what if you could excel at anything you put your mind to?You Are Awesome can help you do just that, inspiring and empowering young readers to find the confidence to realise their potential. The first children's book from Times journalist, two-time Olympian and best-selling mindset author Matthew Syed, it uses examples of successful people from Mozart to Serena Williams to demonstrate that success really is earned rather than given, and that talent can be acquired. With hard work and determination, practice and self-belief, and, most importantly, a Growth Mindset, there's no reason why anyone can't achieve anything. Practical, insightful and positive, this is the book to help children build resilience, embrace their mistakes and grow into successful, happy adults.

Quercus Children's Books

Clean

Juno Dawson
Authors:
Juno Dawson

A razor-sharp, adrenaline rush of a novel from award-winning author Juno Dawson, Clean is Gossip Girl meets Girl, Interrupted. 'Compulsively readable and touching - I loved it' Marian KeyesWhen socialite Lexi Volkov almost overdoses, she thinks she's hit rock bottom. She's wrong. Rock bottom is when she's forced into an exclusive rehab facility. From there, the only way is up for Lexi and her fellow inmates, including the mysterious Brady.As she faces her demons, Lexi realises love is the most powerful drug of all ... It's a dirty business getting clean.Addiction and redemption, love and despair. Clean will have you hooked from the first page. ** With a stunning rose gold foil cover, Clean will look amazing on your bookshelf **

Hodder Children's Books

Words in Deep Blue

Cath Crowley
Authors:
Cath Crowley

A love story for everyone who loves books.'One of the loveliest, most exquisitely beautiful books I've read in a very long time ... I didn't just read the pages, I lived in them' Jennifer Niven, author of All the Bright PlacesTwo teens find their way back to each other in a bookstore full of secrets and crushes, grief and hope - and letters hidden between the pages. Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love letter into his favourite book in his family's bookshop. She waited. But Henry never came. Now Rachel has returned to the city - and to the bookshop - to work alongside the boy she'd rather not see, if at all possible, for the rest of her life. But Rachel needs the distraction. Her brother drowned months ago, and she can't feel anything anymore. As Henry and Rachel work side by side - surrounded by books, watching love stories unfold, exchanging letters between the pages - they find hope in each other. Because life may be uncontrollable, even unbearable sometimes. But it's possible that words, and love, and second chances are enough.

Hodder Children's Books

Movie Night

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay

If you love rom-coms you'll love this sassy, funny romance that will make you fall head over heels with the help of twelve classic films and a misbehaving cat named Nigel. Perfect for fans of Zoella, Geek Girl and Holly Bourne.One: I am hopelessly in love with Hanna Bergdahl. Two: for the first time since our recent reunion Hanna Bergdahl appears to be single. And three: I am stuck in that inescapable netherworld of demons and acne - the Friend Zone.Sol and Hanna were best friends at primary school and after reuniting at college, they spend approximately seventy per cent of daylight hours together. When disaster strikes at a New Year's Eve party and Hannah sees new boyfriend Danny Dukas kissing Lizzie Banks, a New Year's Resolution is formed. Sol and Hanna will watch one film a month for twelve months until the next New Year. After all, films hold answers to life's hardest questions. Maybe they'll figure out why they are both members of the dumpee club. Only Sol Adams has a new year's resolution of his own: to kiss Hanna Bergdahl before the year is over. Will Sol ever defeat the Friend Zone?

Orchard Books

Everless

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland
Orchard Books

Giraffes Can't Dance

Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees

Number One bestseller Giraffes Can't Dance from author Giles Andreae has been delighting children for over 15 years. Gerald the tall giraffe would love to join in with the other animals at the Jungle Dance, but everyone knows that giraffes can't dance . . . or can they? A funny, touching and triumphant story about a giraffe who finds his own tune and confidence too, with joyful illustrations from Guy Parker Rees. This sturdy board book edition of the bestselling picture book will delight and entertain every toddler. ... wonderfully funny. - IndependentA fantastically funny and wonderfully colourful romp of a picture book. All toddlers should grow up reading this or hearing their parents read it aloud to them. - Daily Telegraph