Alex Hooper-Hodson - The Boy Files - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Boy Files

Puberty, Growing Up and All That Stuff

By Alex Hooper-Hodson

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

The Boy Files is a bang-up-to-date look at growing up issues, puberty and all the stuff boys really need to know!

A frank, up-to-the-minute guide to boys' growing up issues. The Boy Files offers friendly advice, practical tips and support to help boys navigate the physical and mental rollercoaster of puberty and guide them gently through the potential pitfalls. From willy worries, shaving and body hair to girls, spots, bullying and staying safe in a cyber world, The Boy Files' chatty, big-brotherly style is a feel-good reference source for 'tweens and young teens.

Chapters:
Even superheroes go through puberty
The puberty alphabet
All about hormones
Zits, bits and stinky pits
Girls aren't aliens
Growth spurts, gorilla hair and a voice like VADER!
Sleeping late and controlling the hate
The wandering willy
Staying safe
Live long and prosper

Partner title to The Girl Files by Jacqui Bailey, The Boy Files is written by agony uncle Alex Hooper-Hodson, who is also the author of 52 Teen Boy Problems & How To Solve Them and 52 Teen Girl Problems & How To Solve Them, all published by Wayland.

Biographical Notes

Alex Hooper-Hodson writes the 'Teen Talk' column for the Daily Record and for six years was the agony uncle for Sugar magazine, responding to boys' questions and problems.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750277709
  • Publication date: 25 Apr 2013
  • Page count: 96
  • Imprint: Wayland
Hodder Children's Books

Favourite Enid Blyton Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Winter Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Hodder Children's Books

Bombs and Blackberries

Julia Donaldson, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Julia Donaldson, Thomas Docherty

A short illustrated play set in World War Two, perfect for class reading as well as performance, written by Julia Donaldson, author of the modern classic The Gruffalo. Perfect for the 75th Anniversary of D-Day in 2019.World War Two has been declared and the Chivers children are sent to the safety of the countryside. They are delighted to be brought back home when it looks like the Germans aren't going to invade after all. But the air-raid siren goes off and this time it's frighteningly real.This dramatic and touching play brings Manchester during the Second World War and its people to life, and provides a variety of opportunities for school classes to explore both historical and literacy topics in an involving and creative setting. Also includes helpful tips on staging and costume.'This touching play brings to life the Second World War in a very accessible way for junior children' - Books for KeepsJulia Donaldson (Author)Julia Donaldson is the outrageously talented, prize-winning author of the world's best-loved picture books, and was the 2011-2013 UK Children's Laureate. Her books include Room on the Broom, Stick Man, What the Ladybird Heard and the modern classics The Gruffalo and The Gruffalo's Child which have sold 17 million copies worldwide and have been translated into 70 languages. Julia also writes fiction as well as poems, plays and songs and her brilliant live children's shows are always in demand. Julia and her husband Malcolm divide their time between Sussex and Edinburgh. Thomas Docherty (Illustrator)Thomas Docherty is an acclaimed author and illustrator of children's books including Little Boat, Big Scary Monster and The Driftwood Ball. He also illustrated The Snatchabook, written by his wife Helen, which has been shortlisted for several awards in the UK and US and been translated into 17 languages.

Hodder Children's Books

King Flashypants

Andy Riley
Authors:
Andy Riley
Hodder Children's Books

Stories of Magic and Mischief

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Franklin Watts

British Insects and other Minibeasts

Clare Collinson
Authors:
Clare Collinson
Franklin Watts

British Mammals

Clare Collinson
Authors:
Clare Collinson
Franklin Watts

British Birds

Clare Collinson
Authors:
Clare Collinson

From familiar garden songbirds to powerful birds of prey, there are a whole host of fascinating birds to discover in Britain. Learn all about the remarkable range of British birds inside this book. Find out where to look for different species, how to identify them, when to spot them and much more.The book is part of the 'Nature in your neighbourhood' series - discover the plants and animals that live all around you!

Orion Children's Books

Escape

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Wren & Rook

Wonders of the World's Museums

Molly Oldfield, Harriet Taylor Seed, Peter Malone
Contributors:
Molly Oldfield, Harriet Taylor Seed, Peter Malone

Open up this treasure trove of wonders to visit 43 museums and 50 exhibits! Discover the most fascinating and mysterious objects found in museums, from star attractions to unsung exhibits. With Molly Oldfield, research elf of hit television show QI, unearth the astonishing stories of how these treasures were created, found and finally displayed. Travel back in time to discover an ancient Egyptian pharaoh, encounter China's mysterious Terracotta Army, sail the seas in a Viking ship, take flight in the world's first aeroplane, defend World War Two Britain in Churchill's siren suit, journey to the Moon with Neil Armstrong in the Apollo 11 Command Module and even play in a World Cup Final wearing Pelé's victory shirt. Through stunning photography and glorious illustration, these wonders and many more will bring history, science and culture to life for readers aged 10+, as well as the whole family!

Orchard Books

Bobbi the Bouncy Castle Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Rae the Rollercoaster Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

Whoever You Are

Diana Hendry
Authors:
Diana Hendry

From the Costa award-winning author of Harvey Angell, comes the sequel to Out of the Clouds.Pa is off again to work on his world-changing scientific discovery, leaving the rest of the Coggins family behind at their hidden clifftop home, Dizzy Perch. Oliver is in charge, with strict instructions about no visitors, in order to protect Pa's top-secret location. But Ma doesn't listen, and invites her favourite author to say.When a woman arrives at Dizzy Perch claiming to be the author, the whole family are enchanted by their guest. All apart from Oliver, that is. A good job too, because the woman is really the sister of Pa's Sworn Enemy Mac, whose mission it is to bring Pa down and steal his research. How is Oliver going to be able to keep his promise to Pa and protect his family, when they simply refuse to listen to him...?A classic mystery adventure perfect for fans of Enid Blyton.

Hodder Children's Books

Midnight Sun

Trish Cook
Authors:
Trish Cook

Katie can't leave her house during the day: she has a rare disease that makes even the smallest amount of sunlight deadly. But everything changes when one night, singing her heart out on a deserted station platform, she meets Charlie.Before the night is out, Katie is smitten. But she hasn't told Charlie her secret. She just wants to have her normal love story, before reality kicks in. Lost in her night-time summer romance, Katie knows that love will light the way.

Hodder Children's Books

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Great Snake Escape

Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Contributors:
Dermot O’Leary, Nick East

Meet Toto: she's no ordinary cat, and she can't wait to have an adventure with you! Join Toto for a funny animal escapade written by one of the UK's best-loved broadcasters. For fans of The Aristocats, The Secret Life of Pets, 101 Dalmatians and Atticus Claw Breaks the Law. Purrfect for reading aloud or for children to curl up with and read alone, the story features brilliant black and white illustrations throughout. With gentle themes of friendship, inclusivity and winning in the face of adversity, this is a hilarious must-read for all animal-loving kids! Toto the cat and her brother Silver live footloose and fancy-free in a townhouse in London. Toto is almost totally blind, and learned to trust her senses from a ninja cat-master who taught her back in Italy where they were born. By day, Toto and Silver seem to be ordinary cats, but by night, they love to have adventures! One evening, news reaches Toto that a king cobra has escaped from London Zoo! Together with help from a very posh cat and two hungry tigers, Toto and Silver must investigate. Can they find the giant snake, before it's too late? Dermot says: 'The idea for Toto first came to me when my wife and I rescued two stray cats from an olive grove in Italy. One of them, Toto, has been blind from birth, but we quickly realised she had ninja-like reactions. Like a lot of cat owners (or cat servants), we like to imagine our pets having secret lives when we're out or asleep. So before I knew it I was writing about Toto and her brother Silver's nocturnal adventures around London. I really hope that children who pick it up enjoy reading the adventures of our little Italian underdog (cat).'

Wayland

London

Simon Holland
Authors:
Simon Holland

London is a modern, stylish and ever-changing city and this book takes you on a tour with a vibrant, bold and new approach to information that matches the capital perfectly. Using infographics to bring nuggets of information to life through images and graphics, readers can enjoy hundreds of fascinating facts in a beautiful travel guide that's easy to read and ideal for children. Whether you're visiting, curious from afar or live in London, you can tour its boroughs, ride the transport, look back at London's disease-ridden history, meet the famous residents - past and present - and much more. Find out which tuve station has the most escalators, where has a Roman bikini on display and how many executions happened at the Tower of London, all within this one packed book. This is non-fiction for the modern generation. With a map of the city and pages filled with vivid colours, graphic visuals and bold designs, this guide brings London's facts, history and events to life like never before.

Wayland

52 Teen Girl Problems & How To Solve Them

Alex Hooper-Hodson
Authors:
Alex Hooper-Hodson
Orchard Books

Fairy Charm

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Queen Malice has cast her most dangerous spell yet! The wicked queen has cursed the Magic Hourglass and when the sand runs out, all the magic will be gone from the Secret Kingdom forever! Jasmine, Ellie and Summer must find the four Enchanted Objects to break Queen Malice's spell. But King Merry's ancestors lost the objects long ago! With the magic in the Secret Kingdom already going wonky, can the girls help Fairy Prince Felix find the charmed heart?

Wayland

52 Teen Boy Problems & How To Solve Them

Alex Hooper-Hodson
Authors:
Alex Hooper-Hodson

Agony Uncle, relationship expert, journalist and blogger, Alex Hooper-Hodson received upwards of 2,000 letters a month from teen boys and girls aged 12-15. All can be related to 52 core issues that affect teenage boys and girls today - from first sexual relationships, dealing with spots, how to avoid Facebook mistakes, how drink, drugs and on-line gaming can affect your life - to the social and emotional aspects of family, friends and relationships. Through a 'Problem Page' format Alex explores the key issues that today's teens face.

Hodder Children's Books

Pirates 'n' Pistols

Chris Mould
Authors:
Chris Mould