L.J. Smith - Volume 1: The Awakening & The Struggle - Hachette Children's Group

Volume 1: The Awakening & The Struggle

Books 1 & 2

By L.J. Smith

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A compelling sequence from the best selling author of Night World!

A phenomenally popular vampire romance sequence - now showing on ITV2 - from the best selling author of Night World, L. J. Smith.

The Awakening: Elena Gilbert is used to getting what she wants and she wants mysterious new boy, Stefan. But Stefan is hiding a deadly secret - a secret that will change Elena's life for ever ...

The Struggle: Elena is torn between her boyfriend, Stefan, and his brother, Damon. But these brothers hide dark secrets and a tragic past that threatens them all. Damon wants to lead Elena astray - and he'd rather kill Stefan than let him possess her ...

Biographical Notes

L J Smith is the globally best-selling author of more than 20 books for young adults, including the cult phenomenon the Night World sequence. Since childhood she has been fascinated by the night and the way the ordinary world changes when darkness falls. She lives in Northern California in a rambling house in a small town.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340999141
  • Publication date: 06 Aug 2009
  • Page count: 416
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

Love, Secret Santa

Sareeta Domingo
Authors:
Sareeta Domingo

All I want for Christmas is . . . you! A festive clean teen romance that could melt even Scrooge's heart!Angel loves everything about Christmas - especially Secret Santa! And this year, her school Secret Santa is A-MA-ZING! The thoughtful gifts from her Secret Santa ALMOST make up for the fact that Angel has to organise the school's charity fund-raising campaign with arty, unreliable Caspar Johnson. But as they work together to plan some fun festive events, Angel realises that Caspar has hidden depths - and a secret that he's hiding behind his easy-going facade. A mysterious hand-made advent calendar encourages Angel to take risks and open her heart - but is she brave enough to tell Caspar how she really feels?

Hodder Children's Books

The Liars

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

From the author of Moxie, soon to be a major Netflix production The highly anticipated new novel from Jennifer Mathieu. Two siblings wrestle with the secrets and lies that threaten to destroy their future. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars.How can one family have so many secrets?It's the summer of 1986. Joaquin and Elena, two teenage siblings live in a toxic environment with their alcoholic mother on an island off the Texas Gulf Coast. Elena falls for a new boy who has just arrived from California. Joaquin must wrestle with his decision to stay on Mariposa Island to protect his sister or flee from his mother's abuse. As both teenagers struggle to figure out who they are and want to be, they are caught in a web of family dysfunction and secrets from their mother's past. Can fierce love save them, or will their truth tear them apart?

Hodder Children's Books

The Paper & Hearts Society

Lucy Powrie
Authors:
Lucy Powrie

A brand new series from Booktuber Lucy Powrie - about what happens when you give up on trying to fit in in and let your weird out! It's time to join The Paper & Hearts Society ... Tabby Brown is tired of trying to fit in. She doesn't want to go to parties - in fact, she would much rather snuggle up on the sofa with her favourite book.It's like she hasn't found her people ... Then Tabby joins a club that promises to celebrate books. What could go wrong? EVERYTHING - especially when making new friends brings out an AWKWARD BUZZING feeling all over her body.But Olivia, Cassie, Henry and Ed have something that makes Tabby come back. Maybe it's the Austen-themed fancy-dress parties, or Ed's fluffy cat Mrs Simpkins, or could it be Henry himself ...Can Tabby let her weird out AND live THE BEST BOOKISH LIFE POSSIBLE?

Hodder Children's Books

The Chosen

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu

In a world far from our own, where enemies come in many forms, the ultimate battle for survival is about to begin ... An epic new trilogy from the bestselling author of the Summoner series.CADE CARTER IS LOSTConvicted of a crime he didn't commit, Cade is facing a year in reform school when he finds himself suddenly transported to another realm.BUT THIS NEW WORLD IS NO ESCAPEPopulated by bloodthirsty prehistoric creatures and fierce warriors, Cade's surroundings are full of danger. Along with his fellow students, Cade is forced to become a contender in a deadly game of the highest stakes, controlled by invisible overlords.Who are these brutal rulers, and why did they choose Cade? Before he can find answers, Cade must get ready to fight ...BECAUSE IN THIS GAME, FAILURE IS NOT AN OPTION

Quercus Children's Books

Meat Market

Juno Dawson
Authors:
Juno Dawson
Orion Children's Books

Six of Crows: Collector's Edition

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

Orchard Books

The Magic Thief

Kendall Kulper
Authors:
Kendall Kulper
Hodder Children's Books

The Salvation: Unmasked

L.J. Smith
Authors:
L.J. Smith
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Rain Dragon Rescue

Suzanne Selfors, Dan Santat
Contributors:
Suzanne Selfors, Dan Santat
Hodder Children's Books

The Salvation: Unspoken

L.J. Smith
Authors:
L.J. Smith

An epic battle looms - one that will not only determine Elena's own fate, but that of her entire world.Since her true love Stefan was staked through the heart, everything has changed for Elena. Stefan was hunted down by a scientist who has created a new race of genetically-engineered vampires to take over the paranormal world. Intent on eliminating all the natural vampires left on earth, Damon is the scientist's next target. It's a race against time to find the kryptonite of these strange creatures, before they hurt everyone Elena loves.

Hodder Children's Books

Passionaries

Tonya Hurley
Authors:
Tonya Hurley
Hodder Children's Books

The Salvation: Unseen

L.J. Smith
Authors:
L.J. Smith

Now that the lethal properties of Elena's blood have been discovered, Stefan has been risking it all to destroy the almighty Old Ones. But when Elena is almost killed in a car accident--one that was very clearly not an accident at all--she realizes that the most deadly Old One is determined to take her down. And he just might be powerful enough to do it...

Hodder Children's Books

The Vampire Diaries: The Struggle

L.J. Smith
Authors:
L.J. Smith

Elena is torn between her boyfriend, Stefan, and his brother, Damon. But these brothers hide dark secrets and a tragic past that threatens them all. Damon wants to lead Elena astray - and he'd rather kill Stefan than let him possess her ...

Hodder Children's Books

The Vampire Diaries: The Reunion

L.J. Smith
Authors:
L.J. Smith
Orchard Books

Girl of Nightmares

Kendare Blake
Authors:
Kendare Blake
Hodder Children's Books

The Hunters: Destiny Rising

L.J. Smith
Authors:
L.J. Smith

Elena Gilbert has never been an ordinary teenager. After falling in love with the irresistible vampires Stefan and Damon Salvatore, she became a vampire, died, returned from the dead, and journeyed to hell and back to save Stefan. Now in college, Elena faces a terrifying new danger and discovers her destiny.

Hodder Children's Books

The Divide

L.J. Smith
Authors:
L.J. Smith
Orchard Books

Entice

Jessica Shirvington
Authors:
Jessica Shirvington

I looked up at Phoenix. I think he loved me once. 'You don't have to do this,' I whispered.Since Violet Eden discovered she was Grigori - part angel, part human - her world has been shaken to its core. No longer sure who to trust, Violet soon realises that everyone is hiding something. Even her soulmate, Lincoln. Only one thing is certain: dark angel Phoenix has a hold over her more dangerous than ever...In the race to win the battle against the darkness, Violet's own powers will be pushed to the extreme. And the ultimate betrayal will be revealed...

Quercus Children's Books

Taken by Storm

Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Authors:
Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Bryn knows first-hand that being the alpha of a werewolf pack means making hard decisions, and that being human makes things a thousand times worse. She's prepared to give up her humanity, but the wolf who promised to Change her is waiting - though for what, Bryn doesn't know. Still human, she must take her place in the werewolf Senate, the precarious democracy that rules the North American packs. Standing side by side with werewolves who were ancient long before she was ever born is enough of a challenge, but Bryn soon learns that the Senate has been called to deal with a problem: the kind of problem that involves human bodies, a Rabid werewolf, and memories that Bryn, Chase, and the rest of their pack would rather forget. With bodies stacking up and political pressure closing in from all sides, Bryn and her pack are going to have to turn to old enemies and even older friends for help - especially when it starts to look like this time, the monster might be one of their own.

Hodder Children's Books

The Awakening

L.J. Smith
Authors:
L.J. Smith

A phenomenally popular vampire romance sequence - now showing on ITV2 - from the best selling author of Night World, L. J. Smith.The Awakening: Elena Gilbert is used to getting what she wants and she wants mysterious new boy, Stefan. But Stefan is hiding a deadly secret - a secret that will change Elena's life for ever ...The Struggle: Elena is torn between her boyfriend, Stefan, and his brother, Damon. But these brothers hide dark secrets and a tragic past that threatens them all. Damon wants to lead Elena astray - and he'd rather kill Stefan than let him possess her ...