John Hegley - Stanley's Stick - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444914801
    • Publication date:26 Nov 2012

Stanley's Stick

By John Hegley
Illustrated by Neal Layton

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

A fantastic story of sticks and imaginative play.

Stanley's Stick is a teaming-up of hefty talents - glorious poet John Hegley and award-winning illustrator Neal Layton. Stanley's stick is not just a stick. With a stick in hand, Stanley's options are endless - he flies to the moon, writes in the sand, goes fishing, plays a whistle and rides a dinosaur - and his imagination takes over and the magic begins.


Hegley's lyrical prose captures the free-wheeling expressiveness of childhood, and Layton's deceptively simple illustrations are full of wit and character. Sweet, magical and thoroughly entertaining, this is Hegley and Layton's first collaboration.

Biographical Notes

John Hegley is a popular English performance poet, comedian, musician and songwriter. He began his performing career at London's Comedy Store in 1980. His television appearances include Wogan and Never Mind the Buzzcocks and he frequently performs live and is a regular at the Edinburgh Festival.

Many of Neal Layton's ideas come from his childhood. In the past he has worked on a lettuce farm, in a chocolate factory, a teapot factory, a book shop and has delivered papers. Neal has illustrated more than 40 books to date. Oscar and Arabella which he both wrote and illustrated won him the Smarties prize in 2002.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780340988190
  • Publication date: 05 Apr 2012
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Everything a picture book should be: funny, engaging, slightly odd and utterly original ... A delight from start to finish — The Irish Times
A must read ... delivers a very important message about material things ... this is, simply, a lovely book — School Librarian
This book should guarantee imaginative play — The Sunday Times
Beautifully written ... Stanley is a child many parents will recognise very well indeed — The Bookbag
A book celebrating the power of the imagination. Brilliant illustrations by Neal Layton — Angels & Urchins
'...wonderful rhythmic and a delightfully quirky text.' — The Bookseller
A book celebrating the power of imagination. Brilliant illustrations by Neal Layton. — Angels & Urchins
This book should guarantee hours of imaginative play. — Sunday Times
Everything a picture book should be. — Irish Times
Simply, a lovely book. — School Librarian
This lovely book is simply a 'must have' for all those who want to inspire children's imaginative play... beautifully written. — Early Years Educator
Hodder Children's Books

Will You Help Me Fall Asleep?

Anna Kang, Chris Weyant
Contributors:
Anna Kang, Chris Weyant
Pat-a-Cake

Super Squiggles

Pat-a-Cake, Ana Bermejo
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Ana Bermejo

A fun and creative way to help children master the skills they need before they start school.Super Squiggles is packed with lines, shapes, and patterns to trace, mazes to follow and puzzles to solve. Children will have fun getting to grips with the pre-school skills of pen control and mark-making, the ideal preparation for learning to write.The consultant-approved activities are fun to do and are combined with brilliant, engaging art that children will love.Also available: Let's Count!

Hodder Children's Books

Hugless Douglas and the Baby Birds

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling
Hodder Children's Books

The Other Side of Lost

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake

Sixteen-year-old Emily and her little brother Aidan are onboard a plane bound for Anchorage. When the plane crashes, both kids and the pilot barely escape with their lives and are left to fight for survival in the Alaskan wilderness. But there is worse to come - Emily and Aidan are being chased, and their shady, unknown pursuers are closing in. As the kids go on the run, Emily finds herself in greater danger than she could have imagined. Because nothing in her life is what it seems - not even the things she holds dearest of all...

Hodder Children's Books

Little Tigers

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Mother Tiger and her two cubs journey through their jungle habitat, searching high and low for the perfect new home where they will be safe. A beautifully illustrated celebration of the love between parent and child and the wonders of the natural world. With its mesmerising, atmospheric charcoal drawings and lyrical storytelling, Jo Weaver's new picture book has the feel of an instant classic. Perfect for fans of BBC's Planet Earth.Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards.

Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of Happy

Laura Baker, Angie Rozelaar
Contributors:
Laura Baker, Angie Rozelaar
Orchard Books

Happy to Be Me

Emma Dodd
Authors:
Emma Dodd
Hodder Children's Books

Knock Knock Alien

Caryl Hart, Nick East
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Nick East

Aliens at the door can only mean trouble in this hilarious rhyming counting book that is out of this world! A little girl is in for an interstellar adventure when the noisy space invaders hijack her house to get home. Can she get back down to Earth - without waking Gran?!The follow-up to the hilarious Knock Knock Dinosaur and Knock Knock Pirate - from award-winning author Caryl Hart, creator of Supermarket Zoo, and bestselling illustrator Nick East.

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell

Hodder Children's Books

Amazing

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony

A joyful new picture book by the award-winning Steve Antony, creator of the bestselling Please Mr Panda.A little boy and his pet dragon are the very best of friends. They laugh, they sing, they dance, they snooze. They are both amazing - just like everyone else!A celebration of friendship and being yourself with a positive message about celebrating diversity. The perfect platform to start conversations about the importance of understanding and acceptance. Steve Antony is the winner of the Oscar's First Book Prize and has been nominated for the Kate Greenaway Medal and shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize.

Hodder Children's Books

Everybunny Dream

Ellie Sandall
Authors:
Ellie Sandall

A delightful bedtime routine - perfect for snuggling up and sharing.Cuddle up and snuggle tight.Close your eyes and say goodnight.A cosy group,A peaceful scene...EVERYBUNNY DREAM!Also look out for: Everybunny Dance and Everybunny Count!Praise for Follow Me: 'Lyrically written, Follow Me has a mesmeric quality that leaves you wanting to enjoy multiple consecutive readings. A real gem.' - Huffington PostFollow Ellie on Twitter at @elliesandall

Orchard Books

Cinderella

Ursula Jones, Jessica Courtney Tickle
Contributors:
Ursula Jones, Jessica Courtney Tickle

A sumptuously illustrated retelling of the classic fairytale, Cinderella.Rediscover the magic of Cinderella and enter a world of enchantment and romance with this exquisite picture book retelling. Award-winning author Ursula Jones breathes new life into this enduring and best-loved fairytale with her characteristic blend of warmth, humour and charm. Paired with dazzlingly intricate illustrations, this is a wonderfully evocative, beautiful and contemporary edition of this timeless classic.

Hodder Children's Books

Going to the Volcano

Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez
Contributors:
Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez
Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

This is a moving, funny and inspirational novel from the bestselling author of Skellig."The day is long, the world is wide, you're young and free."One hot summer morning, Davie steps boldly out of his front door. The world he enters is very familiar - the little Tyneside town that has always been his home - but as the day passes, it becomes ever more mysterious. A boy has been killed, and Davie thinks he might know who is responsible. He turns away from the gossip and excitement and sets off roaming towards the sunlit hills above the town.As the day goes on, the real and the imaginary start to merge, and Davie knows that neither he nor his world will ever be the same again. This an outstanding novel full of warmth and light, from a multi-award-winning author. David Almond says: 'I guess it embodies my constant astonishment at being alive in this beautiful, weird, extraordinary world.'

Hodder Children's Books

Knock Knock Pirate

Caryl Hart, Nick East
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Nick East
Hodder Children's Books

Goodnight, Mr Panda

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony

'An ideal book for kids to learn about the importance of good manners.' Sun 'There's a new pre-school politeness tsar in town.' The Times Mr Panda and his friends are getting ready for bed. But some won't brush their teeth, others won't have a bath, and one won't even wear pyjamas! It's down to Mr Panda to show them how to do bedtime properly. Steve Antony's Mr Panda has taken the children's book world by storm, selling over 600,000 copies since it was first published.

Hodder Children's Books

Santa Claude

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Pat-a-Cake

First Writing

Pat-a-Cake, Becky Down
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Becky Down

Give your children a head start at primary school with this essential wipe-clean activity book.A fun and engaging First Writing activity book that will give children a head start as they get to grips with handwriting at school. Designed to complement the National Curriculum, it gently introduces children to handwriting skills and equips parents with the tools and information needed to support them. The consultant-approved activities are fun to do and combined with funny pictures and silly jokes that children will love. The first steps to school success!This book includes: Carefully chosen practice words that increase a child's vocabulary. Directional instructions for right and left-handed children. Wipe-clean pen. Also available: First Phonics, First Numbers, First Day, First Phonics Flash Cards, Times Tables Flash Cards

Orchard Books

Magical Story Collection

A luxurious padded treasury containing FIVE bumper stories about magic and friendship, starring your favourite My Little Pony friends!Twilight Sparkle and her My Little Pony friends have decided to write a journal to tell YOU all about their best adventures! This magical story collection contains hours of storytelling fun: discover how the pony friends stop mischievous Discord from destroying Equestria; join them as they explore a spooky castle; find out how the Magic of Friendship is the most powerful magic of all . . . and much, MUCH more!With a padded hardback cover and super sparkly pink foil, this is the perfect gift for Pony fans!My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic TV series is the number 1 series on TinyPop and PopTV, and is also available to stream on Netflix and BinWeevils.Brand-new feature film with star-studded cast coming to cinemas across the UK in Autumn 2017!Look out for more brilliant stories about your My Little Pony friends:The Big Book of EquestriaPrincess Cadance's Royal HolidayMagical Baby Flurry HeartRace Day in Rainbow FallsTwilight Sparkle and the Crystal EmpireAdventure in Everfree Forest!The Secret of Gabby GumsA Springtime SurpriseCutie Mark Crusaders Forever

Hodder Children's Books

The Blue Balloon

Mick Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen

A celebrated classic which continues to delight millions of children. Kipper has found a soggy blue balloon in the garden. At first, it seems like an ordinary balloon, but it's not. It's full of fun and magic. This is a book to be treasured, loved, read time and time again, with fantastic fold out pages.