Georgia Amson-Bradshaw - Heroic Leaders and Activists - Hachette Children's Group

Heroic Leaders and Activists

By Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Illustrated by Rita Petruccioli

  • Hardback
  • £13.99

A beautifully illustrated series introducing women who have stretched the boundaries of art, science, society and sport, changing the world along the way

In Heroic Leaders and Activists you will meet the early feminists who first stood up for women's rights around the world, including Mary Wollstonecraft and Qiu Jin. Read about the astonishing Helen Keller, who despite being born deaf and blind, became a political activist and writer. Discover the women who have used their art to promote social justice, such as poet Maya Angelou. These inspiring activists for peace, human rights and the environment have all, in their own ways, made their mark on history.

Curious, provocative, engaging, brave, and funny - women who change the world are diverse, intriguing and brilliant. Created by an all-women team and filled with wonderful illustrations, and engaging activities that will nurture your own varied skills, the Brilliant Women series compiles the stories of inspiring women from every field. Retelling their triumphs and adversities, this beautiful series of four books reveals and celebrates the women who have shaped the world we live in now. Perfect reading for the next generation of brilliant girls and boys. Suitable for readers aged 9 and up.

Biographical Notes

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw (Author)
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw is a children's writer and editor who lives in Brighton, East Sussex. She has worked on a number of high-profile and award-winning science books for kids, including the Royal Society Young People's Book Prize winner Eye Benders, and the London Science Museum activity book This Book Thinks You're a Scientist. She remembers the eye-opening and inspiring effect her favourite books had on her as a child, and so takes her responsibility to pass that interest and excitement on very seriously!


Rita Petruccioli (Illustrator)
Rita Petruccioli was born in Rome in 1982. She attended the Accademia di Belle Arti in Rome and ENSAD in Paris. Her works have been exhibited in Italy, France, Germany and South Korea. She works as an illustrator and comic book artist for different projects including advertising, magazines, textile design and children books. She has collaborated with different publishers such as Mondadori, Bao Publishing, Einaudi, Ladybird, Timbuktu Lab, Auzou, ELI, Lavieri, La Nuova Frontiera Junior, Il Castoro and Laterza. When she is not drawing she is engaged in workshops on gender stereotypes in comics.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526304711
  • Publication date: 24 May 2018
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Wayland

The Energy We Use

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Wayland

The Stuff We Buy

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Quercus Children's Books

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

Every family has secrets - but not every family has a secret pact with a demon.Prosper is the only unexceptional Redding in his remarkable family. So, when he discovers that an 800-year-old demon called Alastar is responsible for their luck - and that this demon is currently living inside him - he's more than a little surprised.Alastar isn't keen to be banished back to the demon realm and will do anything to try and trick his unwilling host into a contract - from nasty insults to wild promises. And even more unnerving, his power over Prosper seems to be growing with each passing night. Prosper has only days to break the curse - a feat that seems impossible. But with the help of a feisty witch-in-training, maybe he can do it? A darkly comic tale with thrilling twists and turns that will keep every reader guessing. Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket, Jonathan Stroud and Skulduggery Pleasant.

Wayland

The Houses We Build

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

What are the problems and challenges we face around the world when it comes to the houses we live in? How can we build enough safe, comfortable and energy-efficient homes for everyone who needs them without contributing to climate change and habitat destruction? Interactive 'Solve It!' design challenges give readers the information they need to develop sustainable solutions to the problems discussed, and step-by-step 'Test It!' activities encourage them to explore putting principles into practice.

Wayland

The Cities We Live In

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Franklin Watts

Classification and Evolution

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley
Franklin Watts

Materials and Properties

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley

Straight Forward with Science offers a straightforward, but fun, approach to key science learning. Each book explores basic scientific principles and shows them in action, while simple activities and experiments bring the science to life. Materials and Properties looks at what materials are and how we use them differently according to their properties. Solids, liquids and gases, mixing, separating and changing materials and matter are all also explored.

Wayland

Electricity

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

Finding out about electricity has never been so engaging. This book is full of exciting experiments, fun puzzles, quirky humour and science facts to make you saw WOW ... it's science with a BOOM! For children progressing through Book Bands, it is suitable for reading at level 10: White.Why not look out for the other BOOM SCIENCE titles? This fun series for children aged 6+ explores key science topics including Electricity, Forces, Human Body, Light, Materials, Plants, Seasons and Sound.

Wayland

Forces

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

Finding out about forces has never been so engaging. This book is full of exciting experiments, fun puzzles, quirky humour and science facts to make you saw WOW ... it's science with a BOOM! For children progressing through Book Bands, it is suitable for reading at level 10: White.Why not look out for the other BOOM SCIENCE titles? This fun series for children aged 6+ explores key science topics including Electricity, Forces, Human Body, Light, Materials, Plants, Seasons and Sound.

Franklin Watts

States of Matter

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

What's the matter? Are you in a state over evaporation and condensation? Don't worry - this book will give you the low-down on liquids, a summary about solids and the goods on gases ... and more!This essential KS2 series for children aged 7 and up covers all the key science topics in energetic, quick-fire way, aiding clear comprehension by getting straight to the point! Each spread starts with a 'flash' or headline, summing-up succinctly the science information to follow. Attractive and light-hearted illustration visually conveys the information, adding depth and detail to engage children. Also includes fun jokes and cartoons to keep even the most reluctant readers entertained.

Wayland

The Food We Eat

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Wayland

The Crops We Grow

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

What are the problems and challenges we face around the world when it comes to farming and growing crops? How can we farm without habitat destruction and damage to food chains? Interactive 'Solve It!' design challenges give readers the information they need to develop sustainable solutions to the problems discussed, and step-by-step 'Test It!' activities encourage them to explore putting principles into practice.

Franklin Watts

Living Things

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

Meet and greet the living things that are wriggling, flapping and swimming within these pages. Make friends with pond life by exploring their habitat. Learn about life-cycles, and evolve your knowledge about adaptations. It's all in this book!This essential KS2 series for children aged 7 and up covers all the key science topics in energetic, quick-fire way, aiding clear comprehension by getting straight to the point! Each spread starts with a 'flash' or headline, summing-up succinctly the science information to follow. Attractive and light-hearted illustration visually conveys the information, adding depth and detail to engage children. Also includes fun jokes and cartoons to keep even the most reluctant readers entertained.

Franklin Watts

Rocks

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

Science really rocks! If you're feeling ignorant about igneous, or muddled about metamorphic rocks, read this book. You'll soon recognise a slate from a sandstone, and understand all about fossil formation.This essential KS2 series for children aged 7 and up covers all the key science topics in energetic, quick-fire way, aiding clear comprehension by getting straight to the point! Each spread starts with a 'flash' or headline, summing-up succinctly the science information to follow. Attractive and light-hearted illustration visually conveys the information, adding depth and detail to engage children. Also includes fun jokes and cartoons to keep even the most reluctant readers entertained.

Franklin Watts

Earth and Space

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Franklin Watts

Forces

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Franklin Watts

Electricity

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

What's the buzz about electricity? All bright sparks need to read this book to discover the shocking facts about electricity, as well as all about batteries, circuits and conductors.This essential KS2 series for children aged 7 and up covers all the key science topics in energetic, quick-fire way, aiding clear comprehension by getting straight to the point! Each spread starts with a 'flash' or headline, summing-up succinctly the science information to follow. Attractive and light-hearted illustration visually conveys the information, adding depth and detail to engage children. Also includes fun jokes and cartoons to keep even the most reluctant readers entertained.

Franklin Watts

Easter

Jasmine Brooke
Authors:
Jasmine Brooke
Franklin Watts

Chinese New Year

Robyn Hardyman
Authors:
Robyn Hardyman

This book explores the festival of Chinese New Year and the story behind it and features eight simple origami projects for your own festive fun! The book shows how people around the world celebrate Chinese New Year and what the Chinese calendar and the animals of the zodiac are. Attractively designed, its simple text and wonderful full-colour photos make this an essential book for children celebrating or learning about the festival. The origami activities are accessible to all and are explained with step-by-step illustrations. Your fantastic creations can be used as decorations for the festival, for presents, to impress your teacher for a Chinese New Year, or China, school project or simply to wow your friends!The book is part of the Origami Festivals series, which bring religious festivals to life through origami art. Each festival is examined in detail, from its history to its significance today and the manner in which people worldwide celebrate it. Origami craft activities engage the reader in each festival and add a fun art and design element to the series. An interactive craft series for children aged 9+.

Franklin Watts

Ancient Greece

Anita Ganeri
Authors:
Anita Ganeri