Rae Earl - It's All In Your Head - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781526360809
    • Publication date:10 Aug 2017

It's All In Your Head

A Guide to Getting Your Sh*t Together

By Rae Earl
Illustrated by Jo Harrison

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

From the author of My Mad Fat Diary comes this timely, hilarious and insightful guide to mental health and getting your head together.

"A warm hug of a book ... a true gem" Buzzfeed

This witty, honest and enlightening guide to the whirrings of your brain is the perfect read for any young person who's ever felt overwhelmed, at a loss or in a downward spiral. From the author of My Mad Fat Diary, Rae Earl, it's full of friendly advice, coping strategies and laugh-out-loud moments to get you through the difficult days. Most of all, this is a book from someone who gets it - someone who won't try and fob you off with confusing jargon or irritating slogans, but instead will help you through it with a smile and a cup of tea on hand.

Rae says: As a teenager, I was very adept at hiding my OCD, my anxiety, my depression and my eating disorders. That's why I've written this book - because I hate to think of any teen going through what I did, and feeling like they can't talk about it, or need to hide it. So let's break down some taboos and start a conversation. I want to help you come out the other side feeling happier and healthier, with a deeper understanding of what's going on in your head and how to navigate through life without feeling overwhelmed or isolated.

Where my lack of medical background becomes an issue, Dr Radha swoops in to the rescue. As a GP, mental-health expert and co-host of BBC Radio 1's The Surgery, I've worked with her to make sure all the information and advice is spot-on. She's clever, she's kind and she GETS it. I wish my teenage brain had had access to Dr Radha.

This is a book for fans of Gemma Cairney and Open, Ruby Wax and Frazzled, Matt Haig and Reasons to Stay Alive, Bryony Gordon and Mad Girl. And most importantly, it's a book to make you feel like you're not alone. You're really, really not.

Biographical Notes

Rae Earl (Author)
Rae Earl (author)
Rae Earl was born in Stamford, Lincolnshire in 1971. After some adequate schooling she went to Hull University & won the Phillip Larkin prize for a frankly magnificent dissertation. She then did every job in a radio station except 'accountant'. Her books My Mad Fat Diary and My Madder Fatter Diary have been made into a TV show that is shown in more than 50 countries worldwide. My Mad Fat Diary has been nominated for a host of awards, includng two BAFTAS.
Rae lives in Hobart, Australia where she is currently writing, amongst other things, a TV drama about a female soccer team.

Jo Harrison (Illustrator)
Jo Harrison is an illustrator and a designer. Among other high-profile projects, she illustrated Girl Up and campaigns for Women's Aid and No More Page Three.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526300027
  • Publication date: 10 Aug 2017
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Wren & Rook
A warm hug of a book ... a true gem — Chelsea Pippin, Buzzfeed
Orchard Books

The Worrysaurus

Rachel Bright, Chris Chatterton
Contributors:
Rachel Bright, Chris Chatterton
Orchard Books

Be Brave Little Penguin Board Book

Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees

A feel-good rhyming story with a positive message about confidence and self-esteem, from the creators of international bestseller, Giraffes Can't Dance. Now available in a board book - perfect for even the littlest readers!Little Penguin Pip-Pip would love to join in with all his friends swimming in the sea, but there's just one problem . . . he's scared of water. Can Pip-Pip overcome his fears and finally take the plunge? This irresistible story shows that sometimes all it takes is a little bit of encouragement - and a whole lot of heart - to finally make that leap!This touching tale will soon become a new family favourite.'All toddlers should grow up reading this' - Daily Telegraph on Giraffes Can't Dance

Orion Children's Books

A Strange Kind of Brave

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Quercus Children's Books

Meat Market

Juno Dawson
Authors:
Juno Dawson

Jana Novak's history sounds like a classic model cliché: tall and gangly, she's uncomfortable with her androgynous looks until she's unexpectedly scouted and catapulted to superstardom. But the fashion industry is as grimy as it is glamorous. And there are unexpected predators at every turn. Jana is an ordinary girl from a south London estate, lifted to unimaginable heights. But the further you rise, the more devastating your fall ... Honest and raw, this is a timely exposé of the dark underbelly of the fashion industry in an era of #TimesUp and #MeToo. It might just be Juno Dawson's most important book yet.

Hodder Children's Books

Will You Help Me Fall Asleep?

Anna Kang, Chris Weyant
Contributors:
Anna Kang, Chris Weyant
Orchard Books

Giraffes Can't Dance 20th Anniversary Sticker Activity Book

Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees

Come into the jungle for hours of sticker activity fun with Gerald the Giraffe and friends. Over 250 stickers inside!Much-loved classic, Giraffes Can't Dance, has been a family favourite for 20 years. And now you can join in the fun! Help Gerald the Giraffe find his way through the maze to the Jungle Dance. Create your own super-colourful dancing scene. Join up the dots, complete the sticker puzzle, spot the difference ... And lots more!With over 250 stickers, and lots of brilliant animal activities, this fun-packed activity book is perfect for Giraffes Can't Dance fans old and new.

Orchard Books

The Boy Who Steals Houses

C. G. Drews
Authors:
C. G. Drews

Can two broken boys find their perfect home? By turns heartbreaking and heartwarming, this is a gorgeously told, powerful story.Sam is only fifteen but he and his autistic older brother, Avery, have been abandoned by every relative he's ever known. Now Sam's trying to build a new life for them. He survives by breaking into empty houses when their owners are away, until one day he's caught out when a family returns home. To his amazement this large, chaotic family takes him under their wing - each teenager assuming Sam is a friend of another sibling. Sam finds himself inextricably caught up in their life, and falling for the beautiful Moxie. But Sam has a secret, and his past is about to catch up with him.Heartfelt storytelling, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer Niven.

Wren & Rook

Turn Off, Live On

Vincent Vincent
Authors:
Vincent Vincent
Orchard Books

The Way Home For Wolf

Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Contributors:
Rachel Bright, Jim Field

A feel-good tale of friendship set in the snowy Arctic from the creators of the bestselling, multi-award-winning The Lion Inside and The Koala Who Could.Wilf is as strong and independent as a wolf cub can be. He doesn't need help from his friends and family - whatever it is, he can do it ALL BY HIMSELF. But when Wilf finds himself lost and alone in the snow and chill of an Arctic night, he discovers something important - sometimes we all need the help of a friend to keep us safe and show us the way.Look out for more books by Rachel Bright and Jim Field:The Lion InsideThe Koala Who CouldThe Squirrels Who Squabbled

Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Wren & Rook

Trans Mission

Alex Bertie
Authors:
Alex Bertie
Wayland

I Don't Care - Learning About Respect

Brian Moses
Authors:
Brian Moses

This classic picture book, illustrated by the award-winning artist Mike Gordon, explains to young children what it means to be a respectful member of society and the importance of having respect for other people's needs. It suggests ways of doing this, such as giving up your seat in a public place so that an elderly person can sit down. It encourages children to think about what respect means to them and looks at why it is important to have respect for library books, rules, animals, public places, as well as the concept of self-respect. This book is part of a series called Values, which helps children to develop their own value system and make responsible decisions. Notes for parents and teachers show how ideas in the books can be used as starting points for further discussion at home and in the classroom or in school assemblies.Other titles in the Values series: Taking Responsibility and Learning About Honesty

Wayland

It's Not Fair

Brian Moses
Authors:
Brian Moses

Young children experience many confusing emotions in their early years and It's Not Fiar looks at the situations where children feel they have been treated unfairly, in light-hearted but ultimately reassuring way. This picture book examines how and why people find situations unfair, illustrates scenarios of people acting out because of this, and the best way to deal with it with age-appropriate content.Ideal for home or the classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with situations when things feel unfair.

Orchard Books

The Girl's Guide to Summer

Sarah Mlynowski
Authors:
Sarah Mlynowski

Boys, best friends and a summer spent backpacking around Europe... What could possibly go wrong? The perfect holiday read from bestselling YA author, Sarah Mlynowski.Sydney Aarons is leaving her Manhattan townhouse for a summer backpacking around Europe with her best friend, Leela. They're visiting London, France, Italy, Switzerland and everywhere in between - it's going to be the trip of a lifetime.BUT... The trip gets off to a bad start when Leela's ex-boyfriend shows up on their flight out of JFK. When they touch down in London, Leela Instagrams their every move in the hope Matt will come and find them... Which he does, along with the most gorgeous guy Sydney has ever seen.Will Sydney's summer fling last the distance? And what will happen when they all head home?

Wayland

Proud to be Deaf

Ava Beese, Lilli Beese, Nick Beese, Romina Martí
Contributors:
Ava Beese, Lilli Beese, Nick Beese, Romina Martí
Quercus Children's Books

Blue: Ride

Lisa Glass, Lisa Glass
Authors:
Lisa Glass, Lisa Glass
Quercus Children's Books

Coco

Gemma Burgess, Gemma Burgess
Authors:
Gemma Burgess, Gemma Burgess
Orchard Books

The Mission

Allen Zadoff
Authors:
Allen Zadoff
Wayland

I Feel Jealous

Brian Moses, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Brian Moses, Mike Gordon