Rae Earl - It's All In Your Head - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781526360809
    • Publication date:10 Aug 2017

It's All In Your Head

A Guide to Getting Your Sh*t Together

By Rae Earl
Illustrated by Jo Harrison

  • Paperback
  • £9.99

From the author of My Mad Fat Diary comes this timely, hilarious and insightful guide to mental health and getting your head together.

"A warm hug of a book ... a true gem" Buzzfeed

This witty, honest and enlightening guide to the whirrings of your brain is the perfect read for any young person who's ever felt overwhelmed, at a loss or in a downward spiral. From the author of My Mad Fat Diary, Rae Earl, it's full of friendly advice, coping strategies and laugh-out-loud moments to get you through the difficult days. Most of all, this is a book from someone who gets it - someone who won't try and fob you off with confusing jargon or irritating slogans, but instead will help you through it with a smile and a cup of tea on hand.

Rae says: As a teenager, I was very adept at hiding my OCD, my anxiety, my depression and my eating disorders. That's why I've written this book - because I hate to think of any teen going through what I did, and feeling like they can't talk about it, or need to hide it. So let's break down some taboos and start a conversation. I want to help you come out the other side feeling happier and healthier, with a deeper understanding of what's going on in your head and how to navigate through life without feeling overwhelmed or isolated.

Where my lack of medical background becomes an issue, Dr Radha swoops in to the rescue. As a GP, mental-health expert and co-host of BBC Radio 1's The Surgery, I've worked with her to make sure all the information and advice is spot-on. She's clever, she's kind and she GETS it. I wish my teenage brain had had access to Dr Radha.

This is a book for fans of Gemma Cairney and Open, Ruby Wax and Frazzled, Matt Haig and Reasons to Stay Alive, Bryony Gordon and Mad Girl. And most importantly, it's a book to make you feel like you're not alone. You're really, really not.

Biographical Notes

Rae Earl (Author)
Rae Earl (author)
Rae Earl was born in Stamford, Lincolnshire in 1971. After some adequate schooling she went to Hull University & won the Phillip Larkin prize for a frankly magnificent dissertation. She then did every job in a radio station except 'accountant'. Her books My Mad Fat Diary and My Madder Fatter Diary have been made into a TV show that is shown in more than 50 countries worldwide. My Mad Fat Diary has been nominated for a host of awards, includng two BAFTAS.
Rae lives in Hobart, Australia where she is currently writing, amongst other things, a TV drama about a female soccer team.

Jo Harrison (Illustrator)
Jo Harrison is an illustrator and a designer. Among other high-profile projects, she illustrated Girl Up and campaigns for Women's Aid and No More Page Three.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526300027
  • Publication date: 10 Aug 2017
  • Page count: 288
  • Imprint: Wren & Rook
A warm hug of a book ... a true gem — Chelsea Pippin, Buzzfeed
Hodder Children's Books

The Dark Lady

Akala
Authors:
Akala
Franklin Watts

The Class Vote

Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks

Franklin Watts

Racism

Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Contributors:
Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Orion Children's Books

Izzy + Tristan

Shannon Dunlap
Authors:
Shannon Dunlap

This isn't a story about anything new. It's about the oldest thing in the world. It's about love.Tristan, a sixteen-year-old chess genius, lives with his Trinidadian aunt in a rapidly changing section of Brooklyn and uses his talent to earn money for his hustling cousin, Marcus. His world is turned upside-down when Izzy, a bright aspiring doctor raised on the Lower East Side, moves to the neighbourhood with her family, the first white family to settle on the block. A passionate romance springs up between the two, but they're soon swept up in a series of escalating misfortunes: violent conflict between Marcus and Izzy's twin brother; a twisted scheme of romantic deception devised by Izzy's best friend, Brianna; and a secret that tests the bond of family loyalty and forces them to face impossible decisions.

Hodder Children's Books

Smile with Splosh

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling
Franklin Watts

Suffragettes and the Fight for the Vote

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley
Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Sasha the Slime Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Franklin Watts

My Dad's in Prison

Jackie Walter
Authors:
Jackie Walter

Dad's gone away for a while, but I don't understand why. I miss him. Every year in the UK, over 200,000 children suffer the trauma of parental imprisonment. Children with a parent in prison feel isolated, ashamed - unable to talk about their situation because they are scared of being bullied and judged. They often feel that they are to blame and having a parent in prison marks them as an outcast. Children with parents in prison are: - twice as likely to experience conduct and mental health problems, and less likely to do well at school- three times more likely to be involved in offending- sixty-five per cent of boys with a convicted father will go on to offend This sensitively written picture book explores the experience of having a parent in prison from a child's point of view. Perfect for sharing with children, it promotes understanding and provides reassurance. It has been written with the advice and support of Storybook Dads, a charity that seeks to help children and parents maintain their relationship during imprisonment by providing CD recordings of fathers reading bedtime stories to their children.

Orchard Books

The Way Home For Wolf

Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Contributors:
Rachel Bright, Jim Field

A feel-good tale of friendship set in the snowy Arctic from the creators of the bestselling, multi-award-winning The Lion Inside and The Koala Who Could.Wilf is as strong and independent as a wolf cub can be. He doesn't need help from his friends and family - whatever it is, he can do it ALL BY HIMSELF. But when Wilf finds himself lost and alone in the snow and chill of an Arctic night, he discovers something important - sometimes we all need the help of a friend to keep us safe and show us the way.Look out for more books by Rachel Bright and Jim Field:The Lion InsideThe Koala Who CouldThe Squirrels Who Squabbled

Franklin Watts

Worries

Paul Christelis, Ximena Jeria
Contributors:
Paul Christelis, Ximena Jeria
Franklin Watts

My Stepfamily

Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Contributors:
Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean

Sometimes you can sort out a problem on your own. But sometimes you need to ask for help. This book helps young children aged 7+ to make this decision and find out about and understand life in a step family. It features seven case studies from children who have a range of stepfamily issues from a girl who doesn't want to share to a boy who is worried because he likes his stepdad more than his 'real' dad. The end of the book features a short playscript to act out and discuss. The book has engaging illustrations throughout.In this series case studies combine with sensible, practical advice to help children find out what to do in difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

The Red Flag

Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Franklin Watts

Who Did That?

Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Franklin Watts

My Parents' Divorce

Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Contributors:
Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Franklin Watts

Bullying

Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Contributors:
Jane Lacey, Venitia Dean
Franklin Watts

Self-Esteem and Confidence

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Making Friends

Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Elif Balta Parks
Franklin Watts

Overcoming Fear of Failure

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Sex and relationships

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Franklin Watts

Food and Eating

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne