Jenny Colgan - The New Friend - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781510200913
    • Publication date:23 Feb 2017
Books in this series

The New Friend

Book 3

By Jenny Colgan
Illustrated by Thomas Docherty

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

The third children's book featuring Polly and her puffin Neil, from bestselling adult novelist Jenny Colgan. With gorgeous two-colour illustrations throughout, Polly is perfect for reading aloud.

The third children's book featuring Polly and her puffin Neil, from bestselling adult novelist Jenny Colgan. With gorgeous two-colour illustrations throughout, Polly is perfect for reading aloud.

Polly and her puffin friend, Neil, have wonderful adventures by the sea.

But now the time has come for Polly to go to the place she calls 'Big School'. It might be fun, it might be exciting, and it's definitely a little bit scary.

Making new friends can be harder than it sounds . . . join Polly on her quest and find out if there might be a new feathered friend for Neil too!

Ideal for bedtime stories and early readers. From the author of The Little Beach Street Bakery.

Contains lots of fun recipes and activities in addition to the story.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510200906
  • Publication date: 23 Feb 2017
  • Page count: 96
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
With lovely two-tone illustrations, this is ideal for bedtime stories and early readers; not surprisingly, it also includes some delicious recipes! — Parents In Touch
Colgan's emotional intelligence and the charming illustrations by Thomas Docherty make this a great gift — newstatesman.com
A sweet tale of a puffin with a broken wing and the little girl who puts him to rights. — Charlotte Heathcote, Sunday Express
An absolute joy, beautifully written and charmingly illustrated, a delight for children and adults alike — hotbrandscoolplaces.com
Such a nice read — mummyfromtheheart.com
A great gift for kids of four and above — New Statesman
A gentle, heart-warming tale — The Herald, Glasgow
A lovely story about friendship and about going to school. — The Carousel
Any indpendently minded child who doesn't like to follow the crowd, will love this book. Every page is illustrated with gorgeous, black, grey and orange pictures, which capture daily life in a coastal school perfectly. A treat for the 6 or 7-year old child who is crossing the bridge to independent reading, or as a quick read aloud in the KS1 classroom when discussing friendship issues. — The English Association
Franklin Watts

The School Play

Katie Woolley
Authors:
Katie Woolley
Wayland

Amphibians Live on Land and in Water

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

This book explores what makes an animal an amphibian - how their characteristics are different from other groups of animals. It shows many examples of different types of amphibian in their natural environment. The simple text, suitable for children aged 5+, is accompanied by large, attractive photographs. For children progressing through book bands it is suitable for reading at level 8: Purple.This book is part of the 'In the Animal Kingdom' which explore the classification of animals. Why not look for them all: Amphibians live on land and water; Birds have feathers; Fish live in water; Reptiles have scaly skin; Invertebrates have no backbone; Mammals drink milk.

Wayland

Fish Live in Water

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley
Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Sasha the Slime Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel, Kirsty and Sasha for some fun with slime!Sasha the Slime Fairy's special magic helps everyone have loads of fun making and playing with slime. From glitter slime to goo slime, all types of slime are Sasha's favourite! But when Jack Frost steals her three special pieces of slime, the magic starts to go awry. Can Rachel and Kirsty help her get them back before the slime adventure comes to a sticky end?

Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

This is a moving, funny and inspirational novel from the bestselling author of Skellig. *Shortlisted for the 2018 Costa Book Awards.*"The day is long, the world is wide, you're young and free."One hot summer morning, Davie steps boldly out of his front door. The world he enters is very familiar - the little Tyneside town that has always been his home - but as the day passes, it becomes ever more mysterious. A boy has been killed, and Davie thinks he might know who is responsible. He turns away from the gossip and excitement and sets off roaming towards the sunlit hills above the town.As the day goes on, the real and the imaginary start to merge, and Davie knows that neither he nor his world will ever be the same again. This an outstanding novel full of warmth and light, from a multi-award-winning author. David Almond says: 'I guess it embodies my constant astonishment at being alive in this beautiful, weird, extraordinary world.'

Hodder Children's Books

Whoever You Are

Diana Hendry
Authors:
Diana Hendry

From the Costa award-winning author of Harvey Angell, comes the sequel to Out of the Clouds.Pa is off again to work on his world-changing scientific discovery, leaving the rest of the Coggins family behind at their hidden clifftop home, Dizzy Perch. Oliver is in charge, with strict instructions about no visitors, in order to protect Pa's top-secret location. But Ma doesn't listen, and invites her favourite author to say.When a woman arrives at Dizzy Perch claiming to be the author, the whole family are enchanted by their guest. All apart from Oliver, that is. A good job too, because the woman is really the sister of Pa's Sworn Enemy Mac, whose mission it is to bring Pa down and steal his research. How is Oliver going to be able to keep his promise to Pa and protect his family, when they simply refuse to listen to him...?A classic mystery adventure perfect for fans of Enid Blyton.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Happy Christmas

Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty

The fourth children's book featuring Polly and her puffin Neil, from bestselling adult novelist Jenny Colgan. With gorgeous two-colour illustrations throughout, Polly is perfect for reading aloud - especially at Christmas!Polly and her puffin friend Neil have wrapped presents, practised for the village nativity and written their lists for Santa. But Christmas is taking a very long time to arrive. And Polly isn't enjoying the wait.What's worse, Neil is busy helping to keep an egg warm, so he hasn't got much time to play. Will it EVER be Christmas? And will a tiny little puffling hatch in time for the big day?Perfect for bedtime stories and early readers. From the bestselling author of The Little Beach Street Bakery.Contains lots of fun festive recipes and activities in addition to the story.

Franklin Watts

Sid's Stick

Katie Dale, Charlie Alder
Contributors:
Katie Dale, Charlie Alder

Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading Yellow stories are perfect for children aged 4+ who are reading at book band 3 (Yellow) in classroom reading lessons.In this story, Sid the dog is desperate to find his stick, but he keeps getting it wrong. Then he finds another dog at the end of his stick... can they be friends?

Franklin Watts

Where Are We Going?

Elizabeth Dale, Amanda Gulliver
Contributors:
Elizabeth Dale, Amanda Gulliver

Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading Yellow stories are perfect for children aged 4+ who are reading at book band 3 (Yellow) in classroom reading lessons.In this story, the family is on a train ride and the children are disappointed not to be able to get off and do all the things they can see from the window. But when they arrive at the seaside, they will be able to do everything!

Franklin Watts

Sam's Super Family

Damian Harvey, Paul Davidson
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Paul Davidson
Franklin Watts

Hold on to the Mat

Sue Graves, Maarten Lenoir
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Maarten Lenoir

Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading Yellow stories are perfect for children aged 4+ who are reading at book band 3 (Yellow) in classroom reading lessons.In this story, Jack and Mish are on the slide at the funfair. Mum tells them both to hold on, but Jack has other ideas!

Franklin Watts

Hop and Run

Karen Wallace, Ailie Busby
Contributors:
Karen Wallace, Ailie Busby
Orchard Books

The Pet Keeper Fairies

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Franklin Watts

Stone Age Adventures: Little Nut's Big Journey

Vivian French
Authors:
Vivian French

Vivian French introduces us to a world of stone age chaos as we follow the adventures of Pod, Pim and Little Nut. Join this quirky Stone Age family on a big journey. Winter is coming and Pod, Pim and Little Nut need to move home. They must find a cave quickly, the journey is dangerous!Race Ahead with Reading is the perfect introduction to reading chapters with brand new page turning reads in five short bite size chapters, to encourage children to take the driving seat with their reading.

Franklin Watts

Tuck and Noodle: Monster Agents

Franklin Watts, Karyn Gorman
Authors:
Franklin Watts, Karyn Gorman
Orchard Books

The Fairyland Costume Ball

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Learning to read is fun with the Rainbow Magic Fairies! Developed in conjunction with Early Years reading consultants and based on the most up-to-date educational research, the Rainbow Magic Beginner Readers are the perfect way to introduce your child to the magical world of reading.

Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Down Under

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Stormy Day

Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family Gets Funnier

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish

Nine-year-old Mattie is excited. Uncle Vez's brother and his wife have come to visit! With their Australian guests, life in the Butterfield household is even more chaotic than usual. Mattie just has one worry on her Worry List ... Has Grandma met her match in Aunty Sheila?

Orchard Books

A Magical Birthday Surprise

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper