Caroline Lawrence - Escape from Rome - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781510100220
    • Publication date:05 May 2016
Books in this series

Escape from Rome

Book 1

By Caroline Lawrence

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

The first in a brand new historical adventure series from million-copy-selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.

The first in a brand new historical adventure series from million-copy-selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.

The year is AD 94. When the evil Emperor Domitian sends soldiers to seize his family's home in the middle of the night, twelve-year-old Juba must escape with his brother and sisters, and journey to distant Britannia on the edge of the known world.

His task: To avoid capture and death.
His quest: To find a safe haven in Britain.
His destiny: To save the children.

Brand new exciting Roman series from the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2. Historical locations featured in book 1 are Rome, Ostia, Londinium and Fishbourne.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510100237
  • Publication date: 05 May 2016
  • Page count: 240
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Promising to be just as thrilling and richly detailed as her Roman Mysteries. — THE BOOKSELLER
Full of thrills and excitement from the very first sentence. — Linda Lawlor, THE BOOKBAG
This exciting adventure really captures the attention as well as being packed with authentic historical detail — Sarah Brew, PARENTS IN TOUCH
There is an excellent history lesson nestling among all the adventures the children encounter — Ann Giles, The Book Witch
This is a very atmospheric, exciting story full of historical detail and surprises. — Debbie, PRIMARY TIMES - HAMPSHIRE
An interesting and exciting read that is extremely well researched. It is packed with accurate detail of everyday Roman life. The story is so well paced and involving that you don't realise just how much information you are absorbing. — SCHOOL LIBRARIAN on ROMAN MYSTERIES
This is a fast-paced, exciting and dramatic story... — Juliette, POP CLASSICS
A brilliant page-turner which will undoubtedly keep KS2 children on the edge of their seats. If only all historical fiction was as carefully researched as this. — ENGLISH 4-11
Orchard Books

Rarity's Friendship Lesson

This full-colour Early Reader is perfect for young pony fans just starting their own reading adventure.Rainbow Dash is nervous about taking part in a flying competition, but Rarity, Pinkie Pie and Applejack can't go and cheer her on because the contest is high up in the sky and they can't fly! When Twilight gives Rarity some beautiful magic wings, Rarity gets carried away and forgets that she's suposed to be supporting Rainbow Dash. Can Rainbow Dash conquer her fear - and will Rarity learn a friendship lesson?With all your favourite My Little Pony friends and simple language endorsed by a literacy consultant, learning to read has never been more fun!Collect all the My Little Pony Early Readers:Twilight Sparkle's Princess SpellRainbow Dash's Big Race!Pinkie Pie's Perfect PartyApplejack's Sister SurpriseFluttershy's Secret Song

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Franklin Watts

Abdul's Lazy Sons

Franklin Watts
Authors:
Franklin Watts
Franklin Watts

One of Our Tigers is Missing!

Franklin Watts
Authors:
Franklin Watts
Wayland

Making with Living Things

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Each title in this series contains ten 'makes', prompted by featured profiles of great scientists, artists and engineers. Children will learn about and create the experiments and builds that have led to world-changing discoveries, amazing machines and inspiring artworks. Perfect for KS2 science and technology classes aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Making with Sound

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Franklin Watts

My New House

Tom Easton
Authors:
Tom Easton

Rabia is sad and scared about moving house. She's worried about what it will be like and how she will cope. But her mum helps her by arranging a visit there before they move and by packing a bag of special things that she can keep with her rather than pack into boxes.The story shows what happens during a move, about the first night there and the excitement that comes when exploring a new home.This first experiences series uncovers the worries and fears associated with big life changes that young children might experience and provides reassurance by explaining how they might feel and shows ways that children can learn to cope with these feelings. The sensitively written story provides guidance not only for children, but also for adults who want to help their child through these unsettling times in their lives. Children can read the books on their own or can discuss the books with an adult. Notes for teachers and parents at the back of the books provide related advice and information to help them guide and support children.

Orchard Books

Deception

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Trapdoor Mysteries: A Sticky Situation

Abie Longstaff, James Brown
Contributors:
Abie Longstaff, James Brown
Orion Children's Books

Return to Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

The fourth and final book in the new historical adventure series from million copy selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.AD 96. Bouda, an orphaned British girl with a troubled past, has been helping Juba and his siblings since they first arrived in Britannia. For almost two years they have been in hiding from the Emperor Domitian's agents. But now information has come to light that could bring down the tyrant. When Juba and his sister decide to return to Rome with the man who has this evidence, Bouda goes with them. But is it ever right to kill a tyrant?From the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2.

Franklin Watts

Create Your Own Story with Scratch

Kevin Wood
Authors:
Kevin Wood

In Project Code: Create Your Own Story, young coders can use and refine their Scratch skills to create a cool, professional story. Project Code is a great series for young coders already familiar with Scratch, who are ready to take the next step. With a series of fun projects to master, each book allows readers to explore, create and learn coding fundamentals as they go along. This series supports the National Curriculum for Computing at KS2 and is ideal for readers aged 6 and up.

Orchard Books

All I Want For Christmas

Rachel Bright
Authors:
Rachel Bright
Hodder Children's Books

The Adventures of Egg Box Dragon

Richard Adams, Alex T. Smith
Contributors:
Richard Adams, Alex T. Smith

From the author of Watership Down, Richard Adams, comes an enchanting picture book about the adventures of a mischievous homemade dragon. Illustrated by Alex T. Smith, creator of Claude, the bestselling beret-clad canine hero.Whatever you've lost, Egg Box Dragon will find it. He's retrieved missing footballs, glasses and watches aplenty. He's so expert at cracking mysteries that the Queen herself requests his services. Will Egg Box Dragon find the missing diamond from the Queen's crown?Richard Adams was awarded both the Carnegie Medal and the Guardian Award for children's fiction. Watership Down has sold over 50 million copies. A new mini series of Watership Down will premiere Christmas 2017 on BBC1 and launch globally on Netflix Spring 2018, featuring the voices of Olivia Colman and Freddie Fox, amongst others.

Hodder Children's Books

Moxie

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

'I LOVE THIS BOOK SO MUCH!' Zoella'... this is my new favorite book. I'm proud to be a Moxie girl!' Jennifer Niven, author of All the Bright Places and Holding Up the UniverseVivian Carter is fed up. Fed up with her high school teachers who think the football team can do no wrong. Fed up with sexist dress codes, hallway harassment and gross comments from guys during class. But most of all, Viv Carter is fed up with always following the rules.Viv's mum was a tough-as-nails, punk rock Riot Grrrl in the '90s, and now Viv takes a page from her mother's past and creates Moxie, a feminist zine that she distributes anonymously to her classmates. She's just blowing off steam, but other girls respond and spread the Moxie message. As Viv forges friendships with other young women across the divides of cliques and popularity rankings, she realises that what she has started is nothing short of a girl revolution.TIME TO FIGHT LIKE A GIRLA page-turning read with a feminist message, for anyone who has ever had to deal with #everydaysexism'MOXIE is sweet funny and fierce. Read this and then join the fight!' AMY POEHLER

Hodder Children's Books

I Am Traitor

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir

At the end of the world, who can you trust? The story of one teen's fight against an extra-terrestrial invasion. For fans of Michael Grant, Suzanne Collins and Robert Muchamore.London has been targeted by extra-terrestrial life and victims are transported to a terrifying other world.Amy Sullivan is an unwilling hero. She runs until she can't run any more. Then, she is taken. To have a chance of saving herself, and her planet, Amy will have to put faith in those she fears the most. But what if it means becoming a traitor to everyone she has ever loved? A modern-day War of the Worlds from one of Iceland's bestselling authors.

Orion Children's Books

Death in the Arena

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Orchard Books

Royal Holiday

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Hodder Children's Books

L is for London

Paul Thurlby
Authors:
Paul Thurlby

An incredibly stylish alphabet book - perfect for children and adults alike.See the sights of London as never before - through the eyes of an award-winning illustrator. Paul Thurlby takes us from A for Abbey Road, through K for Kew Gardens to Z for London Zoo in this striking book.Beautiful and covetable, this book deserves a place on every coffee table - as well as in every nursery.Praise for Numbers: 'Stunning collection.' Guardian'Paul Thurlby's prints are so ludicrously beautiful that I am seriously tempted to blow the budget, order the whole lot and paper a wall with them.' India Knight, journalist and author

Orion Children's Books

The Archers of Isca

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Hodder Children's Books

Green Lizards vs Red Rectangles

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony

A brave and thought-provoking picture book about war and peace from the bestselling author of The Queen's Hat and Please Mr Panda.The green lizards and the red rectangles are at war. But why? They fight and fight and fight - can they find a way to live peacefully side by side despite their differences?The perfect platform to start conversations about the futility of war, this brave and brilliant story is visually stunning and full of clever details to pour over. Steve Antony is the winner of the Oscar's First Book Prize and has been nominated for the Kate Greenaway Medal and shortlisted for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize. 'A visually entertaining story of war and peace.' - Kirkus Review