Caroline Lawrence - Escape from Rome - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781510100220
    • Publication date:05 May 2016
Books in this series

Escape from Rome

Book 1

By Caroline Lawrence

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

The first in a brand new historical adventure series from million-copy-selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.

The first in a brand new historical adventure series from million-copy-selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.

The year is AD 94. When the evil Emperor Domitian sends soldiers to seize his family's home in the middle of the night, twelve-year-old Juba must escape with his brother and sisters, and journey to distant Britannia on the edge of the known world.

His task: To avoid capture and death.
His quest: To find a safe haven in Britain.
His destiny: To save the children.

Brand new exciting Roman series from the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2. Historical locations featured in book 1 are Rome, Ostia, Londinium and Fishbourne.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510100237
  • Publication date: 05 May 2016
  • Page count: 240
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Promising to be just as thrilling and richly detailed as her Roman Mysteries. — THE BOOKSELLER
Full of thrills and excitement from the very first sentence. — Linda Lawlor, THE BOOKBAG
This exciting adventure really captures the attention as well as being packed with authentic historical detail — Sarah Brew, PARENTS IN TOUCH
There is an excellent history lesson nestling among all the adventures the children encounter — Ann Giles, The Book Witch
This is a very atmospheric, exciting story full of historical detail and surprises. — Debbie, PRIMARY TIMES - HAMPSHIRE
An interesting and exciting read that is extremely well researched. It is packed with accurate detail of everyday Roman life. The story is so well paced and involving that you don't realise just how much information you are absorbing. — SCHOOL LIBRARIAN on ROMAN MYSTERIES
This is a fast-paced, exciting and dramatic story... — Juliette, POP CLASSICS
A brilliant page-turner which will undoubtedly keep KS2 children on the edge of their seats. If only all historical fiction was as carefully researched as this. — ENGLISH 4-11
Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins

One boy stranded at sea. One girl back on land. One ocean between them. The only thing willing him to survive is the thought of her. A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.Sometimes you have to lose yourself, to find each other.Kai has always been best friends with Jen; ever since he and his mum moved to Cornwall when he was small. But now his feelings are deepening. It's ridiculous to imagine Jen would feel the same, especially since she has been hanging out with surf-pro Macca, the guy everyone fancies. Frustrated by his feelings, Kai makes a snap decision that will put his life in great danger. Stranded at sea, time is running out. With only his thoughts to occupy him, he must face some buried truths about his past. And confront his future with the girl back on shore, if he can reach it ... if the ocean doesn't take him first.

Orion Children's Books

Return to Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

The fourth and final book in the new historical adventure series from million copy selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.AD 96. Bouda, an orphaned British girl with a troubled past, has been helping Juba and his siblings since they first arrived in Britannia. For almost two years they have been in hiding from the Emperor Domitian's agents. But now information has come to light that could bring down the tyrant. When Juba and his sister decide to return to Rome with the man who has this evidence, Bouda goes with them. But is it ever right to kill a tyrant?From the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2.

Orion Children's Books

Death in the Arena

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

Third in a new historical adventure series from million copy selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.Eleven-year-old Ursula is happily learning to be a Druid in the woods of Britannia. But then she is asked to go on a quest to find a boy who was abducted as a baby. Will her mystical training equip her for life on the road - with a troupe of Roman pantomime dancers and beast hunters? Her task: to adapt to life in the arena Her quest: to find the boy everyone is seekingHer destiny: to protect children and animalsFrom the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2.

Orchard Books

The Pet Keeper Fairies

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Learning to read is fun with the Rainbow Magic Fairies! Developed in conjunction with Early Years reading consultants and based on the most up-to-date educational research, the Rainbow Magic Beginner Readers are the perfect way to introduce your child to the magical world of reading.

Orion Children's Books

The Archers of Isca

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Orchard Books

Eleanor the Snow White Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Kirsty and Rachel are having a wonderful time at the Fairytale Festival. But Jack Frost has stolen Eleanor the Snow White Fairy's magical object, and now Snow White and the seven dwarves have got lost in the human world! Can Rachel and Kirsty help find them and keep fairytales everywhere magical?

Orchard Books

Clare the Caring Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Ariana the Firefighter Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Catherine the Fashion Princess Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Cannibal Curse

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

The final collection of four brand new utterly horrid stories; Horrid Henry's Bake-Off sees Henry and Margaret go head-to-head in a hotly contested baking competition, Henry triumphantly reveals his top tips in Horrid Henry's Extra Horrid Guide to Perfect Parents, he reads an interesting book about Evil Evie, a really naughty girl not too dissimilar to himself in Horrid Henry's Bad Book, and conjures up an ancient cannibal's curse to deal with his enemies and small, annoying brother in Horrid Henry's Cannibal Curse.Horrid Henry is illustrated by Tony Ross, who also illustrates David Walliams' children's books, as well as his own picture books.

Orchard Books

Daisy the Festival Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Daisy the Festival Fairy makes sure that every summer is full of exciting things to do. But this year, a strange breeze isin the air, and an icy snowstorm threatens to ruin all the fun plans. Can Rachel and Kirsty help stop Jack Frost before festivals everywhere are ruined?

Orchard Books

Frances the Royal Family Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Frances the Royal Family Fairy makes sure all royal brothers and sisters get along well with each other. But when naughty Jack Frost steals her magical object, everything starts to fall apart! Can Kirsty and Rachel help Frances restore harmony in all royal families and their kingdoms?

Orchard Books

Faith the Cinderella Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Kirsty and Rachel are getting ready for the glamorous Fairytale Ball. But the fabulous plans start to fall apart when Cinderella falls out of her story and into the human world! Can the girls help Faith the Cinderella Fairy get her magical glass slipper back from Jack Frost and get Cinders back in time for the ball?

Orchard Books

The Ultimate Fairy Annual 2015

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Inside this fantastic Rainbow Magic Fairy Annual there are lots of games, puzzles and activities - just for you! Including profiles of all your favourite fairy friends, this is the perfect gift for every Rainbow Magic fan.

Orion Children's Books

The Case of the Bogus Detective

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

The final whip-cracking adventure in the P.K. Pinkerton series from million-selling author Caroline Lawrence.When P.K's father, Robert Pinkerton, suddenly appears in Virginia City, P.K.'s life turns upside down. Suddenly she's having to learn how to be a 'girly-girl' in a cunning plot to outwit silver thieves. But it seems the thieves are one step ahead! Has P.K. finally met her match or can she use her detective skills to turn the situation on its head and impress her private-eye pa?A gripping rollercoaster ride of a tale packed with Wild West authenticity and atmosphere from this bestselling author.

Orchard Books

Kayla the Pottery Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Rachel and Kirsty are very excited to be going to Rainspell Island for Crafts Week. But when Kayla the Pottery Fairy loses her magical object, the girls suspect that Jack Frost is close by. Can they trick him into giving them Kayla's magic vase?

Orchard Books

Annabelle the Drawing Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orion Children's Books

The Two-faced God

Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte
Contributors:
Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte

Floridius the Soothsayer has been asked to read the omens for a wealthy man whose villa appears to be haunted. The pay is good but it means studying a sheep's liver and poor Floridius faints at the sight of blood! Can Threptus solve the mystery and save his friend from embarrassment?Join Threptus and Floridius on their hilarious and action-packed adventures among Rome's superstitious underclass, and don't miss this ruder, funnier and still historically accurate companion to The Roman Mysteries.

Orchard Books

Carly the Schoolfriend Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Rachel Walker and Kirsty Tate are very excited about taking part in a school competition! There's going to be a spelling bee and a science contest, followed by a dazzling disco. But Jack Frost and his goblins soon arrive... Can the girls help Carly the Schoolfriend Fairy keep the competition safe and fun?

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Nightmare

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Four hilarious new Horrid Henry stories - HORRID HENRY'S MOTHER'S DAY, probably not the day his mum looks forward to most in the year, HORRID HENRY'S NIGHTMARE where Henry's chased by a ghost bunny with huge teeth, a wailing graveyard ghost and, for good measure, a slimy zombie, then a new story about one of his greatest enemies in THE RETURN OF THE DEMON DINNER LADY and last but not least FLUFFY STRUTS HER STUFF.Horrid Henry is illustrated by Tony Ross, who also illustrates David Walliams' children's books, as well as his own picture books.