Caroline Lawrence - Escape from Rome - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781510100220
    • Publication date:05 May 2016
Books in this series

Escape from Rome

Book 1

By Caroline Lawrence

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

The first in a brand new historical adventure series from million-copy-selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.

The first in a brand new historical adventure series from million-copy-selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.

The year is AD 94. When the evil Emperor Domitian sends soldiers to seize his family's home in the middle of the night, twelve-year-old Juba must escape with his brother and sisters, and journey to distant Britannia on the edge of the known world.

His task: To avoid capture and death.
His quest: To find a safe haven in Britain.
His destiny: To save the children.

Brand new exciting Roman series from the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2. Historical locations featured in book 1 are Rome, Ostia, Londinium and Fishbourne.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510100237
  • Publication date: 05 May 2016
  • Page count: 240
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Promising to be just as thrilling and richly detailed as her Roman Mysteries. — THE BOOKSELLER
Full of thrills and excitement from the very first sentence. — Linda Lawlor, THE BOOKBAG
This exciting adventure really captures the attention as well as being packed with authentic historical detail — Sarah Brew, PARENTS IN TOUCH
There is an excellent history lesson nestling among all the adventures the children encounter — Ann Giles, The Book Witch
This is a very atmospheric, exciting story full of historical detail and surprises. — Debbie, PRIMARY TIMES - HAMPSHIRE
An interesting and exciting read that is extremely well researched. It is packed with accurate detail of everyday Roman life. The story is so well paced and involving that you don't realise just how much information you are absorbing. — SCHOOL LIBRARIAN on ROMAN MYSTERIES
This is a fast-paced, exciting and dramatic story... — Juliette, POP CLASSICS
A brilliant page-turner which will undoubtedly keep KS2 children on the edge of their seats. If only all historical fiction was as carefully researched as this. — ENGLISH 4-11
Franklin Watts

Androcles and the Lion

Sue Graves
Authors:
Sue Graves

Androcles is a brave slave. One day he escapes from his master and hides in a cave, only for a terrifying Lion to come into the cave! Little does he realise the encounter with the Lion will in fact save his life...Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Orchard Books

The New Age

Chris d'Lacey
Authors:
Chris d'Lacey

The third in the stunning new fantasy series from the New York Times bestselling author, Chris d'Lacey.On Erth, a dark dragon has risen. His return ripples throughout the universe, from the firebirds at the Great Librarium to the dragons on the home world K:imera.Will human boy Ren be able to control the dragon's power? Or will it destroy everything?The epic finale to the Erth Dragons trilogy will take you to new and beautiful worlds and make you see dragons as never before.

Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Fate of Forgotten Island

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler

The brand new, eagerly awaited seventh book in the five-million-copy-selling Emily Windsnap series byLiz Kessler. Bubbling with magic, fun, friendship and new heights of adventure, a must-read for girls aged 8-12. Emily Windsnap, an ordinary girl on land and a magical mermaid in water, is overdue a break from excitement - as her exhausted best friend Shona keeps reminding her! So, promising Shona she'll stay free of trouble and just 'swill out' ('chill out' for mermaids), Emily invites her best friend and her boyfriend Aaron along for a relaxing family holiday in the sun . . . But it seems adventure is hot on her heels - and her tail.Soon, Emily discovers a hidden world beyond the falls of mysterious Forgotten Island - but it's not quite the paradise it seems. With a curse hanging over the island and a catastrophic disaster looming, Emily finds herself suddenly entangled in an ancient Prophecy. She must embark on a dangerous mission to seek the legendary giant the islanders believe will save them all, before it's too late.But how can Emily save the day when rifts are forming between herself and the very people she needs by her side? Must promises always be kept? And what happens when they are broken?

Hodder Children's Books

Shield of Lies

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Orion Children's Books

The Trials of Morrigan Crow

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend
Orion Children's Books

Return to Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

The fourth and final book in the new historical adventure series from million copy selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.AD 96. Bouda, an orphaned British girl with a troubled past, has been helping Juba and his siblings since they first arrived in Britannia. For almost two years they have been in hiding from the Emperor Domitian's agents. But now information has come to light that could bring down the tyrant. When Juba and his sister decide to return to Rome with the man who has this evidence, Bouda goes with them. But is it ever right to kill a tyrant?From the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2.

Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan

Every hundred years, in the magical town of Knowmealldown, fairies known as the Good Folk join the villagers for a Great Festival. It's a raucous, beautiful, enchanted celebration.Well, it's supposed to be.Except every time Brian helps to organise the Great Festival it's a disappointment. Worse, this time the Folk Princess has been stolen. Can Brian thwart the Princess's evil captor in time to avoid the wrath of the Folk King and Queen, and finally deliver a Festival to remember?A magical adventure filled with myth, mischief and misunderstandings, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones and those who love modern fairy tales with a comic twist.

Hodder Children's Books

Illegal

Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano
Contributors:
Eoin Colfer, Andrew Donkin, Giovanni Rigano
Hodder Children's Books

The Girl with the Lost Smile

Miranda Hart, Kate Hindley
Contributors:
Miranda Hart, Kate Hindley
Orion Children's Books

Death in the Arena

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

Third in a new historical adventure series from million copy selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.Eleven-year-old Ursula is happily learning to be a Druid in the woods of Britannia. But then she is asked to go on a quest to find a boy who was abducted as a baby. Will her mystical training equip her for life on the road - with a troupe of Roman pantomime dancers and beast hunters? Her task: to adapt to life in the arena Her quest: to find the boy everyone is seekingHer destiny: to protect children and animalsFrom the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2.

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Encyclopedia

Orion Children's Books

The Archers of Isca

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

The second thrilling adventure in a new historical series from million-copy-selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.Britannia AD 94. On the run from the Emperor Domitian, fifteen-year-old Fronto has joined the Roman army in order to find the security and structure he craves. But when his younger sister Ursula is captured by a terrifying Druid called Snakebeard, he must make an impossible decision. Can he leave the army, when desertion is punishable by death?His desire: To become a good soldierHis quest: To rescue his sister His destiny: To find his place in Roman BritainFrom the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2. Historical locations featured in this book are a British Iron Age Village, Bath Spa and the fortress at Caerleon.

Orion Children's Books

The Case of the Bogus Detective

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Orion Children's Books

The Two-faced God

Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte
Contributors:
Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte
Orion Children's Books

The Case of the Pistol-packing Widows

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Orion Children's Books

The Thunder Omen

Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte
Contributors:
Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte

Threptus the former beggar boy has teamed up with Floridius, a soothsayer and seller of sacred chickens. Together they earn a living helping people solve problems and mysteries. In this third book of the series, it is the time of Saturnalia - when all the rules are turned upside down and chaos ensues. Threptus is enjoying the mayhem but the thunder omens are disturbing. Can Threptus help his friend matchmake and avoid the disaster threatened by the thunder omen?

Orion Children's Books

Roman Mysteries Complete Collection

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

A bumper eBook collection of all 17 Roman Mysteries adventures including The Thieves of Ostia, The Secrets of Vesuvius, The Pirates of Pompeii, The Assassins of Rome, The Dolphins of Laurentum, The Twelve Tasks of Flavia Gemina, The Enemies of Jupiter, The Gladiators From Capua, The Colossus of Rhodes, The Fugitive From Corinth, The Sirens of Surrentum, The Charioteer of Delphi, The Slave-Girl From Jerusalem, The Beggar of Volubilis, The Scribes From Alexandria, The Prophet From Ephesus and The Man From Pomegranate Street.Packed with action, mystery and adventure!

Orion Children's Books

The Man from Pomegranate Street

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Orion Children's Books

The Poisoned Honey Cake

Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte
Contributors:
Caroline Lawrence, Helen Forte
Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Monster from the Deep

Liz Kessler, Sarah Gibb
Contributors:
Liz Kessler, Sarah Gibb

Emily Windsnap is thrilled to arrive at her new home - a secret island near the Bermuda Triangle where humans and merfolk live together, and where being a girl who grows a tail as soon as she enters the water isn't a problem. Being Emily, she can't resist exploring forbidden places - and as a result, she inadvertently wakes the kraken, the legendary sea monster that has been asleep for two hundred years.Emily tries to undo the damage as the kraken's terrifying tentacles rise from the deep!Mermaid magic, wonderful descriptions of undersea life and a fabulous adventure focused on the power of friendship make this a real page-turner, with all the charm and warmth of Liz Kessler's first book, The Tail of Emily Windsnap.