Sue Graves - Cheetah Learns to Play Nicely - A book about being a good sport - Hachette Children's Group

Cheetah Learns to Play Nicely - A book about being a good sport

By Sue Graves
Illustrated by Trevor Dunton

  • Hardback
  • £11.99

Picture book story which offers a gentle introduction to the importance of playing fairly and being a good sport for young children.

This funny, charming story is the perfect way to introduce young children to what fair play is, and help them understand the importance of being a good sport. Also included are suggestions for activities and ideas to talk through together to help children fully understand how their behaviour can impact on others.
Cheetah always wants to win - no matter what it takes. But when his friends no longer want to play with him, he decides to look at his behaviour and start playing more nicely.
The Behaviour Matters series of picture books provide a gentle means of discussing emotions, boosting self-esteem and reinforcing good behaviour. Supports the Personal, Social and Emotional Development Area of Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage, and is also suitable for use with children in KS1 and can be used to discuss values. Suitable for children under 5.

Biographical Notes

Sue is a teacher and published author. She writes fiction and non fiction for both education and trade markets for children from pre school to early Key Stage 3. Sue is married with four children, many gorgeous grandchildren and a really naughty cat! She plays golf and badminton and loves walking in the countryside around her home.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445158716
  • Publication date: 12 Apr 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Excellent for sharing and encouraging discussion... we can all learn from the approach taken in this series. — Parents in Touch
Orchard Books

Secret Agent Elephant

Eoin McLaughlin
Authors:
Eoin McLaughlin

Watch out, supervillains. There's a new spy in town . . .Secret Agent 00 Elephant has struggled through his secret service tests and how he's ready to take on his first spy mission: to find feline supervillain Vincent le Morte and stop him from destroying the world.He just needs to stay away from those mini pizzas . . .Good luck, Agent Elephant. The world is counting on you. AND REMEMBER: DO NOT GET DISTRACTED BY THE MINI-PIZZAS!

Franklin Watts

Sandy Cove Rescue

Sue Graves, Noémie Gionet Landry
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Noémie Gionet Landry

Jess and Spencer have been learning all about their local environment. When they go on a beach clean one Saturday, they are horrified to find a seal cub entangled in plastic. Their quick thinking ensures that the seal is soon in the best place to recover.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn Eats Christmas

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn saves Christmas in this brilliantly funny second book from Lou Carter, the bestselling author of There Is No Dragon in This Story.It's Christmas Eve and Oscar the Unicorn is hungry.He's eaten the Christmas tree, the stockings and is about to make a start on the presents. But at least he hasn't eaten the magic reindeer food that allows the reindeer to fly . . . has he?! Oh. He has. All of it. How is Santa going to deliver presents to the rest of fairyland with his trusty reindeer unable to fly? Luckily, Princess Oola has an idea . . . Oscar will make the best reindicorn EVER! The brilliantly funny sequel to the Oscar the Hungry Unicorn, full of Christmas fun and silliness!

Orchard Books

My Pet Star

Corrinne Averiss, Rosalind Beardshaw
Contributors:
Corrinne Averiss, Rosalind Beardshaw
Franklin Watts

Max is Cooking

Jackie Walter, Valentina Bandera
Contributors:
Jackie Walter, Valentina Bandera
Orchard Books

When the Crocodiles Came to Town

Magda Brol, Magda Brol
Contributors:
Magda Brol, Magda Brol
Franklin Watts

Androcles and the Lion

Sue Graves, Alex Paterson
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Alex Paterson
Franklin Watts

I Don't Want to Wait!: A book about patience

Sue Graves, Desideria Guicciardini, Emanuela Carletti
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Desideria Guicciardini, Emanuela Carletti
Franklin Watts

Why Should I?: A book about respect

Sue Graves, Desideria Guicciardini, Emanuela Carletti
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Desideria Guicciardini, Emanuela Carletti

Franklin Watts

Dragon Dance

Sue Graves, Fátima Anaya
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Fátima Anaya

Ju-Long and Ting are spending New Year at their grandparents' house and will be watching the dragon dance at the village celebrations. Ju-Long adores dragons and longs to be part of the dance, just like his grandfather was... and this year, his dreams come true!Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Mary and the Great Fire of London

Sue Graves, Alex Paterson
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Alex Paterson

One dry, hot night in 1666, Mary was on her way home from the bakery where she worked in Pudding Lane, London. Later that night, a terrible fire broke out in that same bakery... one that would change London forever!Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson

A hilariously funny tale of friendship, belonging and LOTS OF EATING from the bestselling author of There Is No Dragon in This Story. Perfect for fans of Oi Frog.WITH SUPER SPARKLY GLITTER COVER!Oscar the Unicorn has eaten his stable so he needs to find somewhere else to live. Not easy if you're a unicorn who eats everything in sight ... No one wants him around: not the pirates or the fairies or the dragons. Will Oscar ever find a place to call home? Well, it just so happens that Princess Oola has been searching for a unicorn FOR EVER ...

Franklin Watts

Thin Ice

Sue Graves, Roger Simó
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Roger Simó

When friends Lenny and Ted take their bikes off to the woods on a cold, snowy day, Mum warns them to keep away from the icy pond. The trouble is, Lenny just can't resist it and ends up nearly paying a very high price...Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Lost!

Sue Graves
Authors:
Sue Graves

Evie and George are going on a family holiday to France. They've never been on a ferry before and can't wait! It's very big on board and the children soon find themselves lost!Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure. Perfect for 6-8 year olds or those reading book band 10.

Franklin Watts

A Windy Day

Sue Graves, Beccy Blake
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Beccy Blake

In this story, a very windy day makes it too tricky to do all the farm jobs. Josh thinks it's time to get out the kite!Reading Champion is a series of independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading Blue 4 stories are perfect for children aged 4-5 or who are reading at book band 4 (Blue) in classroom reading lessons.

Franklin Watts

Croc Needs to Wait - A book about patience

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton

This funny, charming story is the perfect way to introduce young children to being patient, and help them understand the importance of waiting their turn. Also included are suggestions for activities and ideas to talk through together to help children fully understand how their behaviour can impact on others.Croc can never wait for anything - he's alway interrupting, rushes everything and he can never wait to take his turn. Can he learn to slow down and be a little more patient?The Behaviour Matters series of picture books provide a gentle means of discussing emotions, boosting self-esteem and reinforcing good behaviour. Supports the Personal, Social and Emotional Development Area of Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage, and is also suitable for use with children in KS1 and can be used to discuss values. Suitable for children under 5.

Franklin Watts

Turtle Comes Out of Her Shell - A book about feeling shy

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Franklin Watts

One of Our Tigers is Missing!

Sue Graves, Pauline Reeves
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Pauline Reeves

Ted and Ava love everything about tigers, and are excited to visit the safari park. When they discover that one of the tigers is missing, their expert knowledge helps the ranger to track the tiger down.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Rhino Learns to be Polite - A book about good manners

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Franklin Watts

I Want to Win! A book about being a good sport

Sue Graves, Desideria Guicciardini, Emanuela Carletti
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Desideria Guicciardini, Emanuela Carletti