Simon Chapman - Amazon Basin - Hachette Children's Group

Amazon Basin

By Simon Chapman

  • Hardback
  • £13.99

Get stuck into exploring, and find out more about the world's amazing biomes, in these expedition diaries.

Simon is packed and heading off to a region of the Amazon Basin in northern Bolivia. Despite its size, it's a fragile biome, of mixed forest and river habitats. Simon plans to document his journey down the River Enatahua, but things go wrong right from the start: a rucksack is missing, along with his canoe ...

Simon Chapman, winner of the Blue Peter Book Award, brings geography to life, and his Expedition Diaries are a great way to introduce the world's biomes and habitats to children, direct from someone who's actually been in them - sometimes up to his neck! These books are perfect for sparking interest in this key school topic.

Biographical Notes

Simon Chapman is a British children's writer. His books include the Explorers Wanted! series, of which Explorers Wanted! At the North Pole won a Blue Peter Book Award inn 2005. Simon teaches physics at Morecambe Community High School in Lancashire.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445156149
  • Publication date: 09 Nov 2017
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
The very personal approach of this expedition diary is a great way to make children feel really involved ... A gripping account that will really foster an interest in geography. Excellently done and very well illustrated. — Parents In Touch
Wayland

You Can Be an Ice Skater

Alix Wood
Authors:
Alix Wood
Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Toe of Treachery

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell

WARNING: DO NOT GIVE THIS BOOK TO YOUR OWN GRANDMA. SHE MIGHT GET IDEAS...Danger is her middle name!**Actually, it's MaudeGrandma flies Ollie and Piper in her hot-air balloon for a cursed adventure in Cairo! The third book in the fantastically hilarious Grandma Dangerous series. Praise for Book 1: "Thrills! Biscuits! This book has it all" Andy Riley, author of King Flashypants

Hodder Children's Books

Accidental Trouble Magnet

Zanib Mian, Nasaya Mafaridik
Contributors:
Zanib Mian, Nasaya Mafaridik
Orchard Books

Aisha the Astronaut Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Aisha the Astronaut Fairy's magical item, the astronauts everywhere lose their mojo!Can the girls help Aisha defeat him in a truly out-of-this-world adventure?

Orchard Books

Orla the Inventor Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Orla the Inventor Fairy's magical item, inventors everywhere stop having ideas!Can the girls help Orla defeat him and bring inspiration back to fairy and human worlds?

Orchard Books

Dani the Detective Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Wren & Rook

The Story of Flight

Jakob Whitfield
Authors:
Jakob Whitfield

A beautifully illustrated history of the iconic flying machines that have helped us soar through the skies. Perfect for child and adult aviation fans alike!The story of flight is a fascinating one: from the earliest balloons and airships to the latest stealth jet, each breakthrough laid the foundation for the next. Trace the extraordinary history of flight in this strikingly illustrated guide, from the Wright Flyer to cutting-edge drones. Along the way, discover how the social upheavals of the past 240 years influenced the flight path: two world wars, equality for women and the fight against climate change. Finally, explore the incredible inventions that await us in the future.Also available in this series on transport is The Story of the Car. The Story of Space Travel will follow in 2019.

Orchard Books

Elsie the Engineer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

Nowhere on Earth

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake

'Action and excitement and deep emotion. Gorgeous.' Cecelia AhernIt starts with a plane crash. There are survivors: a teenage girl and her little brother. They are running from something. But what?Then the men arrive. They are hunting the girl and boy. And-And that's all we can tell you ...A thrilling story of survival, hope and a love beyond all understanding, from the award-winning author of Satellite.

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Llamas

Pat-a-Cake, Laura Hambleton
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Laura Hambleton
Wren & Rook

The A–Z of Wonder Women

Yvonne Lin
Authors:
Yvonne Lin

Celebrate a whole alphabet of trailblazing, groundbreaking wonder women from around the world and through time, taking in Ada Lovelace, J. K. Rowling, Oprah Winfrey and every letter in between.Men and women, boys and girls need heroes to look up to, and to aspire to be. There are thousands upon thousands of books and films about amazing athletes, scientists, artists and explorers, but they're almost all men. Girls get princesses and mermaids - sure, not necessarily the worst career choices, but there aren't enough castles and beaches for the world's 3.5 billion women. This book brings incredible women out of the shadows, celebrates their success and acknowledges their achievements. Certain to empower and inspire women and girls everywhere, it's perfect for fans of The Little Book of Feminist Saints, Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls and We Should All Be Feminists.

Orchard Books

Evelyn the Mermicorn Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Quercus Children's Books

The Lost Magician

Piers Torday
Authors:
Piers Torday

'If you can imagine it, it exists ... somewhere.' The new spellbinding fantasy adventure from the bestselling, award-winning author of The Last Wild trilogy.1945. They have survived the Blitz, but when Simon, Patricia, Evelyn and Larry step through a mysterious library door, it is the beginning of their most dangerous adventure yet. They discover the magical world of Folio, where an enchanted kingdom of fairy knights, bears and tree gods is under threat from a sinister robot army. The many stories of the Library are locked in eternal war, and the children's only hope is to find their creator - a magician who has been lost for centuries. What they find will change not just their own lives, but the fate of the world, for ever ...An ode to the world of Narnia, The Lost Magician is a classic in the making from one of the UK's most talented children's authors. Praise for Piers Torday:'the new master of books for children who like magic and modernity with their lust for adventure' - The Times

Wren & Rook

The You Are Awesome Journal

Matthew Syed, Lindsey Sagar, Toby Triumph
Contributors:
Matthew Syed, Lindsey Sagar, Toby Triumph
Franklin Watts

Borneo Rainforest

Simon Chapman
Authors:
Simon Chapman
Franklin Watts

African Savannah

Simon Chapman
Authors:
Simon Chapman
Hodder Children's Books

King Flashypants and the Boo-Hoo Witches

Andy Riley
Authors:
Andy Riley

"Kids everywhere will love this brilliant book!" MATT LUCAS"Brilliantly original and hilarious. It's nearly as good as one of my books." DAVID WALLIAMS"Two words - such fun!" MIRANDA HART"Beautiful, inventive and laugh-out-loud funny." SUE PERKINSGreat to read aloud with children of 5+ and perfect for newly independent readers of 7+.King Edwin Flashypants is back for his fourth hilarious adventure! Minister Jill has a secret. And it's something to do with the weird meadow in Edwinland. King Edwin always thought Minister Jill was a bit boring, like most grown-ups, but when she is kidnapped, he realises that her past might actually be very exciting indeed ...

Orion Children's Books

When the Mountains Roared

Jess Butterworth
Authors:
Jess Butterworth
Franklin Watts

Australian Outback

Simon Chapman
Authors:
Simon Chapman

Simon is in Darwin, Australia, preparing to travel through the unique mix of tropical forest, savannah and desert that make up the Australian Outback. But he's already worrying if his 4x4 is up to the job, and about the dangers posed by crocodiles, spiders and snakes - and road trains!Simon Chapman, winner of the Blue Peter Book Award, brings geography to life, and his Expedition Diaries are a great way to introduce the world's biomes and habitats to children, direct from someone who's actually been in them - sometimes up to his neck! These books are perfect for sparking interest in this key school topic.