Andy Glynne - Jasper's Story – Living with Cystic Fibrosis - Hachette Children's Group

Jasper's Story – Living with Cystic Fibrosis

By Andy Glynne

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

Real-life testimonies of young people living with illness. Originally made as a series of animated films for the BBC, these books explore the experiences of young people who are dealing with different illnesses

This powerful and eye opening picture book uses the first-person testimony of Jasper, a 10-year-old boy with cystic fibrosis. Jasper explains what his condition is, the treatment he receives and the emotional challenges he faces.

Using Jasper's real first-person testimony creates an intimate and direct tone that will help students to empathise with people's differences. Jasper's circumstances are easily relatable to children; he talks about school, his brother, friends, his hobbies and explains the complications that cystic fibrosis brings to these situations.

The BAFTA award-winning stories were originally produced as animations for the BBC. Aimed at children aged 9 and up, these powerful and evocative stories have now been captured in book form as rich, visual testimonies of the impact an illness has on a child's daily life and how they cope and are able to enjoy the life that they have.

Biographical Notes

Andy Glynne is a double BAFTA award-winning documentary filmmaker, producer, clinical psychologist and author. He is the Founding Director of DFG - the Documentary Filmmakers Group - the UK's national organisation to promote innovation and talent in documentary filmmaking. Andy is also Managing Director of the production company Mosaic Films. He has directed and produced numerous award-winning documentaries both in the UK and across the world, and has spent much of his career working with, and mentoring, new and emerging filmmakers.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445156040
  • Publication date: 10 Aug 2017
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Orchard Books

The Mermaid's Dolphin

Hodder Children's Books

BOOT: The Rusty Rescue

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty

For fans of WALL-E and Toy Story, the second hilarious, heart-warming story about a small robot on a big adventure. With incredible illustrations by Ben Mantle.Toy robot Boot has come a long way since it woke up in a scrapyard with only two-and-a-half glitchy memories. It has a home with its robot pals in an abandoned amusement arcade, and has discovered what true happiness is - although, it's still not sure why humans are so leaky and weird ... But when Boot and the gang stumble upon Rusty, an old, broken robot, forgotten in the back of a testing lab, it's time to spring into action. Boot knows there's something special about Rusty, but can they free the old robot and help it find its purpose?A thrill-ride of an adventure, stuffed with fun, friendship, and a warehouse full of bouncy castles.

Wayland

Investigating Magnets

Jacqui Bailey
Authors:
Jacqui Bailey
Orion Children's Books

The Lost Treasure

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff

The final book in The Trapdoor Mysteries, a series about Tally, a code-breaking, animal-loving girl and her best friend, a squirrel named Squill, who solve mysteries with the help of a secret library...Tally was once a servant girl at Mollett Manor - as well as the Secret Keeper of the magical library hidden underneath the manor's grounds. Along with Squill the squirrel, she used the enchanted books in the library to solve crimes. Then Tally finds out a secret about her past, her entire life changes. Suddenly she's travelling aboard a huge ship on her way to New York to try and find her mother. When valuable items go missing from passengers' cabins on the ship, everyone expects Tally to be able to catch the culprit. But will Tally be able to solve the mystery without the magic of the Secret Library?

Franklin Watts

Space Rap

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Franklin Watts

Movie Star Set-up

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Join the intrepid Galaxy Warriors Jet, Tip and Boo Hoo on their quest to save the universe from destructive baddies Lord and Lady Evil and Dr Y.In Movie Star Set-Up, our intergalactic heroes grab their chance to star in a movie ... but they soon realise the action is real and so is the danger!From the authors of I HERO, these new intergalactic adventures combine graphic novel and prose, perfectly pitched to engage both older reluctant readers and younger, confident readers. Each title is book banded (Gold 9) and is printed using a dyslexia-friendly font on an off-white background.This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of booksto get children reading with confidence. EDGE - for books kids can't put down.

Franklin Watts

Dinosaurs

Liz Gogerly, Rob Hunt, Oivind Hovland
Contributors:
Liz Gogerly, Rob Hunt, Oivind Hovland

Prepare to take a chronological journey, from over 200 million years ago, when tiny Saltopus hopped around in search of food, and pterosaurs took to the skies, through to huge dinosaurs such as Brachiosaurus and Allosaurus of the late Jurassic Period. Travel right up to the mass extinction event of the Cretaceous Period, which wiped out three quarters of all life on the planet...Perfect for readers aged 7+ who want to find out more about the time of the dinosaurs, and their evolution over millions of years.

Franklin Watts

We're All Equal

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, David Broadbent
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, David Broadbent
Wayland

When Planet Earth Was New

James Gladstone
Authors:
James Gladstone
Franklin Watts

The Big Countdown

Paul Rockett
Authors:
Paul Rockett
Wayland

Powerful Forces

Jon Richards, Rob Colson
Authors:
Jon Richards, Rob Colson

When the world of science is viewed at its extremes it is easier to study and understand and it is also much more awesome!In Powerful Forces find out what it takes to move at extreme speeds, what g-force does to the human body and some truly impressive land, sea and air speed records. Uncover how shape of an object affects push and pull forces, such as thrust and drag, and how forces are used every day in all kinds of ways. And find out about one of the most powerful forces of all - gravity.This series looks at extreme qualities and experiences, and how things have evolved and adapted to reach their extreme state and how we can identify scientific information from this. Presented in a highly graphic and accessible way, Extreme Science will appeal to visual learners and reluctant readers. Aimed at children aged 9 and up.Extreme Science is a series of six books:Powerful ForcesAwesome Matter and MaterialsSpectacular Light and SoundPhenomenal PlantsMagnificent HabitatsIncredible Living Things

Wayland

Habitats

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Get outside and do some fun science experiments! From making a pond to going on a minibeast hunt, these simple activities are quick and easy to do, using easily found equipment. This book tells you all you need to know about habitats. Find out about food chains, amazing adaptations, classification keys, as well as habitats such as ponds, rock pools. Learn how to become a habitat hero!This series is perfect for Outdoor Classroom Day, but can, of course, be used at any time of year! Being outdoors helps children focus, boosts creativity and imagination, and can simply be more fun! Learning outdoors creates lasting memories, helps build a greater awareness of the environment, provides more opportunities to think independently, and gets children feeling challenged and excited by learning.Suitable for the key stage one and key stage two science curriculum.

Franklin Watts

Coyote the Fire Thief

Mick Gowar, James Rey Sanchez
Contributors:
Mick Gowar, James Rey Sanchez
Wayland

Coding with Minecraft

Álvaro Scrivano
Authors:
Álvaro Scrivano
Franklin Watts

Italian Supercars

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Franklin Watts

British Supercars

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Get your young petrolhead into gear with the perfect introduction to the newest, hotest, fastest British supercar marques on the planet. Featured inside are: ASTON MARTIN V12 ZAGATO, MCLAREN 12C, NOBLE M600, JAGUAR F-TYPE and more!Written specifically for car lovers aged around 9 years old, this series is ideal for reading on the go and to encourage reading for pleasure. Each title features superb photography and easy-to-read, informative text.

Wayland

Smoke, Flame, Fire!: A History of Firefighting

Roy Apps
Authors:
Roy Apps

Fire! FIRE! At the first sign of a fire we call the fire brigade. But what did people do before the fire service existed? Learn about the evolution from the first brigades to the multi-skilled fire services that operate around the world today. Wayland Books have partnered with The National Archives to bring you this incredible photographic record of one of the most revered professions around: firefighting. Trace firefighting through history, beginning with the Romans. Then learn about the Great Fire of London, the man who created the first organised fire service, the evolution of firefighting equipment and the introduction of women to the service. Today, a firefighter does more than simply put out fires. They play a key role in search and rescue operations, road accidents and disaster relief. Learn about all this and more in Smoke, Flame, Fire! Includes fire safety advice

Wayland

Be A Young Entrepreneur

Adam Sutherland, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Adam Sutherland, Mike Gordon

Do you want to be the next Richard Branson? Have you developed the new Angry Birds game? Do you bake the most delicious recipes that people just need to try? Then you need Be A Young Entrepreneur! In this book you will learn all the business advice, practical tips, real-life stories, up-to-date ideas and inspiration you need to make a success of your first business. Starting your own company doesn't have to be boring and this book is all about inspiring you to think creatively about your company, guiding you through every step, from registering your company name to elevator pitches, all stress-free. A great title for project work or leisure reading. Written by award-winning journalist Adam Sutherland and illustrated by the ever-popular award-winner Mike Gordon.

Wayland

The International Space Station

Clive Gifford, Dan Schlitzkus
Contributors:
Clive Gifford, Dan Schlitzkus

What is the space station and how did it get into space? How do astronauts get there and what do they do once they're there? How do astronauts eat, sleep, or even breathe, in space? This book answers all of these questions and more. Find out what it takes to become an astronaut and about the essential science experiments that are being carried out there. What effect does living in space have on the human body, from making you taller to losing your muscles because of zero gravity. If everything floats, then how can you go to the toilet and where does your wee and poo go? There's no bath or shower on the space station, so astronauts clean themselves with towels made damp by adding a little soapy water from a sealed pouch or by using special wet wipes each sealed in foil and containing disinfectant. Uncover all of these fascinating facts in this beautifully illustrated and fun book for children. Written to inspire a new generation of astronauts, Clive's detailed and fact-filled text will make you think you've visited the space station yourself. Fully illustrated by self-confessed space geek illustrator, Dan Schlitzkus, the illustrations are technically accurate and provide true representations of the mechanics, modules and equipment on board the ISS.

Wayland

The Evolution of You and Me

Michael Bright
Authors:
Michael Bright