Barbara Taylor - Stinky Skunks and Other Animal Adaptations - Hachette Children's Group

Stinky Skunks and Other Animal Adaptations

By Barbara Taylor

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

Quirky, colourful guides to the horrible, shocking and disgusting aspects of science.

A quirky, colourful guide to the horrible, shocking and disgusting aspects of the science of animal adaptations and a fantastic way to inspire children in science learning.

Stinky Skunks investigates disgusting animals and animal habits from around the world, including feeding, nasty teeth and claws, poo, camouflage and, of course, scents and smells.

It is part of the Disgusting and Dreadful Science series, which features a look at the weird, revolting and shocking aspects of science for children at KS2. It feature child-friendly text and amazing photographs and diagrams. From plants and life cycles to the human body and animal adaptations, the books offer Wow! fascinating facts, fun examples and true-life stories to provide ways in to understanding solid scientific principles.

Biographical Notes

Barbara Taylor lives in Tunbridge Wells in Kent, England. She studied Environmental Sciences at Southampton University before becoming a science editor and writer at London's Natural History Museum. She is author of more than 100 children's information books and encyclopedias on science, natural history and geography.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445152516
  • Publication date: 26 Jan 2017
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Enjoyable introduction to the subject of gravity. This will make an attractive acquisition for introductory science. — School Librarian
Orchard Books

The Dark Wizard

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Meet three new heroes with the power to tame the Beasts! Amy, Charlie and Sam - three children from our world - are bound by a powerful legacy. They are descendants of the Guardians of Avantia, an elite group of heroes trained by Tom - the star of Beast Quest. Now the time has come for a new generation to fulfil its destiny ...In book 2, The Dark Wizard, the children travel to the coast of England, where Amy hatches and bonds with a new Beast. They discover the secret of Charlie's grandfather's connection with a sea-Beast, and in a thrilling battle with their enemy, the Dark Wizard Malvel, they open a portal to Avantia and banish him. But their destiny is not yet fulfilled - there are many more hidden Beast eggs for the children to recover. The fate of the worlds depends on them ... Perfect for existing Beast Quest fans and new readers alike, Beast Quest: New Blood is tailor-made to appeal to boys and girls who are hungry for adventure. Join a new generation of heroes as they discover their destiny, and experience the awesome power of the Beasts as never before!

Hodder Children's Books

Poems from a Green and Blue Planet

Sabrina Mahfouz
Authors:
Sabrina Mahfouz
Wayland

Transport

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Wayland

Space Centre

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Wayland

The Digestive System

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Wayland

Technology

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Wayland

Investigating Solids

Jacqui Bailey
Authors:
Jacqui Bailey
Wayland

Investigating Materials

Jacqui Bailey
Authors:
Jacqui Bailey
Franklin Watts

The Flight of Icarus

Damian Harvey, Shahab Shamshirsaz
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Shahab Shamshirsaz

In this retelling of the famous Greek myth, we learn the story of Icarus and his father Daedalus, including why they were imprisoned after building of the Labyrinth for Minos's son, the Minotaur, and the tragic outome of their daring escape.This first colour chapter book is a perfectly levelled, accessible text for Key stage 2 readers aged 10-11. Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and activities to provoke deeper response and encourage writing. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Hodder Children's Books

Accidental Trouble Magnet

Zanib Mian, Nasaya Mafaridik
Contributors:
Zanib Mian, Nasaya Mafaridik

Welcome, readers, to the imaginative brain of Omar! You might not know me yet, but once you open the pages of this book you'll laugh so hard that snot will come out of your nose (plus you might meet a dragon and a zombie - what more could you want?). My parents decided it would be a good idea to move house AND move me to a new school at the same time. As if I didn't have a hard enough time staying out of trouble at home, now I've also got to try and make new friends. What's worse, the class bully seems to think I'm the perfect target. At least Eid's around the corner which means a feast (YAY) and presents (DOUBLE YAY). Well, as long as I can stay in Mum and Dad's good books long enough...The combination of Zanib Mian's hilarious text and Nasaya Mafaridik's fantastic cartoon-style illustrations make the PLANET OMAR series perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Wimpy Kid. Previously published as 'THE MUSLIMS', this was the winner of the Little Rebels Award in June 2018. The text has been revised, expanded with new scenes and re-illustrated.

Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler

Feisty girls take to the helm of a pirate ship in this new Emily Windsnap adventure! Ordinary girl on land, magical mermaid in water... Bubbling with magic, fun, friendship and oceans of adventure. A must-read for girls aged 8+.When Emily Windsnap's boyfriend Aaron is captured by pirates there's only one option - join a rival pirate crew and persuade them to help rescue him. The Pirate Prince agrees, as long as Emily assists in finding the Trident's Treasure first.But as if boarding a pirate ship weren't dangerous enough, Emily soon discovers that pirates hate mermaids. If her true identity is revealed, her life - and Aaron's - will be at risk.How will Emily keep her secret when the only way to win the treasure is by turning into a mermaid?

Hodder Children's Books

Animal Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

A charming new bumper short-story collection from the world's best-loved storyteller.A fantastic collection of 30 stories about animals of all shapes and sizes, this will charm children aged 6 and up. From pet puppies to woodland wildlife, garden birds to pond-dwelling frogs, Enid Blyton was a devoted and knowledgeable animal-lover. Readers who feel the same way are bound to love her wonderful stories about our furry friends - and scaly, feathery or fluttery ones too!These delightful stories are ideal for newly confident readers and are the perfect length to be read aloud in the classroom or at bedtime.***Enid Blyton ® and Enid Blyton's signature are Registered Trademarks of Hodder & Stoughton Limited. No trademark or copyrighted material may be reproduced without the express written permission of the trademark and copyright owner.

Franklin Watts

Mammals, Birds and other Vertebrates

Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Contributors:
Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas

A fascinating insight in to some of the incredible invertebrates that lived on Earth millions of years ago. Hundreds of millions of years before humans had evolved, our planet was already teeming with life. In prehistoric oceans, stony deserts, warm swamps and vast grasslands, there lived an incredible variety of plants and animals.Vertebrate life came in many forms. Fearsome sabre-toothed cats hunted prey in wide grasslands, flying reptiles ruled the skies and terrifying monstrous sharks patrolled the ocean depths.Delve into Prehistoric Life and discover some astounding mammals, birds and other vertebrates that once lived on Earth. This stunningly illustrated series looks at life in the prehistoric era, focusing not just on dinosaurs, but looking at the world as a whole. The prehistoric era is absolutely fascinating for children and adults alike, and is useful for schools studying history chronologically. Amazingly detailed and accurate illustrations bring the prehistoric era to life. Engaging reading for children aged 7+.Prehistoric Life is a series of four books:Mammals, Birds and other VertebratesInsects, Bugs and other InvertebratesPlantsDinosaurs

Franklin Watts

Insects, Bugs and Other Invertebrates

Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Contributors:
Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Wren & Rook

The Legend of Tutankhamun

Sally Jane Morgan, James Weston Lewis
Contributors:
Sally Jane Morgan, James Weston Lewis
Orion Children's Books

The Boy At the Back of the Class

Onjali Q. Rauf
Authors:
Onjali Q. Rauf
Wayland

Vote for Me!

Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon
Orion Children's Books

The Secret of Supernatural Creek

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John
Orchard Books

Picture Perfect

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Pokémon Peril