Tommy Donbavand - Viking Kong - Hachette Children's Group

Viking Kong

By Tommy Donbavand

  • Hardback
  • £8.99

Erik and Freya are Vikings with a big problem - Olf. He's a monster-sized baby who just won't stop growing.

What do you get when you cross a monster Viking baby who won't stop growing, two kids, a Viking clan and a very big stinky nappy? This book of course! Hold on to your nose as Erik and Freya battle to keep Olf under control, feed him and stop him crying (because he floods the village).

Tommy Donbavand's Funny Shorts is a series of full-colour, rip-roaring reads for kids that will have them bawling with laughter.

This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get kids reading with confidence. EDGE - for books kids can't put down.

Biographical Notes

Tommy Donbavand is the author of the 13-book Scream Street series, published in over a dozen languages worldwide. He has also written several titles for reluctant and struggling readers, including Zombie!, Wolf, Virus and Uniform - which won the 2011 Hackney Short Novel Award.

Originally from Liverpool, Tommy now lives in Lancashire with his family and an increasing number of pets. He sees sleep as a waste of good writing time.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445146737
  • Publication date: 13 Oct 2016
  • Page count: 64
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
An hilarious full-colour, rip-roaring read for kids that will have them bawling with laughter ... perfect to encourage reluctant readers — Parents in Touch
This is an entertaining, fast paced story, successfully aimed at reluctant readers, complete with many references to bodily function which will no doubt appeal to younger readers. — The School Librarian
Franklin Watts

Plastic Planet

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

A powerful look at how plastic pollution is becoming one of the biggest environmental disasters of our generation Once hailed as a miraculous invention, plastic has become the indestructible scourge of our Earth. It has infiltrated every part of our planet, from the deepest oceans to most remote ice fields. It chokes our wildlife, litters our beaches and even pollutes our drinking water. The world is reaching a crisis point.Plastic Planet offers readers aged 8 and up a look at plastic through the ages, exploring what it is, how it's made and how we have become so dependent on it in a single-use, disposable world. It highlights the social inequality of plastic pollution and explores how plastic has become a widespread and dangerous pollutant that is inextricably linked to climate change. The book looks ahead to possible solutions to our plastic crisis, from global changes such as changing people's mindsets, to innovations such as compostable plastics, to practical solutions such as recycling and bottle return schemes.

Hodder Children's Books

Anyone For Strawberries?

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

Hodder Children's Books

Claude Ever-So-Summery Sticker Book

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

Meet Claude - the ordinary dog with an extraordinary life. Now the star of his very own TV show on Disney Junior with 52 episodes.It's a sunshiny summer scorcher in Pawhaven! Join in the seaside fun with Claude, Sir Bobblysock and all their friends. Packed full of fun games, amazing activities and sunny stickers galore, this activity book will keep Claude fans busy for hours! Based on the Disney Junior TV show.Praise for Alex T. Smith's Claude series:'Illustrated with humour and elegance' The Times'With quirky illustrations and plenty of humour' MetroClaude in the City was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club. Claude Going for Gold won the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award. Alex T. Smith was the official World Book Day illustrator in 2014.Follow Alex at alextsmith.com and on Twitter: @Alex_T_Smith

Franklin Watts

Teen Pioneers

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

Inspiring profiles of young people who have changed the world around them for the better A look at some amazing young people, from activists to entrepreneurs, whose lives and achievements have had a big impact on the world around them. Designed to inspire and empower today's readers and show them that anyone, no matter how old, can make a big difference.

Franklin Watts

Mammals, Birds and other Vertebrates

Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Contributors:
Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Wayland

Fish

Pat Jacobs
Authors:
Pat Jacobs
Wayland

Ponies

Pat Jacobs
Authors:
Pat Jacobs

Whether they already own one, or beg for one each Christmas and birthday, children love pets, and Pet Pals is the perfect title for any pet-loving child out there. From where they sleep to what they eat, and how you can make them feel safe and at home, this book provides all the pet care advice you could possibly need. Adorable photos, and gentle, accessible text, makes this the perfect guide for all pet carers - whether they own a pet or not!

Wayland

Lizards

Pat Jacobs
Authors:
Pat Jacobs
Wayland

Birds

Pat Jacobs
Authors:
Pat Jacobs

Whether they already own one, or beg for one each Christmas and birthday, children love pets, and Pet Pals is the perfect title for any pet-loving child out there. From where they sleep to what they eat, and how you can make them feel safe and at home, this book provides all the pet care advice you could possibly need. Adorable photos, and gentle, accessible text, makes this the perfect guide for all pet carers - whether they own a pet or not!

Orion Children's Books

The Boy At the Back of the Class

Onjali Q. Rauf
Authors:
Onjali Q. Rauf
Franklin Watts

Dinner Ladies of Doooooom!

Tommy Donbavand, Kevin Myers
Contributors:
Tommy Donbavand, Kevin Myers
Franklin Watts

There's A Time Portal In My Pants!

Tommy Donbavand, Alice Risi
Contributors:
Tommy Donbavand, Alice Risi

Franklin Watts

The Curious Case of the Panicky Parrot

Tommy Donbavand, Ken McFarlane
Contributors:
Tommy Donbavand, Ken McFarlane

Written by the author of CBBC's Scream Street TV series!Crackpot detectives Pouch and Tray are called in to solve the case when Freddie the parrot disappears (he always did have the gift of the gab). Pretty soon they're on a trail leading to Don Puggoni - otherwise known as "the Dogfather"...Tommy Donbavand's Funny Shorts is a series of 4,000-word colour illustrated, chapter-based readers, which are perfect for bridging the gap between first chapter books and independent reading.Published by Franklin Watts EDGE, using off-white paper and a font recommended by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Invasion of Badger's Bottom

Tommy Donbavand, Claudia Souza
Contributors:
Tommy Donbavand, Claudia Souza
Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Lost Treasure

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

From the international bestselling creator of Claude, comes a brand new hero - Mr Penguin, adventurer and penguin.Indiana Jones meets Hercule Poirot in this new Alex T. Smith series with plenty of slapstick humour, mystery and adventure. Highly illustrated throughout with a striking black and orange design.It has been weeks since Mr Penguin's last adventure and he's been stuck at his desk, twiddling his flippers ever since. That is until the phone rings!Mr Penguin and Colin (a spider and Mr Penguin's silent right hand man) are called in to find the missing treasure somewhere in the Museum of Extraordinary Objects. The quest finds them solving secret codes, fighting ferocious beasts, eating fish finger sandwiches and travelling deep below the museum to a lost jungle...Praise for Alex T. Smith's Claude series:'Illustrated with humour and elegance.' Sunday Times'Quirky illustrations with plenty of humour.' The MetroClaude won the 5-9 young fiction Sainsbury's Children's Book Award, was selected for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize, the Richard and Judy Book Club and is soon to be a TV star on Disney Junior with 52 episodes airing in 2017. Alex T. Smith is a World Book Day Illustrator. Follow Alex at http://alextsmith.blogspot.co.uk and https://twitter.com/Alex_T_Smith

Hodder Children's Books

Five Go Adventuring Again

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Meet Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timothy. Together they are THE FAMOUS FIVE - Enid Blyton's most popular adventure series. All 21 titles also available as audiobooks!In their second adventure, the Famous Five find a thief at Kirrin Cottage. They think they know who it is, but need to prove it. Will the discovery of a very old map help uncover the true culprit?Fantastic new cover art by Laura Ellen Anderson will draw young readers into this accessible timeless classic.

Franklin Watts

Night of the Toddlers

Tommy Donbavand
Authors:
Tommy Donbavand

So, your parents have been turned into toddlers by a cranky scientist called Professor Troppy. She invented 'Born Again' cream, which promised to keep people young (they just didn't realise HOW young). What are you going to do? Phone the police - they're toddlers. Call the army - they're toddlers. Even the Royal Family are toddlers! This is exactly what happened to Bobby and Gail, two utterly unloved kids out to save the day. Tommy Donbavand's Funny Shorts is a series of colour illustrated, chapter-based readers published by Franklin Watts EDGE designed to get kids reading with confidence.

Hodder Children's Books

The Mystery of the Disappearing Cat

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

The Find-Outers is a clever mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, and perfect for fans of The Secret Seven. A prize winning Siamese Cat has been stolen, and all evidence points to the Find-Outers' friend Luke. Fatty Larry, Daisy, Pip and Bets know Luke is innocent, but how can they prove it? The Find-Outers have another mystery to solve!First published in 1944, this edition contains the orginal text and is unillustrated.

Franklin Watts

Granny Bit My Bum!

Tommy Donbavand
Authors:
Tommy Donbavand
Franklin Watts

Duck!

Tommy Donbavand
Authors:
Tommy Donbavand

You've fed them bread, now they want you dead in this hilariously comic caper that'll have kids going quackers with laughter, written by the marvellous Tommy Donbavand (of TV's Scream Street fame).Six months from now ducks take over the world - and it's down to Jasmine and Luke to get them back where they belong - on a plate with some delicious hoisin sauce, mmmmm...But the leader of the ducks - The Drake - stands in their way. Tommy Donbavand's Funny Shorts is a series of colour illustrated, chapter-based readers which kids won't be able to resist. So make sure to check them all out (the books that is, not Tommy's actual shorts).This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get kids reading with confidence. EDGE - for books kids can't put down.