Jonny Zucker - Beyond the Wall - Hachette Children's Group

Beyond the Wall

By Jonny Zucker

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

Slipstream is a new generation of reading resources for struggling and reluctant readers. Through exciting and carefully levelled texts, Slipstream enables readers to accelerate their reading experience.

Slipstream is a new generation of reading resources
specifically designed for struggling and reluctant readers.
Through exciting and carefully levelled texts,
Slipstream enables readers to accelerate their reading experience.

This illustrated story is part of Slipstream LEVEL 2. The 350-word text
is levelled for readers with a reading age of 7-9, but its engaging
content makes it perfect for a wide range of older readers too.

All texts are levelled by reading experts Dee Reid and Diana Bentley.

Zara lives on one side of the wall, Kell lives on the other. No one from the two sides has ever met... until now. Zara is determined to help Kell escape from poverty, and to unite the two sides.

Biographical Notes

Jonny Zucker has composed songs for a children's theatre company, tried his hand at stand-up comedy and also been a teacher. He is the author of Max Flash and Venus Spring. He has written over thirty books for children, teenagers and adults.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445130903
  • Publication date: 29 May 2014
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Wayland

First World War

Jon Richards, Jonathan Vipond
Contributors:
Jon Richards, Jonathan Vipond

Franklin Watts

Your Number's Up

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson
Franklin Watts

Get in Shape

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson

What is the most perfect sphere known in nature? What is pi? Why were the Great Pyramids built in that shape? Find out the answers to these questions and many more in this book about the shapes that are all around us. Once you've read all about shapes, have a go at the fun quizzes which test your knowledge.The book is part of the Maths is Everywhere series, which demystifies all aspects of maths and shows how it relates to your everyday world with fun, colourful graphics. These are fantastic books for children aged nine plus who are studying maths, or for anyone who wants to get to grips with maths in a fun way.

Wayland

Ancient Egyptians

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Fate of Forgotten Island

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler
Hodder Children's Books

Easter Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Delight in this collection of 25 short stories, full of the buzz and excitement of spring - the perfect Easter present! This brand-new collection features a selection of twenty-five short stories, ideal for seasonal reading and sharing. Get ready for springtime adventures with these these fun, entertaining stories, ideal for newly confident readers and the perfect length for reading aloud at bedtime or in the classroom.With lots of humour and fantastic characters, these will appeal to newly confident readers as well as to younger children.Enid Blyton remains one of Britain's favourite children's authors and her bumper short story collections are perfect for introducing her to the latest generation of readers.Enid Blyton ® and Enid Blyton's signature are Registered Trademarks of Hodder and Stoughton Limited. No trademark or copyrighted material may be reproduced without the express written permission of the trademark and copyright owner.

Orion Children's Books

Dear Katie

Katie Thistleton
Authors:
Katie Thistleton

Real answers to real problems! Advice on life's tough stuff from children's TV and radio presenter Katie Thistleton.Growing up is hard. This book makes it a little bit easier. Exploring the sometimes challenging issues everyone faces as part of growing up, Katie will answer questions from real kids and teens with real issues. From falling outs with friends to disagreements with family, trouble at school to concerns about mental or physical health, Katie will cover every topic with thoughtful and emotionally sensitive advice that will resonate with readers. With additional guidance from TV and radio doctor Radha Modgil, as well as psychotherapist Sally Angel, this book is full of advice and guidance to help kids through the difficult years of growing up.

Orion Children's Books

The List of Real Things

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

A poignant and big-hearted story about love, loss and believing in the magic of the imagination. The fourth novel from bestselling Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted author Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, following BACK TO BLACKBRICK, THE APPLE TART OF HOPE and A VERY GOOD CHANCE.Gracie, 14, and Bee, 6, have lived with their eccentric uncle ever since their parents died five years ago. Gracie just wants to be normal. At school she finally has a boyfriend and cool friends, but her quirky home life and 'mental' little sister have begun to feel like liabilities. When their beloved grandfather dies and grief hits the girls again, little Bee's incredible imagination spirals out of control. Old memories and buried secrets bubble to the surface, and she even believes that their parents are waiting in a secret hotel on a clifftop - a place ghosts wait when they haven't yet let go of life.Gracie is determined Bee should wake up to the truth and let go of her outlandish ideas. She makes her write it down: a list of what's real, and what's not. But when it turns out the hotel may be more than just a dream, Gracie's hard line between what is real and what is imagined begins to blur . . .A beautiful and heartwarming tale of love, creativity and the importance and magic of believing.

Orion Children's Books

Return to Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence
Hodder Children's Books

Return to the City of Ghosts

Julian Sedgwick
Authors:
Julian Sedgwick

Ruby's stunning adventure reaches a thrilling conclusion in this powerful story for fans of Philip Pullman, Susan Hill and Robin Stevens.11-year-old Ruby is on a mission to rescue her best friend Fei, who has been kidnapped by dark forces at the heart of Shanghai: but the world she lives in is driven with danger and fear, and since the death of her brother, Ruby has had a new problem - she can see ghosts. On an amazing journey down the Yangtze, and in and out of the Otherworld, Ruby must find her friend, before she loses herself...

Wayland

What is Terrorism?

Annabel Savery
Authors:
Annabel Savery
Wayland

Who is Donald Trump?

Julia Adams
Authors:
Julia Adams
Orion Children's Books

The Trials of Morrigan Crow

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend

Enter the Wundrous world of Morrigan Crow and Nevermoor - the most fantastical children's release of the year.Morrigan Crow is cursed. Having been born on Eventide, the unluckiest day for any child to be born, she's blamed for all local misfortunes, from hailstorms to heart attacks - and, worst of all, the curse means that Morrigan is doomed to die at midnight on her eleventh birthday. But as Morrigan awaits her fate, a strange and remarkable man named Jupiter North appears. Chased by black-smoke hounds and shadowy hunters on horseback, he whisks her away into the safety of a secret, magical city called Nevermoor. It's then that Morrigan discovers Jupiter has chosen her to contend for a place in the city's most prestigious organisation: the Wundrous Society. In order to join, she must compete in four difficult and dangerous trials against hundreds of other children, each boasting an extraordinary talent that sets them apart - an extraordinary talent that Morrigan insists she does not have. To stay in the safety of Nevermoor for good, Morrigan will need to find a way to pass the tests - or she'll have to leave the city and confront her deadly fate once and for all. Perfect for fans of the Harry Potter series and His Dark Materials, this series takes readers into an extraordinary world, setting hope and imagination alive.

Orion Children's Books

Robbie and the RAAAH

Steven Butler, Nigel Baines
Contributors:
Steven Butler, Nigel Baines

A red Early Reader full of humour and fun, from bestselling author and actor, Steven Butler.Robbie always behaves. He always does what he's told. Until one day, when he just doesn't want to anymore. That's when the RAAAH appears...Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.

Hodder Children's Books

King Flashypants and the Dolls of Doom

Andy Riley
Authors:
Andy Riley
Wayland

Vikings

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

History in Infographics helps children to visualise facts and statistics using a clever and appealing mix of graphics and numbers. The colourful, high-impact design will appeal to a wide range of children, from visual learners to struggling readers, capturing and then holding their attention. Infographics are a really exciting, different way to learn about core historical topics, and are ideal for fact-hungry children, revision work, and to improve the quality of presentations. History in Infographics: The Vikings allows children to explore the Viking era like never before, finding out how people lived, what they ate, what they wore, how they were ruled and the gods they worshipped. Children can discover Viking warfare, and how the Vikings traded and raided their way across Europe - travelling thousands of miles from home to found settlements in places as far away as Britain, Iceland and North America. Ideal for children of 9+, and fact and history lovers of all ages, the Vikings have never seemed more exciting!

Wayland

Normans

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Wayland

Mayans

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Franklin Watts

Fraction Frenzy

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson

What are fractions and how are they used? What is the smallest fraction ever? This book explores the maths of fractions and shows how it relates to the everyday world with fantastic appealing visuals.The book is part of the Maths is Everywhere series, which demystifies all aspects of maths and shows how it relates to your everyday world with fun, colourful graphics. These are fantastic books for children aged nine plus who are studying maths, or for anyone who wants to get to grips with maths in a fun way.

Franklin Watts

What are the Chances?

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson