Steve Skidmore and Steve Barlow - Air Blast - Hachette Children's Group

Air Blast

Tyranno Quest 1

By Steve Skidmore and Steve Barlow
Illustrated by Jack Lawrence

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

Hot spin-off from the I HERO series, YOU are pitted against the evil Starlord Tyranno as he battles to take over planet Earth. Written by the award-winning 2Steves!

Tyranno, the evil Starlord, plans to attack Earth with his alien armies. Your quest is to defeat Tyranno.
But first YOU must battle Hurrikano, lord of Airworld, who is preparing the first strike.
Use your high-tech DART suit to defeat Hurrikano and capture his Staff of Power before he can use it
to invade Earth.
You are the hero of this book. Only you can decide your own destiny...

Biographical Notes

Steve Barlow was born in Britain (in Crewe, in the county of Cheshire). He went to Brierley Street School, which was like Bash Street only not as sophisticated, then to Crewe County Grammar School for Boys (and what kind of school feels the need, in its name, to remind its pupils what gender they are? Hmmm?). He went on to study at Warwick University and Nottingham University, and worked at various times as a teacher, actor, stage manager and puppeteer. Then he went to teach in Botswana, where a valid excuse for students not handing in their homework was \'A goat ate it, sir!\'. On his return to the UK he met Steve Skidmore, and the rest is hysteria.

Steve Skidmore is shorter than Steve Barlow and less hairy. He was born in Birstall near Leicester in England. After managing to pass some exams at school, he went on to Nottingham University to supposedly read English, but spent most of his time playing sport and doing a variety of summer jobs including counting pastry pie lids (yes, really).
He trained as a teacher of Drama, English and Film studies, before teaming up with Steve Barlow to become a full time author.
He lives in Leicester and is a great rugby fan (he supports Leicester Tigers - \'Come on you Tiiiiigeeeers!\').

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445108759
  • Publication date: 28 Jun 2012
  • Page count: 64
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
This is a fantastic book for boys who need to be introduced to reading for pleasure, it lets the imagination flow as you are the hero of the book and get to decide your own destiny. This book can be used for independent reading in upper KS2 as well as guided reading. It can also be used in golden time as a classroom activity in which the class vote on which option to choose. — Sofia, www.goodreads.com
As soon as one I Hero book reappears in the library it is snapped up within the hour. — G Trueman, Bath
Hodder Children's Books

Agent Weasel and the Abominable Dr Snow

Nick East
Authors:
Nick East

Meet Agent Weasel: woodland super-spy. Can he save the Big Freeze winter games from disaster? And will there be enough marshmallows for another hot chocolate? Perfect for reading alone or sharing together, for fans of The Bolds and Toto the Ninja Cat.It's the opening night of the Big Freeze winter games, but all is not well in the United Woodlands. Top animal athletes are disappearing, and there are whispers of a silent snow beast on the prowl. It's time to call Agent Weasel, woodland super-spy. Can he and his trusty dormouse friend Doorkins find out more about the sleek winter ermine who are winning all the golden acorns? Will Weasel be able to take part in the competition without falling over his own feet? Will there be enough marshmallows and sprinkles for another hot chocolate? Who knows? But rest assured: even on the darkest, coldest and snowiest of nights, Agent Weasel always gets his animal. This is the second in the rib-ticklingly funny Agent Weasel series, with glorious illustrations throughout.

Franklin Watts

Space Rap

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Franklin Watts

Movie Star Set-up

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Join the intrepid Galaxy Warriors Jet, Tip and Boo Hoo on their quest to save the universe from destructive baddies Lord and Lady Evil and Dr Y.From the authors of I HERO, these new intergalactic adventures combine graphic novel and prose, perfectly pitched to engage both older reluctant readers and younger, confident readers. Each title is book banded (Gold 9) and is printed using a dyslexia-friendly font on an off-white background.This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of booksto get children reading with confidence. EDGE - for books kids can't put down.

Hodder Children's Books

BOOT - small robot, BIG adventure

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty
Franklin Watts

Small World

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Franklin Watts

Space Chase

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Wayland

Lizards

Pat Jacobs
Authors:
Pat Jacobs
Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy
Franklin Watts

Enter The Penguin

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Take on the role of a cartoon hero in this fully interactive, wacky, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are a ninja penguin, and your recent travels take you to a seal village. But all is not well in town. A group of bandit bears are causing big trouble - and they might be even more than you can handle. YOU must team up with a gang of buddies - Foxy, Jagger, Snowy and Bigfoot - to battle Big Daddy Bear...Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve Skidmore, and illustrated by the amazing Lee Robinson.Age appropriate for 6 to 8 year olds. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Killer Custard

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Franklin Watts

Werewolf

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Franklin Watts

Mutant

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow

Take on the role of the Monster Hunter in this fully interactive, flick-through-the pages, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are an agent of G.H.O.S.T. - protecting the world from creatures in the shadows. Dr Omega is creating mutanthumans - turning them into monsters. Your mission is to stop her experiments.Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve SkidmoreAge appropriate for 8+. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Robin Hamster

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Take on the role of a cartoon hero in this fully interactive, wacky, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.The Sheriff of Snottingham is up to his old tricks - he's holding a 'find the best archer in the country' competition. It's sooooooo obviously a trap to capture Robin Hamster, outlaw of the forest. YOU are Robin! Can you escape from the Sheriff's men and save the day? Only YOU can decide... Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve Skidmore, and illustrated by the amazing Lee Robinson.Age appropriate for 6 to 8 year olds. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Invasion of the Botty Snatchers

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Franklin Watts

Vampire

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow

Take on the role of the Monster Hunter in this fully interactive, flick-through-the pages, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are the Monster Hunter, protector of the living, and curse of the undead. Vampires have snatched a group of tourists. You are sent on a mission to find them and stop the vampires...Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve SkidmoreAge appropriate for 8+. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Ghost

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Franklin Watts

Zombie

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Franklin Watts

Alien

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Franklin Watts

Attack of the Zombie Bunnies

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore