Neal Layton - Friends for a Day - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Friends for a Day

By Neal Layton

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Get ready for the party of a lifetime with Bartholomew and the bug and the award-winning Neal Layton.

Clever and wonderfully original - a celebration of friendship, kindness and living life to the full.

A reissue of this award-winning picture book by Neal Layton. Winner of the Nestlé Smarties Book Prize Bronze Award.

Bartholomew leads a quiet life. But he is a kindly sort of bear, so when his new friend, the Bug, is in a tremendous hurry to find the bright lights, he decides to help him on his way. Bear soon finds himself in the big city, which is like nothing he's ever known before. But why is Bug in such a hurry?

'A life-affirming story, gloriously illustrated' Julia Eccleshare

'Wonderfully messy, child-friendly drawings against hip, graphic backgrounds' Daily Mail

Biographical Notes

Neal Layton has illustrated more than 40 books, working with award-winning authors such as Cressida Cowell, Michael Rosen and Roger McGough. He has won the Smarties Book Prize twice, for Bartholomew and the Bug, and Oscar and Arabella, both of he wrote and illustrated, and won the same award for That Rabbit Belongs to Emily Brown, written by Cressida Cowell. He has won numerous other awards both in the UK and overseas, and been shortlisted for many more, including the Red House and Blue Peter book awards and the Booktrust Early Years Award. He lives with his family in Portsmouth.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444928259
  • Publication date: 05 Oct 2017
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
...deliciously humorous.... — Books for Keeps
Wonderfully messy, child-friendly drawings against hip, graphic backgrounds. — The Mail
Hodder Children's Books

The Invincible Tony Spears: Lost in Space

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton

What would you do if a red button in your kitchen cupboard could transport you to a spaceship? Press it, of course! Created by the award-winning author and illustrator Neal Layton.When things get too much, Tony climbs aboard his spaceship called The Invincible to chill amongst intergalactic life. But this time, Tony hears some strange noises over his communicator - is it an alien trying to communicate with him, or his new baby sister? Whatever it is, the something is controlling the movements of the spaceship and Tony is sent hurtling towards a parallel universe inhabited by strange creatures called the Blue Bloos. If he has any way of getting home, he will have to work with his friends, old and new ...

Hodder Children's Books

The Invincible Tony Spears and the Brilliant Blob

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton

Tony has settled into his new school, but things never stay the same for long - Tony's mum announces that he is going to have a new little brother or sister. When things get too much, Tony likes to press the red button in the kitchen cupboard, and climb aboard The Invincible spaceship to chill amongst intergalactic life. This time, Tony notices a lonely looking blob hanging around space. Against the computer's warnings, Tony takes the lonely blob 'Dot' back to planet Earth so they can keep each other company. It's fun playing space games with Dot. But, Dot is has very peculiar food habits. The school has a plumbing malfunction, does it have something to do with Dot? Will Tony be able to come up with a plan to calm Dot down before his school presentation and the fancy dress disco? And can Dot help Tony realise how fun caring for a small creature can be?

Hodder Children's Books

Danny McGee Drinks the Sea

Andy Stanton, Neal Layton
Contributors:
Andy Stanton, Neal Layton
Hodder Children's Books

The Invincible Tony Spears

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton
Hodder Children's Books

Cheer Up Your Teddy Emily Brown

Cressida Cowell, Neal Layton
Contributors:
Cressida Cowell, Neal Layton
Hodder Children's Books

Emily Brown and the Elephant Emergency

Cressida Cowell, Neal Layton
Contributors:
Cressida Cowell, Neal Layton
Hodder Children's Books

Emily Brown and the Thing

Cressida Cowell, Neal Layton
Contributors:
Cressida Cowell, Neal Layton

A stunning reissue of this classic picture book. In this warm-hearted and witty take on a classic theme - being scared of the dark - Emily and Stanley find a 'Thing' crying outside their window. They embark on a series of adventures to find everything he needs for a good night's sleep . . . but nothing seems to work. What is troubling the Thing, and why can't he get to sleep? Parents and children the world over will recognise all the bizarre excuses a child can make to keep the light on and a parent in the room at bedtime, and this story shows how important it is to talk to children, and find out what is really going on in the complex depths of a child's imagination.'Rascally bedtime fare.' - BooklistWritten by Cressida Cowell, the bestselling author of the How to Train Your Dragon series. http://www.cressidacowell.co.uk/Illustrated by award winning Neal Layton, creator of Stanley's Stick. http://www.neallayton.co.uk/

Hodder Children's Books

That Rabbit Belongs To Emily Brown

Cressida Cowell, Neal Layton
Contributors:
Cressida Cowell, Neal Layton

A stunning reissue of this classic picture book. When the Queen steals Emily Brown's favourite toy and erstwhile companion, a toy rabbit called Stanley, Emily sets out to get him back and teach that naughty queen a valuable lesson! Winner of the 2006 Nestle Gold Award, chosen for the Richard & Judy Christmas book party, a Bookaboo Book Club book as seen on CITV and read by Amanda Holden.'Charming, funny and gets my vote as the best picture book of the year.' - Financial TimesWritten by Cressida Cowell, the bestselling author of the How to Train Your Dragon series. http://www.cressidacowell.co.uk/Illustrated by award winning Neal Layton, creator of Stanley's Stick.http://www.neallayton.co.uk/

Quercus Children's Books

The Dark Wild

Piers Torday, Piers Torday
Authors:
Piers Torday, Piers Torday

AS SEEN ON BBC'S COUNTRYFILEWINNER OF THE GUARDIAN CHILDREN'S FICTION PRIZE 2014. A thrilling animal adventure for fans of Roald Dahl, David Walliams and Katherine RundellTwelve-year-old Kester thought he had discovered the last wild animals in the land. He thought his adventure was over. He was wrong. Below the sparkling city of Premium, deep underground, a dark wild remains: animals who believe the time is right to rise up against their human enemies. And soon Kester realises: he is the only one who can stop them. Kester Jaynes saved the animals. Can he save the humans too?

Hodder Children's Books

The Story of the Stars

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton
Hodder Children's Books

Stanley's Stick

John Hegley, Neal Layton
Contributors:
John Hegley, Neal Layton

Stanley's Stick is a teaming-up of hefty talents - glorious poet John Hegley and award-winning illustrator Neal Layton. Stanley's stick is not just a stick. With a stick in hand, Stanley's options are endless - he flies to the moon, writes in the sand, goes fishing, plays a whistle and rides a dinosaur - and his imagination takes over and the magic begins. Hegley's lyrical prose captures the free-wheeling expressiveness of childhood, and Layton's deceptively simple illustrations are full of wit and character. Sweet, magical and thoroughly entertaining, this is Hegley and Layton's first collaboration.

Orion Children's Books

Vampires and Volts

Marcus Sedgwick, Marcus Sedgwick, Pete Williamson
Contributors:
Marcus Sedgwick, Marcus Sedgwick, Pete Williamson

Join the wonderfully weird Otherhand family and their faithful guardian, Edgar the raven, and discover the dark secrets of Castle Otherhand.It's Halloween and the Otherhands are enjoying the Annual Pumpkin Hunt. And there are preparations to be made for the Great Halloween Ball. Minty is all a-fluster. Solstice is busy spraying fake cobwebs everywhere. Valevine is in charge of disorganising everyone's carefully laid plans, and Cudweed seems hungrier than ever and oddly preoccupied with 'fresh brains'. In fact when Silas, Valevine's long lost brother, turns up with Samantha, the Otherhands would be well-advised to check out their guests. It's not long before wily Edgar works out that there's a preponderance of vampires and not all of them have false teeth. Just when he's about to solve the latest mystery at Otherhand Castle, the lights go out...Dedicated website on Raven Mysteries: www.ravenmysteries.co.uk

Hodder Children's Books

The Story Of Things

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton

Starting with early humans who have no things, through to farming, civilizations, inventions, steam, electricity, computers, and the world we live in now, Neal Layton explores ideas, inventions and discoveries.In his usual quirky style and energetic illustrations, Neal Layton tells this story in an accessible way for the very young. Is is a most original and inventive book!

Hodder Children's Books

Surf's Up

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton
Orion Children's Books

The Queen's Bracelet

Georgie Adams, Gwen Millward
Contributors:
Georgie Adams, Gwen Millward
Hodder Children's Books

Oscar and Arabella

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton
Hodder Children's Books

Mammoth Academy On Holiday

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton

Stinking, rubbish-infested rivers to swim in, nature walks minus the nature and Giant Sloth cooking dinner. This can only mean one terrible thing for the Academy students on their school trip. Humans are about! And now Oscar's gone missing. Professor Snout and the other students are about to embark on a rescue mission which goes swimmingly!

Hodder Children's Books

Oscar and Arabella: Oscar and Arabella and Ormsby

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton
Hodder Children's Books

In Trouble

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton

There's not much worse than having to go back to school after the holidays.Except perhaps if you return and there's graffiti all over the school! And then a flea epidemic! Things are getting pretty hairy for the students of the Mammoth Academy. The heaviest snowfall in history means lots of hungry humans and soon the Academy is surrounded.How will they get out of this one?

Hodder Children's Books

The Story of Everything

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton