Jan Mark - The Ennead - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Ennead

By Jan Mark

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list is making timeless science fiction and fantasy titles available for a new generation of readers - and reacquainting existing fans with favourite works from the past.

Isaac is an outsider on the planet Erato - the lone survivor of a disaster elsewhere in the Ennead (a system of nine planets). But he has managed to infiltrate an important family and wields a significant amount of power. Even so, his position is often compromised because he depends on the kindness of others. So when the chance to rescue Eleanor, a girl from another planet, arises - and most importantly, to keep her forever in his debt, he seizes it. But Eleanor brings her own agenda - her own history - which threatens Isaac's position and the very fabric of Erato's society.

Biographical Notes

Jan Mark (1943-2006) was amongst the finest authors to emerge in the second golden age of children's books. She won the Carnegie Medal twice (for her first novel, Thunder and Lightnings and for Handles) and received a host of other commendations and prizes. A former teacher, she spent many years working in schools, alongside her full-time writing. As a reader, science-fiction was a passion and informed several of her most ambitious books, including the three titles on the Silver list - as well as The Eclipse of the Century (shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Award) and Useful Idiots.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444921007
  • Publication date: 01 May 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Orchard Books

Phantom

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt
Hodder Children's Books

Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart
Orchard Books

Amelia Sparklepaw

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

Summertime Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Truth of Different Skies

Kate Ling
Authors:
Kate Ling
Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed

I'm no good at sport ...I can't do maths ...I really struggle with exams ...Sound familiar?If you believe you can't do something, the chances are you won't try. But what if you really could get better at maths, or sport or exams? In fact, what if you could excel at anything you put your mind to?You Are Awesome can help you do just that, inspiring and empowering young readers to find the confidence to realise their potential. The first children's book from Times journalist, two-time Olympian and best-selling author Matthew Syed, it uses examples of successful people from Mozart to David Beckham to demonstrate that success really is earned rather than given, and that talent can be acquired. With hard work and determination, practice and self-belief, there's no reason why anyone can't achieve anything. Practical, insightful and positive, this is the book to help children build resilience, embrace their mistakes and grow into successful, happy adults.

Orchard Books

Bridesmaid Surprise – Two magical adventures in one!

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Fate of Forgotten Island

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler

The brand new, eagerly awaited seventh book in the five-million-copy-selling Emily Windsnap series byLiz Kessler. Bubbling with magic, fun, friendship and new heights of adventure, a must-read for girls aged 8-12. Emily Windsnap, an ordinary girl on land and a magical mermaid in water, is overdue a break from excitement - as her exhausted best friend Shona keeps reminding her! So, promising Shona she'll stay free of trouble and just 'swill out' ('chill out' for mermaids), Emily invites her best friend and her boyfriend Aaron along for a relaxing family holiday in the sun . . . But it seems adventure is hot on her heels - and her tail.Soon, Emily discovers a hidden world beyond the falls of mysterious Forgotten Island - but it's not quite the paradise it seems. With a curse hanging over the island and a catastrophic disaster looming, Emily finds herself suddenly entangled in an ancient Prophecy. She must embark on a dangerous mission to seek the legendary giant the islanders believe will save them all, before it's too late.But how can Emily save the day when rifts are forming between herself and the very people she needs by her side? Must promises always be kept? And what happens when they are broken?

Hodder Children's Books

Shield of Lies

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The gripping follow-up to The Crystal Run from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author, for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman.'I know how much you love Carcassia. You were prepared to die for it. It must be terrible to realise that you have been betrayed.'Kaia is from a world in which blind sacrifice is a virtue, and a Runner's life expendable.It took Joe, an outsider, to show her that she must question the truth.Now, Kaia and Joe have been taken prisoner. Trusting her sworn enemies is the only way out.Kaia and Joe must risk their lives and return to Carcassia to prevent more Runners from racing to their death. Praise for The Crystal Run:'Brims with all the hallmarks of a classic fantasy quest - a vividly evoked world, heart-rending conflict, compelling action' - LoveReading4Kids'Will appeal to youngsters who enjoy reading about dangerous quests' - Sunday Independent'Well-written, with a strong plot and excellent characters, this book gives us anexciting, classic-style fantasy filled with intrigue' - Inis'O'Flanagan's writing is crisp and concise and her plotting deft' - Belfast Telegraph

Orchard Books

Maria the Mother's Day Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Franklin Watts

Hercules

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Andrew Tunney
Contributors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Andrew Tunney

You are Hercules, the powerful and courageous son of Zeus. You have joined the crew of the Argo. It isn't long before the gods start playing tricks, and your friend, Hylas, is in danger ... This is a choose-your-own-destiny adventure where YOU are the hero.This is a title in the interactive I HERO Legends series - where the reader plays the part of a legendary hero! In each adventure the reader makes a choice that affects how the story progresses - it really is 'decide-your-own-destiny!Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve Skidmore (more commonly known as the 2Steves), and illustrated by Andrew "2Hands" Tunney. Age appropriate for 6 to 8 year olds and more sensitive readers. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Freya

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Andrew Tunney
Contributors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Andrew Tunney
Hodder Children's Books

Movie Night

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay
Orchard Books

Everless

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland

Time is a prison. She is the key. Packed with danger, temptation and desire - a perfect read for fans of The Red Queen.In the land of Sempera, the rich control everything - even time. Ever since the age of alchemy and sorcery, hours, days and years have been extracted from blood and bound to iron coins. The rich live for centuries; the poor bleed themselves dry.Jules and her father are behind on their rent and low on hours. To stop him from draining himself to clear their debts, Jules takes a job at Everless, the grand estate of the cruel Gerling family. There, Jules encounters danger and temptation in the guise of the Gerling heir, Roan, who is soon to be married. But the web of secrets at Everless stretches beyond her desire, and the truths Jules must uncover will change her life for ever ... and possibly the future of time itself.'Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. An intoxicating blend of blood, secrets, and haunting mythology, Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time.' Stephanie Garber, New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author of Caraval

Franklin Watts

The Children of Willesden Lane

Mona Golabek, Lee Cohen
Authors:
Mona Golabek, Lee Cohen

Fourteen-year-old Lisa Jura was a musical prodigy who hoped to become a concert pianist. But when Hitler's armies advanced on pre-war Vienna, Lisa's parents were forced to make a difficult decision. Able to secure passage for only one of their three daughters through the Kindertransport, they chose to send gifted Lisa to London for safety. As she yearned to be reunited with her family while she lived in a home for refugee children on Willesden Lane, Lisa's music became a beacon of hope. A memoir of courage, survival, and the power of music to uplift the human spirit, this compelling tribute to one special young woman and the lives she touched will both educate and inspire young readers. Based on a true story of a 14 year old girl Lisa Jura, who had to flee her home in Vienna and rebuild her life in London, the story brings home the reality of the Holocaust to readers aged 12 and up.

Orchard Books

Christina the Winter Wonderland Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orion Children's Books

The Trials of Morrigan Crow

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend

International bestselling new series. Enter the Wundrous world of Morrigan Crow and Nevermoor - the most fantastical children's series of the year."Exciting, mysterious, marvellous and magical ... quite simply one of the best children's books I've read in years" - Robin Stevens, author of Murder Most Unladylike"An extraordinary story full of magics great and small" - Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of The Girl of Ink and Stars"Endlessly inventive, with a fresh delight on every page. Nevermoor rewrites the genre of the Chosen Child novel. This is a special book" - David Solomons, author of My Brother is a Superhero"A full-speed joy of a book; funny, quick-footed, and wildly, magically inventive" - Katherine Rundell, author of Rooftoppers"A wonderful, warm-hearted magical adventure" - Sunday Express"Funny and delightful" - The Sunday TimesMorrigan Crow is cursed, destined to die on her eleventh birthday. But, as the clock strikes midnight, she's whisked away by a remarkable man called Jupter North and taken to the secret city of Nevermoor.There she's invited to join the Wundrous Society. Mystery, magica and protection are hers - if only she can pass four impossible trials, using an exceptional talent. Which she doesn't have...Perfect for fans of the Harry Potter series and His Dark Materials, this series takes readers into an extraordinary world, setting hope and imagination alive.

Hodder Children's Books

Crash Landing

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Orchard Books

Pet Parade

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Learning to read is fun with the Rainbow Magic Fairies! Developed in conjunction with Early Years reading consultants and based on the most up-to-date educational research, the Rainbow Magic Beginner Readers are the perfect way to introduce your child to the magical world of reading.

Franklin Watts

Suffragettes and the Fight for the Vote

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley