Jan Mark - The Ennead - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Ennead

By Jan Mark

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list is making timeless science fiction and fantasy titles available for a new generation of readers - and reacquainting existing fans with favourite works from the past.

Isaac is an outsider on the planet Erato - the lone survivor of a disaster elsewhere in the Ennead (a system of nine planets). But he has managed to infiltrate an important family and wields a significant amount of power. Even so, his position is often compromised because he depends on the kindness of others. So when the chance to rescue Eleanor, a girl from another planet, arises - and most importantly, to keep her forever in his debt, he seizes it. But Eleanor brings her own agenda - her own history - which threatens Isaac's position and the very fabric of Erato's society.

Biographical Notes

Jan Mark (1943-2006) was amongst the finest authors to emerge in the second golden age of children's books. She won the Carnegie Medal twice (for her first novel, Thunder and Lightnings and for Handles) and received a host of other commendations and prizes. A former teacher, she spent many years working in schools, alongside her full-time writing. As a reader, science-fiction was a passion and informed several of her most ambitious books, including the three titles on the Silver list - as well as The Eclipse of the Century (shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Award) and Useful Idiots.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444921007
  • Publication date: 01 May 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

Winter Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Hodder Children's Books

Is it Really Nearly Christmas?

Joyce Dunbar, Victoria Turnbull
Contributors:
Joyce Dunbar, Victoria Turnbull

'This isn't any old night, this is a magic night!'There's only one more sleep till Christmas and Lucas and Willow, the moon and the stars are all waiting ... While they wait, the children remember everything they love about Christmas, but they don't notice that the magic has already begun ...This is a stunning picture book from a gifted storyteller and award-winning illustrator that perfectly captures the joy and anticipation of Christmas Eve.

Hodder Children's Books

Stories of Magic and Mischief

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Unicorns

Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Quercus Children's Books

The Life and Death Parade

Eliza Wass
Authors:
Eliza Wass

Strange rituals, hauntings and the occult collide in this darkly memorable YA thriller. Perfect for fans of Louise O'Neill, Sarah Waters and Donna Tartt.One year ago, Kitty's boyfriend Nikki Bramley visited a psychic who told him he had no future. Now, he's dead. With the Bramleys grieving inside their rural English home, Kitty sets out to find the psychic who read Nikki his fate.Instead she finds Roan, an enigmatic medium claiming he can speak to the dead. He belongs to the Life and Death Parade - a group that explore the thin veil between this world and the next. Kitty is convinced he's a charlatan - but the 'magic' seems to work. The darkness is lifting.But there are things Kitty can't ignore - evidence of strange rituals, shadows of the boy she lost, and Kitty begins to suspect that this boy had something to do with Nikki's death. More, that he may have the very real power to bring him back ...'Haunting, unexpected, beautifully written. One of the best books I've read this year' LOUISE O'NEILL on In the Dark, In the Woods

Orchard Books

Amelia Sparklepaw

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orion Children's Books

Escape

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orchard Books

Daisy Tappytoes Dares to Dance

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

An enchanting series full of adorable animals, magic and friendship - from the creator of RAINBOW MAGIC, the UK's bestselling series for girls aged 5-7.Best friends Lily and Jess are excited to be going to a musical show in Friendship Forest! But when they get there, the wicked witch Grizelda puts a curse on the place, knocking everything out of sync. Can adorable fawn Daisy Tappytoes help Friendship Forest regain its rhythm?

Orion Children's Books

They Saw Too Much

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

Two teenagers witness a murder - and now they're the next targets. An action-packed, edge-of-your-seat YA thriller from bestselling author, Alan Gibbons. Gripping and gritty, perfect for fans of Kevin Brooks, Patrice Lawrence and Malorie Blackman.Sixteen-year-old John has moved away from the tough inner-city neighbourhood he grew up in and started afresh. Ceri James is the guarded girl from the children's home who has captivated his attention. But when their lives are thrown together, it's not in the way John had hoped. They witness a man die.Not only are they eye-witnesses of the fatal shooting, but John caught the whole thing on camera - and the culprits know it. Now, John and Ceri must run for their lives in a deadly, heart-stopping chase that leads them in dark and ever more dangerous directions.So why does John refuse to call the police? As secrets are revealed and loyalties doubted, John and Ceri's world hinges on one question - when it's a matter of life or death, who can you really trust?

Orchard Books

Bobbi the Bouncy Castle Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Bobbi the Bouncy Castle Fairy is the bubbliest of all the Funfair Fairies! But when Jack Frost steals her magical object, even she is a bit deflated. Can Kirsty and Rachel help bring back the bounce before the funfair goes flat?

Orchard Books

Rae the Rollercoaster Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Rae the Rollercoaster Fairy makes sure that rollercoasters everywhere are lots of fun. But when Jack Frost steals her magical object, she's in for a bumpy ride! Can Kirsty and Rachel help get things running smoothly again?

Hodder Children's Books

Whoever You Are

Diana Hendry
Authors:
Diana Hendry
Hodder Children's Books

Midnight Sun

Trish Cook
Authors:
Trish Cook

Katie can't leave her house during the day: she has a rare disease that makes even the smallest amount of sunlight deadly. But everything changes when one night, singing her heart out on a deserted station platform, she meets Charlie.Before the night is out, Katie is smitten. But she hasn't told Charlie her secret. She just wants to have her normal love story, before reality kicks in. Lost in her night-time summer romance, Katie knows that love will light the way.

Wayland

A Guide to Britain and Ireland

Kevin Pettman
Authors:
Kevin Pettman
Wayland

London

Simon Holland
Authors:
Simon Holland
Quercus Children's Books

In the Dark, In the Woods

Eliza Wass
Authors:
Eliza Wass

'Haunting, unexpected, beautifully written. One of the best books I've read this year' LOUISE O'NEILLAn unforgettable thriller from an incredible new author, for fans of We Were Liars and Half Bad, reminiscent of The Virgin Suicides.Father wants sixteen-year-old Castley and her five siblings to hide from the world. Living in a falling-down house deep in the woods, he wants to bury their secrets where noone will ever find them. Father says they are destined to be together forever. In heaven. Father says the sooner they get there, the better. But Castley wants to be normal. She wants to kiss boys and wear jean shorts. CASTLEY WANTS TO LIVE. 'A breathtaking, gut-wrenching coming-of-age saga from all sides. Readers will be swept into the Cresswells' claustrophobic world and ache for them long after it's set aflame' - Kirkus'A haunting family portrait centered on the power of belief' - Publishers Weekly

Orchard Books

Fairy Charm

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Genie Wish

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Pixie Spell

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Queen Malice has cast her most dangerous spell yet!The wicked queen has cursed the Magic Hourglass. When the sand runs out, all the magic will be gone from the Secret Kingdom forever! Jasmine, Ellie and Summer have collected almost all the four Enchanted Objects to break Queen Malice's spell, but there's one left to find, and Queen Malice won't let them have it without a fight. Will the magic of the Secret Kingdom be lost forever?

Orchard Books

Mermaid Magic

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Queen Malice has cast her most dangerous spell yet! The wicked queen has cursed the Magic Hourglass and when the sand runs out, all the magic will be gone from the Secret Kingdom forever! Jasmine, Ellie and Summer must find the four Enchanted Objects to break Queen Malice's spell, but the second one is deep in an undersea cavern. Can they get the Silver Shell before the Storm Sprites do?