Jean Ure - Plague 99 - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Plague 99

By Jean Ure

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list is making timeless science fiction and fantasy titles available for a new generation of readers - and reacquainting existing fans with favourite works from the past.

Almost overnight a plague has wiped out the population of England. The only survivors seem to be three very different teenagers. Together they must come to terms with the man-made devastation around them. Fran, Harriet and Shahid have the power to rebuild society, but do they have the courage?

Biographical Notes

Jean Ure's first book was published when she was sixteen and since then she has written dozens of popular and widely-acclaimed novels for children of all ages. The Plague Trilogy proved to be amongst her most controversial and most ambitious books - involving a tussle with her editor on the boundaries pushed in the middle volume - but she has never shied away from challenging material. In 2006, she was voted by readers of Mizz magazine as one of the three best-known writers for teens.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444919905
  • Publication date: 01 May 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

Shield of Lies

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The gripping sequel to The Crystal Run - a children's novel from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman.Runners are the privileged few. Bestowed the honour of protecting their country, Runners bring wealth and glory to their families. Yet, upon fulfilling their oath, a Runner's life must expire. A lot happened since Kaia, fastest and strongest Runner of her cycle, swore to protect her country. Risking their lives, Kaia and Joe travelled through enemy territory to replace the precious Kerala crystals that power Carcassia's protective shield. Thwarted at every step, the teenagers made troubling and frightening discoveries, threatening the safety of all Carcassians.Are Kaia's trusted and powerful leaders liars? Have dozens of teenage Runners been sent to their death for nothing but the comfort and riches of the privileged few? All their efforts in vain, Kaia and Joe are taken prisoner. They must escape. They must find out the truth, return to Carcassia and most importantly, they must prevent more Runners from sprinting to their death.

Wren & Rook

Mary's Monster

Lita Judge
Authors:
Lita Judge

Creative genius...?Inventor of science fiction...?Pregnant teenage runaway...?Who was the real Mary Shelley? Publishing to mark the 200th anniversary of the publication of Frankenstein, Mary's Monster is the compelling, and beautifully illustrated, story of Mary Shelley - the original rebel girl. When her fractured bond with her beloved father, and her elopement with the mercurial (and married) poet Percy Bysshe Shelley at the age of 16, led her to Switzerland, few could have imagined the consequence would be such a book. But, in the crucible of societal disapproval and tenuous circumstances, Mary Shelley created Frankenstein, and his monster, forged in the fire of her troubled and tragic life. Part biography, part fantasy and part feminist allegory, Mary's Monster is an engrossing take on one remarkable woman. And her monster.

Wayland

Australia

Kevin Pettman
Authors:
Kevin Pettman

Wayland

Vote for Me!

Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon

Introduce children to the concept of politics and find out who's in charge across the world from presidents, prime ministers and dictators, to kings and queens.This book will look at different systems of leadership that exist globally, looking in particular at how democracies work and what voting and elections are.It looks at the seven main types of governments/ways of ruling - Anarchy; Dictatorship; Monarchy; Theocracy; Totalitarian; Republic; Democracy. It looks at the set-up of democratic governments, in particular the UK and US and what they do, for example making laws, funding armies, providing services and how they make these things happen and why we pay taxes.We talk about the different political ideologies that different governments have, such as capitalism and communism, and the spectrum of ideologies from the far left to the far right, including liberalism, socialism, conservatism and fascism - and in between. How do elections work? What types of elections are there, for example, local, state, for a leader, or national/general, how candidates are chosen, what voting systems are in place, such as PPR and FPP, who is entitled to vote and how votes are cast and counted. Finally, find out what it takes to become a leader and get people to vote for you. Learn how to get involved by joining school councils or running school elections.

Wayland

WWI?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

This book looks at how and why World War I was born out of the longstanding rivalries and feuds between European nations, at home and across their overseas empires, and how the conflict sucked in imperial and colonial troops from around the world. It examines the legacy of the the war, both in terms of the bad things that came out of it, such as the rise of fascism and totalitarian rule, and the good things, including developments in medicine and plastic surgery, enhanced aeroplane technology and advances in suffrage and equality for women.

Orion Children's Books

Invictus

Ryan Graudin
Authors:
Ryan Graudin
Hodder Children's Books

Songs About Us

Chris Russell
Authors:
Chris Russell
Hodder Children's Books

Indigo Donut

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence

Orion Children's Books

The Bone Sparrow

Zana Fraillon
Authors:
Zana Fraillon

Hodder Children's Books

The Crystal Run

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan
Franklin Watts

Food and Eating

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Food can be confusing! There's a lot of information out there about which foods are 'good' or 'bad' for you - and it seems to change every week! And people can sometimes get very stressed about food and eating, and how it affects their bodies. This book for teens explains how food works, so they can make their own decisions armed with all the facts.Is is part of the series Healthy for Life, which gives factual information on a range of health issues so teens can get the information they need to be healthy. The books feature fun infographic style illustrations.

Wayland

the Cold War?

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

This book looks at how and why the Cold War developed between the USSR and the USA and their opposing ideas of communism and capitalism. It examines the legacy of the Cold War, both in terms of the bad things that came out of it, such as instability and conflicts around the world, denial of human rights to millions of people and the stockpiling of nuclear and conventional weapons, and the good things, including technological progress, advances in medical understanding and developments in art, literature and sport.

Hodder Children's Books

City of Shadows

Celia Rees
Authors:
Celia Rees

In the midsummer of his twelfth birthday, Davey, his twin cousins and his sister Kate, embark on a tour of the infamous underground city in Davey's hometown. As the tour progresses, Davey finds himself separated from the others, and inside an eerie chamber. Here he is drawn to a large and hazy-glassed mirror. In a moment, Davey's reflection blurs, and he finds himself back on the streets of the ancient city - but the residents are not of his time - they are ghosts, and some do not take kindly to those from 'the other side'. Davey encounters some friendly spirits, too - but they urge him to try to make it back to his own time, before an evil ghost crew discovers he is mortal. A frantic search for his own world begins, and Davey makes it just in time. But he senses there is unfinished business and, come Hallowe'en, the ghosts will be on the lookout for him - and this time they will be visiting his world . . .

Hodder Children's Books

A Trap in Time

Celia Rees
Authors:
Celia Rees
Hodder Children's Books

A Song for Ella Grey

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

Winner of the Guardian children's book prize 2015I'm the one who's left behind. I'm the one to tell the tale. I knew them both... knew how they lived and how they died. Claire is Ella Grey's best friend. She's there when the whirlwind arrives on the scene: catapulted into a North East landscape of gutted shipyards; of high arched bridges and ancient collapsed mines. She witnesses a love so dramatic it is as if her best friend has been captured and taken from her. But the loss of her friend to the arms of Orpheus is nothing compared to the loss she feels when Ella is taken from the world. This is her story - as she bears witness to a love so complete; so sure, that not even death can prove final.

Hodder Children's Books

Lone Wolf

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

The sixteenth title in the number one bestselling CHERUB series! Fay has spent eighteen months locked up in a Secure Training Centre. Drug deals and rip-offs are the only things this teenager knows. Now she's back on the street, looking to settle old scores. CHERUB agents Ryan and Ning need Fay's knowledge to unearth a major drug importer. They're trained professionals with one essential advantage: even experienced criminals never suspect that children are spying on them. But Fay's made a lot of enemies and she's running out of time ... For official purposes, these children do not exist.

Hodder Children's Books

Watchers at the Shrine

Jean Ure
Authors:
Jean Ure

50 years on from Come Lucky April... April and David have confronted the orthodoxy - they believe girls and boys should be able to grow up together. They determine to send their son away, to spare him the humilation of castration. ' Hal spends several years there, waiting for the ban to be lifted. He befriends the daughters of the family he lives with - but when he challenges his 'father' he is sent from the house, and discovers a new life in the lawless part of the settlement. He realises he needs to help the girls he can to escape and return to Croydon. How can he save them? Life back in Croydon things are changing, too. People are dying. Beliefs are being challenged. Are things any better than they were 150 years ago? Is there hope for the future?

Hodder Children's Books

Aquarius

Jan Mark
Authors:
Jan Mark

Viner lives in a land that constantly floods - his skill as a water diviner has lead to ridicule. But when he is kidnapped all this changes. His murderous captors force him to work for them in their drought-stricken country - and to challenge the Rain-King whose failure to provide the necessary rainfall is sorely trying all those around him. But instead of ridiculing the King, Viner befriends him - perhaps more ... Aquarius is a deeply humane story of power, manipulation, ambition, and burgeoning sexuality. Viner is a complex character - easy to like and despise in equal measure. His story will not easily be forgotten.

Hodder Children's Books

Come Lucky April

Jean Ure
Authors:
Jean Ure
Hodder Children's Books

Dark Sun and other stories

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

Who would believe that a kid at a sleepover could be a spy? CHERUB: Dark Sun is a short novel aimed at new readers to CHERUB, originally written for World Book Day and now made available in print again by popular demand! To go with it are three stories never before seen in print: The Switch, CHERUB at Christmas and Kerry's First Mission. For official purposes, these children do not exist.