Jean Ure - Plague 99 - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Plague 99

By Jean Ure

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list is making timeless science fiction and fantasy titles available for a new generation of readers - and reacquainting existing fans with favourite works from the past.

Almost overnight a plague has wiped out the population of England. The only survivors seem to be three very different teenagers. Together they must come to terms with the man-made devastation around them. Fran, Harriet and Shahid have the power to rebuild society, but do they have the courage?

Biographical Notes

Jean Ure's first book was published when she was sixteen and since then she has written dozens of popular and widely-acclaimed novels for children of all ages. The Plague Trilogy proved to be amongst her most controversial and most ambitious books - involving a tussle with her editor on the boundaries pushed in the middle volume - but she has never shied away from challenging material. In 2006, she was voted by readers of Mizz magazine as one of the three best-known writers for teens.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444919905
  • Publication date: 01 May 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Franklin Watts

In the Air

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles

How did the forces that fought in the air affect the outcome of the Second World War? This book explores the units who battled it out to win supremacy in the skies during the Second World War, from the Luftwaffe and RAF, to the Japanese Kamikaze squadrons. Along the way, readers will discover the key battles, tactics and weapons that helped the Allies to victory. The Fighting Forces of the Second World War is a must-read for all young military buffs, who enjoy poring over the tactics, uniforms, weapons, special equipment and much more of the heroic fighting forces who waged the Second World War. Key battles and notable events, told chronologically, provide a useful solid historical structure and offer key learning, while the single-topic approach allows easy comparison between the different sides. A great series for readers aged 11 and up.

Orion Children's Books

They Saw Too Much

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

Two teenagers witness a murder - and now they're the next targets. An action-packed, edge-of-your-seat YA thriller from bestselling author, Alan Gibbons. Gripping and gritty, perfect for fans of Kevin Brooks, Patrice Lawrence and Malorie Blackman.Sixteen-year-old John has moved away from the tough inner-city neighbourhood he grew up in and started afresh. Ceri James is the guarded girl from the children's home who has captivated his attention. But when their lives are thrown together, it's not in the way John had hoped. They witness a man die.Not only are they eye-witnesses of the fatal shooting, but John caught the whole thing on camera - and the culprits know it. Now, John and Ceri must run for their lives in a deadly, heart-stopping chase that leads them in dark and ever more dangerous directions.So why does John refuse to call the police? As secrets are revealed and loyalties doubted, John and Ceri's world hinges on one question - when it's a matter of life or death, who can you really trust?

Franklin Watts

Health and Disease

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Quercus Children's Books

Miss Match: The Truth About Destiny

Crystal Cestari
Authors:
Crystal Cestari
Orion Children's Books

The List of Real Things

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

A poignant and big-hearted story about love, loss and believing in the magic of the imagination. The fourth novel from bestselling Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted author Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, following BACK TO BLACKBRICK, THE APPLE TART OF HOPE and A VERY GOOD CHANCE.Gracie, 14, and Bee, 6, have lived with their eccentric uncle ever since their parents died five years ago. Gracie just wants to be normal. At school she finally has a boyfriend and cool friends, but her quirky home life and 'mental' little sister have begun to feel like liabilities. When their beloved grandfather dies and grief hits the girls again, little Bee's incredible imagination spirals out of control. Old memories and buried secrets bubble to the surface, and she even believes that their parents are waiting in a secret hotel on a clifftop - a place ghosts wait when they haven't yet let go of life.Gracie is determined Bee should wake up to the truth and let go of her outlandish ideas. She makes her write it down: a list of what's real, and what's not. But when it turns out the hotel may be more than just a dream, Gracie's hard line between what is real and what is imagined begins to blur . . .A beautiful and heartwarming tale of love, creativity and the importance and magic of believing.

Orion Children's Books

Return to Rome

Caroline Lawrence
Authors:
Caroline Lawrence

The fourth and final book in the new historical adventure series from million copy selling Caroline Lawrence, set in Roman Britain during the reign of the evil Emperor Domitian.AD 96. Bouda, an orphaned British girl with a troubled past, has been helping Juba and his siblings since they first arrived in Britannia. For almost two years they have been in hiding from the Emperor Domitian's agents. But now information has come to light that could bring down the tyrant. When Juba and his sister decide to return to Rome with the man who has this evidence, Bouda goes with them. But is it ever right to kill a tyrant?From the bestselling author of THE ROMAN MYSTERIES, perfect for children studying at Key Stage 2.

Franklin Watts

Civil War and Genocide

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Franklin Watts

Global Pollution

Rachel Minay
Authors:
Rachel Minay

Humans are creating more pollution than ever before and this is threatening the balance of our planet and its perfect conditions for life. This book looks at the causes and effects of different types of pollution, considers the greenouse effect and what is being done to tackle climate change. It asks readers to think about what they can do to reduce pollution and live sustainably, for example by buying locally and being energy-wise.

Franklin Watts

The Children of Willesden Lane

Franklin Watts
Authors:
Franklin Watts
Hodder Children's Books

Crash Landing

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

Don't miss the last episode of international bestseller Robert Muchamore's ROCK WAR series! Jay, Summer and Dylan are fresh out of the biggest reality show there is. But they're about to discover what fame and fortune are really about. Jay's brother Theo is young, rich and famous: but is it making him happy?Summer's got to weather her one-star reviews and take her career back into her own hands.And Dylan might soon be seeing the world of show-business from the four walls of a prison cell. They've got everything to play for. From the author of CHERUB and Henderson's Boys: find out more at rockwar.com

Hodder Children's Books

Moxie

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Glow of Fallen Stars

Kate Ling
Authors:
Kate Ling
Franklin Watts

Players

James Nixon
Authors:
James Nixon

Find out who are the top footballers in the world today and what makes them so great. Featuring over 50 superstars, from tough-tackling defenders and midfield destroyers to superb shot-stoppers and prolific goalscorers.The Football World series takes a broad look at football on the world stage, covering players, leagues, competitions and the history of football. Each title includes statistics and fun facts and is perfect for football fans aged 8 and up who want to know it all.

Franklin Watts

Leagues

James Nixon
Authors:
James Nixon
Quercus Children's Books

The Starman and Me

Sharon Cohen
Authors:
Sharon Cohen

E.T. meets Stig of the Dump in a page-turning adventure for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and David Almond'A proper adventure story for all curious middle graders ... heartily recommended' The BookbagHe wasn't an alien, I was sure of that. It was more like he'd walked in through an ancient door from the past ... except he was here, in my bedroom and his misty forest was somewhere real on Planet Earth.Twelve-year-old Kofi first spots the prehistoric human on a supermarket roundabout. He is small and dark and curled into a tight ball. His name is Rorty Thrutch and he has zero memory of how he ended up in the unexceptional village of Bradborough, or why he's being hunted... Kofi soon finds out that Rorty can do amazing things. He can copy, paste and delete objects, using only the power of his mind. This is the discovery of the century and mad, greedy scientists will stop at nothing to track him down.Kofi and best friend Janie are on a mission. Not only must they protect Rorty, but they have to find his missing girlfriend Pogsy Blue, too. Our prehistoric ancestors have crashed headlong into the 21st century and time is running out to save them...THE STARMAN AND ME explores where we have come from and where we are moving to - it's about the magic of DNA, the power of identity, and the importance of caring for each other.

Hodder Children's Books

Indigo Donut

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence
Franklin Watts

Your Number's Up

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson

Numbers are all around us but why are they important? This book finds out what numbers are, from how we count them, to what are prime and base numbers and takes you upto the really big ones - millions, billions and to infinity and beyond. You'll also explore some really strange numbers, find out about your body in numbers and get to grips with roman numerals. Plus, there are fun quizzes to help you test your knowledge.The book is part of the Maths is Everywhere series, which demystifies all aspects of maths and shows how it relates to your everyday world with fun, colourful graphics. These are fantastic books for children aged nine plus who are studying maths, or for anyone who wants to get to grips with maths in a fun way.

Franklin Watts

Get in Shape

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson

What is the most perfect sphere known in nature? What is pi? Why were the Great Pyramids built in that shape? Find out the answers to these questions and many more in this book about the shapes that are all around us. Once you've read all about shapes, have a go at the fun quizzes which test your knowledge.The book is part of the Maths is Everywhere series, which demystifies all aspects of maths and shows how it relates to your everyday world with fun, colourful graphics. These are fantastic books for children aged nine plus who are studying maths, or for anyone who wants to get to grips with maths in a fun way.

Wayland

the Vietnam War?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Wayland

WWII?

Emma Marriott
Authors:
Emma Marriott