Nicholas Fisk - Starstormers - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Starstormers

Book 1

By Nicholas Fisk

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list brings back into print classic science fiction from the masterful author of Trillions, Grinny and A Rag, a Bone and a Hank of Hair.

Four children, Vawn, Ispex, Tsu and Makenzi live in a boarding school on Earth, while their parents are busy building a colony on the planet Epsilon Cool. It has been years since they last saw their parents - perhaps they never will. Bored and frustrated, they decide to build their own spaceship out of parts salvaged from a spacecraft junkyard. They name their ship Starstormer and blast off. Weeks later, soaring through space on route to Epsilon Cool, they come across an ancient colony ship from earth called the Conqueror. The inhabitants have developed a strange religion, worshipping the "Glorious Ones," whoever they are. Ispex is first to figure out that there is great peril here for the Starstormers. The first book in Nicholas Fisk's exciting series, first published in the 1980s and warmly remembered by fans to this day.

Biographical Notes

Nicholas Fisk - the author of over 50 books, many of which are modern classics - recently celebrated his 90th birthday. His starting point for a story is an IF ...IF we had a domestic robot, IF we could talk to animals, IF we could move back and forth in time. On such premises he places people - recognisable people living ordinary lives - until the IF explodes. 'I believe that almost any imaginable possibility may become a reality within the lifetime of a young person today: the previous century saw more changes and discoveries than any other and change gets faster every day.'

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444919486
  • Publication date: 01 May 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Wayland

Australia

Kevin Pettman
Authors:
Kevin Pettman

Hodder Children's Books

Everybunny Count

Ellie Sandall
Authors:
Ellie Sandall

A delightfully exuberant counting story with bunnies galore! Did you know that bunnies love to play hide-and-seek? Count from one to ten with these cheerful bunnies and one not-so-scary fox!Fox and bunnies like to play,all together, every day.Playing hide-and-seek today...everybunny count!Praise for Follow Me: 'Lyrically written, Follow Me has a mesmeric quality that leaves you wanting to enjoy multiple consecutive readings. A real gem.' - Huffington PostFollow Ellie on Twitter at @elliesandall

Hodder Children's Books

Summer Holiday Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Orion Children's Books

The Bone Sparrow

Zana Fraillon
Authors:
Zana Fraillon

Orion Children's Books

The Borrowers

Mary Norton
Authors:
Mary Norton

A beautiful hardback gift edition of Mary Norton's classic children's story, THE BORROWERS, including the original artwork by Diana Stanley and a stunning cloth-bound cover with ribbon feature. Deep beneath the floorboards lives the tiny Borrower family - Pod, Homily and Arrietty Clock. Everything they have is borrowed from the humans above them; even their names are not quite their own. There is just one rule: they must never be seen. Then one day Arrietty meets the boy from above, and the family's incredible adventure begins. The perfect Christmas gift for readers young and old.

Hodder Children's Books

Ready Steady Mo!

Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Contributors:
Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Hodder Children's Books

Claude All at Sea

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

The first picture book starring the delightful canine Claude, following the much-loved fiction series. Perfect for Claude's youngest fans. Meet Claude - the extraordinary dog with an extraordinary life! Whether he's soaking up café culture in the city or taking some time out on the beach, wherever he goes, all sorts of wacky adventures befall him.Are you ready for a rollicking seafaring adventure? In true Claude style, the fearless canine swooshes out of the house via the bathtub. Out at sea and joined by trusted companion, Sir Bobblysock, Claude meets mermaids, dolphins, Captain Poopdeck, and an enormous, ferocious sea monster called Nigel! Can Claude save them all from the monster?Claude was selected for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize, the Richard and Judy Book Club and is soon to be a TV star on Disney Junior in 2017. Alex T. Smith is a World Book Day Illustrator. Praise for Claude:'Illustrated with humour and elegance.' Sunday Times'Quirky illustrations with plenty of humour.' The MetroFollow Alex at http://alextsmith.blogspot.co.uk and https://twitter.com/Alex_T_Smith

Hodder Children's Books

Claudine at St Clare's

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Schooldays at St Clare's are never dull for twins Pat and Isabel O'Sullivan in Enid Blyton's much-loved boarding school series.In book seven, Eileen's mother is the new Matron and Mam'zelle's niece, Claudine, joins St Clare's and causes havoc wherever she goes. The twins are enchanted by rebellious Claudine and her mad-cap plans, but will she last the term?Expect more mischief at St Clare's!Between 1941 and 1946, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at St Clare's. This edition features the original text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

The Crystal Run

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The gripping children's debut from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author is a page-turning fantasy quest novel for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman.'I am proud to die for Carcassia,' said Kaia. 'All Runners have a special place in our world, in our history.'Kaia Kukura has been awarded the great honour of protecting her country, and is determined to bring wealth and glory to her family. She must travel through enemy territory to replace the precious Kerala crystals that power Carcassia's protective shield. But no Runner is permitted to return after their mission. When Kaia hasfulfilled her Runner's oath, she knows her life must end.But sometimes it takes an outsider, someone from a different world, to question the truth.Fourteen-year-old Joe can barely outrun the school bullies who torment him daily. Cornered yet again, he tries to escape - and finds himself falling through a portal into another world. There, he meets fierce and strong Kaia. Together they discover that not everyone in Carcassia can be trusted - and that there are terriblelies at the heart of Kaia's beloved home.Can their combined strength and skill help Kaia save her country and herself? And will Joe ever find a way back to his own world?

Hodder Children's Books

Enid Blyton's Holiday Stories

Enid Blyton, Mark Beech
Contributors:
Enid Blyton, Mark Beech

A wonderful selection of short stories by one of the world's best-loved children's authors, Enid Blyton. Ideal for reading aloud, or for children from about 7 years old to read alone.From sandcastles at the beach to enchanted ice-creams, step into the summer with these delightful characters. Adventure, fun and magic can all be found on holiday with Enid Blyton, who has been delighting readers for more than seventy years.The stories previously appeared in magazines and anthologies from the 40s and 60s. This collection contains the original texts and is unillustrated.The collection contains:At Seaside CottageThe Magic Ice CreamWagger Goes to the ShowA Surprise for JimmyThe Twins Get in a FixThe Enchanted CloakAdventure Up a TreeJohn's HankyThe Magic Watering CanPeppermint RockThe Donkey on the SandsIn the Middle of the NightA Bit of Blue SkyThe Smugglers' CavesMr Gobo's Green GrassSmokey and the SeagullAdventures Under the SeaAn Exciting AfternoonLazy lennyPink Paint for a PixieShut The GateLook Out for the Elephant!Stayinh with Auntie SueA Puppy in WonderlandThe Three SailorsThe Magic Seaweed

Hodder Children's Books

Volcano

Nicholas Fisk
Authors:
Nicholas Fisk
Hodder Children's Books

Evil Eye

Nicholas Fisk
Authors:
Nicholas Fisk
Hodder Children's Books

Lone Wolf

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Hodder Children's Books

Catfang

Nicholas Fisk
Authors:
Nicholas Fisk
Hodder Children's Books

Aquarius

Jan Mark
Authors:
Jan Mark

Viner lives in a land that constantly floods - his skill as a water diviner has lead to ridicule. But when he is kidnapped all this changes. His murderous captors force him to work for them in their drought-stricken country - and to challenge the Rain-King whose failure to provide the necessary rainfall is sorely trying all those around him. But instead of ridiculing the King, Viner befriends him - perhaps more ... Aquarius is a deeply humane story of power, manipulation, ambition, and burgeoning sexuality. Viner is a complex character - easy to like and despise in equal measure. His story will not easily be forgotten.

Hodder Children's Books

Sunburst

Nicholas Fisk
Authors:
Nicholas Fisk
Orion Children's Books

My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece

Annabel Pitcher
Authors:
Annabel Pitcher
Hodder Children's Books

Caddy Ever After

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay
Hodder Children's Books

Forever Rose

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay

It's the Casson Family finale, and Permanent Rose takes centre stage. It's tough being the youngest - Rose is lonely. Her family are always busy doing their own things so Rose comes home to a dark, quiet, empty house every day. Saffy is off with Sarah, Indigo has his paper round and guitar lessons, Eve's in quarantine in the shed, Bill's not much use in London, and who knows where Caddy is since she disappeared with Michael's postcards! The only one around is David and Rose would rather be alone than be with him! At least Rose still has her friends at school: the brilliant Kiran and the nice but boring Molly. But school is no longer a peaceful place where Rose can daydream. Mean Mr Spencer is always shouting about SATs. And now he's cancelled Christmas! But one thing Mr Spencer cant cancel is the Christmas School Trip which means Rose can help Molly with her ONE BIG IDEA ... but what could that be? Will it be a very merry Christmas for Class 6 and the Casson family?

Hodder Children's Books

Caddy's World

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay

Go back in time ... Caddy is 12; grappling with school, best friends, first boyfriends, younger siblings and the unexpected arrival of one baby Permanent Rose who has appeared in the world a little sooner than expected. While baby Rose lies in critical condition in hospital, life goes on in the unpredictable, colourful Casson household.