Clementine Beauvais - Sleuth on Skates - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444912555
    • Publication date:02 May 2013
Books in this series

Sleuth on Skates

Book 1

By Clementine Beauvais
Illustrated by Sarah Horne

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

A brand new contemporary mystery series for 9-11 year olds sees the launch of a laugh-out-loud new voice in children's fiction.

Armed with a pair of purple rollerskates and a brain with as many connections as there are stars in the universe, eleven-year-old Sesame Seade is more than qualified to be Cambridge's number one self-made supersleuth. All she needs now is a mission. So when a student ballerina and aspiring journalist vanishes into thin air, some serious sleuthing begins. Very much against her parents' wishes, but with help from her friends Toby and Gemma and a conspiratorial duck, Sesame slips into the wings and solves the mystery of the missing dancer.

Illustrated throughout with hilarious artwork by Sarah Horne, this series features a smart and sassy heroine with a unique take on life. Also in the series: GARGOYLES GONE AWOL and SCAM ON THE CAM.

Biographical Notes

Clémentine Beauvais was born in Paris in 1989, but decided to cross the Channel at 17 years old to see how things are done on the other side. And she very much liked what she saw, so, since then, she's been living in Cambridge.

As well as studying and writing children's books, Clem is the co-host of the Kid You Not podcast on children's literature.

She still makes funny mistakes in English sometimes, but she's very proud that she doesn't have a comedy French accent.

Visit her website at: www.clementinebeauvais.com

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444912524
  • Publication date: 02 May 2013
  • Page count: 224
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Right from the start, the reader realises that in Sesame, they have a really unusual, if not unique, heroine. Her unusual approach to life makes for a hilarious read, with some wonderful use of language. Complemented by amusing illustrations, this is an author to look out for. — parentsintouch.co.uk
Cleverly written, this book is lots of fun... readers will the twists in the story. — Manchester Evening News
Hilarious. — Primary Times
A quirky take on the detective genre - and one which will appeal especially to girls. The humour, the language and the descriptions of Cambridge brought the characters and the city to life. — School Librarian
Sesame Seade is the greatest eleven-year-old detective you could hope to meet. Weird and witty: I loved it. — Marcus Sedgwick
A charming book with little nuggets of almost absurdist humour amid the quirky oddness... delightful. — Jamie Thomson (author of Dark Lord: The Teenage Years) - The Big Issue
Wayland

Sports

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins

Which ancient cultures enjoyed a bit of sporting competition? Who won the first marathon? How hard do top tennis players hit the ball, and which is the most dangerous sport? Whether you hit it, bounce it, run at top speed or ride in or on it, Infomojis: Sports is all about exploring sport in a fun and engaging way. Core scientific areas of investigation are covered, such as how streamlined F1 cars are designed to reduce drag and why athletes' bodies need muscle power to compete!The book features custom-made 'infomojis' - presenting the information with real personality! So inject fun into facts, and take your young astronomer to the next evolution in infographics. Infomojis is a series of ten books that are perfect for curious readers aged 8+.

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Ultimate Guide

Orchard Books

The Purrfect Sleepover

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

A bumper long special book full of even more animal fun! Amelia and Sam love helping out at Animal Ark vets, especially when they get to look after adorable kittens! But when Amelia cat-sits troublesome kitten Luna, the little cat causes a big problem ...With the naughty kitten, Amelia's new cat Star AND a cat event at Animal Ark, everything's going cat crazy!

Wren & Rook

This Book is Not Rubbish

Isabel Thomas
Authors:
Isabel Thomas
Hodder Children's Books

Mystery of the Skull

Pamela Butchart, Enid Blyton
Authors:
Pamela Butchart, Enid Blyton
Orion Children's Books

The Boy At the Back of the Class

Onjali Q. Rauf
Authors:
Onjali Q. Rauf

Told with heart and humour, The Boy at the Back of the Class is a child's perspective on the refugee crisis, highlighting the importance of friendship and kindness in a world that doesn't always make sense.There used to be an empty chair at the back of my class, but now a new boy called Ahmet is sitting in it.He's nine years old (just like me), but he's very strange. He never talks and never smiles and doesn't like sweets - not even lemon sherbets, which are my favourite!But then I learned the truth: Ahmet really isn't very strange at all. He's a refugee who's run away from a War. A real one. With bombs and fires and bullies that hurt people. And the more I find out about him, the more I want to help.That's where my best friends Josie, Michael and Tom come in. Because you see, together we've come up with a plan. . .

Wayland

Masters of Matter

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Franklin Watts

Get in Shape

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson
Wayland

Making with States of Matter

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne

Be a SCIENCE MAKER by experimenting, tinkering and building to discover the wonders of science! Learn all about STATES OF MATTER by following in the footsteps of famous scientists, artists and inventors.- Turn salt water into drinking water with Mária Telkes' brilliant invention- Be inspired by sculptor Néle Azevedo to create melting ice people- Make ice cream using ice and salt like inventor Nancy Johnson, and much more!Each title in this series contains ten 'makes', prompted by featured profiles of great scientists, artists and engineers. Children will learn about and create the experiments and builds that have led to world-changing discoveries, amazing machines and inspiring artworks. Perfect for KS2 science and technology classes aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Making with Machines

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Franklin Watts

Sound

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

Have you heard all about SOUND? This book contains everything you need to know about echoes, information about infrasound, notes about musical notes and more, so listen up! Science in a Flash: Sounds looks at what sound is, how it is made and what it is used for. Vibrations, music and animal hearing are also covered.This essential KS2 series covers all the key science topics in energetic, quick-fire way, aiding clear comprehension by getting straight to the point! Each spread starts with a 'flash' or headline, summing-up succinctly the science information to follow. Attractive and light-hearted illustration visually conveys the information, adding depth and detail to engage children. Also includes fun jokes and cartoons to keep even the most reluctant readers entertained.

Wayland

Fantastic Forces and Motion

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Dog of Destiny

Kita Mitchell, Nathan Reed
Contributors:
Kita Mitchell, Nathan Reed
Hodder Children's Books

Summertime Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

A Boy Called Ocean

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins

One boy stranded at sea. One girl back on land. One ocean between them. The only thing willing him to survive is the thought of her. A romance with bite, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.Sometimes you have to lose yourself, to find each other.Kai has always been best friends with Jen; ever since he and his mum moved to Cornwall when he was small. But now his feelings are deepening. It's ridiculous to imagine Jen would feel the same, especially since she has been hanging out with surf-pro Macca, the guy everyone fancies. Frustrated by his feelings, Kai makes a snap decision that will put his life in great danger. Stranded at sea, time is running out. With only his thoughts to occupy him, he must face some buried truths about his past. And confront his future with the girl back on shore, if he can reach it ... if the ocean doesn't take him first.

Franklin Watts

The Halloween Book

Annalees Lim
Authors:
Annalees Lim
Wayland

Food and Fair Trade

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Franklin Watts

Light

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

Science in a Flash: Light shines a light on, well, light itself! Tackling topics like colour, reflection and shadows, reading this book will turn you into a bright and brilliant light expert. Find out what light is, where it comes from and how it behaves. Shadows, reflection, refraction and types of light are also covered.This essential KS2 series covers all the key science topics in energetic, quick-fire way, aiding clear comprehension by getting straight to the point! Each spread starts with a 'flash' or headline, summing-up succinctly the science information to follow. Attractive and light-hearted illustration visually conveys the information, adding depth and detail to engage children. Also includes fun jokes and cartoons to keep even the most reluctant readers entertained.

Franklin Watts

Your Number's Up

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson

Numbers are all around us but why are they important? This book finds out what numbers are, from how we count them, to what are prime and base numbers and takes you upto the really big ones - millions, billions and to infinity and beyond. You'll also explore some really strange numbers, find out about your body in numbers and get to grips with roman numerals. Plus, there are fun quizzes to help you test your knowledge.The book is part of the Maths is Everywhere series, which demystifies all aspects of maths and shows how it relates to your everyday world with fun, colourful graphics. These are fantastic books for children aged nine plus who are studying maths, or for anyone who wants to get to grips with maths in a fun way.

Franklin Watts

British Birds

Clare Collinson
Authors:
Clare Collinson

From familiar garden songbirds to powerful birds of prey, there are a whole host of fascinating birds to discover in Britain. Learn all about the remarkable range of British birds inside this book. Find out where to look for different species, how to identify them, when to spot them and much more.The book is part of the 'Nature in your neighbourhood' series - discover the plants and animals that live all around you!