Andrew Matthews - More Shakespeare Stories - Hachette Children's Group

More Shakespeare Stories

4 Books in One

By Andrew Matthews
Illustrated by Tony Ross

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

More of Andrew Matthews' classic retelling of Shakespeare's best loved plays, illustrated by the award-winning Tony Ross.

More of Andrew Matthews' classic retellings of Shakespeare's best-loved plays, illustrated by the award-winning Tony Ross. This special anniversary edition contains A Midsummer Night's Dream, The Tempest, Hamlet and Henry V, reissued to celebrate 450 years since the Bard's birth. The easy-to-read writing style and fabulous illustrations bring the well-known characters and their stories gloriously to life. A fantastic introduction to Shakespeare for the younger reader.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408333846
  • Publication date: 03 Apr 2014
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
Orchard Books

When the Crocodiles Came to Town

Magda Brol, Magda Brol
Contributors:
Magda Brol, Magda Brol
Franklin Watts

Alien Kidnap

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton

Kid Force 3 are Jayden, Layla and Caleb. They aren't regular kids, they're super kids - each with an amazing superhero power.In this story, Emperor of the Vordar has invaded planet Earth! Can Kid Force 3 save the human race from the alien takeover?This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. This series is suitable for guided reading with children aged 5+, but also for older readers with low reading confidence or struggling to enjoy books.

Franklin Watts

Robot Runaway

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson

A hilariously funny tale of friendship, belonging and LOTS OF EATING from the bestselling author of There Is No Dragon in This Story. Perfect for fans of Oi Frog.WITH SUPER SPARKLY GLITTER COVER!Oscar the Unicorn has eaten his stable so he needs to find somewhere else to live. Not easy if you're a unicorn who eats everything in sight ... No one wants him around: not the pirates or the fairies or the dragons. Will Oscar ever find a place to call home? Well, it just so happens that Princess Oola has been searching for a unicorn FOR EVER ...

Hodder Children's Books

Second Form

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.In book two, there is a thief about. Purses and jewellery are missing in the North Tower. Meanwhile Darrell is caught in the middle when her friend Sally is made head girl instead of Alicia. Will they find the thief and will Alicia and Sally make up?There's drama at Malory Towers!Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. This edition features the original text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

Upper Fourth

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.In book four, Darrell is very pleased to be head girl, but Alicia and Betty are determined to ruin her good work. Meanwhile, Darrell's sister Felicity joins Malory Towers and becomes best friends with none other than June - obnoxious, brash and Alicia's cousin.Expect more drama at Malory Towers!Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. This edition features the original text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

In the Fifth

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.In book five, everybody at Malory Towers is excited about the Christmas pantomime. This year they'll be performing Cinderella and everybody wants to be involved. Matters turn very serious when head girl Moira receives an anonymous poison pen letter. Expect more drama at Malory Towers!Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. This edition features the original text and is unillustrated.

Orchard Books

Shakespeare Stories

Andrew Matthews, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Andrew Matthews, Tony Ross
Orchard Books

The Merchant of Venice

Andrew Matthews, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Andrew Matthews, Tony Ross

In Venice, the merchant Antonio borrows money so his friend can woo a beautiful lady. He agrees that if he doesn't repay Shylock the moneylender, Shylock can take a pound of his flesh. When Antonio's ships sink and he loses his fortune, Shylock insists on the gruesome payment... With Notes on Shakespeare and the Globe Theatre and Love, Hate and Mercy in The Merchant of Venice.The tales have been retold using accessible language and with the help of Tony Ross's engaging black-and-white illustrations, each play is vividly brought to life allowing these culturally enriching stories to be shared with as wide an audience as possible.

Orchard Books

The Taming of the Shrew

Andrew Matthews, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Andrew Matthews, Tony Ross

Lovely Bianca has a queue of admirers anxious to marry her. But her older sister, Katharina, must get married first. Katharina has such a fiery temper she is known as 'the shrew', and no man is brave enough to propose. Can Petruchio tame her with his outrageous behaviour? With Notes on Shakespeare and the Globe Theatre and Love and Marriage in The Taming of the Shrew. The tales have been retold using accessible language and with the help of Tony Ross's engaging black-and-white illustrations, each play is vividly brought to life allowing these culturally enriching stories to be shared with as wide an audience as possible.

Orchard Books

King Lear

Andrew Matthews, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Andrew Matthews, Tony Ross

Foolish and bad-tempered, King Lear divides the kingdom between his two wicked daughters, disowns his honest youngest daughter and banishes his friends. As the kingdom falls apart and Lear's humiliation turns him mad, will he finally realise what he has done? With Notes on Shakespeare and the Globe Theatre and Chaos and Old Age in King Lear.The tales have been retold using accessible language and with the help of Tony Ross's engaging black-and-white illustrations, each play is vividly brought to life allowing these culturally enriching stories to be shared with as wide an audience as possible.

Orchard Books

Julius Caesar

Andrew Matthews, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Andrew Matthews, Tony Ross
Orchard Books

Othello

Andrew Matthews, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Andrew Matthews, Tony Ross

I will wear my heart upon my sleeve for daws to peck at... A great retelling of this tragic tale of jealousy and human frailty. With Notes on Shakespeare and the Globe Theatre, and Jealousy in Othello. The tales have been retold using accessible language and with the help of Tony Ross's engaging black-and-white illustrations, each play is vividly brought to life allowing these culturally enriching stories to be shared with as wide an audience as possible.

Orchard Books

Richard III

Andrew Matthews, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Andrew Matthews, Tony Ross

Andrew Matthews brings another historical tale to life for young readers. With Notes on Shakespeare and the Globe Theatre and Villainy in Richard III. The tales have been retold using accessible language and with the help of Tony Ross's engaging black-and-white illustrations, each play is vividly brought to life allowing these culturally enriching stories to be shared with as wide an audience as possible.

Orchard Books

Much Ado About Nothing

Andrew Matthews, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Andrew Matthews, Tony Ross

A lively retelling of Shakespeare's famous work about the foolish ways people behave when they're in love. With Notes on Shakespeare and the Globe Theatre and Love and Lies in Much Ado About Nothing. The tales have been retold using accessible language and with the help of Tony Ross's engaging black-and-white illustrations, each play is vividly brought to life allowing these culturally enriching stories to be shared with as wide an audience as possible.

Orchard Books

As You Like It

Andrew Matthews, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Andrew Matthews, Tony Ross
Wayland

I Don't Care - Learning About Respect

Brian Moses
Authors:
Brian Moses
Wayland

It Wasn't Me! - Learning About Honesty

Brian Moses
Authors:
Brian Moses

This classic picture book, illustrated by internationally-renowned artist, Mike Gordon, explains to young children why it's good to be a champion truth teller and have the courage to own up when they do something wrong. This book is part of a series called Values, which helps children to develop their own value system and make responsible decisions. Notes for parents and teachers show how ideas in the books can be used as starting points for further discussion at home and in the classroom or in assemblies. Other titles in the Values series: Learning About Respect and Taking Responsibility

Wayland

I'm Worried

Brian Moses, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Brian Moses, Mike Gordon

This classic picture book, illustrated by award-winning Mike Gordon, helps young children with feelings of anxiety and worry they may feel in their early years. From feeling left out when playing with friends, taking a test, or speaking in a school assembly, to a stay in hospital or seeing other family members worry during anxious times, this book suggests ways that can help children put their worries into perspective.This book is part of the Your Feelings series, which examines feelings in an amusing but ultimately reassuring way. Each book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with their emotions.Other titles in the series: I Feel Bullied and It's Not Fair

Wayland

I Feel Jealous

Brian Moses, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Brian Moses, Mike Gordon

Young children experience many confusing emotions in their early years and I feel Jealous looks at the emotion jealousy, in light-hearted but ultimately reassuring way. This picture book examines how and why people get jealous, illustrates scenarios of people behaving in a jealous way, and the best way tocope with it with age-appropriate content.Ideal for home or the classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with jealousy.Filled with colourful illustrations by the every-popular, award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon.