René Goscinny - Asterix and the Great Crossing - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752866482
    • Publication date:01 Dec 2005
Books in this series

Asterix and the Great Crossing

Album 22

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Hardback
  • £10.99

The 22nd album chronicling the much-loved adventures of Asterix and friends.

Out at sea fishing, Asterix and Obelix are blown off course in a storm. Luckily they land on the shores of a Roman colony - or is it? Teepees, totems, gobbling birds: it's not what they're used to. And what are the Viking explorers in their longship doing? But perhaps 50 BC is a little too early for a voyage of discovery to this strange New World...

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752866475
  • Publication date: 16 Dec 2004
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wayland

Adventure Projects

Andrew Robinson
Authors:
Andrew Robinson
Wayland

Game Projects

Andrew Robinson
Authors:
Andrew Robinson

Orchard Books

Trixie and the Terrible Trick

G M Berrow
Authors:
G M Berrow
Franklin Watts

The Toxic Cookie Monster

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Franklin Watts

Dr Vlogger

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Orchard Books

The Littlest Things Give the Loveliest Hugs

Mark Sperring, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Mark Sperring, Maddie Frost

This glorious rhyming celebration of love and hugs introduces baby animals from the jungle to the Antarctic, the forest to the ocean - along with their adoring parents! Ducklings, seal pups, penguins, chicks and cubs . . . every mummy and daddy knows that the littlest things give the loveliest hugs!With the feel of an instant classic, this lyrical book is perfect for cuddle time - and the ideal gift for a new baby, Christening or birthday celebration. Mark Sperring is the bestselling author of Father Christmas on the Naughty Step and How Many Sleeps Till Christmas.

Orchard Books

Fluttershy's Secret Song

This full-colour Early Reader is perfect for young pony fans just starting their own reading adventure.Fluttershy loves singing, but she's much too shy to perform in public. When Big Mac loses his voice before a concert with his band the Ponytones, Fluttershy volunteers to step in - as long as she can stay hidden. Can Fluttershy learn to overcome her fears?With all your favourite My Little Pony friends and simple language endorsed by a literacy consultant, learning to read has never been more fun!Collect all the Early Readers: Twilight Sparkle's Princess Spell, Pinkie Pie's Perfect Party, Rainbow Dash's Big Race!and Applejack's Sister Surprise.Or move on to My Little Pony chapter books: Twilight Sparkle and the Crystal Heart Spell Pinkie Pie and the Rockin' Pony Party Rainbow Dash and the Daring Do Double Dare Rarity and the Curious Case of Charity Applejack and the Secret Diary SwitcherooFluttershy and the Furry Friends Fair Discord and the Ponyville Players Princess Celestia and the Royal Rescue Princess Luna and the Winter Moon Festival Lyra and the Secret Agent Ponies

Orion Children's Books

Silent Enemy and The Walk of Death

Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler
Authors:
Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler
Franklin Watts

Robin Hood

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Andrew Tunney
Contributors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Andrew Tunney
Orchard Books

Discover Art with Katie

James Mayhew
Authors:
James Mayhew

Orchard Books

Learn to Draw with Katie

James Mayhew
Authors:
James Mayhew

Wayland

Charles Darwin

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham
Wayland

King John

Paul Harrison
Authors:
Paul Harrison

Hodder Children's Books

Pegasus and the End of Olympus

Kate O'Hearn
Authors:
Kate O'Hearn

Join Emily and Pegasus one last time, in this epic conclusion to the Pegasus series!After the events in Hawaii, Emily is struggling to adjust. With the blessing of Jupiter and the elder Olympians, Emily decides she must return to Earth one last time, to fulfil a promise made long ago ... But when she arrives, she is horrified to find that the CRU have taken more victims. Emily has no choice but to expose herself, Pegasus, Joel and their close Olympian friends including Lorin, to the biggest danger they've ever faced, as they delve deeper into the CRU and make an astonishing discovery about its origins. A discovery that means Emily will be forced to return to Titus to face Saturn, before an unstoppable force of evil is unleashed on the unsuspecting worlds.Fans of Percy Jackson won't want to miss the Pegasus series by Kate O'Hearn.Have you read the rest of the series?Pegasus and the Flame, Pegasus and the Fight to Save Olympus, Pegasus and the New Olympians, Pegasus and the Origins of Olympus, Pegasus and the Rise of the Titans

Wayland

Emmeline Pankhurst

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham
Hodder Children's Books

The Diary of the Naughtiest Girl

Jeanne Willis, Alex T. Smith
Contributors:
Jeanne Willis, Alex T. Smith

Inspired by Enid Blyton's bestselling school series The Naughtiest Girl - this is the hilarious diary of the naughtiest pupil there's ever been. Fans of Tom Gates will love this!'Mum says pupils aren't allowed to take mobile devices to Whyteleafe ... excuse me? It's the twenty-first century! What next? Ride to school on a penny-farthing?'When Elizabeth Allen is packed off to boarding school, armed with nothing but a journal to write in for entertainment, she is NOT impressed. How will she survive without her home comforts, especially her pony Ross (the only boy she has ever truly loved)? Elizabeth comes up with a cunning plan: she will be so naughty that she gets sent home . . . But then Elizabeth discovers a love for music and makes her first ever friend ... perhaps school life might not be as bad as she thought?The Diary of the Naughtiest Girl is written by bestselling author Jeanne Willis and illustrated by Alex T. Smith, acclaimed creator of the Claude books.

Orion Children's Books

Six of Crows

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

Nominated for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017, this fantasy epic from the No. 1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of the Grisha trilogy is gripping, sweeping and memorable - perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin, Laini Taylor and Kristin Cashore. Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams - but he can't pull it off alone. A convict with a thirst for revenge. A sharpshooter who can't walk away from a wager.A runaway with a privileged past. A spy known as the Wraith. A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums. A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes. Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz's crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction - if they don't kill each other first.An epic new exploration of the Grisha universe from the writer of SHADOW AND BONE, SIEGE AND STORM and RUIN AND RISING, totally consuming for both old fans and new.

Hodder Children's Books

The Star-faced Crocodile

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling
Wayland

Boudicca

Paul Harrison
Authors:
Paul Harrison
Wayland

Mary Anning

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham

'She sells sea shells on the sea shore' - and she really did! This rhyme is thought to have been written about Mary Anning, an amazing fossilist and dinosaur expert, who was almost unknown at the time she lived. This biography explores the life of Mary Anning, from her first fossil finds at the age of ten to her sales of important discoveries to wealthy scientists. Mary's fossil finds made a great contribution to what scientist understood about pre-historic life. Through the story of Mary Anning, readers learn about life and society in the 1800s and Victorian Britain. We learn what it was like to be born into a poor family and about the roles of women in society and in the field of science. Readers will learn to draw conclusions from the evidence provided - a great basis for class discussions.History VIP biographies each look at the life of a famous Briton telling the stories of these Very Important People with clear, lively text. Amazing facts are added with feature panels and lively illustrations give visual information of the time and society the VIP lived in. With these key biographies students learn how individual people's actions have shaped the course of history. Key terms are defined in an easy-to-use glossary encouraging readers to use historical terms in their own work. Features include:In other news - these panels give context and help readers to understand the society and events of the wider world in which the subject livedTrue or False - questions lead students to question information and to interact with the facts they are presented with. What they said - quote features bring the subjects to life using their own words!WOW! - Boxes add humorous or amazing information to astound the reader and bring out the hilarious side of history