René Goscinny - Asterix and the Great Crossing - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £7.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752866482
    • Publication date:01 Dec 2005
Books in this series

Asterix and the Great Crossing

Album 22

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Hardback
  • £10.99

The 22nd album chronicling the much-loved adventures of Asterix and friends.

Out at sea fishing, Asterix and Obelix are blown off course in a storm. Luckily they land on the shores of a Roman colony - or is it? Teepees, totems, gobbling birds: it's not what they're used to. And what are the Viking explorers in their longship doing? But perhaps 50 BC is a little too early for a voyage of discovery to this strange New World...

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752866475
  • Publication date: 16 Dec 2004
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

The Squurms at No. 322

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons

Nelly isn't scared of monsters. In fact, she babysits for them. From the bestselling author of the OI FROG! and DAISY books comes this hilarious, action-packed series for fans of THE BOLDS and BARRY LOSER.'If monsters are real, how come I've never seen one?''Because they never go out.''Why don't monsters ever go out?''Because they can never get a babysitter.'Ever ice-skated with a baby Thermitt, or played musical chairs with one hundred and twenty Digdiggs? Every time Nelly rings on a new monster family's doorbell she's up for a new challenge. Come on her monster-sitting adventures in this laugh-out-loud funny second book in the NELLY THE MONSTER SITTER series. Kes Gray is one of the Independent's top ten children's authors, and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award.This story now comes with brand-new illustrations; it was previously published in a collection entitled: Grerks, Squurms & Water Greeps.

Orchard Books

Ivy the Worry Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel, Kirsty and Ivy as they help keep worries at bay!Ivy the Worry Fairy has a very important job - helping people manage their worries. Everyone gets worried from time to time, and it's important to know how to deal with it. But when Jack Frost steals Ivy's magical objects, her special power to help people is threatened! Can Rachel and Kirsty help get them back and help restore people's inner calm everywhere?

Orchard Books

The Secret Jungle

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. JACK, RUBY AND DANNY FACE A DEADLY ROBOTIC FOE! RUBY'S MOTHER HAS VANISHED INTO THE DEPTHS OF THE JUNGLE. TO FIND HER, TEAM HERO MUST EXPLORE A NEW, VAST LANDSCAPE - AND DO BATTLE WITH A GIANT ROBOT! There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: The Secret Jungle, Book 2: Ninja Strike, Book 3: The Night Thief, Book 4: An Army AwakensAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Orchard Books

Ninja Strike

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic new adventure series from bestselling author Adam Blade - with amazing comic-book style illustrations. TEAM HERO ARE IN DEEP WATER! JACK, RUBY AND DANNY MUST RECOVER AN ANCIENT STATUE FROM A CURSED LAKE - WITH A SUPER-SLEEK AND SWIFT ASSASSIN ON THEIR TAIL!There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Book 1: The Secret Jungle, Book 2: Ninja Strike, Book 3: The Night Thief, Book 4: An Army AwakensAnd don't forget Adam Blade's other series: Beast Quest and Sea Quest

Franklin Watts

Enter The Penguin

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Franklin Watts

Killer Custard

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Franklin Watts

Alien

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Franklin Watts

Anansi and the Box of Stories

Katie Dale, Valentina Bandera
Contributors:
Katie Dale, Valentina Bandera
Wayland

Food

Anita Loughrey
Authors:
Anita Loughrey
Wayland

Impressionism

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks

When the Impressionists first started exhibiting, they shocked the world with their bold brushstrokes and compositions and their adventurous use of colour. Today, over 150 years later, Impressionism is celebrated as an international success story, making artists such as Monet, Renoir and Degas household names. An accessible and in-depth guide to some of the most popular and significant art movements, Inside Art Movements explores their origins, evolution and legacy in today's world. For readers aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

The Stone Age and Skara Brae

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

Travel back in time to Skara Brae and find out all about life in the Stone Age.Like modern travel guides, the books in this series highlight must-see features and explain local culture. Each highlighted destination contains an explanation of what took part in these areas, as well as a look at important artefacts found there providing a bigger picture of life in the past. Typical travel guide notes include, 'best time to visit', 'what to eat' and 'where to stay'. Perfect for the KS2 history curriculum.

Wayland

Renaissance

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks

The exciting time known as the Renaissance revolutionised art, as artists broke with the past to embrace new subjects, techniques and mediums. Painters and sculptors including Leonardo da Vinci, Raphael and Michelangelo became famous across Europe, creating works as enduringly iconic as the Mona Lisa and David. An accessible and in-depth guide to some of the most popular and significant art movements, Inside Art Movements explores their origins, evolution and legacy in today's world. For readers aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

Roman Britain and Londinium

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Scent of Danger

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff
Orchard Books

Verak the Storm King

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orion Children's Books

The White Giraffe Series: Operation Rhino

Lauren St John, David Dean
Contributors:
Lauren St John, David Dean
Orchard Books

My A to Z of Fairies

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

No Rainbow Magic fan should be without this sparkling compendium of fairy fun. From A to Z, this book is jam-packed with magical facts and figures from the world of the fairies and their friends! It's everything you need to be a true Rainbow Magic expert!

Hodder Children's Books

How to Babysit a Grandma

Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish

Grab your pillow and get ready to spend some special time with your grandma! When you babysit a grandma, if you're lucky it's a sleepover at her house. With the useful tips found in this book, you're guaranteed to become an expert grandma-sitter in no time. Be sure to check the sections on: how to keep your grandma busy, things to do at the park and what to do when you're both snugly tucked in at bedtime.From the author-illustrator team behind the bestselling How to Babysit a Grandad comes a funny and heartwarming celebration of grandmas and grandchildren. The perfect Mother's day gift.'Youngsters will recognize some of the sayings they've heard from their own grandparents and will thoroughly enjoy the tongue-in-cheek role reversal.' - School Library Journal Illustrated by the winner of the Red House Children's Book Award 2013.

Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap Complete Five Book Collection

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler

Emily Windsnap lives on a boat, but her mother has always been oddly anxious to keep her out of the water. It is only when Emily has her first school swimming lesson that she discovers why: as soon as she gets into the water, she grows a tail! Soon Emily discovers a glorious underwater world of fishes, coral, shipwrecks and mermaids - and even makes a mermaid best friend, Shona Silkfin! With Shona and her other friends by her side, Emily embarks on a series of exciting and magical adventures, tackling everything from an angry sea god to a monstrous kraken.

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 7

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

In this special collector's edition, books nineteen to twenty-one are brought together in one fabulous volume. In ASTERIX AND THE SOOTHSAYER, a sinister figure arrives in the Gaulish village. Prolix claims to be a soothsayer and the villagers believe every word he says, but Asterix isn't convinced... The Corsican chieftain, Boneywasawarriorwayayix, needs Asterix and Obelix's help to foil the evil designs of Praetor Perfidius and oppose Julius Caesar's army in ASTERIX IN CORSICA.In ASTERIX AND CAESAR'S GIFT, Legionary Tremensdelirius gets the title deeds to the Gaulish village as a bonus - then swaps them with tavern landlord Orthopaedix for a drink. But Asterix and his friends aren't keen to hand over their village!There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.