René Goscinny - Asterix and the Cauldron - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £10.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752866284
    • Publication date:09 Sep 2004
Books in this series

Asterix and the Cauldron

Album 13

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The 13th album chronicling the much-loved adventures of Asterix and friends.

Financial skulduggery in ancient Gaul! When local Chielf Whosemoralsarelastix wants a cauldron full of money kept out of Roman hands, the cash disappears while Asterix is guarding it. He and Obelix must earn enough to repay it through fairground gladiatorial contests, trendy theatrical performances, even bank robbery - they'll try anything. But whose morals are really eleastic? And how do the pirates, just for once, get an unexpected bonus.

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752866291
  • Publication date: 18 Aug 2005
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Franklin Watts

Wonders of the World

Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Authors:
Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds

Ever thought about the Wonders of the World? What they are and where to find them? These are the questions that will be explored in this exciting book. The Great Wall of China, the Giant's Causeway and the Galápagos Islands are just some of the incredible places you will learn about in this book. There are eight titles in the Visual Explorers series. High-impact books with incredible information about the world around us. Perfect for KS2 and children aged 7+ with an interest in natural phenomenon and natural history.

Hodder Children's Books

Iguana Boy Unmasks The Invisible Hero

James Bishop, Rikin Parekh
Contributors:
James Bishop, Rikin Parekh

Franklin Watts

Insects and Spiders

Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Authors:
Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Hodder Children's Books

BOOT - small robot, BIG adventure

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty

For fans of WALL-E and Toy Story, comes a heart-warming, humorous adventure about a young robot trying to find its way home. Beautifully illustrated throughout, Boot is a special book you will want to treasure and share.When toy robot, Boot, wakes up at a scrapyard, it has no idea how it got there and why it isn't with its owner, Beth. It only has two and a half glitchy memories, but it knows it was loved, which means something important to humans. Boot soon realises its emotions make it different to other robots, who just function and don't think. Boot is scared but tries to be brave, which is hard when its screen keeps showing a wobbly, worried face. Luckily Boot meets Noke and Red - other 'advanced' robots who have learned to survive in secret.With its new friends by its side, Boot is determined to find Beth and the gang set off on a dangerous adventure. Everything Boot thought it knew about the world is changing and things aren't as simple as it remembers . . .Boot is a story that will take you by surprise and make you think about the world around you.

Franklin Watts

Max and the Gladiator

Damian Harvey
Authors:
Damian Harvey

Max is on a school trip to Chester to visit some Roman ruins. As he takes a little nap after lunch he is suddenly transported back in time ... and before him stands a fully armed Roman Gladiator! This story is part of Reading Champion, a series carefully linked to book bands to encourage independent reading skills, developed with Dr Sue Bodman and Glen Franklin of UCL Institute of Education (IOE)Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Great Granny

Ann Bryant
Authors:
Ann Bryant
Franklin Watts

Rainbow Street

Lynne Rickards
Authors:
Lynne Rickards
Franklin Watts

Magic Marcus

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale

Marcus comes across a magic wand at a jumble sale, but he doesn't believe it has any magic in it. Soon after he starts making wishes and they each to come true, until he breaks his mum's favourite vase. Perhaps Marcus has discovered that real magic doesn't lie in the wand, after all.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Save the library!

Katie Dale
Authors:
Katie Dale

Wayland

I'm a JavaScript Games Maker: Advanced Coding

Max Wainewright
Authors:
Max Wainewright

Once you learn to code using JavaScript, the world of gaming opens up. If you already know a bit about JavaScript, it's time to pick up the pace! In this book, learn how to build mind-bending games, that you'll want to play for hours and will amaze your friends. Along the way, learn about core coding and gaming concepts like variables, random numbers, key presses and arrays.The Generation Code series is a hands-on guide to computer coding, designed to train you in the coding languages used by real-world computer programmers. You'll discover how to code exciting programs, web pages, apps and games, and learn how the tools and functions you're using can be applied to other situations.Other books in the Generation Code series:I'm an Advanced Scratch CoderI'm a Python ProgrammerI'm an HTML Web Page BuilderI'm an App DeveloperI'm a JavaScript Games Maker: The Basics

Orchard Books

Zulok the Winged Spirit

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!When supernatural events start to occur in Avantia it can only mean one thing - something is afoot in the terrifying Isle of Ghosts, and the Dark Wizard Malvel is to blame. Tom and Elenna must travel to the Isle and first face eagle Ghost Beast Zulok.There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Zulok the Winged Spirit; Skalix the Snapping Horror; Okira the Crusher and Rykar the Fire Hound

Hodder Children's Books

Five On Kirrin Island Again

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

The Secret of Moon Castle

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

In Enid Blyton's classic Secret Stories mystery always leads to adventure.Peggy, Mike, Nora, Jack and Prince Paul are staying in the remote, mysterious Moon Castle. But weird things begin happening almost immediately - paintings come to life, books fly off shelves and instruments make noises when no one is touching them! Can the children discover the truth behind the spooky goings-on inside Moon Castle?First published in 1953, this edition contains the original text and is unillustrated.

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 7

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Hodder Children's Books

My Name is Mina

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

There's an empty notebook lying on the table in the moonlight. It's been there for an age. I keep on saying that I'll write a journal. So I'll start right here, right now. I open the book and write the very first words: My name is Mina and I love the night. Then what shall I write? I can't just write that this happened then this happened then this happened to boring infinitum. I'll let my journal grow just like the mind does, just like a tree or a beast does, just like life does. Why should a book tell a tale in a dull straight line?And so Mina writes and writes in her notebook, and here is her journal, Mina's life in Mina's own words: her stories and dreams, experiences and thoughts, her scribblings and nonsense, poems and songs. Her vivid account of her vivid life.In this stunning book, David Almond revisits Mina before she has met Michael, before she has met Skellig.Shortlisted for the 2012 Carnegie Medal.

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 8

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

In this collectors' edition, books 22 to 24 are brought together in one fabulous volume.In ASTERIX AND THE GREAT CROSSING, a storm blows Asterix and Obelix off course. Luckily they land on the shores of a Roman colony - or is it? Teepees, totems, gobbling birds: it's not what they're used to. Julius Caesar sends Caius Preposterus, graduate of the Latin School of Economics, to corrupt the indomitable Gauls in OBELIX AND CO. Obelix's menhir trade is soon thriving - but does wealth bring happiness?In ASTERIX IN BELGIUM, the Gauls compete with the Belgian tribes to determine who is the bravest. But if the two groups unite, will Caesar meet his Waterloo?There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Orion Children's Books

Where's Dogmatix?

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 6

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

This special collectors' edition features books 16 to 18 in one fabulous volume.In ASTERIX IN SWITZERLAND, a poisoning means Asterix and Obelix must go to Helvetia for an antidote. Can they overcome cuckoo hourglasses, yodelling and holes in the cheese?A housing estate lies at the heart of Caesar's new plan to crush the Gauls in THE MANSIONS OF THE GODS. Will the villagers be tempted by the chance to make money when the Roman tenants move in?In ASTERIX AND THE LAUREL WREATH, Chief Vitalstatistix wants a stew seasoned with Caesar's laurel wreath. Asterix and Obelix must fetch the wreath, but will their plan end in disaster or their own Roman triumph?There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Hodder Children's Books

Amazing Esme

Tamara Macfarlane, Michael Fowkes
Contributors:
Tamara Macfarlane, Michael Fowkes

Follow the wildly imaginative adventures of Esme as she leaves behind her circus home for the first time to spend the summer with her cousins Magnus, Cosmo and Gus at Maclinkey Castle where it's easy to get lost and where you can discover all sorts of weird and wonderful animals in unlikely places - there are porcupines in beds, lizards in drawers and giraffes on the loo. It's all a little wonderful and a lot overwhelming and when her pet donkey, Donk, turns up in a parcel sent from her parents, the fun really begins.When hundreds of baby penguins hatch in Esme's top floor bedroom, the children have to figure out how to get them outside. Esme and her cousin have the ingenious idea of building a helter skelter around the castle turret, but this is just the start - soon Maclinkey Castle is turned into a full-on Fairground Circus with a big wheel, Bumper Bears, and the show stopping Flying Tigers starring Esme herself!