René Goscinny - Asterix and the Cauldron - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £10.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9780752866284
    • Publication date:09 Sep 2004
Books in this series

Asterix and the Cauldron

Album 13

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The 13th album chronicling the much-loved adventures of Asterix and friends.

Financial skulduggery in ancient Gaul! When local Chielf Whosemoralsarelastix wants a cauldron full of money kept out of Roman hands, the cash disappears while Asterix is guarding it. He and Obelix must earn enough to repay it through fairground gladiatorial contests, trendy theatrical performances, even bank robbery - they'll try anything. But whose morals are really eleastic? And how do the pirates, just for once, get an unexpected bonus.

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752866291
  • Publication date: 18 Aug 2005
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wayland

Adventure Projects

Andrew Robinson
Authors:
Andrew Robinson

Wayland

Game Projects

Andrew Robinson
Authors:
Andrew Robinson
Orchard Books

Trixie and the Terrible Trick

G M Berrow
Authors:
G M Berrow

Join all your My Little Pony friends in these brilliant original adventures, inspired by the hit TV show.Trixie is on a mission - to impress the legendary Starmane Society of Magicians with a spectacular feat of magic. She can't believe her luck when she develops a mysterious glowing hoof, transforming everything she touches into precious gems! This is sure to do the trick ...But when the glow starts to spread Trixie's in trouble! Can the My Little Pony friends reverse the curse before it's too late?

Orchard Books

Equestria Girls: A Friendship to Remember

Perdita Finn
Authors:
Perdita Finn
Franklin Watts

The Toxic Cookie Monster

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Franklin Watts

Dr Vlogger

Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Wil Overton
Orchard Books

The Littlest Things Give the Loveliest Hugs

Mark Sperring, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Mark Sperring, Maddie Frost
Orchard Books

Fluttershy's Secret Song

Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan

Every hundred years, in the magical town of Knowmealldown, fairies known as the Good Folk join the villagers for a Great Festival. It's a raucous, beautiful, enchanted celebration.Well, it's supposed to be.Except every time Brian helps to organise the Great Festival it's a disappointment. Worse, this time the Folk Princess has been stolen. Can Brian thwart the Princess's evil captor in time to avoid the wrath of the Folk King and Queen, and finally deliver a Festival to remember?A magical adventure filled with myth, mischief and misunderstandings, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones and those who love modern fairy tales with a comic twist.

Orion Children's Books

Silent Enemy and The Walk of Death

Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler
Authors:
Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler

Franklin Watts

Robin Hood

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Andrew Tunney
Contributors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore, Andrew Tunney
Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Chariot Race

Jean-Yves Ferri, Didier Conrad
Contributors:
Jean-Yves Ferri, Didier Conrad

The next action-packed adventure from Asterix and Obelix!The roads across Italy are in disrepair. Defending his name, and to prove Rome's greatness, Senator Lactus Bifidus announces a special one-off chariot race. Julius Caesar insists a Roman must win, or Bifidus will pay. Open to anyone from the known world, competitors arrive from far and wide, including Asterix and Obelix. With Bifidus secretly scheming, who will win this almighty chariot race?

Orchard Books

Discover Art with Katie

James Mayhew
Authors:
James Mayhew

Orchard Books

Learn to Draw with Katie

James Mayhew
Authors:
James Mayhew

Wayland

Boudicca

Paul Harrison
Authors:
Paul Harrison

Read all about the Queen of the Iceni tribe, Boudicca, who led a rebellion against Roman rule that is still remembered to this day! From when she crowned Queen on the death of her husband, to her great battle against the Roman Army in which thousands were killed, and in which she was ultimately defeated by Roman Governor, Paulinus.Find out all about the Roman Empire and its impact on Britain, the Roman invasion, the nature of their society and culture, and the legacy they left behind. Look too at the discovery of Roman artefacts and writing, and how they have been used to construct a picture of the time. Readers will learn to draw conclusions from the evidence provided - a great basis for class discussions. The History VIP series of biographies look at the lives of famous Britons, telling their life stories and how they have shaped the course of history. Focusing on key subjects in the history curriculum for Key Stages 2 and 3 they explore the impact of exceptional figures in history and the society and culture in Britain at the time that they lived.

Hodder Children's Books

Pegasus and the End of Olympus

Kate O'Hearn
Authors:
Kate O'Hearn

Join Emily and Pegasus one last time, in this epic conclusion to the Pegasus series!After the events in Hawaii, Emily is struggling to adjust. With the blessing of Jupiter and the elder Olympians, Emily decides she must return to Earth one last time, to fulfil a promise made long ago ... But when she arrives, she is horrified to find that the CRU have taken more victims. Emily has no choice but to expose herself, Pegasus, Joel and their close Olympian friends including Lorin, to the biggest danger they've ever faced, as they delve deeper into the CRU and make an astonishing discovery about its origins. A discovery that means Emily will be forced to return to Titus to face Saturn, before an unstoppable force of evil is unleashed on the unsuspecting worlds.Fans of Percy Jackson won't want to miss the Pegasus series by Kate O'Hearn.Have you read the rest of the series?Pegasus and the Flame, Pegasus and the Fight to Save Olympus, Pegasus and the New Olympians, Pegasus and the Origins of Olympus, Pegasus and the Rise of the Titans

Wayland

Emmeline Pankhurst

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham

Votes for Women! This biography tells the story of Emmeline Pankhurst, from her early campaigns for the rights of women to vote, through the formation of the Women's Social and Political Union, to the triumph following the First World War of the granting of rights for women. Emmeline believed that action was the way to get her cause noticed and to gain support.Through the story of Emmeline Pankhurst's strive for women's suffrage, we learn about the role of women in the society of Victorian Britain and the early 1900s. Looking at the challenges faced by society helps readers to consider their own life and time and how they have been shaped by the actions of individuals in the past. Readers will learn to draw conclusions from the evidence provided - a great basis for classroom discussion.History VIP biographies each look at the life of a famous Briton telling the stories of these Very Important People with clear, lively text. Amazing facts are added with feature panels and graphic-style illustrations give visual information of the time and society the VIP lived in. With these key biographies students learn how individual people's actions have shaped the course of history. Key terms are defined in an easy-to-use glossary encouraging readers to use historical terms in their own work. Features include:In other news - these panels give context and help readers to understand the society and events of the wider world in which the subject livedTrue or False - questions lead students to question information and to interact with the facts they are presented with. What they said - quote features bring the subjects to life using their own words!WOW! - Boxes add humorous or amazing information to astound the reader and bring out the hilarious side of history

Wayland

Charles Darwin

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham

Charles Darwin's book 'On the Origin of Species' changed both science and society - but why? This biography explores the life of Charles Darwin, from his early investigations of the natural world and his voyage on the HMS Beagle, to the publication of his great work. Darwin astounded the world with his theory of evolution but some people were angry that his ideas challenged traditional ideas and those set out by the church.Through the story of Charles Darwin readers learn about the society and culture of Victorian Britain. Looking at Darwin's discoveries and the events of his life, we learn about the changing ideas in British society between 1745-1901, and the impact that his ideas had on the church and state. Readers will learn to draw conclusions from the evidence provided - a great basis for class discussions.History VIP biographies each look at the life of a famous Briton telling the stories of these Very Important People with clear, lively text. Amazing facts are added with feature panels and lively illustrations give visual information of the time and society the VIP lived in. With these key biographies students learn how individual people's actions have shaped the course of history. Key terms are defined in an easy-to-use glossary encouraging readers to use historical terms in their own work. Features include:In other news - these panels give context and help readers to understand the society and events of the wider world in which the subject livedTrue or False - questions lead students to question information and to interact with the facts they are presented with. What they said - quote features bring the subjects to life using their own words!WOW! - Boxes add humorous or amazing information to astound the reader and bring out the hilarious side of history

Wayland

King John

Paul Harrison
Authors:
Paul Harrison
Wayland

Mary Anning

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham