René Goscinny - Asterix and the Big Fight - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444013146
    • Publication date:06 Mar 2014
Books in this series

Asterix and the Big Fight

Album 7

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

The seventh album chronicling the much-loved adventures of Asterix and friends.

A collaborator in ancient Gaul? Chief Cassius Ceramix has gone over to the Roman enemy. There's something very fishy going on, as Legionary Infirmofpurpus discovers when he is sent to spy on the Gauls disguised as a crab apple tree. But is that just a red herring? And what about the two concussed druids brewing colourful potions? One way or another, the fight for control of the village between Vitalstatistix and his rival is bound to be a knockout.

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752866178
  • Publication date: 19 May 2005
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

King Flashypants and the Creature From Crong

Andy Riley
Authors:
Andy Riley

"Brilliantly original and hilarious. It's nearly as good as one of my books." DAVID WALLIAMS"Two words - such fun!" MIRANDA HART"Beautiful, inventive and laugh-out-loud funny." SUE PERKINSGreat to read aloud with children of 5+ and perfect for newly independent readers of 7+.When rumours of a huge and terrifying monster called the Voolith reach Edwinland, King Edwin Flashypants decides that, to be a proper king, he needs to go and fight it. Meanwhile, Emperor Nurbison has had a similar idea, but he has a much sneakier plan for what he can do with the Voolith. And it involves squishing Edwinland. Hold tight for another thrilling Flashypants adventure, with jousting, vegetables, fire-breathing toads and plenty of FOO-HOO-HOOing.

Hodder Children's Books

King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor

Andy Riley
Authors:
Andy Riley

The first in a fun new series - 'Brilliantly original and hilarious ... it's nearly as good as one of my books' David Walliams. 'One for fans of Horrid Henry and Tom Gates' The GuardianEdwin isn't an ordinary boy. He is a king, with a throne, and his own suit of armour and a castle with secret passages and everything.Every Friday, King Edwin spends all his money on chocolate for the peasants. But when the money runs out, Edwin finds himself in a fix. Cue the arrival of evil Emperor Nurbison, in his pointy-collared black cloak and accompanied by scary striding music. He has had his eye on Edwin's kingdom for a while and intends to use the peasants' unhappiness to his advantage!When the emperor builds a fake dragon out of a cow, green crepe paper, furry monster novelty slippers and two birthday cake candles, to scare the peasants, Edwin knows it's time to come up with the first sneaky plan he's ever had in his life ...

Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Vikings

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Franklin Watts

The Pirates on Holiday

Rupert Van Wyk
Contributors:
Rupert Van Wyk
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 8

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Franklin Watts

The Mad Scientist Next Door

Clare De Marco, Rory Walker
Contributors:
Clare De Marco, Rory Walker
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 7

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

In this special collector's edition, books 19 to 21 are brought together in one fabulous volume. In ASTERIX AND THE SOOTHSAYER, a sinister figure arrives in the Gaulish village. Prolix claims to be a soothsayer and the villagers believe every word he says, but Asterix isn't convinced... In ASTERIX IN CORSICA, the Corsican chieftain, Boneywasawarriorwayayix, needs Asterix and Obelix's help to foil the evil designs of Praetor Perfidius and oppose Julius Caesar's army.In ASTERIX AND CAESAR'S GIFT, Legionary Tremensdelirius gets the title deeds to the Gaulish village as a bonus - then swaps them with tavern landlord Orthopaedix for a drink. But Asterix and his friends aren't keen to hand over their village!

Orion Children's Books

Where's Dogmatix?

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 6

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

This special collectors' edition features books 16 to 18 in one fabulous volume.In ASTERIX IN SWITZERLAND, a poisoning means Asterix and Obelix must go to Helvetia for an antidote. Can they overcome cuckoo hourglasses, yodelling and holes in the cheese?A housing estate lies at the heart of Caesar's new plan to crush the Gauls in THE MANSIONS OF THE GODS. Will the villagers be tempted by the chance to make money when the Roman tenants move in?In ASTERIX AND THE LAUREL WREATH, Chief Vitalstatistix wants a stew seasoned with Caesar's laurel wreath. Asterix and Obelix must fetch the wreath, but will their plan end in disaster or their own Roman triumph?There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 5

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 4

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

In this special collectors' edition, books ten to twelve are brought together in one fabulous volume. In ASTERIX THE LEGIONARY, Obelix is in love - but the lovely Panacea is engaged to Tragicomix, a conscript in the Roman army. Asterix and Obelix must join up to resue him.In ASTERIX AND THE CHIEFTAIN'S SHIELD, Caesar plans to hold a triumph using the shield of his defeated enemy, Vercingetorix, but the shielf is missing! Romans and Gauls race to track it down.The athletes of the ancient world assemble in ASTERIX AT THE OLYMPIC GAMES. Asterix and the Gauls enter the games, but magic potion is banned! Can our friends win without it?There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Orion Children's Books

600 Stickers

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

Put together your favourite Asterix pictures, using these 600 stickers, and have fun with plenty of games and puzzles in a book that is full of surprises!

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 3

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

In this special collectors' edition, books seven to nine are brought together in one fabulous volume.In ASTERIX AND THE BIG FIGHT, Chief Cassius Ceramix has gone over to the Roman enemy. The fight for control of the village between Vitalstatistix and his rival is bound to be a knockout.Asterix and Obelix help one little ancient British village hold out against the Roman invaders in ASTERIX IN BRITAIN. Our heroes must face fog, rain, warm beer and boiled boar with mint sauce.In ASTERIX AND THE NORMANS, can Asterix and his friends teach the Normans the meaning of fear?There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 11

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

In this special collectors' edition, three great Asterix albums are collected in one fabulous volume for the first time ever. In ASTERIX AND THE ACTRESS, Asterix and Obelix celebrate their joint birthday party - and some surprise guests have been invitied!ASTERIX AND THE CLASS ACT contains 14 stories, including tales of the day Asterix and Obelix were born (in the middle of a village fist fight).In ASTERIX AND THE FALLING SKY, the Gauls' one fear - that the sky may fall on their heads - looks like it might come true...There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Orion Children's Books

Where's Asterix?

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

A fun and funny volume full of hilarious scenes featuring Asterix and his friends in a range of different escapades! Younger readers are sure to have fun searching for Asterix amidst the chaos.

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 2

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 1

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

Multi-million-selling Asterix is much loved across the world, and there is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends than in this great value gift edition omnibus of the first three stories. Collect all of the Asterix omnibuses to build the fabulous artwork across their spines! In ASTERIX THE GAUL, we join Asterix, Obelix and co. as they try to defend one small village in Gaul from the mighty legionaries of Rome who surround them.Disaster strikes the Gaulish village in ASTERIX AND THE GOLDEN SICKLE, as Getafix the druid breaks his golden sickle - which means no more magic potion...In ASTERIX AND THE GOTHS, Getafix is kidnapped by the Goths, so Asterix and Obelix have to ride to the rescue and save the day!A perfect gift for both keen Asterix fans and those who have yet to join his hilarious adventures.

Hodder Children's Books

Five Get Into A Fix

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most popular series.In book seventeen, the Famous Five are skiing and having lots of fun. But who is living in the mysterious house near their chalet? The caretaker claims it's been deserted for years, but the Five are sure they've seen a face at the window. A terrified, and haunted face. Have the gang got the courage to find out?The text in this edition has been sensitively edited for today's reader and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

Five On A Secret Trail

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Orion Children's Books

How Obelix Fell into the Magic Potion

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

All of the Asterix stories feature references to Obelix falling into the Druid's Cauldron of magic potion when he was about six years old. This was the event through which he derived his phenomenal physical strength. Here is the full story of how it happened.