René Goscinny - Asterix and the Banquet - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444013122
    • Publication date:06 Feb 2014
Books in this series

Asterix and the Banquet

Album 5

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Hardback
  • £10.99

The fifth album chronicling the adventures of Asterix and friends.

Gaul, now France, has always been famous for its food and drink - so when, for a bet with the Romans, Asterix and Obelix travel round collecting local delicacies they start on the journey home with all sorts of goodies. First, however, they must outwit the thieves Villanus and Unscrupulus. And who's that little dog who has been following them all the way?

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780752866086
  • Publication date: 15 Apr 2004
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wayland

You Can Be an Ice Skater

Alix Wood
Authors:
Alix Wood

When your favourite thing to do is physically active, it's easy to have fun and be fit! Readers will dive into swimming, bend over backwards for gymnastics, find peace with yoga, and more, through fun, informational content about many popular activities. Step-by-step instructions will help readers learn all the right moves, and even teach them how to pursue a career! Colourful photographs will draw future ice-skaters, dancers, and martial artists into the fascinating world of their sport - an encourage them to keep practicing! Main content inspires a healthy lifestyle through fun, varied types of exercise. Detailed sidebars give readers more ideas, examples, and information about different aspects of each physical activity. Step-by-step instructions and colourful photographs help readers learn how to do each activity.

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Toe of Treachery

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Wren & Rook

The A–Z of Wonder Women

Yvonne Lin
Authors:
Yvonne Lin

Celebrate a whole alphabet of trailblazing, groundbreaking wonder women from around the world and through time, taking in Ada Lovelace, J. K. Rowling, Oprah Winfrey and every letter in between.Men and women, boys and girls need heroes to look up to, and to aspire to be. There are thousands upon thousands of books and films about amazing athletes, scientists, artists and explorers, but they're almost all men. Girls get princesses and mermaids - sure, not necessarily the worst career choices, but there aren't enough castles and beaches for the world's 3.5 billion women. This book brings incredible women out of the shadows, celebrates their success and acknowledges their achievements. Certain to empower and inspire women and girls everywhere, it's perfect for fans of The Little Book of Feminist Saints, Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls and We Should All Be Feminists.

Orchard Books

Evelyn the Mermicorn Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Three stories in one! Join Rachel and Kirsty for a magical adventure with another fairy friend in this bestselling and much-loved series for girls aged 5 and up!Evelyn the Mermicorn Fairy has a very special magical pet. But when Jack Frost steals him away from her, the magic of the mermicorn is in danger! Can Kirsty and Rachel help get him back?Have you read any other Rainbow Magic books? Try Ruby the Red Fairy to find out how Kirsty and Rachel's adventures began.

Wren & Rook

The You Are Awesome Journal

Matthew Syed, Lindsey Sagar, Toby Triumph
Contributors:
Matthew Syed, Lindsey Sagar, Toby Triumph

Find your way to awesome with this brilliant toolkit of goals, plans and challenges! Boys and girls everywhere have been discovering that they can be awesome thanks to bestselling author Matthew Syed. Now he's created an interactive journal full of life hacks, challenges and activities to give kids the confidence to come up with their own plan of action to be the best they can be. Because, with the right mindset, you really CAN do (almost) anything, whether you want to supercharge your maths, try out for the team or be the first person to walk on Mars. Whether setting out their goals, planning the best practice ever, keeping calm with breathing exercises or making paper aeroplanes to understand marginal gains, readers will love the brilliant activities in The You Are Awesome Journal. This is the perfect toolkit for anyone who dreams big - and who wants to make those dreams come true.Praise for YOU ARE AWESOME: 'Great book for young children about determination, resilience, self-confidence.' - Phil Neville, former England footballer and head coach of England Women'I have lost track of the number of people recommending YOU ARE AWESOME by Matthew Syed. An accessible, practical approach to helping kids develop a growth mindset.' - The Bookseller'An awesome book about becoming awesome. How inspiring it is to know that there's a path to awesomeness and that anyone - absolutely anyone - can go down that path. This book shows you how.' - Professor Carol Dweck, Professor of Psychology, Stanford University'Grab yourselves a copy folks, this is wonderful and insightful.' - Author Giles Paley-Phillips'I read YOU ARE AWESOME in one go, and then read it again! It answered so many questions I had about how to get better at some of the things I struggle with. It has stories of how others have been successful and makes you feel that you can do it too. After reading YOU ARE AWESOME I've changed how I approach difficult things. I've told all my friends to read it!' - Freddie, age 10'I loved this book. YOU ARE AWESOME really builds your confidence and shows you how the right mindset can help you achieve your dreams. It shows that you have to be brave, prepare for failure and have self-belief. I will definitely be using some of the principles in this book to tackle some everyday challenges and other bigger ones too. A definite must read for anyone who wants to achieve more with their lives and build their confidence.' - Ella, age 13

Hodder Children's Books

King Flashypants and the Boo-Hoo Witches

Andy Riley
Authors:
Andy Riley
Orion Children's Books

Asterix and Obelix's Birthday

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Class Act

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Great Crossing

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

Out at sea fishing, Asterix and Obelix are blown off course in a storm. Luckily they land on the shores of a Roman colony - or is it? Teepees, totems, gobbling birds: it's not what they're used to. And what are the Viking explorers in their longship doing? But perhaps 50 BC is a little too early for a voyage of discovery to this strange New World...

Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Soothsayer

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

One dark and stormy night, a sinister visitor arrives in the little Gaulish village. Prolix, who claims too be a soothsayer, prophesies that when the storm is over the weather will improve. And it does! Now the credulous villagers believe every word he says, but Asterix has his suspicions of the smooth-talking Prolix. Who is really right about the soothsayer?

Orion Children's Books

How Obelix Fell into the Magic Potion

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

All of the Asterix stories feature references to Obelix falling into the Druid's Cauldron of magic potion when he was about six years old. This was the event through which he derived his phenomenal physical strength. Here is the full story of how it happened.

Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Vikings

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

When the Vikings kidnap Justforkix, the timid but very trendy son of one of Chief Vitalstatistix' closest and most powerful friends, believing he has the key to the secret of the magic potion, Asterix and Obelix are sent on one of their most dangerous missions. For they must voyage north to the Vikings' home territory and rescue Justforkix, before the Vikings find out he is not who they think he is, and make him pay the price. Meanwhile, the fact that the Vikings' chief's daughter, Abba, has fallen for Justforkix only makes matters more complicated...

Orion Children's Books

Obelix and Co

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Asterix in Belgium

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

Who are bravest, the Belgian tribes or the Gauls? And who can destroy more fortified Roman camps? When the contest ends in a draw, and Julius Caesar is asked to adjudicate, he goes into action against both Gauls and Belgians. They unite against him, inventing fish and chips along the way. But will Caesar meet his Waterloo?

Orion Children's Books

Asterix in Corsica

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

Vendettas, fierce family pride, resistance fighters dodging the enemy in the maquis - we're in Cosica in 50 BC. Asterix and Obelix help Chief Boneywasawarriorwayayix to foil the evil designs of Praetor Perfidius and oppose Julius Caesar's army. For the only emperor the proud Corsicans will ever accept, so they say, must be a Corsican himself...

Orion Children's Books

Asterix and Caesar's Gift

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

When Legionary Tremensdelirius gets the title deeds to the little Gaulish village as a bonus, he swaps them with tavern landlord Orthopaedix for a drink. Funnily enough, Asterix and his friends aren't keen to hand over their village to anyone else. After a chieftaincy election campaign and a showdown with the Romans, both events fiercely contested, can all still end well?

Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Laurel Wreath

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

Chief Vitalstatistix rashly invites his brother-in-law to dine of a stew seasoned with Caesar's laurel wreath, so Asterix and Obelix must go to Rome to fetch those laurels. Hoping to get access to Caesar, they sell themselves as slaves - but can they do a deal with the corrupt Goldendelicius to swap the laurels for parsley? If so, it will be their own Roman triumph.

Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Roman Agent

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

Julius Caesar turns to psychological warfare...Tortuous Convolvulus the Roman agent is guaranteed to sow jealousy and discord anywhere. Can he make the Gauls suspect each other of treachery? Has Asterix really sold Rome the secret of the magic potion? And can Asterix, Obelix and Getafix outwit the weedy but wily Convolvulus and get the villagte back to normal?

Orion Children's Books

The Mansions of The Gods

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Asterix in Switzerland

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

Quaestor Vexatius Sinustitis, who is about to expose the Roman governor's creative accountancy, has been poisoned. Can Getafix brew an antidote? Only if Asterix and Obelix find a certain flower for the druid's potion in Helvetia. What with bank safes, cuckoo hourglasses, yodelling and holes in the cheese, they're soon on a real Helvetian roll.