Related to: 'The Lost Magician'

Charlie Fletcher talks to Graham Marks (again!)

Author Spotlight

Charlie Fletcher is the bestselling author of the Stoneheart series and the classic adventure tale Far Rockaway; he has recently had his first adult novel published and here he talks to Graham Marks about his latest project, Dragon Shield.

Franklin Watts

The Ancient Egyptians

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Which genius ideas and inventions began with the ancient Egyptians? What did they develop that we use to this day? In this book, aimed at readers aged nine and over, find out how the ancient Egyptians built their temples and pyramids, irrigated and farmed their land, and took care of their people during life and after death. Discover their brilliant developments in farming, paper-making, time-keeping and medicine and how they have influenced the way we live today. The 'Genius Of' series explores the major discoveries, inventions, influence and legacies of key periods in history.

Franklin Watts

Space

Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Authors:
Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Hodder Children's Books

The Squurms at No. 322

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons

Nelly isn't scared of monsters. In fact, she babysits for them. From the bestselling author of the OI FROG! and DAISY books comes this hilarious, action-packed series for fans of THE BOLDS and BARRY LOSER.'If monsters are real, how come I've never seen one?''Because they never go out.''Why don't monsters ever go out?''Because they can never get a babysitter.'Ever ice-skated with a baby Thermitt, or played musical chairs with one hundred and twenty Digdiggs? Every time Nelly rings on a new monster family's doorbell she's up for a new challenge. Come on her monster-sitting adventures in this laugh-out-loud funny second book in the NELLY THE MONSTER SITTER series. Kes Gray is one of the Independent's top ten children's authors, and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award.This story now comes with brand-new illustrations; it was previously published in a collection entitled: Grerks, Squurms & Water Greeps.

Franklin Watts

A Noble History of Knights

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Wayland

A Guide to Space

Kevin Pettman
Authors:
Kevin Pettman
Wayland

Meet the Minibeasts

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley
Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler
Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Fiction: Old Friends New Battles

Hodder Children's Books

The Night Before the Night Before Christmas

Kes Gray, Claire Powell
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Claire Powell
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Rubies and Runaways

Janine Beacham
Authors:
Janine Beacham

The Clockwork Sparrow meets Downton AbbeyIt's a bitterly cold winter in Yorke and Rose Raventhorpe and her butler Heddsworth are stuck with Rose's unpleasant cousin Herbert, and his equally horrible butler, Bixby. When an orphan boy named Orpheus interrupts the Cathedral's Mistletoe Service, saying that his sister has been kidnapped, Rose vows to help. Solving the mystery will be a lot better than accompanying ghastly Herbert! But the investigation is more complicated than Rose has anticipated and will lead her and her butler friends through fancy tea-rooms, horrible factories, secret underground passages and more... Fireplace pokers are much more dangerous than you might imagine . . .

Quercus Children's Books

There May Be a Castle

Piers Torday
Authors:
Piers Torday
Franklin Watts

In the Home

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards

Have you ever wondered how we invented the objects that make our homes comfortable, like the television, the washing machine, the toaster? Learn all about the history of the objects that we cannot do without in our homes in It'll Never Work: In the Home, a book that explores the invention of household items that have become essential to our daily life and the successes and failures that have led to the comforts and entertainment that we know today.Each title in this exciting, high-interest series looks at a different area of technology and engineering and reveals the pioneering ideas and scientific thinking that enabled its development, as well as exposing those that proved to be a dead end. Each spread examines a particular example in depth, bringing in other similar ideas where relevant, and revealing that experimentation and failure often pave the way to technology success. Beautifully designed and illustrated with infographic-style artwork, this series is an excellent technology resource for readers aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Fact or Fiction?: The truth behind urban myths!

Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Siren's Secret

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler
Quercus Children's Books

The Wild Beyond

Piers Torday, Piers Torday
Authors:
Piers Torday, Piers Torday
Orion Children's Books

The Apple Tart of Hope

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Quercus Children's Books

The Dark Wild

Piers Torday, Piers Torday
Authors:
Piers Torday, Piers Torday

WINNER OF THE GUARDIAN CHILDREN'S FICTION PRIZE 2014. Twelve-year-old Kester thought he had discovered the last wild animals in the land. He thought his adventure was over. He was wrong. Below the sparkling city of Premium, deep underground, a dark wild remains: animals who believe the time is right to rise up against their human enemies. And soon Kester realises: he is the only one who can stop them. Kester Jaynes saved the animals. Can he save the humans too?

Hodder Children's Books

My Funny Family's Got Talent

Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Chris Higgins, Lee Wildish

Mum's 30th birthday is coming up and after such a hectic year for the Butterfields, Mattie wants to make it extra-special.Aided by best friend Lucinda, Mattie decides a talent show to showcase the Butterfields' unique skills will be the best birthday surprise for Mum. With a host of unruly Butterfields and Lucinda's parents coming to watch, however, have Mattie and Lucinda bitten off more than they can chew?

Quercus Children's Books

The Last Wild

Piers Torday, Piers Torday
Authors:
Piers Torday, Piers Torday

AS SEEN ON BBC'S COUNTRYFILEFrom the winner of the Guardian Children's Fiction PrizeThis is a story about a boy named Kester. He is extraordinary, but he doesn't know that yet. All he knows, at this very moment, is this: 1. There is a flock of excited pigeons in his bedroom. 2. They are talking to him. 3. His life will never be quite the same again... A captivating animal adventure destined to be loved by readers of all ages.

Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Castle in the Mist

Liz Kessler, Natacha Ledwidge
Contributors:
Liz Kessler, Natacha Ledwidge