Related to: 'A Kiss in the Dark'

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Cressida Cowell

Cressida Cowell’s Hiccup books, which she also illustrates, are now published in over 30 countries around the world and the first book in the series, How to Train Your Dragon, has been made into an animated movie by DreamWorks; Cressida also writes and illustrates picture books. The eleventh title in the Hiccup Saga, How to Seize a Dragon’s Jewel, is published in September, and here she talks to Graham Marks about pretty much everything to do with writing a hit series…

Quercus Children's Books

We Are Young

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke

'Hard-hitting, heartbreaking and hopeful, We Are Young is a must read.' SARAH CROSSANIt starts with a wedding. And a car crash. On the same night Evan's mother marries local radio DJ 'Breakfast Tim', Evan's brand-new step-brother Lewis is found unconscious and terribly injured, the only survivor of a horrific car crash.A media storm erupts, with the finger of blame pointed firmly at loner stoner Lewis. Everyone else seems to think the crash was drugs-related, but Evan isn't buying it. With the help of her journalist dad, Harry, she decides to find out what really happened that night.As Evan delves deeper into the lives of the three teenagers who died in the crash, she uncovers some disturbing truths and a secret that threatens to tear her family - and the community - apart.Raw and riveting, heartbreaking and hopeful: an unforgettable story from the author of Girlhood.

Quercus Children's Books

Undone

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke

Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.Jem Halliday is in love with her gay best friend. Not exactly ideal, but she's learning to live with it. Then the unspeakable happens. Kai is outed online ... and he kills himself. Jem knows nothing she can say or do will bring him back. But she wants to know who was responsible. And she wants to take them down. A searing story of love, revenge and betrayal from a bestselling author.

Quercus Children's Books

Entangled

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke

Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.Seventeen-year-old Grace wakes up in a white room, with table, pens and paper - and no clue how she got there. As Grace starts writing, pouring her tangled life onto the page, she is forced to remember everything she's tried to forget: falling hopelessly in love with Nat, and the unravelling of her friendship with her best mate Sal. But there's something missing. As hard as she's trying to remember, is there something she just can't see? Grace must face the most important question of all. Why is she here? A compulsive thriller of dangerous secrets, intense friendships and electrifying attraction.

Quercus Children's Books

Girlhood

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Quercus Children's Books

The Lost and the Found

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Quercus Children's Books

Torn

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke

Alan Gibbons

Alan Gibbons is a full-time writer and a visiting speaker and lecturer at schools, colleges and literary events nationwide, including the major book festivals: Edinburgh, Northern Children's Book Festival, Swansea, Cheltenham, Sheffield and Salford. Alan is a key supporter of a high-profile, nationwide campaign to champion libraries and librarianship and to reevaluate government commitment to educational spending. He lives in Liverpool with his wife and four children. Alan is an honorary CILIP member.Visit Alan's website at www.alangibbons.com, read his blog at alangibbons.net, follow him on Twitter @mygibbo, Facebook www.facebook.com/alan.gibbons.35 and Flickr www.flickr.com/people/71279646@N08.

Angie Rozelaar

Angie grew up in Kent and after a childhood spent mostly drawing and painting pictures, she went on to study at Chelsea Art School, and later graduated in Humanities from Exeter University. She continued to enjoy drawing in her spare time throughout a variety of jobs, from West End theatre technician to gallery assistant. Launching her career as a freelance illustrator in 2009, she secured early commissions for greetings cards and from educational publishers. Angie is now based in Normandy where she shares an old farmhouse with her family, four cats and a little brood of hens and works from her studio in a converted hayloft.

Anita Loughrey

Anita Loughrey was a primary school teacher for seventeen years before becoming a full-time writer. She writes teacher resources, educational fiction and non-fiction on a wide variety of subjects for a wide range of publishers with over 85 books published in the UK and many more worldwide. She writes for the national writing magazine Writers' Forum and teaches creative writing.Anita's favourite toy as a child was the typewriter she wrote her autobiography with at the age of ten. As nothing exciting ever happened, she made most of it up. Her interests include writing, reading children's books, knitting, jive dancing and camping with her family in their VW campervan. She reckons there is nothing better than sleeping under the stars and cooking in the great outdoors, as long as it isn't raining.

Ben Hubbard

Ben Hubbard began his writing career at a what's-on newspaper in the 1990s, interviewing bands, actors and artists in his native Wellington, New Zealand. He later joined the fast-paced world of daily newspaper journalism before packing up shop and moving to England. Here, Ben tied a number of new strings to his bow: magazine editor, book editor, and finally, author. Today, Ben writes a mix of non-fiction for all ages - preschoolers through to adults. He has penned titles on an eclectic subject range: from space exploration, samurai warriors and medieval castles; to pop music, pets, tornadoes and rugby skills.

C. G. Drews

C.G. Drews lives in Australia with her dog, a piano, and the goal of reading every book in existence. Consequently, her brain has overflowed with words and she spends her days writing novel after novel. She blogs at paperfury.com, never sleeps, and believes in cake for breakfast.

Daisy Meadows

The Rainbow Magic and Magic Animal Friends books are written by a small collective of authors under the name Daisy Meadows. Rainbow Magic is the no.1 bestselling series for girls aged 5 and up with over 30 million copies sold worldwide!Learn more about the books at www.rainbowmagicbooks.co.uk (where you can download the Rainbow Magic Reading Challenge poster) and www.magicanimalfriends.com (where you'll find fun animal activity sheets)

David Melling

David Melling has been shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal, the Smarties Book Award and the Independent Booksellers Award. His Hugless Douglas books have sold over 1.4 million copies worldwide, and the loveable brown bear has starred in a World Book Day book as well as his own theatre show. Before becoming an internationally acclaimed author-illustrator, David worked as an animation artist for films including the much-loved Father Christmas by Raymond Briggs. One of his most popular picture books The Tale of Jack Frost was animated and shown on BBC1 on Christmas Day.

Emily X. R. Pan

EMILY X.R. PAN has an MFA infiction from New York University and is the founding editor-in-chief of Bodega Magazine as well as a co-creator of FORESHADOW: A Serial YA Anthology. The Astonishing Colour of After is her first book. Visit Emily online at exrpan.com, and find her on Twitter and Instagram: @exrpan.

Emma Dodd

Emma was brought up in Guildford, Surrey, in a family of artists. As a child she loved the work of Peter Firmin, John Burningham and Gerald Rose, and from as far back as she can remember she wanted to be an illustrator. Emma studied Graphic Design and Illustration at Central Saint Martin's School of Art and has worked in advertising, editorial and book illustration. The I Love You range has sold over 750,000 copies and I Love My Mummy won the Book Trust Early Years Award. Emma lives in Surrey with her husband and two children and their terrier cross, Buzz, who keeps her fit and provides inspiration. The family likes to spend any spare time in North Cornwall, surfing and walking in all weathers.

Jane Ray

Jane Ray's exquisite artwork has gained acclaim both in the UK and internationally, and she regularly shows her work at galleries and exhibitions. Jane won the Smarties Prize with The Story of Creation; The Story of Christmas was shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Award; and A Balloon for Grandad was shortlisted for the Mother Goose Award. Jane's books for Orchard include the contemporary fairy tale The Apple-Pip Princess, the heartwarming The Dolls' House Fairy and the fabulously festive The Twelve Days of Christmas. She is also the illustrator of Heartsong, written by Kevin Crossley-Holland. Jane lives in London.

Jo Weaver

Jo Weaver had a career as a support worker in the non-profit sector before retraining as an illustrator. She completed an MA degree in Children's Book Illustration at the Cambridge School of Art in 2014, where she discovered a love of working in charcoal. Shortly afterwards she was shortlisted for the Association of Illustrator's newcomer's Awards. Jo lives with her young family in north London, and when she's not drawing she can be found escaping the city to walk and explore in the wild outdoors.

L J Smith

L J Smith is the author of more than twenty books for young adults, including the bestselling Night World and Vampire Diaries series (now a hit-series on ITV2). She lives in Northern California, in a rambling house in a small town.Lisa knew that she wanted to be a writer since she was about six, when a teacher praised a poem she'd written. She wrote her first book in high school, finishing it in her first year of college. Then she became a special education teacher before she was able to become a writer full-time.

Laura Baker

Laura grew up in Canada with a passion for stories. She followed this passion to attain an Honours BA in English and then moved abroad to Wales for an MA in Creative Writing and an adventure - and she never left! She now lives in a lovely coastal town in South Wales with her husband, son and big basset hound and has been writing and editing award-winning books for adults and children for the last ten years. She loves finding special stories to tell in the everyday, relatable world of a child (or dog).

Lauren St John

Lauren St John is the author of several books on sports and music, as well as the award-winning children's series THE WHITE GIRAFFE, the BLUE PETER BOOK AWARD-winning LAURA MARLIN series and THE ONE DOLLAR HORSE trilogy. Her first adult novel, THE OBITUARY WRITER, was published in 2013. Lauren St John is one of the lead voices of Authors4 Oceans, a collective of 50 writers calling to ban the use of plastics in the book industry.Visit Lauren's website at www.laurenstjohn.com, like her Facebook page at www.facebook.com/pages/Lauren-St-John/120957211278399 and follow her on Twitter @laurenstjohn