Related to: 'A Kiss in the Dark'

Giles Andreae speaks to Graham Marks

Author Spotlight

Giles Andreae is not only the bestselling author of such award-winning picture books as Giraffes Can’t Dance, Rumble in the Jungle and The Lion Who Wanted to Love, he’s also the man behind the entertaining world of Purple Ronnie, as well as The Interesting Thoughts of Edward Monkton. Here he talks to Graham Marks about all the many and varied bits of his very creative life, including toilet brush poetry.

Quercus Children's Books

We Are Young

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Quercus Children's Books

Torn

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke

Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.They didn't mean to kill her...now the guilt will tear them apartAlice King isn't expecting the holiday of her dreams when she sets off on a trip to the wilderness with her mates. But when her best friend Cass decides to teach mean girl Tara a lesson, Alice finds herself in a nightmare she can't escape.Now Alice is the guardian of a secret too horrific to tell; and a secret too terrible to keep. A secret that will change all of their lives for ever...

Quercus Children's Books

Undone

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Quercus Children's Books

Entangled

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Quercus Children's Books

The Lost and the Found

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Quercus Children's Books

Girlhood

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke

Chloe Inkpen

Chloë Inkpen grew up surrounded by picture books and has a natural gift for storytelling. A love of language and art saw her swap an English course for a degree in illustration, graphics and photography at the Glasgow School of Art. She spent her final year specialising in children's book illustration and was awarded second place in the Macmillan Prize for Illustration in 2008

Clive Gifford

Clive Gifford is the author of more than 150 children's books including 'Eye Benders', winner of the Royal Society Young People's Book Prize, Royal Society-nominated 'Out of This World' and '30 Seconds Space'.

David Melling

David Melling has been shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal, the Smarties Book Award and the Independent Booksellers Award. His Hugless Douglas books have sold over 1.4 million copies worldwide, and the loveable brown bear has starred in a World Book Day book as well as his own theatre show. Before becoming an internationally acclaimed author-illustrator, David worked as an animation artist for films including the much-loved Father Christmas by Raymond Briggs. One of his most popular picture books The Tale of Jack Frost was animated and shown on BBC1 on Christmas Day.

Dr. Radha Modgil

Dr. Radha is a GP, and co-host of BBC Radio One's The Surgery, with Gemma Cairney. A campaigner for physical and mental wellbeing, Dr Radha finds creative ways to educate people and encourage them to stay healthy.

Enid Blyton

Enid Blyton's books have sold over 500 million copies and have been translated into other languages more often than any other children's author.She wrote over 600 books and hundreds of short stories, including favourites such as The Famous Five,The Secret Seven, The Magic Faraway Tree, Malory Towers and Noddy. Born in London in 1897, Enid lived much of her life in Buckinghamshire and adored dogs, gardening and the countryside. She died in 1968 but remains one of the world's best-loved storytellers.

Jennifer Mathieu

Jennifer Mathieu was born on the East Coast of America, to a mom from Cuba and a dad from Chile. Jennifer teaches English to middle and high schoolers in Texas, where she now lives with her husband, son and rescue dog. She used to make her own zine, and is writing about all her favourite things in Moxie - punk rock, lady rights, the 90s, zines, Texas, and an interesting female protagonists. She writes contemporary YA fiction that treats teens like real people. www.jennifermathieu.comtwitter: @jenmathieu Instagram: @authorjenmathieu Facebook: writerjennifermathieu

Jo Harrison

Jo Harrison is an illustrator and a designer. Among other high-profile projects, she illustrated Girl Up and campaigns for Women's Aid and No More Page Three.

John Agard

John Agard was born in Guyana and emigrated to Britain in 1977. He has worked as an actor and a performer with a jazz group and spent several years with the Commonwealth Institute, travelling all over Britain giving talks, performances and workshops. He has visited literally thousands of schools. His poem 'Half-caste' is on the AQA Englsih GCSE syllabus, and every year he tours the country performing with other top poets for GCSE students. His children's poetry includes WE ANIMALS WOULD LIKE A WORD WITH YOU, POINTS OF VIEW WITH PROFESSOR PEEKABOO, and most recently EINSTEIN, THE GIRL WHO HATED MATHS and HELLO H2O, poems about maths and science respectively. All these titles have been in collaboration with the illustrator Satoshi Kitamura He lives in Sussex and is married to Grace Nichols, herself a respected Caribbean poet. They have a daughter.

Kevin Crossley-Holland

Kevin Crossley-Holland won the Carnegie Medal in 1985 for Storm. His many notable books for adults and children include poetry, classic retellings and anthologies. He has written and presented many BBC radio programmes and is a frequent speaker at schools and libraries. For some years he held a university post in Minnesota and he is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. The Seeing Stone won the prestigious Guardian Children's Fiction Prize, At The Crossing-Places won a Silver award at the SWPA Spoken Word Awards and Gatty's Tale was shortlisted for the 2008 Carnegie Medal.

Layn Marlow

Layn studied BA History of Art at Reading University, then worked in libraries and lived in Belgium for three years with her husband and their two young children. When the family moved back to the UK, Layn enrolled at her local university, Southampton Solent, and gained a first class degree in Illustration. She has been writing and illustrating picture books ever since.Layn is particularly inspired by the natural world, so daily walks with her little dog Rufus are essential. As a child, Layn loved drawing and adored illustrations by EH Shepherd and David McKee. She has always enjoyed making things too, so school, library and festival visits now provide the perfect excuse for her to mess about making props. She particularly likes to do a bit of knitting, when she's not practising karate.Layn's titles have sold over a million copies worldwide and been translated into more than 20 different languages. A Very Strange Creature was short-listed for the Red House Book Award and Hurry up and Slow down won the Never too Young Coventry Inspirations Book Award in 2010.BooksWritten by Layn Marlow and illustrated by Joelle Dreidemy:THE WITCH WITH A TWITCH Little Tiger PressWritten and illustrated by Layn Marlow:HURRY UP AND SLOW DOWN Oxford University PressYOU MAKE ME SMILE Oxford University Press (winter 2013)Written by Amber Stewart and illustrated by Layn Marlow:HOW MANY SLEEPS? Oxford University PressI LOVE MY CLOTH Oxford University PressLITTLE BY LITTLE Oxford University PressJUST LIKE TONIGHT Oxford University PressPUDDLE'S BIG STEP Oxford University PressBRAMBLE THE BRAVE Oxford University PressTOO SMALL FOR MY BIG BED Oxford University Press (spring 2013)Written by Ann Bonwill and illustrated by Layn Marlow:BUG AND BEAR Oxford University Press

Lee Wildish

Lee Wildish is an acclaimed illustrator. His Spooky, Spooky House won the Overall Red House Children's Book Award in 2013, his Spaghetti with the Yeti was shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Funny Book Prize in 2013, and he has been shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Award and the Sheffield Children's Book Award.

Linwood Barclay

Linwood Barclay is the international bestselling author of many critically acclaimed adult crime thrillers, including NO SAFE HOUSE, A TAP ON THE WINDOW, TRUST YOUR EYES and the Richard & Judy 2008 Summer Read winner and number one bestseller, NO TIME FOR GOODBYE. CHASE is his first book for children. He lives near Toronto with his wife. Visit his website at www.linwoodbarclay.com, or follow him on Twitter @linwood_barclay

Liz Kessler

Liz Kessler studied English at Loughborough University, has worked as a teacher and a journalist and has an MA in Creative Writing from Manchester Metropolitan University. After taking a year off to travel around Europe in a camper van, Liz now lives in Cornwall.Find out more at www.lizkessler.co.uk, follow her on Twitter @lizkesslerbooks and like her on Facebook at facebook.com/lizkesslerchildrensauthor.

Lucy Courtenay

Lucy Courtenay was born in Northern Ireland, went to school in Dorset and studied history at Bristol. Her chequered career included stints as a tea lady, a press officer, a singer, a porcelain dealer, a teacher and an editor, before she finally saw sense and started writing children's books. She began her writing career in 1999 on THE SLEEPOVER CLUB, and hasn't looked back. Lucy has a very small study with a leaking roof and view of the garden where she spends far too much time laughing at her own jokes. She sings, wears bright colours, watches lots of TV, reads incessantly, loves her children and forages for wild mushrooms which her husband wisely refuses to touch. She has a cat called Crumble, two fish called Timothy and Sonic, and an imaginary hamster called Rhubarb.